DETAILED ACTION
The pending claims are claims 1-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakamoto et al., US 2016/0285129.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamoto et al., teaches a catalytic solution (solvent) (0030) for a halide ion battery (fluoride ion battery) (0006), which is an aqueous solution (electrolyte solution) (0006-0007) containing a quaternary ammonium halide salt (ammonium fluoride) (0022) thereof at 9.0 mol/kg to 11.0 mol/kg (10 mol/kg) (0120).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamoto et al., teaches wherein the quaternary alkylammonium halide salt (0022; 0051-0064) thereof contained in the aqueous solution is only one kind (0022; 0051-0064).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamoto et al., teaches wherein the quaternary ammonium halide salt (ammonium fluoride) (0022) thereof is a quaternary ammonium fluoride salt thereof (0022).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamoto et al., teaches which is an electrolytic solution (0006-0008; 0011-0012) for a fluoride ion battery (0011; 0130-0134).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamoto et al., teaches halide ion battery (fluoride ion battery) (0011; 0130-0134) comprising: the catalytic solution for a halide ion battery (0007-0012) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamoto et al., teaches which is a fluoride ion battery (0011; 0130-0134).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al., US 2016/0285129.
Regarding claim 7, Nakamoto et al., teaches a method for producing the catalytic solution for a halide ion battery according to claim 1 (0011; 0130-0134), comprising: a step of dropping water (0008; 0011; 0030) to the quaternary ammonium halide salt (ammonium fluoride) (0022-0023; 0029),
Nakamoto does not teach wherein an amount of the water dropped is 13 to 30 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the quaternary ammonium halide salt or the hydrate thereof.
However, regarding the amount of water employed in the method of making catalytic solution for a halide ion battery, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727