Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 11/18/2025 has been entered. Independent Claims 12, 20, and 22 have been amended. Dependent claims 13-15 and 23-25 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims are new and have been entered. Claims 12-20 and 22-29 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to Claim Objections have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Objections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 on pages 9 to 10, with respect to the rejection of Claims 12-20 and 22-29 under 35 USC § 112(b), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of Claims 12-20 and 22-29 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/18/2025 on pages 11-12 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 12 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Huang in view of Hamada fails to teach that the geo-fence is created when the connection is broken. However, ¶0049-¶0050 further describes the geofence criteria builder, which can include the patterns of movement attached to a particular potential geofence as well as user inputted information, and the claim language does not include the specificity that the action of geofence generation is an automatic system, simply that it happens. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of teaching that the geo-fence is created when the connection is broken from the teachings of Huang in view of Hamada. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-17, 19-20, 22-27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (Pub. No.: US 20110256881 A1, hereafter “Huang”) in view of Hamada (Pub. No.: US 20170156061 A1, hereafter “Hamada”).
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 20, and Claim 22
Huang teaches a method and device comprising
A Bluetooth connection method (Huang ¶0088: Bluetooth), wherein the method is applied to a Bluetooth connection system, the Bluetooth connection system comprises a first device (Huang Fig. 3A: 300, UE) and a second device (Huang Fig. 3B: 360, Geofence Server; Huang teaches two devices connected via a connection method, including Bluetooth), the first device comprises a first application, and the method comprises: obtaining (Huang ¶0045: polling), by the first device (Huang Fig. 3A: 300, UE), first positioning information (Huang ¶0045: current location) of the first device when a Bluetooth connection between the first device and the second device (Huang Fig. 3B: 360, Geofence Server) is broken (Huang ¶0040: fails to receive a cell location corresponding to the current cell ID, e.g. the location), and creating a geo-fence (Huang ¶0045 geofence) based on the first positioning information (Huang ¶0045: location intervals), wherein the geo-fence comprises a first geo-fence (Huang ¶0045: geofence) and a second geo-fence (Huang ¶0045: different geofence) that corresponds to a position of the first device when the Bluetooth connection broke (Huang ¶0045: wireless access point positioning and GPS), the first geo-fence is determined based on information about a cell identifier (CELL-ID) (Huang ¶0045: cell ID tracking), and the second geo-fence (Huang ¶0049: different geofence) is determined based on information about a global navigation satellite system GNSS (Huang ¶0045: GPS; Huang teaches the mobile device polling its current location for the purpose of context-based geocoding between two different geofences one generated including cell ID information, and the second including GPS); obtaining (Huang ¶0049: data collection subsystem), by the first device, second positioning information of the first device (Huang ¶0049: second geofence; Huang teaches the data collection subsystem collecting a second geofence area); and
Huang does not explicitly teach
determining, based on the second positioning information, that the first device is in the geo-fence, and setting, by the first device when the first application is in a deactivated state, a state of the first application from the deactivated state to a running state, wherein the determining, based on the second positioning information, that the first device is in the geo-fence, and setting, by the first device when the first application is in a deactivated state, a state of the first application from the deactivated state to a running state comprises: periodically obtaining third positioning information of the first device based on a preset time interval when it is determined, based on the second positioning information, that the first device is in the first geo-fence; and setting, by the first device, the state of the first application from the deactivated state to the running state when it is determined, based on the third positioning information, that the first device is in the second geo-fence, and the first application is in the deactivated state.
However, Hamada teaches
determining (Hamada Fig. 3: 2000), based on the second positioning information (Hamada ¶0115: communication range), that the first device (Hamada Fig. 3: 200) is in the first geo-fence (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) or the second geo-fence (Hamada Fig. 3: R2-1), and setting (Hamada ¶0116: disconnected), by the first device when the first application is in a deactivated state (Hamada Fig. 3: FIG. 3 Disconnected, between D and 100D), a state of the first application from the deactivated state to a running state (Hamada ¶0116: connection information), wherein the determining (Hamada ¶0097: each distributed management device have a corresponding position inside or outside), based on the second positioning information (Hamada ¶0123: moves to position C), that the first device is in the first geo-fence (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) or the second geo-fence (Hamada Fig. 3: R2-1), and setting (Hamada ¶0123: switches), by the first device when the first application is in a deactivated state (Hamada ¶0124: disconnected), a state of the first application from the deactivated state (Hamada ¶0149: disconnection information corresponds) to a running state comprises: periodically (Hamada ¶0150: repeats) obtaining third positioning information (Hamada ¶0150: process starting) of the first device based on a preset time interval (Hamada ¶0149: period of time) when it is determined, based on the second positioning information, that the first device is in (Hamada ¶0150: within communication range) the first geo-fence (Hamada Fig. 3: R1-2; Hamada teaches when a device moves from one area to another, deactivating the system from one communication device to a second device, and repeating communication within the specified geofence area); and setting (Hamada ¶0135: generation), by the first device, the state of the first application from the deactivated state (Hamada ¶0135: disconnection information) to the running state (Hamada ¶0135: connected) when it is determined, based on the third positioning information (Hamada ¶0135: connection range), that the first device is in the second geo-fence (Hamada Fig. 3: 200 is within R2-1), and the first application is in the deactivated state (Hamada ¶0135: disconnected; Hamada teaches generating disconnection information while the device is within the range of the second geofence).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang by way of Hamada, to include an element that teaches when a device moves from one area to another, deactivating the system from one communication device to a second device, and repeating communication within the specified geofence area as well as teaching generating disconnection information while the device is within the range of the second geofence, as taught by Hamada in Fig. 3, ¶0097, ¶0116-¶0124, ¶0135, and ¶0149-¶0150, to better perform the switching process by allowing a more wider communication system and reduce the downtime the user would deal with.
Claim 20 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art, Huang teaches
A device, comprising: a wireless communication module (Huang Fig. 7: 700), a memory (Huang Fig. 7: 750), and a processor, wherein the wireless communication module and the memory are coupled to the processor (Huang Fig. 7: 704; Huang teaches a memory module coupled with a processor);
the memory is configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprising computer instructions, and the computer instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to perform a method, the method comprising (Huang Fig. 7: 752-776; Huang teaches multiple instructions within the memory):
Regarding Claim 13 and Claim 23
Huang in view of Hamada teaches a method and device as explained above in Claim 12. Hamada further discloses
establishing (Hamada ¶0119: establishes the communication), by the first device, a Bluetooth connection (Hamada ¶0030: wireless communication can be communicated using Bluetooth) to the second device when the first application is in the running state (Hamada ¶0119: connection information); and deleting (Hamada ¶0124: disconnection), by the first device, the first geo-fence or the second geo-fence before the Bluetooth connection between the first device and the second device is broken again (Hamada ¶0124: disconnected; Hamada teaches the handover being present for the Bluetooth connection before disconnecting).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang by way of Hamada, to include an element that teaches the handover being present for the Bluetooth connection before disconnecting, as taught by Hamada in ¶0030, ¶0119, and ¶0124, to better perform the switching process by allowing a more wider communication system and reduce the downtime the user would deal with.
Regarding Claim 14 and Claim 24
Huang in view of Hamada teaches a method and device as explained above in Claim 12. Huang further discloses
determining, based on the second positioning information, that the first device is outside the first geo-fence (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) or the second geo-fence (Hamada Fig. 3: C), and setting, by the first device, the state of the first application to the deactivated state (Hamada ¶0124: disconnected; Hamada teaches disconnecting outside of an acceptable range in the geo-fence).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang by way of Hamada, to include an element that teaches disconnecting outside of an acceptable range in the geo-fence, as taught by Hamada in Fig. 3 and ¶0124, to better perform the switching process by allowing a more wider communication system and reduce the downtime the user would deal with.
Regarding Claim 15 and Claim 25
Huang in view of Hamada teaches a method and device as explained above in Claim 12. Huang further discloses
wherein the first positioning information is determined based on any one of information about a CELL-ID (Huang ¶0045: cell ID tracking), information about a GNSS (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or information about a destination of a most recent navigation (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Huang teaches the positioning information is based off of the cell ID tracking system).
Regarding Claim 16 and Claim 26
Huang in view of Hamada teaches a method and device as explained above in Claim 13. Huang further discloses
sending, by the first application, a scanning request (Huang ¶0055: request) to the Bluetooth module, wherein the scanning request comprises attribute information of the first application (Huang ¶0055: location information identifiers) and attribute information of the second application (Huang ¶0055: type of location; Huang teaches a request for location information identifiers and the type of location); storing, by the Bluetooth module in response to the scanning request (Huang ¶0056: identify), the attribute information of the first application (Huang ¶0056: location identifiers), and performing signal scanning (Huang ¶0056: from gateway data store; Huang teaches the location identifiers being searched through the internal systems); publishing, by the second application, a broadcast message (Huang ¶0056: transmitted to the mobile device), wherein the broadcast message is used for representing a connection status of the second application (Huang ¶0056: location identifiers; Huang those location identifiers being transmitted to the mobile device); finding, by the Bluetooth module through scanning based on the attribute information of the second application (Huang ¶0057: retrieve an identifier), the broadcast message published by the second application (Huang ¶0057: from server), and sending the broadcast message to the first application (Huang ¶0057: using a request; Huang teaches retrieving an identifier from the server and using a request from after that); sending, by the first application, a Bluetooth connection request to the Bluetooth module after receiving the broadcast message (Huang ¶0057: request can include context of the current location); and performing scanning again, by the Bluetooth module in response to the Bluetooth connection request (Huang ¶0058: receive an identifier), and sending a connection request to the second application after finding the broadcast message through the scanning (Huang ¶0058: multi-stage process), to enable a Bluetooth connection to be established between the first device and the second device (Huang ¶0058: request can include context; Huang teaches an identifier being received for a multistage process including context).
Regarding Claim 17 and Claim 27
Huang in view of Hamada teaches a method and device as explained above in Claim 16. Huang further discloses
wherein attribute data (Huang ¶0041: WLAN subsystem) of the first application comprises a service name (Huang ¶0041: access points) and a package name of the first application (Huang ¶0041: MAC Address associated with the access point), and the attribute information of the second application comprises a MAC address of the second device (Huang ¶0041: MAC Address; Huang teaches the communication subsystem contains a MAC address associated with the access point).
Regarding Claim 19 and Claim 29
Huang in view of Hamada teaches a method and device as explained above in Claim 15. Huang further discloses
wherein the GNSS comprises a global positioning system (GPS) (Huang ¶0045: GPS), a global navigation satellite system (GLONASS) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a Beidou navigation satellite system (BDS) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a quasi-zenith satellite system (QZSS) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a satellite-based augmentation system (SBAS) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Huang teaches that the positioning system can be generated from GPS).
Claim(s) 18 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (Pub. No.: US 20110256881 A1, hereafter “Huang”) in view of Hamada (Pub. No.: US 20170156061 A1, hereafter “Hamada”), and further in view of Kalkunte (Pub. No.: US 20230035010 A1, hereafter “Kalkunte”).
Regarding Claim 18 and Claim 28
Huang in view of Hamada teaches a method and device as explained above in Claim 16.
Huang in view of Hamada does not explicitly teach
wherein the first device comprises a terminal, the second device comprises any one of a vehicle, a sports bracelet, or a sphygmomanometer, the first application comprises any one of a vehicle key application, a sports bracelet application, or a sphygmomanometer application, and the second application comprises any one of an in-vehicle Bluetooth module, a sports bracelet Bluetooth module or a sphygmomanometer Bluetooth module.
However, Kalkunte teaches
wherein the first device comprises a terminal (Kalkunte ¶0063: UE), the second device comprises any one of a vehicle (Kalkunte ¶0063: vehicle), a sports bracelet (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a sphygmomanometer (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), the first application comprises any one of a vehicle key application (Kalkunte ¶0063: authentication key), a sports bracelet application (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a sphygmomanometer application (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), and the second application comprises any one of an in-vehicle Bluetooth module (Kalkunte ¶0063: Bluetooth), a sports bracelet Bluetooth module (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a sphygmomanometer Bluetooth module (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Kalkunte teaches a UE in Bluetooth communication with a vehicle in a V2X communication scheme with an authentication key associated with it).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang in view of Hamada by way of Kalkunte, to include an element that teaches a UE in Bluetooth communication with a vehicle in a V2X communication scheme with an authentication key associated with it, as taught by Kalkunte in ¶0063, to improve edge device communication from one device to the next using well known and well considered communication strategies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415