DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9 and 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/15/2026.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 6/23/2023 and 12/10/2025 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. KR 102112702 in view of Thibonnier (WO 2020010059).
Jeong et al. KR 102112702 (hereinafter Jeong et al.) disclose nanoparticles comprising a calcium carbonate crystal and a biocompatible polymer, wherein the calcium carbonate crystal is incorporated in the biocompatible polymer (para 0038 and claim 1). An adipocyte targeting peptide is located on the surface of the nanoparticles (para 0038 and claim 1). The biocompatible polymer includes those such as PLGA (claim 6). The diameter of the nanoparticles may be 100 nm to 250 nm.
A fatty acid located on the surface is not disclosed.
Thibonnier (WO 2020010059) (hereinafter Thibonnier) discloses adipocyte targeting compositions for treating an obese patient, and disclose a lipid, which is dodecanoic acid, palmitic acid, steric acid, oleic acid or hexadecenoic acid as a targeting element for promoting delivery of the therapeutic agent to a targeted adipocyte (claims 1, 7, 8, 23 and 24). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to apply the lipids as taught by Thibonnier, which is an adipocyte targeting element and substitute for the adipocyte targeting peptide of Jeong et al. Substitution of one adipocyte targeting element for another would yield predicable results as both are known to target adipocytes.
4. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. KR 102112702 in view of Thibonnier (WO 2020010059), as applied to claims 1-5 and 10 above, and further in view of (JP 2018500327).
The modified Jeong et al. has been discussed supra and does not disclose the weight ratio of fatty acid and biocompatible polymer.
(JP 2018500327) disclose that the ratio of the HDL component to polymer is adjusted to achieve the desired result, such as maintaining lipid homeostasis and these include ratios of 1:9 to 9:1. The HDL component is cholesterol and the core polymer is PLGA. The molecules or moieties attached to the core (e.g., HDL components) can be present in the core, can be present on the outer surface of the nanoparticle, or between the core and outer surface of the nanoparticle. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the ratio of the lipid (e.g., HDL component) to the polymer component. One would have been motivated to do so to maintain the desired lipid homeostasis.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 1-6 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 17787274 in view of Jeong et al. KR 102112702 in view of Thibonnier (WO 2020010059).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to biocompatible nanoparticles encapsulating calcium carbonate crystals that are surface modified. The differences being that the ‘274 application does not disclose fatty acid surface modified nanoparticles.
Thibonnier discloses adipocyte targeting compositions for treating an obese patient, and disclose a lipid, which is dodecanoic acid, palmitic acid, steric acid, oleic acid or hexadecenoic acid as a targeting element for promoting delivery of the therapeutic agent to a targeted adipocyte (claims 1, 7, 8, 23 and 24). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to apply the lipids as taught by Thibonnier, which is an adipocyte targeting element and substitute for the adipocyte targeting peptide of Jeong et al. Substitution of one adipocyte targeting element for another would yield predicable results as both are known to target adipocytes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615
.