DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1 and 5. Claims 1 and 5-6 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-4 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 December 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 5-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a collection arrangement configured to obtain a plurality of Raman profiles by translation and/or rotation about the sample” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelman et al. (WO 96/26431 A1), hereinafter Perelman, in view of Zhou et al. (CN 110286117 A, of record), hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding claim 1, Perelman teaches a method for three dimensional molecular imaging (abstract, pg. 4 lines 17-23, pg. 26 lines 12-17) through coherent excitation of a sample (Fig. 1A sapphire laser 10, sample 16; pg. 8 line 17-pg. 9 line 9), the method comprising:
irradiating the sample at a plurality of points with a single coherent light source (Fig. 1 sapphire laser 10, pg. 8 line 17-pg. 9 line 9; see also abstract, pg. 6 lines 5-9 discuss the laser being used to scan the surface of the sample, thus meaning the sample is irradiated in a plurality of points) to obtain a plurality of Raman scattered light from around the sample (pg. 3 lines 14-31, pg. 4 line 17-pg. 5 line 17, pg. 15 line 27-pg. 16 line 28, Fig. 1B);
collecting the plurality of Raman scattered light with a collection arrangement (Fig. 1A-B and Fig. 15A-C cylinders 50, 70, 80; pg. 9 lines 10-30, pg. 26 line 6-pg. 27 line 23) configured to obtain a plurality of Raman profiles (pg. 4 lines 17-23, claims 1 and 11) by translation and/or rotation about the sample (pg. 26 line 6-pg. 27 line 23); and
resolving the plurality of Raman profiles to obtain a three dimensional image of the sample (abstract, pg. 4 lines 17-23, pg. 9 lines 10-30, pg. 26 line 6-pg. 27 line 23).
Perelman does not teach resolving the plurality of Raman profiles with a vertical resolution of 1 µm and an angular resolution of 0.1° to obtain a three dimensional image of the sample (emphasis added via bolded words).
However, Perelman teaches that a desired spatial and depth resolution can be obtained depending on the system utilized (see pg. 3 line 33-pg. 4 line 10, pg. 5 lines 3-34, pg. 15 line 27-pg. 16 line 33; it is the examiner’s position that the spatial and/or depth resolution of Perelman refers to a vertical resolution), and a desired angular resolution can be achieved through the rotation of the collection arrangement (pg. 26 line 6-pg. 27 line 23).
Thus, the vertical resolution and angular resolution utilized in method of Perelman are result-effective variable, in that, if the vertical and angular resolutions are too low, then the method of Perelman cannot produce images having a sufficient enough resolution for medical imaging (see Perelman pg. 2 lines 6-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Perelman to resolve the plurality of Raman profiles with a vertical resolution of 1 µm and an angular resolution of 0.1° to obtain the three dimensional image of the sample, since determining the optimum vertical and angular resolutions to ensure that an imaging quality sufficient for medical imaging is achieved are based on a result-effective variables, and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that determining the optimum value of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 section II.
Yet remaining, Perelman does not teach the use of homogenized coherent excitation from a single homogenized coherent light source.
Zhou, which relates to imaging with Raman scattered light, teaches the use of homogenized coherent excitation from a single homogenized coherent light source (Zhou: abstract, paragraph 0017, 0028, 0031, 0037; the assembly of Zhou provides a coherent source (laser) and a fly's-eye lens for homogenization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method Perelman to use homogenized coherent excitation from a single homogenized coherent light source, as taught by Zhou, for the benefit of reducing the energy density of the transmitted light, which improves the detection of various samples (see Zhou paragraph 0028, 0031).
Regarding claim 5, Perelman, as modified by Zhou, teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches an angle of collecting the plurality of Raman scattered light is independent of a point and an angle of illumination (see Perelman Fig. 1B and Fig. 15A-C showing the collection angle of the cylinders comprising optical fibers are independent of the angle and point of illumination; pg. 26 line 6-pg. 27 line 23).
Regarding claim 6, Perelman, as modified by Zhou, teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, as outlined above, and further teaches the sample is selected from a list consisting of chemical contaminants, tissue contaminants, modified tissues, degenerated tissues, tumors and objects capable of providing a chemical signature (see Perelman pg. 3 line 3-pg. 5 line 5).
Conclusion
/NOAH J. HANEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877