DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Arguements
The amendment received on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are currently pending and have been treated on the merits.
In light of the amendment to the claims the rejection of claim 1 and dependent claims Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn. In light of cancellation of claim 4 the rejection of this claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the double patenting rejections require multiple mutations. This arguments has been fully considered and is not persuasive. The instant claims are not limited to a single sequence with no other mutations. If applicant wishes to claims such a sequence, the use of the expression “consisting of” would limit the claims to a specific sequence. Further the disclosure of those claims render obvious the use of fewer than all of the mutations claimed.
A new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (“Genetic and biochemical characterization of Corynebacterium glutamicum ATP phosphoribosyltransferase” Biochemie, 94 (2012), 829-838).
Regarding claim 1 and the limitation “An ATP-phosphoribosyltransferase variant containing a substitution of proline for serine at the residue corresponding to position 288 in an the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1”, Zhang discloses variants of ATP-phosphoribosyltransferase from Corynebacterium glutamicum (Abstract) and teaches mutants with reduced histidine inhibition and specifically teaches the mutant of A270P in which a proline has been substituted for the residue at this position and discloses this residue is important for stabilizing histidine binding (Abstract, 3.7 Kinetic analysis of the HisGcg mutants, Table 2). Zhang disloses that this residue corresponds to E. coli ATP-phosphoribosyltransferase S288 (Figure 5).
Applicant claims a product by process, i.e. a variant where serine has been replaced by proline. A product by process is limited only to the structure implied by the steps, and not to the manipulations recited in the steps, See MPEP 2113, "The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979) “ The only structure implied by the substation is the residue which is present, i.e. proline.
Regarding claim 3 and the limitation “wherein the variant is reduced feedback inhibition of the variant by histidine”, Zhang discloses that the variants produced, including those with the A270P mutation, have reduced feedback inhibition to histidine (Abstract, 3.7 Kinetic analysis of the HisGcg mutants, Table 2, Figure 6 and Discussion).
Regarding claims 5-7 and the limitations “A transformed strain expressing the ATP-phosphoribosyltransferase variant of claim 1.”, “wherein the strain is E. coli”, and Zhang discloses transforming E. coli with plasmids encoding the genes for variants including those with and discloses expressing the mutants and that they accumulated histidine (2. Materials and Methods, 2.1 Bacterial strains, plasmids and growth media, 2.3 Expression and purification of wild type HisGcg and its mutants, Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-6 above.
Zhang does not teach mutation of the E. coli gene nor do they specifically teach a A270P/S288P mutant in a strain producing histidine. This differences however would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Zhang.
Regarding claim 3 and the limitation “wherein the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 is expressed from E. coli hisG gene”, Zhang teaches the sequence of E. coli HisG, i.e. SEQ ID NO: 1, and that residue S288 corresponds to A270 (Figure 5). Zhang further teaches that this enzyme has been purified and characterized in the art (Table 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the equivalent mutant could be made in E. coli as Zhang teaches this residue is involved in histidine binding and teaches the sequence of E. coli ATP-phosphoribosyltransferase and this specific residue. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to create other ATP-phosphoribosyltransferase with reduced inhibition to histidine for use in the production of histidine. One of ordinary skill in the art would further have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as Zhang teaches the sequence, teaches mutagenesis techniques of the same enzyme in C. glutamicum, and teaches that the E. coli enzyme has been purified in the art.
Regarding claim 7 and the limitation “A method for producing histidine comprising a step of culturing the strain of claim 5”, Zhang teaches that strains of C. glutamicum transformed with wild type enzyme do not accumulate histidine however the triple variant N215K/L231F/T235A does (3.8 Overexpression of HisGcg containing N215K/L231F/T235A mutations promotes the histitidine accumulation in vivo). Zhang further teaches that various mutants including A270P have reduced inhibition by histidine (Table 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that variants containing the A270P mutation could be expressed in C. glutamicum, and that these variants due to their decreased inhibition to histidine would over produce histidine as Zhang teaches these properties of the enzyme and residue and teach that the triple mutant is capable of producing histidine. Oen of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to create strains which can over produce histidine, as Zhang teaches that C. glutamicum is a work horse for producing amino acids (Introduction). One of ordinanry skill in the art would further have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as Zhang teaches another variant of the enzyme produces histidine to accumulate.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of copending Application No. 18269666 (reference
application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct
from each other because ‘666 discloses variant ATP-PR based on SEQ ID NO: 1, including
variants at the S288 position as well as strains and method of producing histidine. These claims will overlap with instant claims and further render obvious the instant claims as one of ordinary skill would find it obvious that variants with only one of the listed mutations could be made, transformed into strains and used in the claimed method to produce histidine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably
indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-3 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of copending Application No. 18269683 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘683 discloses variant ATP-PR based on SEQ ID NO: 1, including variants at the S288 position as well as strains and method of producing histidine. These claims will overlap with instant claims and further render obvious the instant claims as one of ordinary skill would find it obvious that variants with only one of the listed mutations could be made, transformed into strains and used in the claimed method to produce histidine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably
indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-3 and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of copending Application No. 18269647 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinctfrom each other because ‘647 discloses variant ATP-PR based on SEQ ID NO: 1, including
variants at the S288 position as well as strains and method of producing histidine. These claims will overlap with the instant claims further render obvious the instant claims as one of ordinary skill would find it obvious that variants with only one of the listed mutations could be made, transformed into strains and used in the claimed method to produce histidine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably
indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-3, and 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of copending Application No. 18269689 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘689 discloses variant ATP-PR based on SEQ ID NO: 1, including variants at the S288 position, as well as strains and method of producing histidine. These claims will overlap with the instant claims and further render obvious the instant claims as one of ordinary skill would find it obvious that variants with only one of the listed mutations could be made, transformed into strains and used in the claimed method to produce histidine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably
indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES Z CONSTANTINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657