Claims 4-6 are pending.
Amendments as filed 10/02/2025 are entered.
Response to arguments
Arguments presented in the Remarks of 10/02/2025 are fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues as followed:
“Specifically, in the cited paragraphs, Kim describes the following:
1. Switching a BWP to dormant state. See, e.g., the cited paragraph [0188].
2. Defining a deactivated mode and an SCell in the deactivated mode. See, e.g., the cited paragraph [0140].
3. Procedures when receiving an activation indication of the deactivated SCell. See, e.g., the cited paragraph [0522].
4. Procedures when switching from a dormant BWP to a normal BWP. See, e.g., the cited paragraph [0611].
Applicant respectfully submits that nowhere in the above cited paragraphs, however, does Kim disclose, or even suggest, deactivating an SCGbased on receiving an indication that indicates deactivation of a cell group.
Therefore, Kim fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, at least, “in a case that information indicating that a cell group is to be deactivated is included in the RRC message: deactivate the SCG,” as recited in amended claim 4. ”
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s description oversimplifies the entire length of cited disclosures in a few words.
In contrary, throughout ¶0188, 0140, and others cited sections, Kim discloses a more detailed system/method for configuring the mode/status of groups of cells (primary cells and secondary cells) via control signal messaging such as an RRC message, including transitioning between different modes/status among the cells such as activation, deactivation, dormant state. The RRC message includes an information element containing this configuration and implemented according. The deactivation of a cell is done by directly controlling the BWP(s) of the cell (i.e. by deactivating them). See also ¶0195.
For instance, in ¶0138, Kim shows the base station can order a status for Pcell and/or PScell. ¶0139, the base station does so by sending an RRC message having a configuration of state/mode for the Spcell and a plurality of Scells (i.e. SCG). The configuration dictates the status of said Spcell/scell, namely to activate or to deactivate. Upon receiving such ordered status, the UE to perform activation or deactivation accordingly to the indicator. In view of further the disclosure in ¶0202-0206, 0221-0222, 0273-0278, the UE receives an indication for a secondary cell to be deactivated from an RRCE message, the UE perform transitioning process to carry out the deactivation and migration as appropriate.
Similarly, in arguments for “switch an active downlink BWP of the PSCell to the first active downlink BWP,” and ““perform radio link monitoring by using a reference signal for radio link monitoring configured for the first active downlink BWP,”, Applicant again presents an overly abridged and selective summary of Kim in a few words and goes on to conclude reference Kim does not disclose the limitations at issue, and offering no further analysis. As such, the examiner reasserts Kim discloses perform radio link monitoring by using a reference signal for radio link monitoring configured for the first active downlink BWP in at least 0384-0387, 0143, the UE CSI RSI measurements according to periodic CSI-RS resource configuration. Since performing a measurement report is an act of radio link and the CSI-RS is a reference signal by name. Also Kim clearly discloses switch an active downlink BWP of the PSCell to the first active downlink BWP in at least ¶0188, 0522, 0578-, 0612, 0583, UE to switch current/activated DL BWP of the Scell to activate the first active downlink BWP. For example in 0188, 0202-0210, Kim explicitly states the UE may perform an operation of switching the current or activated downlink BWP of the Scell/Pscell to activate the first active downlink BWP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/02500156).
As to claim 4:
Kim discloses:
A terminal apparatus (¶0739-0748, Fig. 19, UE having processor, memory, and transceiver having a receiver/transmitter, in communication with a base station having processor/memory and transmitter/receiver)
for communicating with one or more base station apparatuses by using a master cell group (MCG) including a Pcell, and a secondar cell group (SCG) including a primary SCG cell (PSCell),
(See for example: ¶0167, 0139, 0578, 0612, 0187, terminal using one or more Pcells (read as the so-called MCG), and one or more SPcells (read as the so-called SCG) for communication)
the terminal apparatus comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from the one or more base station apparatuses;
(See at least ¶0167, 0139, 0188, 0524, 0685, 0012-0014, receiving RRC message from the base station, for example RRCReconfiguration that configures BWP for each cell).
and processing circuitry configured to process the RRC message received from the one or more base station apparatus, configure a first active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) based on a BWP identifier included in the RRC message,
(See at least ¶0186-0190, 0168, 0577, using BWP identifier in the RRC message to designate first active BWP)
In case that information indicating that a cell group is to be deactivated is included in the RRC message,
deactivate the second cell group
(See ¶0138, the base station can order a status for Pcell and/or PScell. ¶0139, the base station does so by sending an RRC message having a configuration of state/mode for the Spcell and a plurality of Scells (i.e. SCG). The configuration dictates the status of said Spcell/scell, namely to activate or to deactivate. Upon receiving such ordered status, the UE to perform activation or deactivation accordingly to the indicator. See also ¶0202-0206, 0221-0222, 0273-0278, the UE receives an indication for a secondary cell to be deactivated from an RRCE message, the UE perform transitioning process to carry out the deactivation and migration as appropriate.
See also ¶0188, 0140, 0522, 0611 deactivate PSCell using information from the RRC/MAC CE),
switch an active downlink BWP of the PSCell to the first active downlink BWP,
(See at least ¶0188, 0522, 0578, 0612, 0583, UE to switch current/activated DL BWP of the Scell to activate the first active downlink BWP. See also 0202-0210)
and perform radio link monitoring by using a reference signal for radio link monitoring configured for the first active downlink BWP. (See at least 0384-0387, 0143, CSI RSI measurements according to periodic CSI-RS resource configuration. See also 0202-0210)
As to claim 5:
Kim discloses:
A base station apparatus for communicating with a terminal apparatus (¶0739-0748, having UE (terminal apparatus) in communication with a base station having processor/memory and transmitter/receiver) by using a master cell group (MCG) including a Pcell, and a secondar cell group (SCG) including a primary SCG cell (PSCell), (See for example: ¶0167, 0139, 0578, 0612, 0187, terminal using one or more Pcells (read as the so-called MCG), and one or more SPcells (read as the so-called SCG) for communication)
the base station apparatus comprising:
a processing circuitry configured to generate a radio resource control message (RRC) to be transmitted to the terminal apparatus; and a transmitter configured to transmit the RRC message to the terminal apparatus, (See at least ¶0167, 0139, 0188, 0524, 0685, 0012-0014, transmitting an RRC message from the base station, for example RRCReconfiguration that configures BWP for each cell);
wherein the terminal apparatus, after receiving the RRC message,
configure a first active downlink BWP based on a BWP identifier included in the RRC message, (See at least ¶0186-0190, 0168, 0577, using BWP identifier in the RRC message to designate first active BWP)
in a case that information indicating that a cell group is to be deactivated is included in the RRC message, deactivate the second cell group
(See ¶0138, the base station can order a status for Pcell and/or PScell. ¶0139, the base station does so by sending an RRC message having a configuration of state/mode for the Spcell and a plurality of Scells (i.e. SCG). The configuration dictates the status of said Spcell/scell, namely to activate or to deactivate. Upon receiving such ordered status, the UE to perform activation or deactivation accordingly to the indicator. See also ¶0202-0206, 0221-0222, 0273-0278, the UE receives an indication for a secondary cell to be deactivated from an RRCE message, the UE perform transitioning process to carry out the deactivation and migration as appropriate.
See also ¶0188, 0140, 0522, 0611 deactivate PSCell using information from the RRC/MAC CE),
switch an active downlink BWP of the PSCell to the first active downlink BWP,
(See at least ¶0188, 0522, 0578, 0612, 0583, UE to switch current/activated DL BWP of the Scell to activate the first active downlink BWP. See also 0202-0210)
and perform radio link monitoring by using a reference signal for radio link monitoring configured for the first active downlink BWP. (See at least 0384-0387, 0143, CSI RSI measurements according to periodic CSI-RS resource configuration. See also 0202-0210)
Notice to Applicant regarding claim 5:
Claim 5 is directed to an apparatus (base station) that transmits an RRC message to the terminal apparatus. The claim 5 however attempts to define the base station by what the terminal apparatus does instead of further limiting structures/operations of the base station. The base station merely transmits the RRC message with the RRCE configurations/data, but what the terminal apparatus will do with such information/data is completely irrelevant to the base station, as far as patentable weight is concerned. No patentable weight is given to the structure and operation of the terminal apparatus in this claim.
As to claim 6:
Kim discloses:
A method performed by terminal apparatus (¶0739-0748, Fig. 19, UE having processor, memory, and transceiver having a receiver/transmitter, in communication with a base station having processor/memory and transmitter/receiver) for communicating with one or multiple base station apparatuses by using a master cell group (MCG) including a Pcell, and a secondar cell group (SCG) including a primary SCG cell (PSCell), (See for example: ¶0167, 0139, 0578, 0612, 0187, terminal using one or more Pcells (read as the so-called MCG), and one or more SPcells (read as the so-called SCG) for communication)
the method comprising:
receiving an RRC message from the one or multiple base station apparatuses; (See at least ¶0167, 0139, 0188, 0524, 0685, 0012-0014, receiving RRC message from the base station, for example RRCReconfiguration that configures BWP for each cell);
configuring a first active downlink BWP based on a BWP identifier included in the RRC message; (See at least ¶0186-0190, 0168, 0577, using BWP identifier in the RRC message to designate first active BWP)
in a case that information indicating that a cell group is to be deactivated is included in the RRC message, deactivating the second cell group, (See ¶0138, the base station can order a status for Pcell and/or PScell. ¶0139, the base station does so by sending an RRC message having a configuration of state/mode for the Spcell and a plurality of Scells (i.e. SCG). The configuration dictates the status of said Spcell/scell, namely to activate or to deactivate. Upon receiving such ordered status, the UE to perform activation or deactivation accordingly to the indicator. See also ¶0202-0206, 0221-0222, 0273-0278, the UE receives an indication for a secondary cell to be deactivated from an RRCE message, the UE perform transitioning process to carry out the deactivation and migration as appropriate.
See also ¶0188, 0140, 0522, 0611 deactivate PSCell using information from the RRC/MAC CE),
switching an active downlink BWP of the PSCeI to the first active downlink BWP, (See at least ¶0188, 0522, 0578, 0612, 0583, UE to switch current/activated DL BWP of the Scell to activate the first active downlink BWP)
and performing radio link monitoring by using a reference signal for radio link monitoring configured for the first active downlink BWP. (See at least 0384-0387, 0143, CSI RSI measurements according to periodic CSI-RS resource configuration)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,283,581 - A terminal apparatus includes a transmitter configured to transmit capability information to the base station apparatus, a receiver configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the base station apparatus, and a controller configured to configure a parameter, based on a parameter included in the radio resource control reconfiguration message, wherein the capability information includes information on the maximum number of MAC entities supported by the terminal apparatus.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645