DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending, of which claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/16/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020262343 (“Kikuchi”, machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi teaches an absorbent for absorption of liquid (see e.g. paragraph [0001]). The absorbent of Kikuchi is a composite comprising a polymer absorbent referred to “Absorbent A” and a superabsorbent polymer (see e.g. paragraph [0049]). The polymer absorbent has a hydrophilic continuous skeleton and continuous pore (see e.g. paragraph [0007]). The polymer absorbent also has -COOH and COONA groups (see e.g. paragraph [0051]). The total ion exchange capacity is more than 4.0 mg eq/g (see e.g. paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Kikuchi teaches that the polymer absorbent has a liquid absorption of well over 30 g/g (see e.g. paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 4, Kikuchi teaches that the void percentage is 85% or more (see e.g. paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Kikuchi teaches that the polymer absorbent has an average pore diameter of 1-1000 mm (see e.g. paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Kikuchi teaches that the polymer absorbent can be a monolithic absorbent (see e.g. paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 7, Kikuchi teaches that the polymer absorbent can be a hydrolysate of a crosslinked polymer of (meth)acrylic acid ester and a divinyl compound, such as divinyl benzene (see e.g. paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, Kikuchi teaches that the superabsorbent polymer can be an acrylic acid based superabsorbent polymer in sodium form, which would therefore have a sodium cation on the surface (see e.g. paragraph [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kikuchi.
Regarding claim 2, Kikuchi does not provide the ion exchange rate for any polyvalent ion. However, Kikuchi teaches that the polymer absorbent can be butyl methacrylate crosslinked with divinyl benzene (see e.g. paragraph [0100]). This is the same polymer absorbent as described in an example of the instant application (see Specification at paragraph [0065]). As the two polymers are substantially the same, they would have the same polyvalent ion exchange rate.
As noted in MPEP 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” Here, given the identical or nearly identical structure and composition of the polymers, the polymer of Kikuchi is considered to have the same properties and characteristics of the polymer of the instant application.
Alternatively, even in the polymer of Kikuchi is slightly different than the polymer of the instant application, given the nearly identical materials and structure, any slight differences in properties would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736