DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 2 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Application of PCT/JP2021/047772, filed on 12/23/2021. The instant application claims foreign priority to JP 2020-218922 filed on 12/28/2020. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application on 6/26/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 9/26/2023, 11/14/2024 and 12/19/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, without significantly more. The claims are directed to compositions comprising sugars and amino acids, which are known naturally occurring compounds that occur together in naturally occurring compositions. For instance: 1) MacLeod (J. Institute Brewing, 1951, PTO-892) discloses that barley grain comprises raffinose, glutamic acid and aspartic acid; 2) Wyse et al. (J. Am. Soc. Sugar Beet Technol., 1971, PTO-892) discloses that sugar beets comprise raffinose and amino acids, specifically glutamic acid. (pp. 370; Ref. 23); and 3) Zhang et al. (Nutrients, 2013, PTO-892) discloses that breast milk comprises glutamic acid and aspartic acid (Table 5) and Castanys-Muñoz et al. (Nutr. Rev., 2013, PTO-892) discloses that breast milk comprises lactose and 2’-fucosyllactose. (Abstract) The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional intended use limitation (i.e. “for an oral cavity”) does not distinguish the invention from that which would naturally occur. Barley grain, sugar beets and breast milk are all natural food sources consumed through the oral cavity of various animals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (JPH 1112168A, 1999, IDS).
Sasaki et al. discloses an oral tablet or capsule comprising glutamic acid and lactose. (Examples 1 and 3)
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida et al. (JP 2014133728A, 2014, PTO-892).
Ishida et al. discloses an oral tablet comprising glutamic acid and/or aspartic acid and lactose. (Examples 1-3)
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacLeod (J. Inst. Brewing, 1951, PTO-892).
MacLeod discloses that barley grain comprises raffinose glutamic acid and aspartic acid. (Abstract) With respect to the limitation “for an oral cavity”, this limitation is inherently met by MacLeod because barley grain is a natural food source consumed through the oral cavity of various animals.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wyse et al. (J. Am. Soc. Sugar Beet Technol., 1971, PTO-892).
Wyse et al. discloses that sugar beet comprises raffinose and glutamic acid. (p. 370; Ref 23) With respect to the limitation “for an oral cavity”, this limitation is inherently met by Wyse because sugar beet is a natural food source consumed through the oral cavity of various animals.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (Nutrients, 2013, PTO-892) with Castanys-Muñoz et al. (Nutr. Rev., 2013, PTO-892).
Zhang et al. discloses that breast milk comprises glutamic acid and aspartic acid. (Table 5) Castanys-Muñoz et al. discloses that breast milk comprises lactose and 2’-fucosyllactose. (Abstract) Thus, breast milk meets each and every limitation of the claimed invention. With respect to the limitation “for an oral cavity”, this limitation is inherently met by the prior art because breast milk is consumed through the oral cavity of human infants.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2018/0303781A1, IDS).
Han discloses a composition for promoting desired oral microbiota, in an oral cavity, comprising arginine, lactose and raffinose. (Example 1; Abstract)
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2018/0303781A1, IDS).
Han discloses a composition for promoting desired oral microbiota, in an oral cavity, comprising arginine, lactose and raffinose. (Example 1; Abstract) Han further discloses that the composition may further comprise an amino acid selected from among L-cysteine, DL-aspartic acid, L-glutamic acid, L-serine, and L-tyrosine. (Claim 5)
Han does not disclose that the composition specifically comprises an acidic amino acid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exemplified composition of Han and add one or more of DL-aspartic acid and L-glutamic acid, thereby arriving at the instant invention. Han suggests that the composition my further comprise additional amino acids beyond arginine and one could easily select aspartic acid or glutamic acid from among the limited options taught by Han, to yield an obvious modification of the primary composition of Han. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693