DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should recite “vapor generated by means of an inside of the body part” for the best antecedent basis.
Claim 2 should recite “an
Claim 7 should recite “spaced apart from a top of the discharge part” for grammatical purposes.
None of the issues raise concerns about the scope of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are (nonstructural term underlined for clarity):
Heating part … to heat the vaporization part;
discharge part … to induce the hydrogen peroxide vapor generated from the vaporization part to be discharged.
Solution supply part … to supply the hydrogen peroxide solution
Looking to the disclosure it appears the corresponding structure is, respectively:
Heating rods, and equivalents, as set forth in par. 43
A vent similar to 500 in the figures, and equivalents
A tank with a hose, nozzle, and pump, and equivalents, as set forth in par. 50
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “gradually narrow” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually narrow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It can’t be determined from the claim what “gradually” requires, and how quickly or slowly the part must become narrow in order to satisfy the claimed limitation. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted that the discharge part becomes “diminished in size to the top from the bottom”.
The term “easily discharge” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “easily” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It can’t be determined from the claim what “easily” requires, or how easy or hard the discharging must be in order to necessarily satisfy the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the discharge fan" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted there is some fan positioned as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (KR 20200141286).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo (KR 20200141286) discloses –
A hydrogen peroxide vaporizer for use in a sterilizer for performing sterilization with hydrogen peroxide vapor generated by means of the vaporization of a hydrogen peroxide solution (Abstract), the hydrogen peroxide vaporizer comprising:
a body part having the shape of a hollow column (Figs. 1-7 vaporization generating device 170);
a vaporization part disposed on one side of the inside of the body part and having a predetermined capacity to accommodate the hydrogen peroxide solution (vaporization unit 240);
support parts for supporting the vaporization part to allow the vaporization part to be spaced apart from the inside of the body part by a predetermined distance (see fig. 2, the legs supporting the vaporization unit 240);
a heating part disposed on one side of the vaporization part to heat the vaporization part (the vaporization unit 240 includes a hot plate for heating the solution into a vapor; par. 61, there is also a heating unit 250 which alternatively performs the function of heating the peroxide liquid; par. 62); and
a discharge part disposed on top of the body part to induce the hydrogen peroxide vapor generated from the vaporization part to be discharged (upper cover 220 and discharge port 280 read on the discharge part).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo further teaches the discharge part becomes more narrow to the top from the bottom thereof (the top of the discharge port 280 is more narrow than the bottom including the upper cover 220).
Regarding claim 6, Yoo further teaches a solution supply part disposed on one side of the body (solution supply pipe 270, which must be pumped or otherwise provided an amount of solution from a source) part to supply the hydrogen peroxide solution to the vaporization part (par. 64).
Regarding claim 7, Yoo further teaches a diffusion fan disposed spaced apart from a top of the discharge part by a predetermined distance (Fig. 1 shows circulation fan 140 spaced apart from the unit 170 in a fixed and thus predetermined manner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (KR 20200141286) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Shibauchi (US 5,078,976).
Regarding claim 2, Yoo is set forth above with regards to claim 1 but appears to be silent with regards to protrusions or partition walls.
Shibauchi (US 5,078,976) teaches a vaporizer for hydrogen peroxide (abstract, Col. 5 lines 29-31) where a vaporization part includes protrusions or partition walls on one or more wall surfaces thereof to increase contact area with the hydrogen peroxide solution, increasing uniformity of the mixture and reducing condensation (Figs. 1-2 shield discs 9; col. 3 lines 18-34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vaporizing part to have partition walls or protrusions on wall surfaces as taught by Shibauchi to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to better and more uniformly heat the vapor and to prevent condensation to arrive at an improved vaporizer.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (KR 20200141286) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mielnik (US 2006/0289490).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo is set forth above with regards to claim 1 but appears to be silent with regards to a discharge fan.
Mielnik (US 2006/0289490) discloses a decontamination system (title) using a discharge fan positioned on a side of the body part (Fig. 1 blower 43 is on a side of unit 41) to discharge hydrogen peroxide vapor to a discharge part (blower forces the peroxide towards vaporizer 49 and then to ducts 30; pars. 14-16). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Yoo to include a discharge fan inside the body part to discharge the peroxide vapor to the discharge part as taught by Mielnik to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to conveniently and efficiently disperse the peroxide to the target space for use as is known in the art to arrive at an improved device. The combination of familiar prior art elements, such as blowers for use in peroxide sterilizations systems, according to known means for the same use together as separate to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo is set forth above with regards to claim 1 but appears to be silent with regards to a discharge fan.
Mielnik (US 2006/0289490) discloses a decontamination system (title) using a discharge fan positioned on a side of the body part (Fig. 1 blower 43 is on a side of unit 41) to discharge hydrogen peroxide vapor to a discharge part (blower forces the peroxide towards vaporizer 49 and then to ducts 30; pars. 14-16), where the fan is disposed at a relatively lower position than the vaporization part (see fig. 1 where this orientation is illustrated). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Yoo to include a discharge fan inside the body part to discharge the peroxide vapor to the discharge part as taught by Mielnik to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to conveniently and efficiently disperse the peroxide to the target space for use as is known in the art to arrive at an improved device. The combination of familiar prior art elements, such as blowers for use in peroxide sterilizations systems, according to known means for the same use together as separate to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1758