DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11, 13-15, 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, clause “selected from…or D-amino acid ester”, “selected from…or -S(=O)2R7”, and/or “selected from…or a deuterium substitute of any of them” read upon an improper Markush group as the last two members of the group are not separated by the term “and”. Thus, one would not have been apprised of the metes and bounds of variable R2, R3, R4, R5, R6, R7, and R8 that applicant intends to be part of the claimed invention. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush group, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if "wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D" is a proper limitation, then "wherein R is A, B, C or D" shall also be considered proper. At least one of the deficiencies is not rectified in claims 2-8, 11, 13-15, 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28.
Regarding claim 2, the text “selected from the group…a substituted or non-substituted C4-C5 heterocycle” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear where one Markush group ends and where another starts. Thus, one would not have been apprised of the metes and bounds of the pharmaceutically acceptable salts applicant intends to be part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, the last two members of the listed compounds is not separated by the term “and”. Thus, the claim reads upon an improper Markush group.
Regarding claims 14, 17, 21, 26, and 28, the term “includes” and/or “include” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear whether the text appearing after said term is part of the claimed invention. For the purposes of applying prior art, the examiner interprets the invention as not being limited by the text appearing after said term(s).
Regarding claims 21 and 28, the parenthetical phrase “(B.1.1.7)”, “(B.1.351..B.1.351.3)”, “(B.1.617.2…AY.3)”, “(P.1,…P.1.2)”, (B.1.525)”, (P.3)”, “(B.1.617.1)”, and/or “(C.37)” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purposes of applying prior art, the examiner interprets the invention as not being limited by the text appearing after said term(s) within the parentheses.
Regarding claim 24, the clause “selected from the group…or fish” reads upon an improper Markush group as the last two members of the group are not separated by the term “and”. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush group, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if "wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D" is a proper limitation, then "wherein R is A, B, C or D" shall also be considered proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clarke et al. WO 2017/049060 A1 (Clarke).
Clarke generally to methods and compounds for treating Coronaviridae virus infections, particularly methods and nucleosides and prodrugs thereof for treating SARS virus and MERS virus [0002]. Provided is a method for treating a Coronaviridae infection in a human in need thereof comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of Formula I:
.
See [0019], [0131]. In another embodiment of the method of treating a Coronaviridae infection comprising administering a compound of Formula I, the compound is
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or ester thereof [0159]. Clarke discloses the antiviral activity of Compound 1 against MERS-CoV and SARS-CoV and cytotoxicity (Table 4).
Compound 1
is embraced by instant Formula (I), wherein R1 = R2 = R9 = H and R3 = R4 = R5 = OH.
Clarke teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 1-7 and 14-15 are anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111961057A .
CN 111961057A provides a method for treating coronavirus infections in cats or other animals by administering a nucleoside of formula (I) and corresponding prodrug, solvate, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, pharmaceutical compositions comprising said compounds (Abstract).
CN 111961057A teaches that, preferably, the structure is selected from one of the following compounds:
See page 3.
The highlighted compound(s) is embraced by instant Formula (I). Thus, claims 1-8 and 11-15 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. WO 2017/049060 A1 (Clarke) as applied to claims 1-7 and 14-15 above.
Clarke differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Clarke does not explicitly teach (e.g., exemplify) a method comprising administering an effective amount of Compound 1; however, this deficiency would have been prima facie obvious.
It would have prima facie obvious to select Compound 1 from the finite list of compounds disclosed by Clarke in paragraph [0159]. It would have been further obvious to administer a pharmaceutical composition comprising Compound 1 to a subject having, suspected of having, or at risk of having MERS-CoV or SARS-CoV as Clarke teaches that the compound(s) of the invention are useful in the treatment of MERS-CoV or SARS-CoV. In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.
Thus, claims 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28 would have been obvious based upon the preponderance of evidence.
Claim(s) 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111961057A as applied to claims 1-8 and 11-15 above.
CN 111961057A differs from the instantly claimed invention in that CN 111961057A does not explicitly teach (e.g., exemplify) a method comprising administering an effective amount of a highlighted compound of page 3; however, this deficiency would have been prima facie obvious.
It would have prima facie obvious to select a highlighted compound from the finite list of compounds disclosed by CN 111961057A on page 3. It would have been further obvious to administer a pharmaceutical composition comprising a highlighted compound to a subject having, suspected of having, or at risk of having a coronavirus as CN 111961057A teaches that the compound(s) of the invention are useful in the treatment of a coronavirus. In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.
Thus, claims 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28 would have been obvious based upon the preponderance of evidence.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8, 11-15, 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28 are pending. Claims 1-8, 11-15, 17, 20-21, 24, and 26-28 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/PL/