DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 6/27/23 has been considered and entered. Claims 11-16 have been added. Claims 1-16 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, the term “Gr” is unclear as to what this is? Should this be Cr? Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 14, the term ‘LiTSI” is unclear as to what this is? Clarification is requested. In addition, it is recited twice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishie et al. (2015/0280282).
Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches a lithium-ion battery including a positive and negative electrode with an electrolyte therebetween whereby the positive electrode material includes a lithium metal oxide including nickel and the electrolyte includes a cyclic sulfate compound (abstract). Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) tecahes forming a protective film on the surface of the positive active material [0020].
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches a positive electrode including nickel containing lithium transition metal oxide an contains cobalt and manganese [0006]-[0010]. Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the cyclic sulfate to be represented by the general formulas [0006]-[0019].
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the ratio of molar content of metal (A) and transition metal (M) would meet the claimed F=B/C as F=19 based upon structural formula 1 and 3.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the additional metal M to include Al, Ti, Mg, Cr, Zn, W, Zr, Nb etc. and the amount would meet the claim of 1-10% [0026]-[0028].
Regarding claim 5, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the metal M and this would be envisioned as being an oxide as it is coating on the positive electrode which is an oxide as well.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the cyclic sulfate t be included in an amount of 1% and thus would meet the claimed C of 0.01-0.2 as 1% would be 0.01.
Regarding claim 8, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the positive electrode material to include a binder such as PVDF [0024],[0032].
Regarding claim 9, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the solvent to include cyclic carbonates [0022].
Regarding claim 10, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches cyclic carbonates as well as sultones [0022].
Regarding claim 12, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) is silent with respect to the lattice energy of the oxide containing element A, however, this is the same element A as taught by Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) [0026] and hence the Examiner takes the position that the lattice energy would be similar absent a showing to the contrary.
Regarding claim 14, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the electrolyte salt to include LiBF4, LiPF6 and LiN(SO2CF3)2 [0023].
Regarding claim 15, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the mass% of the supplemental additive (cyclic sulfate) to be from 0.1 to 1% (see Table 1 and [0021])
Regarding claim 16, Nishie et al. (2015/0280282) teaches the claimed cyclic sulfate (see formulas) and the use of a fluorinated cyclic carbonate would have been within the skill of one practicing in the art.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (2019/0355983).
Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches a lithium-ion battery including a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate and a electrolyte therebetween. The positive electrode material is coated with a first and second coating while the electrolyte incudes a cyclic sulfate (abstract).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 11, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches LiNiCoMnO as the positive electrode material where the coating layer thereon includes a metal of Al, Z, Mg, Ti, Ba, Cd, etc. ([0007],[0014]) and the additive cyclic sulfate compound includes one of the formula [0007],[0045],[0058]. Using the formulas, the formula F=B/C meets the claimed relationships of 0.25-<F-<500, 1<F<200 and 5<F<80.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the coating weight of the metal added in the coating layer to be 0.05-1% which would make the total coating weight including the oxide between the claimed 1-10 wt% [0022]-[0023].
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the coating is an oxide coating including Al, Zr, Mg, Ti [0024].
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the cyclic sulfate has the claimed formulas [0007],[0045],[0058].
Regarding claims 7,13 and 15, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the amount of additive A of cyclic sulfate is 0.01-3% [0062].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the positive electrode to include a binder and this binder includes a PVDF [0042],[0076].
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the solvent to include carbonates that are cyclical and linear [0064].
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the electrolyte can include a cyclic sulfate (abstract and [0061])
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) is silent with respect to the lattice energy of the oxide containing element A, however, this is the same element A as taught by Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) [0007] and hence the Examiner takes the position that the lattice energy would be similar absent a showing to the contrary.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches the electrolyte salt to include LiPF, LIBF, LiAsF, LiFSI, LiTFSi, LiBOB, etc. [0065].
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al. (2019/0355983) teaches fluoroethylene carbonate [0064],[0067].
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715