DETAILED ACTION
Status of 18/270,028
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Priority
Instant application 18/270,028, filed 6/28/2023, claims priority as follows:
The foreign priority document submitted in the file wrapper is not translated to English, and as a result, priority cannot be established. Thus, the instant claims are granted the effective filing date of 12/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from the IDS’s submitted on 6/28/2023, 8/20/2024, and 1/22/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-12 and 15, drawn to compounds and compositions of formula I, without traverse in the reply filed 1/5/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of Example 46:
In the same reply, is also acknowledged. The Examiner notes that though the image depicts incorrect valency in the 3,5-dioxo-2,3,4,5-tetrahydro-1,2,4-triazine moiety, the nitrogen should have a hydrogen atom to complete valency as described in the chemical name of Example 46.
Examination will begin with the elected species. In accordance with MPEP § 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non- elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be examined again. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during further examination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final.
The elected species was searched and prior art was identified. See the 102 rejection below. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner expanded her search to compounds of formula I when R1 is alkyl, R2 is H, R3 is H, X is O, L is O, n is 2, both R4’s are halogen, R5 is cyano, and R6 is H. Stated differently, the search was expanded from the elected species to additional substituents of R1 and R2. The full scope of the claims has not yet been searched in accordance with Markush search practice. Claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, and 15 read on the elected and expanded species. Claims 3, 5-7, and 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species and/or group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aligos Therapeutics, Inc. (WO 2022/099044 A1, cited in the IDS of 1/22/2025, herein after “Aligos”). Aligos qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) because the filing date is before that of the effective filing date of the instant application. This rejection applies to the elected species.
The reference Aligos discloses 2-pyridones as thyroid hormone receptor modulators (abstract), and specifically discloses Example 35 (page 170, paras [00436]-[00437]):
Which anticipates the elected species of instant formula I:
When R1 and R2 together with the atoms to which they are attached form a 4-membered heterocycloalkyl, where the heterocycloalkyl is substituted with one C1 alkyl, R3 is hydrogen, X is O, L is O, n is 2, both R4’s are halogen, R5 is cyano, and R6 is hydrogen. Further, Aligos teaches Example 35 in DMSO-d6 for NMR characterization, which constitutes a pharmaceutical preparation. Thus, Aligos anticipates instant claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, and 15.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sunshine Lake Pharma Co., Ltd. (US 2022/0411400, cited in the IDS of 6/28/2023, herein after “Sunshine”). Sunshine qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) because the filing date is before that of the effective filing date of the instant application. This rejection applies to the expanded species.
The reference Sunshine chemical compounds as a thyroid hormone beta receptor agonists (abstract), and specifically discloses Example 4 (page 35):
Which anticipates a compound of instant formula I:
When R1 is C3 alkyl, R2 is hydrogen, R3 is hydrogen, X is O, L is O, n is 2, both R4’s are halogen, R5 is cyano, and R6 is hydrogen. Further, Sunshine teaches Example 4 in DMSO-d6 for NMR characterization, which constitutes a pharmaceutical preparation (page 36). Thus, Sunshine anticipates instant claims 1, 2, 4, 8-12, and 15.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-10, and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/229,638 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the ‘638 Application recites the compound of formula (I):
Which is the elected species of instant formula I:
When R1 and R2 together with the atoms to which they are attached form a 4-membered heterocycloalkyl, where the heterocycloalkyl is substituted with one C1 alkyl, R3 is hydrogen, X is O, L is O, n is 2, both R4’s are halogen, R5 is cyano, and R6 is hydrogen.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-12, and 15 are rejected. Claims 3, 5-7, and 13-14 are withdrawn.
/K.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621