DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 3/13/2026 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-19 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). (Claim 17 depends from two different claims.)
Additionally, claim 16 is objected to because it is an apparatus claim which depends from a method claim. The scope of the claim cannot be readily understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 2022/0219902) in view of Hansl et al. (US 2006/0245862).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Zheng discloses a carrying robot, which is applicable to a carrying scenario where boxes with at least two specifications are placed on a shelf (see at least paras. 0215 and 0255), comprising a movable chassis (200), a cargo carrying apparatus disposed on the chassis, and a lifting apparatus configured to adjust a height of the cargo carrying apparatus, wherein the cargo carrying apparatus comprises: a first fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120c) and a second fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120d), wherein the first fork arm and the second fork arm are disposed opposite to each other (see Fig. 11); a first shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm, a second shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm; a spacing adjustment mechanism (see at least paras. 0195-0196 and 0215) wherein the spacing adjustment mechanism is connected to the first fork arm and the second fork arm and is configured to adjust spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm so that the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm is matched with the box to be carried (see para. 0215); a telescopic mechanism (see para. 0189), wherein the telescopic mechanism is connected to the first fork arm and the second fork arm and is configured to control the first fork arm and the second fork arm to stretch out and retract (see para. 0188); and an image acquisition module (see paras. 0237-0239) configured to acquire image information of the box to be carried. Zheng further discloses a first pressure detection module is disposed on one side of the first fork arm towards the second fork arm (see para. 0250). Zheng discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried. However, Hansl discloses a similar robot which includes a third shift lever (13c or 13e) capable of being stretched out towards a side of a second fork arm (15b) disposed on an end of a first fork arm (15a) facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever (13d or 13f) capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Zheng by including a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried, as disclosed by Hansl, for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions.
Regarding claims 4-9, and 16, Zheng discloses a box carrying control method, which is performed by a carrying robot, the carrying robot being applicable to a carrying scenario where boxes with at least two specifications are placed on a shelf (see at least paras. 0215 and 0255) and comprising a cargo carrying apparatus, the cargo carrying apparatus comprising a bottom pallet (18), a spacing adjustment mechanism (see at least paras. 0195-0196 and 0215), a first fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120c, Fig. 22), a second fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120d, Fig. 22), a telescopic mechanism (see para. 0189) and an image acquisition module (see paras. 0237-0239), the first fork arm and the second fork arm being disposed opposite to each other (see Figs. 11 and 22), and the first fork arm and the second fork arm being disposed on two opposite sides of the bottom pallet (see Fig. 11), respectively, the telescopic mechanism is connected to the first fork arm and the second fork arm and is configured to control the first fork arm and the second fork arm to stretch out and retract, the image acquisition module is configured to acquire image information of a box to be carried, a first shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm, and a second shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm, and the method comprising: controlling the carrying robot to move so that a position of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to a current position of the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17, S43); controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm so that the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm is matched with the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17, S44); and controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet (see at least Fig. 17, S44). Zheng further discloses that before controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm, the method further comprises: acquiring the image information of the box to be carried (see at least Figs. 16 and 17); and controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm comprises: determining size information of the box to be carried according to the image information of the box to be carried (see Fig. 17); and controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm according to the size information of the box to be carried (see Fig. 17). The cargo carrying apparatus further comprises a telescopic mechanism (see para. 0189), and an image acquisition module (see at least paras. 0237-0239), wherein the telescopic mechanism is connected to the first fork arm and the second fork arm and configured to control the first fork arm and the second fork arm to stretch out and retract (see para. 0188), and the image acquisition module is configured to acquire image information of the box to be carried, and before controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet (see at least Fig. 17, S44), the method further comprises: acquiring the image information of the box to be carried (see at least paras. 0237-0239); and controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet comprises: determining relative position information between the box to be carried and the cargo carrying apparatus according to the image information of the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17); controlling, according to the relative position information, the telescopic mechanism to stretch out so that the box to be carried is located between the first fork arm and the second fork arm (see at least Fig. 17); and controlling the first fork arm and the second fork arm to restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet (see at least Fig. 17). Zheng further discloses controlling the first fork arm and the second fork arm to restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet comprises: controlling the first shift lever and the second shift lever to stretch out to hook the box to be carried (see at least paras. (0188-0194); and controlling the telescopic mechanism to retract so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm pull the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet (see at least Fig. 17). The carrying robot has a first pressure detection module disposed on one side of the first fork arm towards the second fork arm, wherein the first pressure detection module is configured to detect a fitting pressure between the first fork arm and the box to be carried (see para. 0250); and controlling the first fork arm and the second fork arm to restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet comprises: controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to work to reduce the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm (see para. 0250); in response to determining that at least one of a fitting pressure between the first fork arm and the box to be carried and a fitting pressure between the second fork arm and the box to be carried is greater than or equal to a preset pressure, controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to stop working to clamp the box to be carried (see para. 0250); and controlling the telescopic mechanism to retract so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm carry the box to be carried from the current position to the bottom pallet (see para. 0250). Zheng further discloses a lifting apparatus (400), wherein the lifting apparatus is configured to adjust a height of the cargo carrying apparatus, before controlling the carrying robot to move so that the position of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to the current position of the box to be carried, the method further comprises: acquiring the image information of the box to be carried (see paras. 0237-0239); and controlling the carrying robot to move so that the position of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to the current position of the box to be carried comprises: determining the current position of the box to be carried according to the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17); instructing the carrying robot to move to a current location corresponding to the current position; controlling the lifting apparatus to work to move the cargo carrying apparatus to a height corresponding to the current position (see at least Fig. 17); determining relative position information between the box to be carried and the cargo carrying apparatus according to the image information of the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17); and instructing, according to the relative position information, the carrying robot to work to correct a position deviation between the cargo carrying apparatus and the box to be carried so that the position of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to the position of the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17). Zheng discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried. However, Hansl discloses a similar robot which includes a third shift lever (13c or 13e) capable of being stretched out towards a side of a second fork arm (15b) disposed on an end of a first fork arm (15a) facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever (13d or 13f) capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Zheng by including a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried, as disclosed by Hansl, for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions.
Regarding claims 10, 12, and 14, Zheng discloses a box carrying control method, which is performed by a carrying robot, the carrying robot being applicable to a carrying scenario where boxes with at least two specifications are capable of being placed on a shelf (see at least paras. 0215 and 0255) and comprising a cargo carrying apparatus, the cargo carrying apparatus comprising a bottom pallet (18), a spacing adjustment mechanism (see at least paras. 0195-0196 and 0215), a first fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120c, Fig. 22), a second fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120d, Fig. 22), a telescopic mechanism (see para. 0189) and an image acquisition module (see paras. 0237-0239), the first fork arm and the second fork arm being disposed opposite to each other, and the first fork arm and the second fork arm being disposed on two opposite sides of the bottom pallet (see Figs. 11 and 22), respectively, the telescopic mechanism is connected to the first fork arm and the second fork arm and is configured to control the first fork arm and the second fork arm to stretch out and retract, the image acquisition module is configured to acquire image information of a box to be carried, a first shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm, and a second shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm, and the method comprising: controlling the carrying robot to move so that a position of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to the target position of the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17, S43); controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm so that the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm is matched with the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17, S44); and controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the bottom pallet to the target position (see at least paras. 0011-0016); before controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried, the method further comprises: acquiring the image information of the box to be carried (see paras. 0237-0239); and controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried comprises: determining relative position information between the box to be carried and the cargo carrying apparatus according to the image information of the box to be carried (see Fig. 17); and controlling, according to the relative position information, the telescopic mechanism to work so that the box to be carried is located between the first fork arm and the second fork arm (see Fig. 17). Zheng further discloses that controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm comprises: determining size information of the box to be carried according to the image information of the box to be carried (see Figs. 16 and 17); and controlling, according to the size information of the box to be carried, the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm (see Fig. 17). The carrying robot has a first pressure detection module (see at least para. 250) disposed on one side of the first fork arm towards the second fork arm and controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried further comprises controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to work to reduce the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm; and in response to determining that at least one of the fitting pressure between the first fork arm and the box to be carried and the fitting pressure between the second fork arm and the box to be carried is greater than or equal to a preset pressure, controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to stop working to clamp the box to be carried (see at least para. 0250). Zheng discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried; and it does not disclose controlling the third shift lever and the fourth shift lever to stretch out to hook the box to be carried. However, Hansl discloses a similar robot which includes a third shift lever (13c or 13e) capable of being stretched out towards a side of a second fork arm (15b) disposed on an end of a first fork arm (15a) facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever (13d or 13f) capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried; and Hansl discloses controlling the third shift lever and the fourth shift lever to stretch out to hook the box to be carried (see paras. 0036-0038) for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Zheng by including a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried, and controlling the third shift lever and the fourth shift lever to stretch out to hook the box to be carried, as disclosed by Hansl, for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions.
Regarding claim 11, Zheng discloses a box carrying control method, which is performed by a carrying robot, the carrying robot being applicable to a carrying scenario where boxes with at least two specifications are capable of being placed on a shelf (see at least paras. 0215 and 0255) and comprising multiple layers of cargo positions (310, see Fig. 13), a cargo carrying apparatus and a lifting apparatus (400), the cargo carrying apparatus comprising a bottom pallet (18), a spacing adjustment mechanism (see at least paras. 0195-0196 and 0215), a first fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120c, Fig. 22), a second fork arm (14, see at least Fig. 11, and/or 120d, Fig. 22), a telescopic mechanism (see para. 0189) and an image acquisition module (see paras. 0237-0239), the first fork arm and the second fork arm being disposed opposite to each other, the first fork arm and the second fork arm being disposed on two sides of the bottom pallet (see Figs. 11 and 22), respectively, the telescopic mechanism is connected to the first fork arm and the second fork arm and is configured to control the first fork arm and the second fork arm to stretch out and retract, the image acquisition module is configured to acquire image information of a box to be carried, a first shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm, and a second shift lever (16 or 123) capable of being stretched out towards a side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm, and the method comprising: controlling the carrying robot to move so that a position of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to a target location of a target position of a box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17, S43); controlling the lifting apparatus to work so that a height of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to a current cargo position of the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17, S43); controlling the spacing adjustment mechanism to adjust spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm so that the spacing between the first fork arm and the second fork arm is matched with the box to be carried (see at least Fig. 17, S43); controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried and carry the box to be carried from the current cargo position to the bottom pallet (see at least Fig. 17, S44); and controlling the lifting apparatus to work so that the height of the cargo carrying apparatus corresponds to a height of the target position of the box to be carried and the box to be carried is carried from the bottom pallet to the target position (see at least paras. 0011-0016); before controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried, the method further comprises: acquiring the image information of the box to be carried (see paras. 0237-0239); and controlling the cargo carrying apparatus to work so that the first fork arm and the second fork arm restrict the box to be carried comprises: determining relative position information between the box to be carried and the cargo carrying apparatus according to the image information of the box to be carried (see Fig. 17); and controlling, according to the relative position information, the telescopic mechanism to work so that the box to be carried is located between the first fork arm and the second fork arm (see Fig. 17). Zheng discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried; and it does not disclose controlling the third shift lever and the fourth shift lever to stretch out to hook the box to be carried. However, Hansl discloses a similar robot which includes a third shift lever (13c or 13e) capable of being stretched out towards a side of a second fork arm (15b) disposed on an end of a first fork arm (15a) facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever (13d or 13f) capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried; and Hansl discloses controlling the third shift lever and the fourth shift lever to stretch out to hook the box to be carried (see paras. 0036-0038) for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Zheng by including a third shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the second fork arm is disposed on an end of the first fork arm facing away from a target position of a box to be carried, and a fourth shift lever capable of being stretched out towards the side of the first fork arm is disposed on an end of the second fork arm facing away from the target position of the box to be carried, and controlling the third shift lever and the fourth shift lever to stretch out to hook the box to be carried, as disclosed by Hansl, for the purpose of snugly accommodating boxes of different dimensions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653