DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/270,177 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and copending Application No. 18/270,177 claim “A substrate for diffusing volatile substances, characterized in that the substrate comprises: - a dispersible binder; and - a biodegradable material” wherein the biodegradable material (natural material) is wood or wood material.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “biodegradable preservative is between 0.1 and 5 %” and the claim also recites “in particular between 0.5 and 1.5 %” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-9 use the term “granulometry” in the claims which is defined in the art as “the measurement and analysis of the size distribution of particles in a granular material, like soil, powders, or sediments, often expressed as the percentage of different size fractions (e.g., sand, silt, clay) by weight or volume.” The pending claims do not provide a size distribution of the granulometry. Further, the parameter "granulometry" in claims 6-9 is unclear, because it cannot be determined whether the stated size ranges or sizes are meant to refer to a specific portion or peak of a particle size distribution, and if so, to which of those portion or peaks that are conceivable (such as e.g. D10, D50, D90). Further, it is unclear, whether "granulometry" is meant to refer to an (equivalent) particle diameter or an (equivalent) particle radius. It follows that the subject-matter of claims 6-9 is unclear. Hence it is the position of the Office that claims 6- are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D’Orazio (U.S. Pat. No. 4,144,318).
Regarding claim 1, D’Orazio teaches mosquito coils made comprising sawdust and starch which meets the limitation of substrate for diffusing volatile substances, characterized in that the substrate comprises: - a dispersible binder (starch) and a biodegradable material (sawdust) (column 4, lines 35-55).
Regarding claim 2, D’Orazio teaches 74% by weight sawdust which is encompassed by biodegradable material: 55-75 % (column 2; column 4, Table II). D’Orazio teaches 25% by weight starch which is encompassed by dispersible binder: 15-45 % (column 2; column 4, Table II).
Regarding claim 3, D’Orazio teaches 74% by weight sawdust which is encompassed by biodegradable material: 65-75 % (column 2; column 4, Table II). D’Orazio teaches 25% by weight starch which is encompassed by dispersible binder: 20-30 (column 2; column 4, Table II).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 13, D’Orazio teaches 0.3-0.75% by weight sodium benzoate which is encompassed by in particular between 0.1 and 5 (column 2; column 3, lines 20-30).
Regarding claims 6-7, D’Orazio teaches the starch used must be dispersible in water at a temperature below the gellation point of the potato starch, about 66.5 ˚C (Column2, lines 25-35). D’Orazio does not teach the granulometry of the potato starch but it is the position of the Office one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the size of the potato starch grains to dissolve in water quickly and efficiently to achieve the desire gelation point.
Regarding claims 8-9, D’Orazio teaches sawdust having a particle size from 100- 200 mesh (column 2, lines 65-68).
Regarding claim 10, D’Orazio teaches potato starch which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of flour(column 2, lines 25-40).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, D’Orazio teaches sawdust (column 2, lines 65-68).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 12/16/2025