DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bottom conductive regions and bottoms slots disclosed in claim s 9 and 18 and the non-linear gaps disclosed in claims 7 and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. The drawings are objected to because the Fig. 1B, 2B, and 6D layers are hard to distinguish and not clear. Fig. 5 have reference labels 514 and 518 which appears to point to the bottom conductive region which is hidden because Fig. 5 is a top down view of the PPTC device. Applicants should explicitly show the bottom conductive region or bottom slots from a bottom view or cross-sectional view. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference label for the cross-sectional line in Fig. 1A and 2A is missing. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections Claim 2, 10 , and 12 objected to because of the following informalities : Claims 2 and 12 recites “conductive filler” this should be –graphene filler--. Claim 10 recites “a polyethylene copolymer a polycaprolactone” this should be -- a polyethylene copolymer, a polycaprolactone--. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0119464 A1) in view of Elverud (US 20160021704 A1) Claim 1. Chen discloses a resistance heater (Fig. 1A, par. 2) , comprising: a polymer positive temperature coefficient (PPTC) material (PPTC body 104, Fig. 1A) , arranged in a heater body (heater 100) , defining a heater main surface (PPTC body has a surface) , wherein the PPTC material comprises: a polymer matrix, the polymer matrix defining the PPTC body (PPTC includes a polymer matrix, par. 6) ; and a graphene filler component, disposed in the polymer matrix (carbon black, par. 16) ; an electrode assembly, comprising a first electrode (102) and a second electrode arranged in contact with the heater body at two or more locations (106) ; a first lead, connected to the first electrode (first terminal 108, Fig. 1B) ; and a second lead, connected to the second electrode (second terminal 110, Fig. 1B) , wherein the electrode assembly defines a current path between the first lead and the second lead, the current path comprising a first portion, extending along the heater main surface (current flows along the terminals which is along the heater main surface, Fig. 1B) , and a second portion, extending through the heater body (current passes from 108 to 110 through the body 104, par. 3) . Chen does not disclose a graphene filler. Elverud discloses a resistive heater with two electrodes that heat a polymeric matrix (110, par. 28) that has a conductive filler (par. 27), wherein the conductive filler may be graphene (par. 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Elverud and have the conductive filler be made of graphene. Elverud demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to choose graphene from a variety of carbon based conductive fillers. Claim 11. A battery, comprising: at least one battery cell; and resistance heater (Fig. 1A, par. 2) , arranged in thermal contact with the battery , the resistance heater comprising: a polymer positive temperature coefficient (PPTC) material, arranged in a heater body (PPTC body 104, Fig. 1A) wherein the PPTC material comprises: a polymer matrix, the polymer matrix defining the heater body, and forming a heater main surface (PPTC includes a polymer matrix, par. 6) ; and a graphene filler component, disposed in the polymer matrix (carbon black, par. 16) ; and an electrode assembly, comprising two or more electrodes arranged in contact with the heater body at two or more locations (first electrode 102 and second electrode 106, Fig. 1B) , wherein the electrode assembly defines a current path between a first electrode and a second electrode, the current path comprising a first portion, extending along the heater main surface (current flows along the terminals which is along the heater main surface, Fig. 1B) , and a second portion, extending through the heater body (current passes from 108 to 110 through the body 104, par. 3) . Chen does not disclose a battery, at least one battery cell that is in thermal contact with the battery, and a graphene filler. Elverud discloses a resistive heater with two electrodes that heat a polymeric matrix (110, par. 28) that has a conductive filler (par. 27), wherein the conductive filler may be graphene (par. 29), wherein the conductive layer may be connected to a battery (par. 47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Elverud and have the conductive filler be made of graphene and connect the heater to a battery. Doing so would have the benefit of heating the heater. Additionally, Elverud demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to choose graphene from a variety of carbon based conductive fillers. Claims 2 and 12. Chen in view of Elverud discloses the resistance heater of claim 1, wherein a volume percentage of polymer matrix is between 50~99%, wherein a volume fraction of conductive filler is between 1% and 50 % (conductive filler volume fraction may range from 5% to 55%, par. 16, which would mean the polymer matrix is between 45%-95%) . Claim 3. Chen in view of Elverud discloses the resistance heater of claim 1, further comprising a carbon filler component, wherein a volume fraction of carbon filler with respect to graphene filler component ranges between 1% and 99% (claim 2, wherein the first conductive filler may be graphene and the second conductive filler may be carbon fiber, par. 29 , Elverud ) . Claims 4 and 14. Chen in view of Elverud discloses the resistance heater of claim 1, the first electrode being disposed on a first side of the heater body, and the second electrode being disposed on a second side of the heater body, opposite the first side (Fig. 1A) . Claim 10. Chen in view of Elverud discloses the resistance heater of claim 1, the polymer matrix comprising a polyethylene copolymer (ETFE, par. 22) a polycaprolactone, a polyether, a polyurethane, a polyamide, a diene elastomer, or combination thereof. Claim 13. Chen in view of Elverud discloses the battery of claim 11, further comprising a carbon filler component, wherein a volume fraction of carbon filler with respect to graphene filler component ranges between 1% and 99% (first filler may be graphene, claim 2, par. 29, Elverud ) wherein a volume fraction of conductive filler is between 1% and 50 % (second filler may be a different conductive filler, claim 2, par. 29, Elverud ) . Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Elverud as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ref ‘103 (JP2002502103) Claims 5 and 15. Chen in view of Elverud does not disclose the resistance heater of claim 1, the first electrode and the second electrode being disposed on a first side of the heater body. Ref ‘103 discloses a resistance heater with electrodes 3 and 4 (Fig. 2), a conductive polymer matrix with graphite filler (par. 31, Fig. 2), wherein the electrodes 3 and 4 are disposed on a first side of the heater (Fig. 2) with a floating electrode 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen in view of Elverud to incorporate the teachings of Ref ‘103 and have the electrodes positioned on the same side of the heater. Doing so would have the benefit of being able to repeat the electrode design over a large distance with the floating electrode and heat larger areas (par. 41, Ref ‘103). Claims 6 and 16. Chen in view of Elverud and Ref ‘103 discloses the resistance heater of claim 5, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are separated from one another by one or more slots (gaps between the electrode 3 and 4, Fig. 1, Ref ‘103 ) , disposed along the first side, the one or more slots comprising regions where no electrode material is present (no electrode between 3 and 4, Fig. 1, Ref ‘103 ) . Claim 8. Chen in view of Elverud and Ref ‘103 discloses the resistance heater of claim 6, further comprising at least one conductive region, disposed along a second side of the heater body, opposite the first side (floating electrode 5, Fig. 1 and 2, Ref ‘103 ) . Claims 9 and 18. Chen in view of Elverud and Ref ‘103 discloses the resistance heater of claim 8, wherein the at least one conductive region comprises a plurality of bottom conductive regions (multiple floating electrodes 5, Fig. 2, Ref ‘103 ) , separated from one another by one or more bottom slots, disposed along the second side, the one or more bottom slots comprising regions where no electrode material is present (floating electrodes are separated, Fig. 2, Ref ‘103 ) . Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Elverud and Ref ‘103 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Han ( US 2007 / 0103269 A1 ) Claims 7 and 17. Chen in view of Elverud and Ref ‘103 does not disclose the resistance heater of claim 6, wherein at least one of the one or more slots is a non-linear slot. Han discloses a thermistor wherein the non-conductive gaps between the electrodes may be zigzag or wave shaped (Fig. 4C) in order to prevent the Tombstone phenomenon (abstract) that occurs if the re is an asymmetric structure in the electrode shape. While, the thermistor is not a PTC heater element, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to this teaching since the Tombstone phenomenon can occur in electrodes bonded to a PTC material that have an asymmetric structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen in view of Elverud and Ref ‘103 to incorporate the teachings of Han and have a non-linear wavy non-conductive gap. Doing so would have the benefit of preventing the tombstone phenomenon from occurring ( abstract, Han ). Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ref ‘103 ( JP2002502103 ) and Junghans ( US 20100021683 A1 ) . Claim 19. Chen discloses a resistance heater (Fig. 1A, par. 2) , comprising: a polymer positive temperature coefficient (PPTC) material, arranged in a heater body (PPTC body 104, Fig. 1A) , defining a heater main surface (PPTC body has a surface) , wherein the PPTC material comprises: a polymer matrix, the polymer matrix defining the PPTC body (PPTC includes a polymer matrix, par. 6) ; and a conductive filler component, comprising graphene, carbon (carbon black, par. 16) , or a combination thereof, the conductive filler component disposed in the polymer matrix; an electrode assembly, comprising a first electrode (102) and a second electrode (106) arranged in contact with the heater body on a first side of the heater body ; a conductive region, disposed on a second side of the heater body, opposite the first side; a double sided adhesive layer, disposed on the conductive region; a first lead (first terminal 108) , connected to the first electrode; and a second lead (second terminal 110) , connected to the second electrode, wherein the electrode assembly defines a current path between the first lead and the second lead, the current path comprising a first portion (current flows along the terminals which is along the heater main surface, Fig. 1B) , extending along the heater main surface, and a second portion, extending through the heater body (current passes from 108 to 110 through the body 104, par. 3) . Ref ‘103 discloses a resistance heater with electrodes 3 and 4 (Fig. 2), a conductive polymer matrix with graphite filler (par. 31, Fig. 2), wherein the electrodes 3 and 4 are disposed on a first side of the heater (Fig. 2) with a floating electrode 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Ref ‘103 and have the electrodes positioned on the same side of the heater. Doing so would have the benefit of being able to repeat the electrode design over a large distance with the floating electrode and heat larger areas (par. 41, XXX). Chen in view of Ref ‘103 does not disclose a double sided adhesive layer disposed on the conductive region. Junghans discloses a flexible heater wherein a double-sided tape 70 is used to secure the bottom of the heater to a substrate 40 (par. 170, Fig. 9A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen in view of Ref ‘103 to incorporate the teachings of Junghans and have the bottom of the heater, i.e. conductive region be bonded to a substrate using double-sided tape . Doing so would have the benefit of being able secure the heater to a substrate. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ref ‘103 and Junghans as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Han (US 2009/0272727 A1) Claim 20. The resistance heater of claim 19, further, comprising: an insulation tape, disposed over the first electrode and the second electrode. Han discloses a PTC heater wherein an insulating tape 35 is covers the electrode 33 (par. 48, Fig. 4C) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen in view of Ref ‘103 to incorporate the teachings of Han and cover the first and second electrode with insulating tape . Doing so would have the benefit of insulating the electrodes from external objects or liquid (abstract, Han). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SIMPSON A CHEN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6422 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri 8-5 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Steven Crabb can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-5095 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SIMPSON A CHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /ELIZABETH M KERR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761