DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: specification P8 describes “3 Driving Part” but “3” is not in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 “kgf/cm” should read kgf/cm2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 “charges/discharge” should read “charge/discharge”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 20200227788 A1, “Chun”) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20150082957 A, “Lee”) and in view of Kim et al. (KR 20180093321 A, “Kim”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 1, Chun discloses an activation method (see [0037] “activation process”; see [0088] “method”) for a lithium secondary battery (see [0037] “lithium secondary battery undergoes an activation process”) comprising: a pre-aging process which ages the assembled lithium secondary battery at room temperature (see [0059] “aging step” & “at room temperature”); a formation process which charges the lithium secondary battery (see [0061] “charge/discharge process for activation of the secondary battery” & see [0071], [0072]); and a roll-pressing process which pressurizes the lithium secondary battery by using a pressure roller (see [0066] “pressure rollers”). Regarding the limitation wherein the roll-pressing process pressurizes from the center of the lithium secondary battery toward the edge where the electrode lead is located, Chun discloses in [0061] “applying a predetermined pressure” & “charge/discharge process for activation”, however, Chun does not explicitly disclose pressurizes from the center of the lithium secondary battery towards the edge where the electrode lead is located.
Lee teaches gas pockets and removal (see [0008]) & see [0027] describes “pressurizing jig (12) removes the gas generated when the battery cell (13) is activated from inside the battery cell”.
Kim teaches in FIG. 3(a) the center & in [0054] “compression jig 120 is formed in a semicylindrical shape capable of applying a stronger pressure to the center portion than the edge portion, since the bubble is generally formed more in the center portion than the edge portion of the battery cell”.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the activation method of Chun including adjusting the pressure roller to the center because Kim teaches removal of bubbles is more likely to occur in the center portion of the battery cell (see Kim [0054] & FIG. 3a) and further doing so removes gas generated during battery activation as suggested by Lee ([0027], [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the roll-pressing process is performed before the formation process (see [0061] “applying a predetermined pressure” & “before the charge/discharge process for activation of the secondary battery” & see [0066] “pressurizing means is composed of a pair of hot plates or pressure rollers”).
Regarding claim 5, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the roll-pressing process is performed 2 times (see [0079] “after performing the primary charging or primary formation process, it may additionally include secondary aging, secondary formation and gas removal processes” & see [0068] “pressure rollers”).
Regarding claim 7, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the pressure roller consists of an upper pressure roller and a lower pressure roller, and the lithium secondary battery is pressurized by passing between the upper pressure roller and the lower pressure roller (see [0068] “pressure rollers are cylindrical” & “passing the secondary battery between the pressure rollers”; see [0070] “pressurizing means (210, 220) disposed at the top and bottom of the secondary battery” & see [0066] “pressurizing” & “pressure rollers”; see FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein further comprises an aging process which ages the battery that has completed formation (see abstract “step of aging the battery”).
Claims 3-4, 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 20200227788 A1, “Chun”) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20150082957 A, “Lee”) and in view of Kim et al. (KR 20180093321 A, “Kim”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (KR 20140068551 A, “Choi”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 3, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1. Chun does not explicitly disclose wherein the roll-pressing process is performed during the formation process.
Choi teaches rolling during charging (see [0049] “step (c) is to apply pressure to the battery cell by a roll press to guide the gas generated inside the battery cell in one direction of the battery cell during the activation process”; see [0055] “applying the pressure to the roll 70 press, may be performed during all or a part of the activation process step (b). Continuous application of pressure throughout the activation process would be desirable when considering the performance of the process and certain emissions of the gases generated”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying pressure with the roll press during the activation process, as suggested by Choi (see [0049]) into the method of Chun because doing so improves the performance of the process as suggested by Choi (see [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the roll-pressing process is performed before the formation process (see [0061] “applying a predetermined pressure” & “before the charge/discharge process for activation of the secondary battery” & see [0066] “pressurizing means is composed of a pair of hot plates or pressure rollers”). Chun does not explicitly disclose wherein the roll-pressing process is performed during the formation process.
Choi teaches rolling during charging (see [0049] “step (c) is to apply pressure to the battery cell by a roll press to guide the gas generated inside the battery cell in one direction of the battery cell during the activation process”; see [0055] “applying the pressure to the roll 70 press, may be performed during all or a part of the activation process step (b). Continuous application of pressure throughout the activation process would be desirable when considering the performance of the process and certain emissions of the gases generated”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying pressure with the roll press during the activation process, as suggested by Choi (see [0049]) into the method of Chun because doing so improves the performance of the process as suggested by Choi (see [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the roll-pressing process pressurizes the lithium secondary battery (see [0066] “pressure” & “pressure roller”; see [0079] “pressure may be appropriately selected according to requirements such as battery capacity and performance”). Chun does not explicitly disclose at a nip-pressure of 20 to 60 kgf/cm2.
Choi teaches pressure within the claimed range (see [0054] “pressure applied by the roll 70 press is preferable 30 kgf/cm2”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate pressure at 30 kgf/cm2 as suggested by Choi into the method of Chun because Choi teaches pressure 30 kgf/cm2 is preferable.
Regarding claim 8, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 1. Chun does not explicitly disclose wherein the formation process comprises a process which applies a surface pressure to the lithium secondary battery being charged.
Choi teaches rolling during charging (see [0049] “step (c) is to apply pressure to the battery cell by a roll press to guide the gas generated inside the battery cell in one direction of the battery cell during the activation process”; see [0055] “applying the pressure to the roll 70 press, may be performed during all or a part of the activation process step (b). Continuous application of pressure throughout the activation process would be desirable when considering the performance of the process and certain emissions of the gases generated”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying pressure with the roll press during the activation process, as suggested by Choi (see [0049]) into the method of Chun because doing so improves the performance of the process as suggested by Choi (see [0055]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 20200227788 A1, “Chun”), Lee et al. (KR 20150082957 A, “Lee”), Kim et al. (KR 20180093321 A, “Kim”) and in view of Choi et al. (KR 20140068551 A, “Choi”) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20190074538 A1, “Lee”) and Yamamoto et al. (US 20150079463 A1, “Yamamoto”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 9, Chun discloses the activation method of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the formation process comprises a plurality of formation steps (see [0071] “charge/discharge process. This is also referred to as a primary formation process”; see [0081] “secondary charge/discharge process may be performed by discharging to reach a set output voltage after performing a full discharge and a full charge of the secondary battery”). Chun does not explicitly disclose that a charge end SoC is set differently.
Lee teaches SoC is set differently (see abstract “formation is performed to a state of charge (SOC) of 65% to 80%” & in [0102] “in order to form an SEI on the negative electrode and simultaneously secure an amount of the remaining electrolyte solution, the formation step may be performed in a state of charge (SOC) range of 65% to 80%, for example, 60% to 75%. If the formation step is performed at a SOC of less than 65%, the securement of the amount of the remaining electrolyte solution and wetting may not be sufficient. If the formation step is performed at a SOC of greater than 80%, since the pressure may be applied at high temperature for a long period of time to form an excessively high charge state, decomposition of the electrolyte solution and gas generation may occur. Thus, a uniform SEI may not be formed on the surface of the negative electrode and, furthermore, the electrolyte solution may be discharged”).
A result effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious. MPEP § 2144.05.
Thus, the SOC is a variable that achieves the recognized result of securing the electrolyte. That makes the SOC a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to routinely experiment with the SOC and come up with different SOC for the purpose of ensuring that the electrolyte is secured.
Regarding the limitation conditions of charging speed applied to the lithium secondary battery may be set differently for each of the formation steps, Chun does not explicitly disclose.
Yamamoto teaches charging rate (see [0048] “The “predetermined charge level” is within the range from 10% to 30% of the SOC (state of charge), which corresponds to a full charge. The “predetermined time period” is within the range from 1 hour to 7 days. The charging rate in the anode aging treatment is within the range from 0.01 C to 0.2 C. By charging the cell to 10% to 30% of the SOC at such a slow rate, the additive contained in the electrolytic solution is gradually degraded to form the coating derived from the additive (a kind of protective coating) on the surface of the anode active material. The durability of the anode active material can thus be improved. It is important to charge the cell at such a low rate in order to partly degrade the additive in the electrolytic solution to form the uniform coating on a part or the whole of the surface of the anode active material. The SOC of the cell can be determined by preparing a sample cell and measuring the SOC thereof in advance.”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate charging rate as suggested by Yamamoto into the activation method of Chun because Yamamoto teaches “it is important to charge the cell at such a low rate in order to partly degrade the additive in the electrolytic solution to form the uniform coating” (see [0048]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 20200227788 A1, “Chun”) in view of Choi et al. (KR 20140068551 A, “Choi”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 11, Chun discloses an activation device for a lithium secondary battery (see [0037] “a lithium secondary battery undergoes an activation process” & see [0066] describes “pressurizing means” & “preferable to have a structure for pressing the outer surface of the electrode assembly or the battery case by passing the secondary battery between the hot plates or pressure rollers” which reads on activation device. Chun discloses and a roll-pressing part that comprises an upper pressure roller and a lower pressure roller and pressurizes in a state in which the battery is interposed between the upper roller and the lower pressure roller (see [0068] “pressure rollers are cylindrical” & “passing the secondary battery between the pressure rollers”; see [0070] “pressurizing means (210, 220) disposed at the top and bottom of the secondary battery” & see [0066] “pressurizing means is composed of” & “pressure rollers” & see FIG. 4). Chun does not explicitly disclose comprising: a formation part which is configured to pressurize while charging the battery.
Choi teaches rolling during charging (see [0049] “step (c) is to apply pressure to the battery cell by a roll press to guide the gas generated inside the battery cell in one direction of the battery cell during the activation process”; see [0055] “applying the pressure to the roll 70 press, may be performed during all or a part of the activation process step (b). Continuous application of pressure throughout the activation process would be desirable when considering the performance of the process and certain emissions of the gases generated”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying pressure with the roll press during the activation process, as suggested by Choi (see [0049]) into the method of Chun because doing so improves the performance of the process as suggested by Choi (see [0055]).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 20200227788 A1, “Chun”) in view of Choi et al. (KR 20140068551 A, “Choi”) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sue et al. (KR 20150072019 A, “Sue”) and in view of Lim (KR 20210097904 A, “Lim”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 12, Chun discloses the activation device of claim 11. Chun discloses a clamp (see [0087]). Chun does not explicitly disclose a transference part located between the formation part and the roll-pressing part to take out and carry in/out the battery, wherein the transference part, comprising: a pickup part which carries in or out the battery accommodated in the formation part or the roll-pressing part; a driving part which moves the pickup part; and a controller which controls the operation of the pickup part and the driving part.
Sue teaches a transference part (see FIG. 3 “400 horizontal moving member” & see [0031] “(400) that horizontally moves the pressure member (200) toward the gas pocket portion (11) of the battery cell”; see FIG. 3 describes “200 pressing member”; see [0009] “charge/discharge process to activate the battery”; see [0031] “elevating member (300) that elevates the pressing member (200)” & teaches in [0037] “horizontal moving member (400) is provided as a general hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder, and is installed so that the cylinder rod is connected to the side of the installation block (410). By the operation of the above-described horizontal movement member (400), the installation block (410) moves horizontally, and the lifting member (300) and the pressure member (200) installed on the installation block (41) also move horizontally”). Sue teaches “lifting members (300)” which reads on a pickup part.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the “horizontal moving member 400” as suggested by Sue (see FIG. 3) into the activation device of Chun because doing so allows the movement of the pressure member as suggested by Sue (see [0037]).
Regarding the limitation and a driving part which moves the pickup part, Chun does not explicitly disclose.
Sue teaches in [0037] “horizontal moving member (400) is provided as a general hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder, and is installed so that the cylinder rod is connected to the side of the installation block (410)” & in FIG. 3 describes “410” is connected to “300 lifting member” which reads on driving part moves the pickup part.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a driving part that moves the pickup part into the activation device of Chun because Sue teaches “horizontal moving member 400” & in FIG. 3 describes “400” is connected to the lifting member “300” and doing so allows the movement of the pressure member as suggested by Sue (see [0037]).
Regarding the limitation and a controller which controls the operation of the pickup part and the driving part, Chun does not explicitly disclose.
Lim teaches a control means (see [0066] “control means (not shown) drives the transfer means (41) to transfer the support (43) to the upper side of the pressurizing unit (90) so that the plurality of bending modules (40) can be positioned at a degassing point corresponding to each of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells (1) mounted on the pressurizing unit (90)”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate “control means,” as suggested by Lim (see [0066]) into the activation device of Chun because doing so allows for driving “the transfer means (41) to transfer the support (43) to the upper side of the pressurizing unit (90) so that the plurality of bending modules (40) can be positioned at a degassing point,” as suggested by Lim (see [0066] & FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Chun discloses the activation device of claim 11 and further discloses the formation part (see [0037] “a lithium secondary battery undergoes an activation process”; see [0066] describes “pressurizing means” & “preferable to have a structure for pressing the outer surface of the electrode assembly or the battery case by passing the secondary battery between the hot plates or pressure rollers”). Chun does not explicitly disclose a frame accommodating a plurality of battery cells.
Lim teaches a frame (see [0050] “body (70) forms the exterior of the pressurizing unit (90) and has a structure capable of accommodating a plurality of pouch-shaped battery cells (1). The above-mentioned main body (70) can be basically configured to include a lower frame, an upper frame, and a pair of connecting frames arranged on both sides to connect the lower and upper frames to form a rigid form”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a frame accommodating a plurality of battery cells, as suggested by Lim (see [0050]) into the activation device of Chun because doing so provides support for the pressurization process.
Regarding the limitation a charging/discharging part connected to electrode leads of the battery to charges/discharge the battery, Chun does not explicitly disclose electrode leads.
Choi teaches electrode leads connected to a charging/discharging part (see [0051] “electrode terminals 60” reads on electrode leads of the battery & “electrode terminals 60 for electrically connecting the electrode assembly”; see [0036] “activating the battery cell by charging the battery cell or by performing at least one charge and discharge” reads on charging/discharging part).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate electrode leads connected to a charging/discharging part, as suggested by Choi into the activation device of Chun because doing so allows for the battery cycling and formation.
Regarding the limitation a plurality of pressure plates which pressurizes both sides of the battery, Chun discloses (see [0066] “pressure rollers”).
Regarding the limitation and a driving part which moves the plurality of pressure plates, Chun does not explicitly disclose a driving part.
Sue teaches in [0037] “horizontal moving member (400) is provided as a general hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder, and is installed so that the cylinder rod is connected to the side of the installation block (410)” & in FIG. 3 describes “410” is connected to “300 lifting member” which reads on driving part moves the pickup part.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a driving part that moves the pickup part into the activation device of Chun because Sue teaches “horizontal moving member 400” & in FIG. 3 describes “400” is connected to the lifting member “300” and doing so allows the movement of the pressure member as suggested by Sue (see [0037]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun et al. (US 20200227788 A1, “Chun”) in view of Choi et al. (KR 20140068551 A, “Choi”) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sue et al. (KR 20150072019 A, “Sue”) and in view of Yasooka (US 20150000116 A1, “Yasooka”). The machine translations are used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 13, Chun discloses the activation device of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the roll-pressing part comprising: an upper pressure roller and a lower pressure roller (see [0068] “pressure rollers are cylindrical” & “passing the secondary battery between the pressure rollers”; see [0070] “pressurizing means (210, 220) disposed at the top and bottom of the secondary battery” & see [0066] “pressurizing means is composed of” & “pressure rollers”; see FIG. 4). Regarding the limitation a driving part which drives to rotate the upper pressure roller and the lower pressure roller, Chun does not explicitly disclose a driver.
Sue teaches in [0037] “horizontal moving member (400) is provided as a general hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder, and is installed so that the cylinder rod is connected to the side of the installation block (410)” & in FIG. 3 describes “410” is connected to “300 lifting member” which reads on driving part moves the pickup part.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a driving part that moves the pickup part into the activation device of Chun because Sue teaches “horizontal moving member 400” & in FIG. 3 describes “400” is connected to the lifting member “300” and doing so allows the movement of the pressure member as suggested by Sue (see [0037]).
Regarding the limitation and a pressure cylinder which makes the upper pressure roller to move in the opposite direction of the lower pressure roller, Chun does not explicitly disclose.
Yasooka teaches cylinder (see [0039] “Upon the shaft of the cylinder 76 being extended, the rollers 72 approach each other and so that they can press the battery cell 10. Upon the shaft of the cylinder 76 being retracted, the rollers 72 separate from each other, removing pressure on the battery cell 10” & see FIG. 4 describes “76 cylinder” & “rollers 72” which describes the pressure roller move in a direction opposite of the lower pressure roller). Yasooka teaches removal of gas (see [0015] “According to the battery pressing method, the rotational speed of the rotational pressing device and the transport speed of the battery cell are synchronized, and so a differential does not arise between the surface of the battery cell and the battery cell as a whole when pressing is initiated by the rotational pressing device. Unbalanced forces thus do not act on the battery element inside the battery cell. As a result, layer shifting of the battery element inside the battery cell does not arise, and the cell can be pressed to eliminate gas, air, and the like inside the battery element, with electrolyte impregnating the battery element in its place”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate cylinder, as suggested by Yasooka (see [0039]) into the activation device of Chun because doing so allows the rollers to come into contact with the cell and be pressed to eliminate gas (see [0015]).
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 02/11/2026