DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers (CHINA 202011587236.1 12/29/2020) required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement dated 6/28/2023 has been considered and made of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a fluid guiding structure” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is indefinite because it is not clear if the recited “two side diverting blocks” and “one central fluid diverting block” are the same or different from those recited in claim 2. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
In claims 12 and 13, “the side diverting block” lacks clear antecedent basis. Note: Claim 11 recites two side diverting blocks. Which of the two is being referenced? Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 14 is indefinite because the claim lacks antecedent basis for the outlet channel having flow diverting blocks. The previous claims only recite flow diverting blocks with respect to the inlet channel. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 208250333 and corresponding English language machine translation) in view of Chander et al.(US 2016/0272934).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Yang et al. discloses:
A flow electrotransfection device (Figs. 13 and 15), comprising:
a chamber (electroporation chamber)(4) for fluid to flow though;
a liquid inlet channel (inlet pipe, bracket and buffer area)(7, 8, 9) connected to the chamber; and
a liquid outlet channel (outlet pipe, bracket and buffer area)(1, 2, 3) connected to the chamber, including an electrode module (first and second planar electrodes)(11 and 12) for applying an electric field to fluid in the chamber.
While the reference of Yang et al. is concerned with providing uniform flow through the chamber (page 4, paragraphs 1-5; page 8, last 3 paragraphs; and page 12, paragraphs 1-7), claim 1 differs by reciting that the device includes a fluid guiding structure for evening out flow velocities of fluid flowing through different zones in the chamber.
The reference of Chander et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide baffles (38) (¶[0081) when providing a flow of a liquid into a chamber so as to create an even flow distribution into a perfusion chamber.
In view of these teachings and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the inlet area of the flow device of the reference of Yang et al. with baffles for the known and expected result of providing an art recognized means for improving and providing uniform flow of liquid into the flow chamber of the electroporation device. Note: The baffles suggested by the reference of Chander et al. are considered to meet the structure of the fluid guiding structure since the diverting blocks of the instant disclosure appear to be the same as the baffles of the reference of Chander et al.
With respect to claims 2-10, while the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claim 1 suggest using baffles or diverting blocks within the inlet area of the device, the references are silent with respect to the shapes, sizes, spacings, etc. of the baffles. However, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal shapes, sizes, spacings of the diverting blocks through routine experimentation while ensuring the desired uniform flow of liquid through the chamber is achieved.
With respect to claim 11, the reference of Yang et al. discloses that the device includes an electrode bracket (10) and two planar electrodes (11 and 12).
With respect to claims 12-14, the reference of Yang et al. discloses the inlet tube includes buffer area (9) and the outlet tube includes buffer area (3). Use of baffles on both ends of the chamber would have been obvious for ensuring even distribution of flow through the chamber.
With respect to claim 15, the structure resulting from the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 14 would result with the fluid guiding structure or baffles provided within the inlet and/or outlet channels.
With respect to claims 16 and 18, the structure resulting from the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claim 1 would result with the fluid guiding structure including one or more baffles or blocks or blades.
With respect to claims 17 and 19, while the combination of the references as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 18 suggest using baffles or diverting blocks within the inlet area of the device, the references are silent with respect to the shapes, sizes, spacings, etc. of the baffles. However, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal shapes, sizes, spacings of the diverting blocks through routine experimentation while ensuring the desired uniform flow of liquid through the chamber is achieved.
With respect to claim 20, the reference of Yang et al. discloses that the device includes two planar electrodes (11 and 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references of Szita et al. (US 2015/0231634) and Zhou et al. (CN 104190887 is cited as prior art that pertains to the use of baffles to provide a uniform flow within a flow device.
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB