DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 06/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of D’Orazio (U.S. Pat. No. 4,144,318) in view of Huang et al. (CN111887245; translation provide by EPO 08/2026).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/270,177 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and copending Application No. 18/270,177 claim “A substrate for diffusing volatile substances, characterized in that the substrate comprises: - a dispersible binder; and - a biodegradable material” wherein the biodegradable material (natural material) is wood or wood material.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Orazio (U.S. Pat. No. 4,144,318) in view of Huang et al. (CN111887245; translation provide by EPO 08/2026).
Regarding claim 1, D’Orazio teaches mosquito coils made comprising sawdust and starch which meets the limitation of substrate for diffusing volatile substances, characterized in that the substrate comprises: - a dispersible binder (starch) and a biodegradable material (sawdust) (column 4, lines 35-55). D’Orazio teaches sawdust having a particle size from 100- 200 mesh (column 2, lines 65-68). D’Orazio does not teach wherein the biodegradable material has a particle size of less than 60 microns.
Huang et al. teaches mosquito coil with good burning performance and preparation method thereof (lines 10-15). Huang et al. teaches mosquito coil has a long continuous lighting time and does not cause harm to the human body (lines 35-40) Huang et al. teaches a preferred technical solution of the present invention, the fineness of each component is 300-400 mesh, 37 to 50 microns (lines 65-70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to sieve the sawdust taught by D’Orazio to a fineness of 300-400 mesh because the particle size improves the burning performance.
Regarding claim 2, D’Orazio teaches 74% by weight sawdust which is encompassed by biodegradable material: 55-75 % (column 2; column 4, Table II). D’Orazio teaches 25% by weight starch which is encompassed by dispersible binder: 15-45 % (column 2; column 4, Table II).
Regarding claim 3, D’Orazio teaches 74% by weight sawdust which is encompassed by biodegradable material: 65-75 % (column 2; column 4, Table II). D’Orazio teaches 25% by weight starch which is encompassed by dispersible binder: 20-30 (column 2; column 4, Table II).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 13, D’Orazio teaches 0.3-0.75% by weight sodium benzoate which is encompassed by in particular between 0.1 and 5 (column 2; column 3, lines 20-30).
Regarding claim 10, D’Orazio teaches potato starch which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of flour (column 2, lines 25-40).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, D’Orazio teaches sawdust (column 2, lines 65-68).
Regarding claim 14, D’Orazio teaches 0.3-0.75% by weight sodium benzoate which is encompassed by in particular between 0. and 1.5 (column 2; column 3, lines 20-30). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 08/30/2026