NON-FINAL REJECTION
This application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 (national stage) application of PCT/US2022/013676, filed Jan. 25, 2022, which claims benefit of priority to Provisional Applications 63/144,788, filed Feb. 2, 2021 and 63/232,996, filed Aug. 13, 2021.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23, 24, 27, 32, 35, 36, and 39, as amended, are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim to foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on Sep. 30, 2023 (2) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, drawn to methods of treating cancer; dexrazoxane as the species of iron chelator; 5-fluorouracil as the species of anti-cancer agent; and colorectal cancer as the species of cancer to be treated, in the reply filed on Nov. 10, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 7, 10, 16, 17, 23, 24, 27, 32, 35, 36, and 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on Nov. 10, 2025.
Claims 1-3, 13, 14, 19, and 20 are currently pending and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kong (CN 1957922A, with English translation, cited on PTO-892).
Kong discloses that 5-fluorouracil has been widely used to treat various tumors, such as colorectal cancer (para. [0009]).
Kong discloses that certain drugs, when used in combination with 5-FU, can enhance each other's anticancer effects, referred to as 5-FU synergists (para. [0010]). In addition to inhibiting tumor growth, 5-FU synergists can also increase the sensitivity of tumor cells to anticancer drugs (para. [0011]).
In particular, Kong discloses and claims sustained-release formulations, microspheres, injections, and/or implants comprising 5-fluorouracil (5-FU) and a 5-fluorouracil synergist (para. [0015]).
The effective anti-cancer components are 5-FU and 5-FU enhancers, with the 5-FU enhancers selected from antimetabolites (paras. [0025]-[0026]). In a preferred embodiment, the antimetabolite is, e.g., dexrazoxane (paras. [0027], [0035]; claims 1-2).
The synergistic combinations of Kong are disclosed and claimed in methods of treating solid tumors including, e.g., colon cancer and rectal cancer (claim 10).
Thus, Kong discloses methods of treating cancer comprising administering the elected iron chelator, dexrazoxane, as recited by claims 1-3, in combination with the elected anticancer agent, 5-fluorouracil, as recited by claims 13-14, in methods of treating colon cancer or rectal cancer in a patient in need thereof, as recited by claims 19-20.
For the foregoing reasons, Kong anticipates claims 1-3, 13, 14, 19, and 20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 13, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,878,018 in view of Kong (CN 1957922A, with English translation, cited on PTO-892).
Specifically, the reference claims are drawn to methods of therapeutically treating cancer in a patient in need thereof comprising administering to said patient an effective amount of a TBK-1 inhibitor and an inhibitor of Syntaxin 17 phosphorylation to said patient, which are co-administered with at least one additional agent for treating cancer (claims 1-3),
wherein said additional agent for treating cancer is, e.g., 5-fluorouracil, dexrazoxane, or a mixture thereof (claims 6-8),
wherein said cancer is a carcinoma, a leukemia, a lymphoma, melanoma, a myeloproliferative disease, a sarcoma, a tumor of the central nervous system, a germ-line tumor, a mixed type of neoplasia or a tumor of mixed origin (claim 9).
It would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the combination of 5-fluorouracil and dexrazoxane in the treatment of these cancers because Kong teaches that this combination has a significant synergistic effect (para. [0136]).
Thus, the reference claims are drawn to methods of treating cancer comprising administering to a patient in need thereof the elected iron chelator, dexrazoxane, as recited by examined claims 1-3, in combination with the elected anticancer agent, 5-fluorouracil, as recited by examined claims 13-14, in methods of treating, e.g., melanoma, a skin cancer, as recited by examined claims 19-20.
Claims 1-3, 13, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 8, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,672,779 in view of Kong (CN 1957922A, with English translation, cited on PTO-892).
Specifically, the reference claims are drawn to methods of treating cancer comprising administering to a patient in need thereof an anti-cancer effective amount of a composition comprising R-ketorolac or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in combination with an angiogenesis inhibitor and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, additive or excipient (claim 1),
wherein the cancer is selected from, e.g., colon cancer (claim 4),
wherein said composition is co-administered with an additional anti-cancer agent (claim 8), wherein the additional anti-cancer agent is selected from the group consisting of, e.g., 5-fluorouracil, dexrazoxane, and mixtures thereof (claim 11).
It would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the combination of 5-fluorouracil and dexrazoxane in the treatment of, e.g., colon cancer, because Kong teaches that this combination has a significant synergistic effect (para. [0136]).
Thus, the reference claims are drawn to methods of treating cancer comprising administering to a patient in need thereof the elected iron chelator, dexrazoxane, as recited by examined claims 1-3, in combination with the elected anticancer agent, 5-fluorouracil, as recited by examined claims 13-14, in methods of treating colon cancer or rectal cancer, as recited by examined claims 19-20.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARA E. TOWNSLEY whose telephone number is 571-270-7672. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff S. Lundgren, can be reached at 571-272-5541. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SARA ELIZABETH TOWNSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1629