DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 13-17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunt et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0189179), hereinafter referred to as Kunt in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0239823), hereinafter referred to as Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Kunt teaches an apparatus (communication apparatus; See Fig. 2, #210), comprising:
a memory (See Fig. 2, #214); and
a processor (See Fig. 2, #212) coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a timing advance value in a data message (the UE sends TA report in Msg3; See [0113]), the timing advance value being based at least in part on a time offset value (UE 110 may be configured to transmit a TA report to network node 125 in response to a value of TA deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount; See [0030] and [0056]).
Kunt fails to teach the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot.
Liu teaches the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot (the TA offset is the time difference between the UL transmission (UL signal starting time, or UL OFDM symbol starting time) and the corresponding DL signal (the first path, the strongest path, or the OFDM symbol starting boundary inferred by the UE); See [0116]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Kunt to include the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot taught by Liu in order to improve signaling synchronization and reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Kunt further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the time offset value comprises a time value (at time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis; See [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Kunt further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit one or more of a first reported value or a second reported value, and the one or more of the first reported value or the second reported value is further determined by at least one of a network deployment or a set of threshold values (The processor 212 may monitor the TA/KI value and when the TA/KI value is outside a hysteresis range, or when the TA/KI value is greater than or lower than a predetermined threshold, or when the TA/KI value is deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount, the UE 110 may initiate the TA report. At time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis. At time t1, if the current KI value deviates from the previous KI value: KI_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as KI>=KI_old+Delta_hys or KI<=KI_old-Delta_hys, then UE sends a new TA report; See [0055]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Kunt fails to teach the apparatus of claim 2, wherein, the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample.
Liu teaches wherein, the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample (the TA offset is the time difference between the UL transmission (UL signal starting time, or UL OFDM symbol starting time) and the corresponding DL signal (the first path, the strongest path, or the OFDM symbol starting boundary inferred by the UE); See [0116]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Kunt to include wherein, the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample taught by Liu in order to improve signaling synchronization and reliability.
Regarding claim 7, Kunt further teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the time offset value indicates whether the time offset value is positive or negative in a time period (at time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis; See [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Kunt further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a configuration of a reporting period (UE 110 may be configured to autonomously transmit its TA report to network node 125 periodically or non-periodically; See [0030]) and transmit a reported value based on the reporting period (The UE 110 may transmit its TA report to network node 125, periodically or non-periodically, responsive to expiry of a timer; See [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Kunt further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein transmission of the timing advance value is triggered by a differential offset value being larger, smaller, or equal to a threshold (The processor 212 may monitor the TA/KI value and when the TA/KI value is outside a hysteresis range, or when the TA/KI value is greater than or lower than a predetermined threshold, or when the TA/KI value is deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount, the UE 110 may initiate the TA report At time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis; See [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Kunt fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the time offset value is specified in unit of symbol sample.
Liu teaches wherein, the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample (the TA offset is the time difference between the UL transmission (UL signal starting time, or UL OFDM symbol starting time) and the corresponding DL signal (the first path, the strongest path, or the OFDM symbol starting boundary inferred by the UE); See [0116]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Kunt to include wherein, the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample taught by Liu in order to improve signaling synchronization and reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Kunt further teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the timing advance value based at least in part on a differential time offset value being larger than or equal to a second threshold (The processor 212 may monitor the TA/KI value and when the TA/KI value is outside a hysteresis range, or when the TA/KI value is greater than or lower than a predetermined threshold, or when the TA/KI value is deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount, the UE 110 may initiate the TA report. At time t1, if the current KI value deviates from the previous KI value: KI_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as KI>=KI_old+Delta_hys or KI<=KI_old-Delta_hys, then UE sends a new TA report; See [0055] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Kunt further teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the differential time offset value comprises a variation between a current timing advance value and a previous timing advance value (at time t1, if the current KI value deviates from the previous KI value: KI_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as KI>=KI_old+Delta_hys or KI<=KI_old-Delta_hys, then UE sends a new TA report; See [0057]).
Regarding claim 16, Kunt teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting a timing advance value in a data message (the UE sends TA report in Msg3; See [0113]), the timing advance value being based at least in part on a time offset value (UE 110 may be configured to transmit a TA report to network node 125 in response to a value of TA deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount; See [0030] and [0056]).
Kunt fails to teach the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot.
Liu teaches the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot (the TA offset is the time difference between the UL transmission (UL signal starting time, or UL OFDM symbol starting time) and the corresponding DL signal (the first path, the strongest path, or the OFDM symbol starting boundary inferred by the UE); See [0116]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Kunt to include the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot taught by Liu in order to improve signaling synchronization and reliability.
Regarding claim 17, Kunt further teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the time offset value comprises a time value (at time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis; See [0056]).
Regarding claim 19, Kunt further teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising transmitting one or more of a first reported value or a second reported value and determining the one or more of the first reported value or the second reported value by at least one of a network deployment or a set of threshold values (The processor 212 may monitor the TA/KI value and when the TA/KI value is outside a hysteresis range, or when the TA/KI value is greater than or lower than a predetermined threshold, or when the TA/KI value is deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount, the UE 110 may initiate the TA report. Aat time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis. At time t1, if the current KI value deviates from the previous KI value: KI_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as KI>=KI_old+Delta_hys or KI<=KI_old-Delta_hys, then UE sends a new TA report; See [0055]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 20, Kunt fails to teach the method of claim 17, wherein the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample.
Liu teaches wherein, the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample (the TA offset is the time difference between the UL transmission (UL signal starting time, or UL OFDM symbol starting time) and the corresponding DL signal (the first path, the strongest path, or the OFDM symbol starting boundary inferred by the UE); See [0116]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Kunt to include wherein, the time offset value is specified in unit of a symbol sample taught by Liu in order to improve signaling synchronization and reliability.
Regarding claim 21, Kunt further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein, the time offset value indicates whether the time offset value is positive or negative in a time period (at time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis; See [0056]).
Regarding claim 22, Kunt further teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving a configuration of a reporting period (UE 110 may be configured to autonomously transmit its TA report to network node 125 periodically or non-periodically; See [0030]), wherein, and transmitting a reported value based on the reporting period (The UE 110 may transmit its TA report to network node 125, periodically or non-periodically, responsive to expiry of a timer; See [0058]).
Regarding claim 23, Kunt further teaches the method of claim 16, transmitting the timing advance value is triggered by a differential offset value being larger, smaller, or equal to a threshold (The processor 212 may monitor the TA/KI value and when the TA/KI value is outside a hysteresis range, or when the TA/KI value is greater than or lower than a predetermined threshold, or when the TA/KI value is deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount, the UE 110 may initiate the TA report. At time t1, if the current TA value (that is, the actual TA value currently obtained by the computing or measuring) deviates from the previous TA value: TA_old, reported at time t0, by at least a predefined amount, such as TA>=TA_old+Delta_hys or TA<=TA_old-Delta_hyss, then UE sends a new TA report, where Delta_hys is a Delta hysteresis; See [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 24, Kunt teaches an apparatus (network apparatus; See Fig. 2, #220), comprising:
a memory (See Fig. 2, #224); and
a processor coupled to the memory (See Fig. 2, #222), the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a timing advance value in a data message (the UE sends TA report in Msg3; See [0113]), the timing advance value being based at least in part on a time offset value (UE 110 may be configured to transmit a TA report to network node 125 in response to a value of TA deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount; See [0030] and [0056]).
Kunt fails to teach the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot.
Liu teaches the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot (the TA offset is the time difference between the UL transmission (UL signal starting time, or UL OFDM symbol starting time) and the corresponding DL signal (the first path, the strongest path, or the OFDM symbol starting boundary inferred by the UE); See [0116]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Kunt to include the time offset value pertaining to a timing advance of an uplink time slot before a corresponding downlink time slot taught by Liu in order to improve signaling synchronization and reliability.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunt in view of Liu as applied to claims 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Zhu (U.S. PGPub 2024/0323880), hereinafter referred to as Zhu.
Regarding claim 4, Kunt in view of Liu fails to teach the apparatus of claim 2, wherein, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit a reference value, and the reference value comprises at least is one of a broadcast time offset, a previous first reported value, or a previous time offset value.
Zhu teaches transmit a reference value, and the reference value comprises at least is one of a broadcast time offset (the configuration information includes at least one of the followings: an offset parameter, configured to indicate an offset for reporting the TA command; See [0080]), a previous first reported value, or a previous time offset value.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Kunt in view of Liu to include wherein, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit a reference value, and the reference value comprises at least is one of a broadcast time offset, a previous first reported value, or a previous time offset value taught by Zhu in order to enhance reliability.
Regarding claim 18, Kunt in view of Liu fails to teach the method of claim 17, further comprising transmitting a reference value, the reference value comprising at least one of a broadcast time offset, a previous first reported value, or a previous time offset value.
Zhu teaches transmitting a reference value, the reference value comprising at least one of a broadcast time offset (the configuration information includes at least one of the followings: an offset parameter, configured to indicate an offset for reporting the TA command; See [0080]), a previous first reported value, or a previous time offset value.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the method of Kunt in view of Liu to include transmitting a reference value, the reference value comprising at least one of a broadcast time offset taught by Zhu in order to enhance reliability.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 3/18/2026