DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 9018251 B2 to Harn et. al. (herein after Harn’251) in view of Huntoon et. al. ((2020), Meningioma: A Review of Clinicopathological and Molecular Aspects, Frontiers in Oncology, 10, 1 – 14).
Regarding claims 1 – 10, Harn’251 teach a method for reducing temozolomide-resistance of brain cancer cells in a subject comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of an active ingredient (Z)-butylidenephthalide of the structure
(column 2 lines 27 – 31) wherein the compound is of instant formula (I); instant p = 0; instant R2 is propyl (claims 1, and 3 – 4). Furthermore, Harn’251 teach that the most common brain tumors can be divided into gliomas and non-gliomas; and that non-gliomas include meningiomas (claim 1) (column 3 lines 66 – 67 and column 4 lines 2 – 3). Additionally, Harn’251 teach that compositions comprising (Z)-butylidenephthalide can be administrated by any suitable approach which includes oral, subcutaneous, nasal or intravenous (claim 6) (column 4 lines 52 – 55).
Furthermore, Harn’251 teach in example 7 that as the dosage of (Z)-butylidenephthalide increased from 0 – 400 µM, (Z)-butylidenephthalide was able to inhibit the growth (claim 5) of cancer cell lines DBTRG, 8401, 8901, and G5T/VGH (column 11 lines 38 – 43). Moreover, Harn’251 teach that in Balb/c nude mice with GBM22-TMZ tumors, a glioma cancer cell line resistant to temozolomide, when compared to the solvent of monotherapy mice that received the combination of (Z)-butylidenephthalide and temozolomide, a methylating agent (claims 8 – 10) (column 1 line 58), had a relative tumor size of 1.5 (fold) (column 14 Table 7 and Figure 11A). Additionally, Harn’251 teach that in example 10, (Z)-butylidenephthalide and polylactic acid-co-glycolic acid were mixed to form round wafers (claim 7) that (column 15 lines 5 – 18), that was administered to mice with GBM22-TMZ tumors in example 11 for survival analysis (column 16 lines 5 – 51). Thus Harn’251 teach the effectiveness of (Z)-butylidenephthalide especially in combination with another anticancer agent for the treatment of brain tumors, specifically malignant gliomas.
Even though, Harn’251 failed to exemplify a method for treating meningiomas (claim 1) wherein the meningiomas are at least one of benign meningiomas, atypical meningiomas, and malignant meningiomas (claim 2); as stated above, Harn’251 does teach that there are a subset of brain tumors that are non-gliomas and are meningiomas.
Nevertheless, Huntoon et. al. teach that meningiomas (claim 1) represent 37.6% of all primary brain tumors in adults, making them the most common type of intracranial tumor with an incidence of 8.83 per 100,000 in the most recent Central Brain Tumor Registry of the United States (page 1 paragraph 1). Additionally, Huntoon et. al. teach that meningiomas are generally slow growing lesions with a linear growth rate of 2–4 mm/year for asymptomatic meningiomas (claim 2) (page 2 column 1 paragraph 2). Moreover, Huntoon et. al. teach that the estimated 10-year survival (overall 61.7%) for malignant meningiomas (claim 2) is very much dependent on age; 10-year relative survival is estimated to be around 76.8% for 20–44 year olds, while it is only 39.5% for patients age 75 years and older (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3).
Furthermore, Huntoon et. al. teach that malignant meningioma of the spine has a higher 10-year relative survival of 73.4% when compared to the survival rate of 55.7% for intracranial tumors (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3). Additionally, Huntoon et. al. teach that in terms of recurrence differences with grade, the five-year progression free survival (PFS) for a WHO grade I tumors is ~90% after gross total resection (GTR), Grade II are ~ 60%–90%, whereas grade III PFS after GTR is 28% (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3). Huntoon et. al. teach that these recurrences translate into meningioma-specific mortality in these patients, with 10-year overall survival rates of 53% for grade II patients and 0% for grade III patients, despite aggressive therapeutic efforts (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Harn’251 for the application of (Z)-butylidenephthalide in view of Huntoon et. al. that is in the treatment of meningiomas especially malignant meningiomas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the survival rate of a patient especially if the patient has a malignant meningiomas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because (Z)-butylidenephthalide with a methylating agent was effective in reducing the tumor size for glioma a more aggressive brain tumor.
Claims 11 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. US 9018251 B2 to Harn et. al. (herein after Harn’251) in view of Huntoon et. al. ((2020), Meningioma: A Review of Clinicopathological and Molecular Aspects, Frontiers in Oncology, 10, 1 – 14).
Regarding claims 11 – 20, Harn’251 teach a method for reducing temozolomide-resistance of brain cancer cells in a subject comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of an active ingredient (Z)-butylidenephthalide of the structure
(column 2 lines 27 – 31) wherein the compound is of instant formula (I); instant p = 0; instant R2 is propyl (claims 11, and 13 – 14). Furthermore, Harn’251 teach that the most common brain tumors can be divided into gliomas and non-gliomas; and that non-gliomas include meningiomas (claim 11) (column 3 lines 66 – 67 and column 4 lines 2 – 3). Additionally, Harn’251 teach that compositions comprising (Z)-butylidenephthalide can be administrated by any suitable approach which includes oral, subcutaneous, nasal or intravenous (claim 6) (column 4 lines 52 – 55).
Furthermore, Harn’251 teach in example 7 that as the dosage of (Z)-butylidenephthalide increased from 0 – 400 µM, (Z)-butylidenephthalide was able to inhibit the growth (claim 15) of cancer cell lines DBTRG, 8401, 8901, and G5T/VGH (column 11 lines 38 – 43). Moreover, Harn’251 teach that in Balb/c nude mice with GBM22-TMZ tumors, a glioma cancer cell line resistant to temozolomide, when compared to the solvent of monotherapy mice that received the combination of (Z)-butylidenephthalide and temozolomide, a methylating agent (claims 18 – 20) (column 1 line 58), had a relative tumor size of 1.5 (fold) (column 14 Table 7 and Figure 11A). Additionally, Harn’251 teach that in example 10, (Z)-butylidenephthalide and polylactic acid-co-glycolic acid were mixed to form round wafers (claim 17) that (column 15 lines 5 – 18), that was administered to mice with GBM22-TMZ tumors in example 11 for survival analysis (column 16 lines 5 – 51). Furthermore, Harn’251 teach that in example 11, mice that received (Z)-butylidenephthalide and temozolomide had a 100 % survival rate even at 30 days (column 16 Table 8). the Thus Harn’251 teach the effectiveness of (Z)-butylidenephthalide especially in combination with another anticancer agent for the treatment of brain tumors, specifically malignant gliomas.
However, Harn’251 fail to teach a method for reducing meningiomas recurrence rate (claim 11) wherein the meningiomas are at least one of benign meningiomas, atypical meningiomas, and malignant meningiomas (claim 12).
Nevertheless, Huntoon et. al. teach that meningiomas (claim 11) represent 37.6% of all primary brain tumors in adults, making them the most common type of intracranial tumor with an incidence of 8.83 per 100,000 in the most recent Central Brain Tumor Registry of the United States (page 1 paragraph 1). Additionally, Huntoon et. al. teach that meningiomas are generally slow growing lesions with a linear growth rate of 2–4 mm/year for asymptomatic meningiomas (claim 12) (page 2 column 1 paragraph 2). Moreover, Huntoon et. al. teach that the estimated 10-year survival (overall 61.7%) for malignant meningiomas (claim 12) is very much dependent on age; 10-year relative survival is estimated to be around 76.8% for 20–44 year olds, while it is only 39.5% for patients age 75 years and older (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3).
Furthermore, Huntoon et. al. teach that malignant meningioma of the spine has a higher 10-year relative survival of 73.4% when compared to the survival rate of 55.7% for intracranial tumors (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3). Additionally, Huntoon et. al. teach that in terms of recurrence differences (claim 11) with grade, the five-year progression free survival (PFS) for a WHO grade I tumors is ~90% after gross total resection (GTR), Grade II are ~ 60%–90%, whereas grade III PFS after GTR is 28% (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3). Huntoon et. al. teach that these recurrences translate into meningioma-specific mortality in these patients, with 10-year overall survival rates of 53% for grade II patients and 0% for grade III patients, despite aggressive therapeutic efforts (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Harn’251 for the application of (Z)-butylidenephthalide in view of Huntoon et. al. that is for a method of reducing meningioma recurrence rate especially malignant meningiomas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the survival rate of a patient especially if the patient has a malignant meningiomas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because (Z)-butylidenephthalide with a methylating agent was effective in prolonging mice survival at 30 days in comparison to the monotherapy.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 – 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 6 – 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 9018251 B2 to Harn et. al. (herein after Harn’251) in view of Huntoon et. al. ((2020), Meningioma: A Review of Clinicopathological and Molecular Aspects, Frontiers in Oncology, 10, 1 – 14).
Harn’251 recite a method for treating a glioma in a subject, comprising: administering to the subject (1) an effective amount of the (Z)-butylidenephthalide isomer of formula (I) substantially free from the (E)-butylidenephthalide isomer of formula (I), wherein the (Z)-butylidenephthalide isomer of formula (I) is in the form of the (Z)-butylidenephthalide isomer, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the (Z)-butylidenephthalide isomer, a pharmaceutically acceptable ester of the (Z)-butylidenephthalide isomer, or a combination thereof:
(instant claims 1, and 3 – 4 ) and (2) an effective amount of temozolomide (instant claims 8 – 10), wherein (1) and (2) together provide a combination index less than 1 (reference claim 1). Harn’251 recite the method as claimed in (reference) claim 1, wherein the (Z)butylidenephthalide isomer of formula (I) and temozolomide are administered together, separately, or successively (reference claim 6; instant claims 8 – 10). Moreover, Harn’251 recite the method as claimed in (reference) claim 1, wherein the (Z)butylidenephthalide isomer of formula (I) is administered orally or administered by subcutaneous or intravenous injection (instant claim 6) and temozolomide is administered orally (reference claim 7).
However, Harn’251 fails to recite a method for treating meningiomas (claim 1) wherein the meningiomas are at least one of benign meningiomas, atypical meningiomas, and malignant meningiomas (claim 2).
Nevertheless, Huntoon et. al. teach that meningiomas (instant claim 1) represent 37.6% of all primary brain tumors in adults, making them the most common type of intracranial tumor with an incidence of 8.83 per 100,000 in the most recent Central Brain Tumor Registry of the United States (page 1 paragraph 1). Additionally, Huntoon et. al. teach that meningiomas are generally slow growing lesions with a linear growth rate of 2–4 mm/year for asymptomatic meningiomas (instant claim 2) (page 2 column 1 paragraph 2). Moreover, Huntoon et. al. teach that the estimated 10-year survival (overall 61.7%) for malignant meningiomas (instant claim 2) is very much dependent on age; 10-year relative survival is estimated to be around 76.8% for 20–44 year olds, while it is only 39.5% for patients age 75 years and older (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3).
Furthermore, Huntoon et. al. teach that malignant meningioma of the spine has a higher 10-year relative survival of 73.4% when compared to the survival rate of 55.7% for intracranial tumors (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3). Additionally, Huntoon et. al. teach that in terms of recurrence differences with grade, the five-year progression free survival (PFS) for a WHO grade I tumors is ~90% after gross total resection (GTR), Grade II are ~ 60%–90%, whereas grade III PFS after GTR is 28% (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3). Huntoon et. al. teach that these recurrences translate into meningioma-specific mortality in these patients, with 10-year overall survival rates of 53% for grade II patients and 0% for grade III patients, despite aggressive therapeutic efforts (page 2 column 1 paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Harn’251 for the application of (Z)-butylidenephthalide in view of Huntoon et. al. that is in the treatment of meningiomas especially malignant meningiomas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the survival rate of a patient especially if the patient has a malignant meningiomas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because (Z)-butylidenephthalide with a methylating agent was effective in reducing the tumor size for glioma a more aggressive brain tumor.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627