DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gross (US 20190382597 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gross teaches a method of protection treatment in a target space where inactivation of bacteria and/or viruses is performed (abstract), the target space being a space where a light source emitting ultraviolet light having light output in a specific wavelength band belonging to within a range from 190 nm to 235 nm has already been disposed or is planned to be disposed (ultraviolet light radiation onto an interior object, abstract, and wavelength from 200 nm to about 230 nm, paragraph [0031]), the method comprising the steps off: attaching a base material whose main component is a chlorine-based resin, to an interior surface of the target space or a surface of an object disposed in the target space; and forming a protective layer on a surface of the base material (interior object comprising a polymer substrate, paragraph [0008], and substrate may be polyvinylchloride, paragraph [0022]), the protective layer containing a material that exhibits resistance to the ultraviolet, wherein the protective layer is made of a fluorine-based resin as its main component and the protect layer contains an ultraviolet light absorbent in the fluorine-based resin (inorganic film to prevent degradation which can be fluorinated tin oxide, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Gross teaches a method of protection treatment for a target space where inactivation of bacteria and/or viruses is performed (abstract), the target space being a space where a light source emitting ultraviolet having light output in a specific wavelength band belonging to within a range from 190 nm to 235 nm has already been disposed or in planned to be disposed (ultraviolet light radiation onto an interior object, abstract, and wavelength from 200 nm to about 230 nm, paragraph [0031]), the method, comprising the steps of: preparing a specified material including a base material whose main component is a chlorine-based resin (interior object comprising a polymer substrate, paragraph [0008], and substrate may be polyvinylchloride, paragraph [0022]) and a protective layer including a material that exhibits resistance to the ultraviolet light (inorganic film protects the polymer substrate from ultraviolet radiation, abstract), the protective layer being formed on a surface of the base material; and attaching the specified material to an interior surface of the target space (Figure 1 film “16” applied to polymer substrate “14”), wherein the protective layer is made of a fluorine-based resin as its main component and the protective layer contains an ultraviolet light absorbent in the fluorine-based resin (inorganic film to prevent degradation which can be fluorinated tin oxide, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Gross teaches a method of protection treatment for a target space where inactivation of bacteria and/or viruses is performed (abstract), the target space being a space where a light source emitting ultraviolet light having light output in a specific wavelength band belonging to within a range from 190 nm to 235 nm has already been disposed or is planned to be disposed (ultraviolet light radiation onto an interior object, abstract, and wavelength from 200 nm to about 230 nm, paragraph [0031]), the method comprising the step of applying a protective layer containing a material that exhibits resistance to the ultraviolet light to a surface (inorganic film protects the polymer substrate from ultraviolet radiation, abstract, and Figure 1 film “16” applied to polymer substrate “14”) of a base material whose main component is a chlorine-based resin attached to an interior surface of the target space or a surface of an object disposed in the target space (interior object comprising a polymer substrate, paragraph [0008], and substrate may be polyvinylchloride, paragraph [0022]), wherein the protective layer is made of a fluorine-based resin as its main component and the protective layer contains an ultraviolet light absorbent in the fluorine-based resin (inorganic film to prevent degradation which can be fluorinated tin oxide, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Gross teaches the protective layer has a transmittance of 50% or more to visible light in a wavelength band from 400 nm to 600 nm (film transmits 60% or more of radiation in the visible spectrum of 400 nm to 800 nm, paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Gross teaches wherein the interior surface includes an inner wall surface includes an inner wall surface, a floor surface, and a ceiling surface of the target space (interior object can include a wall or floor, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 16, Gross teaches the protective layer has a transmittance of 50% or more to visible light in a wavelength band from 400 nm to 600 nm (film transmits 60% or more of radiation in the visible spectrum of 400 nm to 800 nm, paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Gross teaches the protective layer has a transmittance of 50% or more to visible light in a wavelength band from 400 nm to 600 nm (film transmits 60% or more of radiation in the visible spectrum of 400 nm to 800 nm, paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Gross teaches wherein the interior surface includes an inner wall surface includes an inner wall surface, a floor surface, and a ceiling surface of the target space (interior object can include a wall or floor, paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Gross teaches wherein the interior surface includes an inner wall surface includes an inner wall surface, a floor surface, and a ceiling surface of the target space (interior object can include a wall or floor, paragraph [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross.
Regarding claim 4, Gross teaches wherein the light source is used to inactivate bacteria and/or viruses in the target space by irradiating the base material with the ultraviolet light at an illuminance of 1 mW/cm2 or less (UV radiation provides disinfection with the radiant intensity from 0.5 to about 20 milliwatts/cm2, paragraph [0032]). It has been established that in cases of overlapping ranges, a case of prima facie obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an illuminance of 1 mW/cm2 to achieve the desired disinfection (See MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 14, Gross teaches wherein the light source is used to inactivate bacteria and/or viruses in the target space by irradiating the base material with the ultraviolet light at an illuminance of 1 mW/cm2 or less (UV radiation provides disinfection with the radiant intensity from 0.5 to about 20 milliwatts/cm2, paragraph [0032]). It has been established that in cases of overlapping ranges, a case of prima facie obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an illuminance of 1 mW/cm2 to achieve the desired disinfection (See MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 15, Gross teaches wherein the light source is used to inactivate bacteria and/or viruses in the target space by irradiating the base material with the ultraviolet light at an illuminance of 1 mW/cm2 or less (UV radiation provides disinfection with the radiant intensity from 0.5 to about 20 milliwatts/cm2, paragraph [0032]). It has been established that in cases of overlapping ranges, a case of prima facie obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply an illuminance of 1 mW/cm2 to achieve the desired disinfection (See MPEP 2144.05 I).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799