DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/23/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 3-4 read “a patient line shield including a first patient line half open and closeable relative to a second patient line half” and should likely read “a patient line shield including a first patient line shield half open and closeable relative to a second patient line shield half” to make clear that the “half” portions are of the patient line shield and to provide proper antecedent basis for the structures as claimed in the depending claims such as at least in claim 3
Claim 1 lines 5-8 read “a first patient line portion configured to house a portion of a patient line, and a second patient line portion configured to house the patient line connector end;” and should likely read “a first patient line shield portion configured to house a portion of a patient line, and a second patient line shield portion configured to house the patient line connector end;” to make clear that the “patient line” portions are of the patient line shield and to provide proper antecedent basis for the structures as claimed in the depending claims such as at least in claim 3
Claim 11 lines 1-3 read “wherein inserting the second patient line portion into the second catheter shield portion includes threadingly connecting the patient line connector end connects to the catheter connector end.” and should likely read “wherein inserting the second patient line portion into the second catheter shield portion includes threadingly connecting the patient line connector end [[connects]] to the catheter connector end” for grammatical reasons
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0101276).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a connection assist device (see FIG.3) for connecting (see FIG.11, [0033], and [0037]) a catheter connector (32) end to a patient line connector (42) end , the assist device comprising:
a patient line shield (16, see FIG.3) including a first patient line half (24, see ‘Modified Fig. 3’ below)
open (as shown in FIG. 3) and closeable relative to (see [0032]) a second patient line half (26), the patient line shield (16) including:
a first patient line portion (244) configured to house (see [0032] & [0035]) a portion of a patient line (40), and
a second patient line portion (27) configured to house (see [0032] & [0035]) the patient line connector end (461, see ‘Modified FIG. 3’ above and [0033], [0036], & FIG. 11: 461 exposed once cap 44 removed); and
a catheter shield (12) including a first catheter shield half (18) open (as seen in FIG. 3) and closeable relative to (see [0029]) a second catheter shield half (20), the catheter shield (12) including:
a first catheter shield portion (181) configured to house (see [0032] & [0034])) a portion (32) of a patient catheter (32 houses catheter 30, see [0033]), and
a second catheter shield portion (21) configured to house (see [0034]) the catheter connector end (363, see [0033]: cap 34 covers connector end 363), the second catheter shield portion (21) additionally sized to receive (see FIG. 11 and [0037], spaces 21 and 27 overlap and thus are “sized to receive”) the second patient line portion (27) of the patient line shield (16) for connecting (see FIG.11 and [0037-0039]) the catheter connector end (363) to the patient line connector end (461).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the connection assist device of claim 1, and Lin further discloses wherein the first catheter shield half (18, see FIG. 3) is connected hingedly (see [0029]) to the second catheter shield half (20).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the connection assist device of claim 1, and Lin further discloses wherein the first patient line shield half (24) is connected hingedly to (see [0031]) the second patient line shield half (26).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses a method of removing (see [0036]) a minicap (34, see FIG. 3) from a catheter connector end (363) of a patient catheter (30) and connecting (see FIG. 11) the catheter connector end (363) to a patient line connector end (461), the method comprising:
Locating a minicap catcher (14) about the (see FIG. 8) catheter connector end (363, see [0036]: catcher 14 placed about catheter connector end to remove cap 34 disposed over end 363) to engage the minicap (34) protecting (see [0033]: cap 34 screwed onto 363 to cover the end) the catheter connector end (363);
engaging a catheter shield (12) about (12 engages about at least inner portion 22 of catcher 14, see FIG. 8 and [0036]) the minicap catcher (14), such that
a first catheter shield portion (181, see FIG. 3) engages a portion (32) of the patient catheter (32 houses catheter 30, see [0033]), and
a second catheter shield portion (211 of space 21, see Fig. 3 and [0029]) houses (see [0036]: space 21 houses at least internal portion of minicap catcher) the minicap catcher (14); and
rotating (see rotation arrow in FIG. 8 and [0036]) the minicap catcher (14) relative to the catheter shield (12) to remove (see [0036] and cap 34 shown removed in FIG. 9) the minicap (34) from the catheter connector end (363);
removing (see FIG. 9 and [0036]) the minicap catcher (14) from the catheter shield (12);
engaging (see FIG. 11) a patient line shield (16) about the patient line connector end (461), such that:
a first patient line portion (244) engages (see [0032] & [0035]) a portion of the patient line (40), and
a second patient line portion (27) engages the patient line connector end (461, see [0033], [0036], & FIG. 11: 461 exposed once cap 44 removed and engaged into space 27, better seen in FIG. 3); and
inserting (see FIG. 11 and [0037]: at least annular ring of 27 is inserted into space 21) the second patient line portion (27) into the second catheter shield portion (21) such that the patient line connector end (461) connects to the catheter connector end (363).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the method of claim 9, and Lin further discloses wherein engaging the patient line shield (16) includes clamshelling (see open clamshells 24/26 in FIG. 6 and closed in FIG. 7, see [0031] for description of pivoting of the clamshells 24/26) the patient line shield (16) about the patient line connector end (461, see [0033], [0036], & FIG. 11: 461 exposed once cap 44 removed).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses the method of claim 9, and Lin further discloses wherein inserting (see FIG. 11 and [0037]: at least annular ring of 27 is inserted into space 21) the second patient line portion (27) into the second catheter shield portion (21) includes threadingly connecting (as seen in FIG. 11 and described in [0037]. See also [0033]: thread 363 on end 361) the patient line connector end (461) connects to the catheter connector end (363).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Locati et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0240396), hereinafter Locati.
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the connection assist device of claim 1, and Lin discloses further comprising a minicap catcher (14, see FIG.3), the minicap catcher including:
a first minicap catcher portion (22, see [0030]) sized to receive (see FIG. 9 and [0036]) a minicap (34) protecting the catheter connector end (363, see [0033]: cap 34 covers connector end 363), and
a second minicap catcher portion (outer surface of bushing 14) providing an extension surface (outer surface of bushing extends along longitudinal axis and therefore forms an “extension surface”), wherein the second catheter shield portion (21) is sized to receive the first minicap catcher portion (22, see [0036]: 22 accommodated within 21) of the minicap catcher (14).
Lin is silent to the minicap catcher “including a first minicap catcher half open and closeable relative to a second minicap catcher half”.
However, Locati teaches a minicap catcher (10E, see FIG. 16 and [0167]: device 10 for removing cap, such as needle shield 8 shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 11, or other rigid tubular cap, see [0138], such as a minicap) including a first minicap catcher half (70A) open and closeable (via hinge 182) relative to (see [0175]) a second minicap catcher half (70B).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the minicap catcher disclosed in Lin to be formed as a first minicap catcher half open and closeable relative to a second minicap catcher half as taught by Locati for the purpose of visualizing the internal minicap catcher compartment formed between the two halves to facilitate selection of an appropriately sized minicap catcher (see [0163-0165]), thus achieving the minicap catcher “including a first minicap catcher half open and closeable relative to a second minicap catcher half”.
Regarding claim 5, the modified system of Lin teaches the connection assist device of claim 4, and Lin further discloses wherein an inner wall (walls of 22, see FIG. 1 and [0030]) of the first minicap catcher portion (22) defines a cavity (221, see FIG. 1 and [0030]) configured to engage (as seen in FIG. 9 and described in [0036]) the minicap (34).
Regarding claim 6, the modified system of Lin teaches the connection assist device of claim 4, and Lin further discloses wherein at least one of the patient line shield (16, see FIG. 1 and [0031]), the catheter shield (12, see [0029]) or the minicap catcher (14) is at least partially cylindrical (see cylindrical shapes in FIG.1).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Locati as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Denzer et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0045729), hereinafter Denzer.
Regarding claim 7, the modified system of Lin teaches the connection assist device of claim 4, and Lin further discloses wherein the second minicap catcher portion (outer surface of bushing 14, see FIG. 8) extends from the catheter shield (12) when the second minicap catcher portion (outer surface of bushing 14) engages (as seen in FIG. 8, surface 14 surrounds portion 21 during cap removal) the second catheter shield portion (21).
Modified Lin is silent to the second minicap catcher portion “is inserted into” the second catheter shield portion.
However, Denzer teaches a minicap catcher (240, see FIG. 4F and [0089]) and a tubular shield (210) comprising a second tubular shield portion (see ‘Modified FIG. 4F’ below)
configured to house a catheter connector end (210 houses drug delivery end and thus is “configured to” house a catheter connector end), the minicap catcher (240) including a first minicap catcher portion (246T, see FIG.4C and [0093]) for receiving a minicap (266) protecting a drug delivery end (syringe 260 with needle 265, see [0051]), and a second minicap catcher portion providing an extension surface (longitudinally extending surfaces 241, see ‘Modified FIG. 4F above or FIG. 4C), wherein the second minicap catcher portion (second minicap catcher portion includes extension surface as seen in ‘Modified FIG. 4F’ above) is inserted into (see FIG. 4F and [0082]) the second tubular shield portion 9210).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second catheter shield portion disclosed by Lin to have a diameter larger than the second minicap catcher portion such that the second minicap catcher portion is inserted into the second catheter shield portion (currently, Lin discloses the second minicap catcher portion/ outer extension surface disposed “about” the second catheter shield portion) as taught by Denzer for the purpose of housing the cap catcher within the device such that the cap and drug delivery end are protected until the device cap is to be removed (see [0082]), or forming internal locking/friction mechanisms for ensuring that the minicap catcher cannot be accidentally withdrawn (see [0089]), thus achieving the second minicap catcher portion “is inserted into” the second catheter shield portion.
Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (a second minicap catcher portion surrounding a second catheter shield portion) for another known element (a second minicap catcher portion inserted into a second catheter shield portion) in the art to obtain the predictable result of removing a protective cap form the end of a drug delivery device (see MPEP § 2143.I.B).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0101276) in view of Locati (U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0240396).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses a connection assist device (see FIG.3) for connecting (see FIG.11, [0033], and [0037]) a catheter connector end (363) to a patient line connector end (461), the assist device comprising:
a minicap catcher (14), the minicap catcher including:
a first minicap catcher portion (22, see [0030]) sized to receive (see FIG. 9 and [0036]) a minicap (34) on the catheter connector end (363, see [0033]: cap 34 covers connector end 363); and
a second minicap catcher portion (outer surface of bushing 14) providing a user gripping surface (see [0036]: user grips outside surface of 14 to rotate cap bushing and remove cap 34);
a patient line shield (16, see FIG.3) including a first patient line half (24) open (as shown in FIG. 3) and closeable relative to (see [0032]) a second patient line half (26), the patient line shield (16) including:
a first patient line portion (244) configured to house (see [0032] & [0035]) a portion of a patient line (40), and
a second patient line portion (27) configured to house (see [0032] & [0035]) the patient line connector end (461, see ‘Modified FIG. 3’ above and [0033], [0036], & FIG. 11: 461 exposed once cap 44 removed); and
a catheter shield (12) including a first catheter shield half (18) open (as seen in FIG. 3) and closeable relative to (see [0029]) a second catheter shield half (20), the catheter shield (12) including:
a first catheter shield portion (181) configured to house (see [0032] & [0034])) a portion (32) of a patient catheter (32 houses catheter 30, see [0033]), and
a second catheter shield portion (21) configured to house (see [0034]) the catheter connector end (363, see [0033]: cap 34 covers connector end 363), the second catheter shield portion (21) additionally sized to receive the first minicap catcher portion (22, see [0036]: 22 accommodated within 21) of the minicap catcher (14) and the second patient line portion (27, see FIG. 11 and [0037]: spaces 21 and 27 overlap and thus 21 is “sized to receive” 27) of the patient line shield (16).
Lin is silent to the minicap catcher “including a first minicap catcher half open and closeable relative to a second minicap catcher half”.
However, Locati teaches a minicap catcher (10E, see FIG. 16 and [0167]: device 10 for removing cap, such as needle shield 8 shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 11, or other rigid tubular cap, see [0138], such as a minicap) including a first minicap catcher half (70A) open and closeable (via hinge 182) relative to (see [0175]) a second minicap catcher half (70B).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the minicap catcher disclosed in Lin to be formed as a first minicap catcher half open and closeable relative to a second minicap catcher half as taught by Locati for the purpose of visualizing the internal minicap catcher compartment formed between the two halves to facilitate selection of an appropriately sized minicap catcher (see [0163-0165]), thus achieving the minicap catcher “including a first minicap catcher half open and closeable relative to a second minicap catcher half”.
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN PAIGE FARRELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783