DETAILED ACTION
Claims 25-55 are pending, of which claims 25-53 have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group IV in the reply filed on 10/2/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art does not teach the special technical feature of a hydrogenation material loaded on the claimed zeolite. This is not found persuasive because Group I does not appear to require a hydrogenation material, and as such, this argument would not apply. Groups II and III have a hydrogenation material loaded on a zeolite having different limitations. As hydrogenation materials are known in the art, neither Groups II or III share any special technical features with elected Group IV. Further, as shown below, all the limitations of Group IV are known in the art, and as such, the invention of Group IV cannot share any special technical features with any other group.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017202495 (“Canos”).
Regarding claim 54, Canos teaches a catalyst comprising a small pore zeolite and a metal component (see e.g. paragraph [0012]). Canos teaches that the zeolite can be a CDO type zeolite (see e.g. paragraph [0134]). As provided in the instant specification, a CDO type zeolite meets the limitations regarding void diameter and channel diameter (see e.g. instant specification at paragraph [0028]). Canos teaches that the metal can be metals such as platinum or palladium (see e.g. paragraph [0134]). As indicated in the instant specification, platinum or palladium are considered hydrogenation materials, with platinum as the most preferred hydrogenation material (see e.g. instant specification at paragraph [0029]). Although Canos does not have a specific example using a CDO zeolite with platinum, given that both the metal and zeolite type are specifically suggested, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the CDO type zeolite and platinum metal as the catalyst. Canos does not provide the specific iC4/nC4 ratio when used as a hydrocracking catalyst for n-C10. However, per MPEP 2112.01(II), if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. As such, the catalyst of Canos is presumed to have the same selectivity as recited in claim 54.
Regarding claim 55, Canos teaches that the zeolite used can be a CDO type zeolite (see e.g. paragraph [0134]). As noted in the instant specification, a CDO type zeolite has a d-sphere/d-avg ratio of 1.48, which is within the claimed range (see e.g. specification at paragraph [0028]).
Double Patenting
Claim 54 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/270,208 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the reference application recites a zeolite based catalyst having voids greater than 0.50 nm in diameter, which overlaps with the claimed range. The voids are accessible by apertures having a longest diameter of less than 0.50 nm and a shortest diameter of more than 0.30 nm, both of which are the same as recited in instant claim 54. Claim 1 of the reference application further recites that the catalyst includes a hydrogenation functional material. Claim 1 of the reference application recites that the iC4/nC4 ratio when used as a hydrocracking catalyst for n-C10 is less than 0.25, which overlaps with the range of instant claim 54.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736