DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 and claim 14 recite the generic placeholders, environmental control device, a learning processing unit, an environmental control unit followed by functional limitations without reciting structure to perform the functional limitations. Examiner looked into [0017] and [0060] of the specification for support for the generic placeholders. [0060] recites integrated circuit as support for generic placeholder environmental control device. Learning processing unit is a program implemented by the integrated circuit as recited in [0017] and an environmental control unit is also a program implemented by a general computer as recited in [0017].
Claims 3-13 recite the generic place holders, environmental control device, environmental control unit and learning processing unit. Examiner looked into [0017] and [0060] of the specification for support for the generic placeholders. [0060] recites integrated circuit as support for generic placeholder environmental control device, learning processing unit is a program implemented by the integrated circuit as recited in [0017] and an environmental control unit is also a program implemented by a general computer as recited in [0017].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
The MPEP 2106.03 states:
on-limiting examples of claims that are not directed to any of the statutory categories include:
• Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations;
In claim 15, the claimed subject matter is a program that can cause a computer to execute the information as in claim 15. That is, the claimed subject matter of the claim is a computer program. The program is known by PHOSITA as software per se. Accordingly, per MPEP 2106.03, this claim is not directed to any of the statutory category.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emoto et al. (US 20200224916 A1) in view of WP09 (WO 2019235109 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Emoto et al. teaches, an environmental control device (an environmental apparatus controller, [0010]) comprising:
a learning processing unit (learning control plan output means, [0065]) configured to create a control model by collecting relationships between past examples of changes in temporal or spatial happiness of a person who is subjected to environmental control and past examples of changes in a temporal or spatial environmental indicator regarding the person (the learning control plan output means determines the relationship between various arousal level (happiness) and the change in temperature performed to achieve each target arousal level. In addition to change in temperature, other apparatuses are controlled to aid with user’s target arousal level. Based on the learning, multiple plans (model with relationship) are created for each target arousal level and corresponding environmental control parameters, [0060] and [0064]-[0067] and [0071]), and
create the control model by collecting relationships among past examples of changes in the happiness, past examples of changes in the environmental indicator (each control plan as neural network model is created to show relationship between user current arousal level, change in arousal level (changes in happiness) due to change in temperature and other apparatuses (environmental indicator) [0064]-[0067] and [0071]), and
an environmental control unit (selection execution unit, [0075]) configured to, based on the created control model (neural network model for the created control plans ([0064]-[0067] and [0071]), determine the temporal or spatial environmental indicator (control plan parameters, [0069]) for boosting happiness of a person who is newly subjected to the environmental control and perform the environmental control while targeting the determined environmental indicator (once the learning of arousal level and corresponding change in environment is completed followed by creating of several plans, the selection execution unit selects one of the plan for execution which will cause the air conditioner, the ventilator, the aroma diffuser, lighting apparatus and others to operate according to the control plan parameters to boost user’s arousal level in a space per target arousal level change, [0069],[0071], [0073], [0075], [0114] and [0116]).
Emoto et al. does not teach the details of past examples of changes in temporal or spatial energy consumption related to the environmental control and determine the temporal or spatial environmental indicator for saving the energy consumption
in a period in which the person is habituated to an indicator of the happiness. However Emoto et al. teaches in [0071] and [0075] that after the learning of user arousal level (happiness) and change in temperature and other control parameters of other apparatuses is completed and several plans are generated, one plan is selected to boost user’s happiness or arousal. Change in temperature will cause change in energy consumption.
WO09 teaches, past examples of changes in temporal or spatial energy consumption related to the environmental control (learning the relationship between the user thermal cooling (PMV) with the change in indoor environment at the time of reporting. The corresponding change in air conditioner power consumption during the reporting time due to change in indoor environment is also determined and stored, page 7, 6th - 8th paragraph); and
determine the temporal or spatial environmental indicator (determining air conditioner and blower commands to satisfy user comfort while operating at minimized power usage, page 9, 6th and 7th paragraph) for saving the energy consumption in a period in which the person is habituated to an indicator of the happiness (after learning the relationship between user thermal comfort (PMV) and air conditioning power usage, air conditioner and blower are operated such that power usage is minimized (energy saving in energy consumption) that is the evaluation value (PMV) satisfies the user comfort with minimized power usage for a person present in the room, (page 8, 3rd paragraph, page 9, 6th and 7th paragraph and page 10, 4th and 5th paragraph).
Emoto et al. and WO09 are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is conditioning the space per user condition.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the environmental control device creating a model based on relationship among past examples of changes in happiness, changes in environmental indicator and control the environment based on the target determined environmental indicator as taught by Emoto et al. by applying the known technique of learning the corresponding change in power consumption due to operating air conditioning and blower to change user thermal comfort (happiness) and control the air conditioning and blower operation based on determined parameters such that power usage is minimized causing energy saving while still meeting user comfort as taught by WO09 as an improvement to environmental control device to yield predictable results of controlling the environment while meeting user comfort with reduced total power consumption as taught by WO09 is page 10, 5th paragraph.
Emoto et al. teach:
[0060] For example, as for a control plan in the case where the target arousal level change (ΔA) is +1, that is, a control plan for increasing the arousal level by one level, multiples types of combinations of control plans of the air conditioner 10, the ventilator 20, and the aroma diffuser 30 are stored, as shown in FIG. 3. Here, as one example of control plan (control plan A) for increasing the arousal level by one level, the preset temperature of the air conditioner 10 is decreased by two degrees, and both the ventilator 20 and the aroma diffuser 30 are set to an OFF state. As another one example of control plan (control plan B) for increasing the arousal level by one level, the preset temperature of the air conditioner 10 is decreased by one degree1, the ventilator 20 is set to an ON state, and the aroma diffuser 30 is set to an OFF state. Furthermore, as another one example of control plan (control plan C) for increasing the arousal level by one level, the ventilator 20 is set to an ON state without changing the preset temperature of the air conditioner 10, and the aroma diffuser 30 is set to an ON state by
using an aroma of a type for increasing the arousal level.
[0064] The learning data accumulation unit 75 stores multiple types of learning data. The learning data is data in which a control plan selected and executed by the selection control unit 90 (described later), measured values of the sensors at that time, and the amount of change in the arousal level of a user after a lapse of a predetermined time (for example, ten minutes later) from a start of execution of the control plan are associated.2 The learning data is used in learning that the NN processing unit 82 of the
learning control plan output means 80 (described later) performs, and the coefficients of the math model are updated.
[0073] In step S1, the initial processing unit 81 searches the information stored in the initial control plan data unit 72 for control plan data for achieving the target arousal level change (ΔA) grasped in step S10, and outputs multiple types of control plans.
[0075] In step S13, the selection execution unit 92 executes the control plan selected in step S12, and controls the air conditioner 10, the ventilator 20, and the aroma diffuser 30, thus changing an indoor environment.
WO09 teach:
(page 7, 7th and 8th paragraph) As other evaluation values, the user may report a feeling of thermal cooling and learn the relationship with the indoor environment at the time of reporting. When the input items of the evaluation value calculation model are insufficient for the output items of the indoor environment distribution model, a predetermined specified value may be used. Alternatively, the control position may be an area having a certain size, and the average or variance (variation) of the environment in the area may be used as the evaluation value. Furthermore, the evaluation values when performing objective air conditioning such as data centers, refrigerated warehouses, frozen warehouses, etc. are numerical values for evaluating, for example, the extent to which the environment such as temperature and humidity realizes a desirable management environment for indoor items It can be. The evaluation value may be evaluated based on whether or not a preset reference value is satisfied.
The air conditioner power consumption calculation unit 12 c uses the air conditioner model stored in the storage device 11 and outputs the air conditioner power consumption with the operation / measurement data of the air conditioner 2 and the measurement data3 of the sensor 4 as inputs.
(page 9, 7th paragraph) Also, the target range of evaluation values may be input in advance with a plurality of patterns together with priorities, and the target range of evaluation values may be changed according to the situation. For example, two patterns A and B having a relatively narrow target range of evaluation values are set. In a situation where the difference between the current evaluation value and the target
evaluation value is large, such as immediately after the air conditioner 2 is started, the pattern A is used so that the indoor environment quickly becomes an appropriate value. Next, when it is determined that the indoor environment has become stable within the target range as time elapses, the pattern B that expands the target range of the indoor environment with priority on energy saving is adopted. As another method, the user may select the priority of the indoor environment and energy saving in advance, or the target range may be changed by detecting the presence or absence of a person in the room. Further, the evaluation value may be whether or not a predetermined criterion is
satisfied.
(page 10, 5th paragraph) The air conditioner 2 and the blower 3 are operated under the condition that the total power consumption of the air conditioner 2 and the blower 3 is minimized while the evaluation value satisfies the preset standard. Thus, in consideration of the distribution of the actual indoor environment, the air conditioner operation state and the fan operation state that reduce the total power consumption of the air conditioner 2 and the blower 3 while keeping the environmental conditions at a predetermined position appropriate. It can be determined4 appropriately and energy saving can be realized.
Regarding claim 3, combination of Emoto et al. and WO09 teach the environmental control device according to claim 1. In addition Emoto et al. teaches, the environmental indicator includes at least one of, illuminance (lighting apparatus changing illuminance in a room, [0114]), a smell (aroma diffuser providing fragrance for improving user’s arousal level, [0115]), a sound (sound system providing multiple types of sounds, [0114]), and a design of a space5 (lighting apparatus changing lighting within the space in addition to other environmental control apparatuses, [0114]). In addition WO09 teaches, a predicted mean vote (evaluation value related to PMV – predicted mean vote, page 7, 5th and 6th paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Emoto et al. and WO09 teach the environmental control device according to claim 3. In addition Emoto et al. teaches, wherein the happiness (mental and physical condition value of the user, [0110]) includes values based on a cerebral blood flow, components of saliva, or a heart rate (autonomic nerve balance (sympathetic nerve activity nerve index) used for determining user’s mental and physical condition determines pattern of heartbeat of the user, [0111]).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Emoto et al. and WO09 teach the environmental control device according to claim 4. In addition Emoto et al. teaches, wherein the learning processing unit is configured to create a pattern of changes in the temporal or spatial environmental indicator (the learning control plan output means determines the relationship between various arousal level (happiness) and the change in temperature performed to achieve each target arousal level that is pattern of change in environment and user happiness. In addition to change in temperature, other apparatuses are controlled to aid with user’s target arousal level. Based on the learning, multiple plans (model with relationship) are created for each target arousal level and corresponding environmental control, [0060] and [0064]-[0066] and [0071]).
Regarding claim 14, combination of Emoto et al. and WO09 teach the claimed environmental control device. Therefore together they teach the environmental control method implementing the functional limitations of the environmental control device and therefore rejected for the reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, combination of Emoto et al. and WO09 teach the claimed environmental control device. Therefore together they teach the environmental control program implementing the functional limitations of the environmental control device and therefore rejected for the reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emoto et al. (US 20200224916 A1) in view of WP09 (WO 2019235109 A1) and Mitterhofer (US 20230367033 A1).
Regarding claim 6 combination of Emoto et al. and WO09 teach the environmental control device according to claim 5. In addition Emoto et al. teaches, wherein the changes in the environmental indicator include at least one of a change width of the environmental indicator (per the target arousal level (happiness) the air conditioner is decreased by two degrees from the current air condition settings - that is change width (2 level) of the environmental indicator, [0060]), a change speed of the environmental indicator (the air conditioner can determine how to change its operation speed to achieve temperature less than two degrees from the its current condition to achieve user thermal comfort, [0060]).
Neither in combination nor individually Emoto et al. and WO09 teach the details of a maintaining time at a same level of the environmental indicator, and a time integration value of a deviation from a predetermined value of the environmental indicator.
Mitterhofer teaches, a maintaining time at a same level of the environmental indicator (from 3pm till a certain time as read from the graph, the electrical usage was uniform that is maintaining current environmental condition (indicator), [0011], [0202] and Fig.4C), and a time integration value of a deviation from a predetermined value of the environmental indicator (time stamped change is electrical usage compared from last year to current year is shown. From the graph, it can be determined for how long the electrical usage is different from the last year electrical usage (predetermined environmental indicator), [0011], [0202] and FIG.4D).
Emoto et al., WO09 and Mitterhofer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is conditioning the space per user condition.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the environmental control device conditioning the environment by detecting the change in environmental indicator as taught by combination of Emoto et al. and WO09 by applying the known technique of also looking at the maintaining time at the same level of the environmental indicator that is for how long the environment was maintained after change in conditioning and for how long the environment varied from a predetermined environmental indicator value that is a time integration value of a deviation from a predetermined value of the environmental indicator as taught by Mitterhofer et al. as an improvement to environmental indicator control to yield predictable results for detecting energy consumption anomaly during environmental indicator control by analyzing various components of energy consumption data as taught by Mitterhofer et al. in [0011].
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emoto et al. (US 20200224916 A1) in view of WP09 (WO 2019235109 A1) and Mitterhofer (US 20230367033 A1) in further view of Tzvieli et al. (US 20180116528 A1).
Regarding claim 7 combination of Emoto et al., WO09 and Mitterhofer teach the environmental control device according to claim 6.
Neither in combination nor individually Emoto et al., WO09 and Mitterhofer teach the details of the changes in the happiness include at least one of a level of a maximum value of the happiness, a time integration value of a deviation from a predetermined value of the happiness, and a period of the happiness.
Tzvieli et al. teaches, the changes in the happiness include at least one of a level of a maximum value of the happiness (maximum and minimum stress level6 can be detected, [0053], [0148] and [0228]), a time integration value7 of a deviation from a predetermined value of the happiness (time for how long the user is stressed can be determined due to a potential stressor that is for how long the user is not happy, before time t the user was happy since less stress so time for happiness can also be determined, [0148] and [0228]), and a period of the happiness (time t plus delta is how long the user is stressed that is the time the user is not happy. Similarly when not affected by stressor, the user is happy and the time till stressor took place can be determined by the trained model, [0056] and [0148]).
Emoto et al., WO09, Mitterhofer and Tzvieli et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is conditioning the space per user’s condition.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the environmental control device detecting change in happiness as taught by combination of Emoto et al., WO09 and Mitterhofer by applying the known technique of also detecting maximum value of happiness by looking into maximum value of stress, a time integration value of a deviation from a predetermined value of happiness and period of happiness as taught by Tzvieli et al. as an improvement to environmental control to yield predictable results of controlling the environment based on user physical and mental state such as happiness.
Regarding claim 8 combination of Emoto et al., WO09, Mitterhofer and Tzvieli et al. teach the environmental control device according to claim 7. In addition Emoto et al. teaches, wherein the happiness includes a noninvasive or noncontact alternative value (user’s mental and physical condition including happiness can be measured by sympathetic nerve activity index that is based on heartbeat of the user - noninvasive alternative value, [0110] and [0111]).
Regarding claim 9 combination of Emoto et al., WO09, Mitterhofer and Tzvieli et al. teach the environmental control device according to claim 7. In addition Emoto et al. teaches, wherein the pattern repeatedly inverts the environmental indicator once lowered or raised (when the target arousal level is +1, the air conditioner decrease by two degrees from the current setting that is inverting from positive to negative and when the target arousal level is -1, air conditioner increase by one degree from the current setting that is inverting from negative to positive and this performed repeatedly to obtain new learning data for updated control, [0060], [0061] and [0079]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Emoto et al. (US 20200224916 A1) in view of WP09 (WO 2019235109 A1) and Mitterhofer (US 20230367033 A1) in further view of Tzvieli et al. (US 20180116528 A1) and TW82 (TW 201715182 A).
Reagrding claim 10, combination of Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer and Tzvieli et al. teach the environmental control device according to claim 9.
Neither in combination nor individually Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer and Tzvieli et al. teach the details of the environmental control unit is configured to determine one representative when there are a plurality of persons who are newly subjected to the environmental control.
TW82 teaches, the environmental control unit (processor, page 5, 1st paragraph) is configured to determine one representative when there are a plurality of persons who are newly subjected to the environmental control (users with hypertension have the highest weight among other users. So if multiple users are present in a space, the user with hypertension has the highest weight thus highest priority among other users. Therefore air conditioning is performed according to user with hypertension, page 5, 1st and 2nd paragraph and page 7, 5th paragraph).
Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer, Tzvieli et al. and TW82 are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is conditioning the space per user’s condition.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the environmental control device performing air conditioning per user comfort as taught by combination of Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer and Tzvieli et al. by applying the known technique of determining one representative/user out of multiple users in a space to perform environmental control according to the determined/chosen representative user among multiple users as taught by TW82 as an improvement to environmental control device to yield predictable results of controlling the environment per priority of the users present in the space.
Regarding claim 11, combination of Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer, Tzvieli et al. and TW82 teach the environmental control device according to claim 10. In addition Emoto et al. teaches, wherein the environmental control unit (environmental apparatus controller, [0010]) is configured to collect, as a part of the control model, a result of performing the environmental control while targeting the determined environmental indicator (“…The selection control unit is configured to select, based on a predetermined condition, one of a plurality of the control change plans output by the learning control plan output means and execute the one of the control change plans. The learning control plan output means is configured to perform learning such that a method of determining the control change plans to be output is updated by using the mental and physical condition of the user, having changed as a result of executing the control change plan selected by the selection control unit…”, [0010], that is while meeting target arousal level and controlling the environment per determined parameters of the control plan, the apparatus observes and stores that is updating, the change in arousal level and change in environment due to the execution of the plan, [0010] and [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer, Tzvieli et al. and TW82 teach the environmental control device according to claim 11. In addition TW82 teaches, wherein the environmental control unit is configured to determine a balance between the happiness and the saving of the energy consumption according to a weight specified by a user (based on weight of the users, preference settings and other conditions, an optimal energy savings control value for air conditioning is determined while meeting users’ comfort in a space8, page 5, 1st and 2nd paragraph).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Emoto et al. (US 20200224916 A1) in view of WP09 (WO 2019235109 A1) and Mitterhofer (US 20230367033 A1) in further view of Tzvieli et al. (US 20180116528 A1) and TW82 (TW 201715182 A) and Wan et al. (US 20220113688 A1).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer, Tzvieli et al. and TW82 teach the environmental control device according to claim 11.
Neither in combination nor individually Emoto et al.,WP09, Mitterhofer, Tzvieli et al. and TW82 teach the details of the learning processing unit is configured to create the control model for a plurality of different spaces, and the environmental control unit is configured to perform the environmental control for the plurality of different spaces.
Wan et al. teaches, the learning processing unit9 is configured to create the control model for a plurality of different spaces (building dynamics model, [0090]), and the environmental control unit10 is configured to perform the environmental control (building performance parameters, [0082] and [0083]) for the plurality of different spaces (using building dynamics model, the optimization of building performance parameters that is environmental control for a region can be employed to multiple/plurality regions within the building that is optimizing building performance parameters for multiple/plurality regions in the building, [0090], [0082] and [0083]).
Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer, Tzvieli et al.,TW82 and Wan et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is conditioning the space per user’s condition.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the environmental control device performing environmental control in one space as taught by combination of Emoto et al., WP09, Mitterhofer, Tzvieli et al. and TW82 by applying the known technique of performing environmental control for plurality of regions/spaces as taught by Wan et al. as an improvement to environmental control device to yield predictable results of providing each region within the building with desired conditioned environment as taught by Wan et al. in [0089].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP22 (JP 6091722 B1) teaches an air conditioning system performing air conditioning based on predicted mean vote for the user and other environmental conditions in a space.
Oobayashi et al. (US 20200263894 A1) teaches an environment control system providing the user with cold or hot stimuli based on user’s condition and activity by performing environmental control accordingly.
CN53 (CN111780353A) teaches an air conditioning system and method for conditioning air based on adjustable user comfort range and real time energy efficiency status of the air conditioning system. The adjustable user comfort range can be obtained by machine learning algorithm.
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Air conditioner parameters determined per arousal level (happiness) of the user.
2 Learning the relationship between user arousal level (happiness) and change in environment due to air conditioning and blower operation and other devices as stated in [0061].
3 Learning the relationship between the change in user thermal cooling and change in environment and corresponding change in power consumption.
4 After learning the relationship between the energy consumption and user thermal cooling (happiness), appropriate air conditioner and blower settings which will reduce power consumption (energy savings) are determined and controlled accordingly while still meeting user thermal cooling criteria-evaluation value determined based on PMV as taught in page 7, 3rd-6th paragraph).
5No definition of design of space is provided.
6 User maximum happiness due to minimized stress.
7 No specific definition of time integration value is provided.
8 There are two ways the air conditioning can be perform that is either using weight of one user and energy saving measures or using weight of each user in a space and energy saving measures. Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose from a finite number of identified predictable solutions as identified above with a reasonable expectation of success to control the environment by air conditioning per user’s weight while still performing energy saving measures.
9 Learning control plan output means, [0065]) in view of Emoto et al.
10 Selection execution unit, [0075]