DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 2/16/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious search and examination burden and that the amended claims are not disclosed or taught by the previously cited reference.
This is not found persuasive because a search of the different groups would require the use of different search queries. Further, burden is not necessarily a determining factor for restrictions under 371. With respect to arguments about the amended claims, amended claim 1 is rejected under 103 as discussed in detail below. Thus, the groups lack the same or corresponding special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 21-22, 25, 28-30, 32-34 and 40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/16/26.
Applicant’s election of the species of SEQ ID NO:138 (which appears to comprise SEQ ID NOs: 71 + 148 + 143) in the reply filed on 2/16/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims to the elected species are rejected as set forth below. Any relevant art that was uncovered during the search for the elected species is cited herein in order to advance prosecution.
Claims 3-10, 12-15, 17-19, 23 and 26-27 have been canceled.
Claims 1-2, 11, 16, 20, 24, 31 and 35-39 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt dated 11/21/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/19/26, 2/19/25 and 10/13/23 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
37 CFR 1.821(d) states that each occurrence of a sequence should include the corresponding sequence identifier. In the instant case, figure 32 recites a sequence but the sequence identifier is not included with the figure caption.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Section 0104 (page 16 of the 40 page specification) defines the numbering used for the amino acid residues. Since instant claim 1 specifically recites ‘comprises the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 150’, claim 1 requires the W31Y and K26R mutations along with a mutation at an amino acid position selected from the group consisting of Q23 and Y19 as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 150 compared to the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 16, 20 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 refers to ‘at least partial activity of human GLP-1’. Such determination appears to be subjective. For example, instant figures 6-7 show data and it is unclear if GM-FT, GM-FN, GM-FS, GM-FQ, GM-FE, GM-FV, GM-FK and GM-FI show at least partial activity of human GLP-1 based on those figures. Without a negative control and/or a specific % requirement for partial activity, it is unclear how to determine what values are statistically significant or ‘partial’.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the immunoglobulin Fc region" in relation to claim 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 does not recite or necessarily require an Fc region (compare section 0091 of the 40 page specification dated 6/28/23).
Claim 20 recites ‘set forth in any one of 128-138’. It is unclear what the numbers are in reference to. It is unclear if the numbers are in reference to claims or sequence identifiers or something else.
Claim 39 line 3 recites ‘and/or, and’. The use of 2 occurrences of ‘and’ make it unclear if ‘or’ is an option.
Although unclear, the claims have been given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and have been interpreted as complying with 35 USC 112(a)/1st.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 16, 20, 24, 31 and 35-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaesner et al. (US 7,452,966; ‘Glaesner’) in view of Buckley et al. (US 5,545,618; as cited with IDS 2/19/25; ‘Buckley’) in view of Young et al. (KR 20080060685 2008-07-02; ‘Young’).
Young et al. (KR 20080060685 2008-07-02) is not in the English language. An English translation is provided (Translation of KR 20080060685 2008-07-02, 9 total pages) and all references herein unless otherwise specified will be to the English translation.
Glaesner teach IgG4-Fc derivatives fused to GLP-1 (abstract). Glaesner teach that the fusions have increased half-life, decreased immunogenicity and reduced effector activity (abstract). In claim 2, Glaesner recites a specific linker and Fc portion. Glaesner recognizes that there can be substitutions at various positions in the GLP-1 portion (column 1 lines 61-67). Gleasner teach compositions with one or more excipients (column 14 lines 17-33).
Glaesner does not teach the Y19, K26R and W31Y mutations.
Buckley teach GLP-1 analogs with an enhanced stability or enhanced capacity to stimulate insulin production (abstract). Buckley teach analogs with enhanced properties with at least one modification that can be a substitution of arginine for lysine at position 26 (column 3 lines 5-13), a substitution of an amino acid for tryptophan at position 31 (column 3 lines 14-15) specifically with Y (column 12 lines 22-26).
Young teach GLP-1 peptides with increased resistance against peptidase where Xaa19 is Ala (abstract on page 1 and formula I on last page).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Glaesner because Glaesner recognizes that there can be substitutions at various positions in the GLP-1 portion (column 1 lines 61-67). Buckley teach GLP-1 analogs with an enhanced stability or enhanced capacity to stimulate insulin production (abstract). Buckley teach analogs with enhanced properties with at least one modification that can be a substitution of arginine for lysine at position 26 (column 3 lines 5-13), a substitution of an amino acid for tryptophan at position 31 (column 3 lines 14-15) specifically with Y (column 12 lines 22-26). Young teach GLP-1 peptides with increased resistance against peptidase where Xaa19 is Ala (abstract on page 1 and formula I on last page). Based on the advantages disclosed, one would have been motivated to use the specific mutations taught by Buckley and Young in the construct of Glaesner (see claim 2). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because methods of making polypeptides were known and because Glaesner recites a specific linker and Fc portion (claim 2) and recognizes that there can be substitutions at various positions in the GLP-1 portion (column 1 lines 61-67).
In relation to the polypeptide of claims 1-2 and 35, Buckley teach analogs with enhanced properties with at least one modification that can be a substitution of arginine for lysine at position 26 (column 3 lines 5-12), a substitution of an amino acid for tryptophan at position 31 (column 3 lines 14-15) specifically with Y (column 12 lines 22-26). Young teach GLP-1 peptides with increased resistance against peptidase where Xaa19 is Ala (abstract on page 1 and formula I on last page). The Y19A, K26R and W31Y mutations correspond to instant SEQ ID NO:71.
In relation to the fusion protein of claims 11, 16, 20 and 36-39, Glaesner recites a specific linker and Fc portion (claim 2). The sequence comprises a linker that corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO:48 and an Fc that corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO:143.
In relation to the compositions of claims 24 and 31, Gleasner teach compositions with one or more excipients (column 14 lines 17-33).
When the Y19A, K26R and W31Y mutations as discussed above are substituted into the sequence of claim 2 of Glaesner the sequence comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 138 (which is SEQ ID NO: 71 + 148 + 143).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 11, 16, 20, 24, 31 and 35-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7-8, 12, 18, 24-25, 34, 36, 40-41, 44, 46-50, 54 and 60 of copending Application No. 18/576,021 (reference application; ‘021’). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
021 recites a fusion protein comprising a GLP-1 polypeptide variant and an immunoglobulin Fc region (claim 1). 021 recites specific mutations including W31Y, Y19A and K26R (claim 25). 021 recites compositions (claim 49) and immunoconjugates (claim 50). 021 recites SEQ ID NOs: 37-45 (claim 44) and Table 1 of the specification reveals that SEQ ID NOs:40-41 include the triple mutation Y19A, K26R and W31Y a linker and Fc region of IgG4 (page 26).
In relation to the polypeptide of claims 1-2 and 35, 021 recites a protein comprising a GLP-1 polypeptide variant (claim 1). 021 recites specific mutations including W31Y, Y19A and K26R (claim 25). 021 recites SEQ ID NOs: 37-45 (claim 44) and Table 1 of the specification reveals that SEQ ID NOs:40-41 include the triple mutation Y19A, K26R and W31Y (page 26) which is instant SEQ ID NO:71.
In relation to the fusion protein of claims 11, 16, 20 and 36-39, 021 recites SEQ ID NOs: 37-45 (claim 44) and Table 1 of the specification reveals that SEQ ID NOs:40-41 include the triple mutation Y19A, K26R and W31Y a linker and Fc region of IgG4 (page 26).
In relation to the compositions of claims 24 and 31, 021 recites compositions (claim 49) and immunoconjugates (claim 50).
Claims 1-2, 11, 16, 20, 24, 31 and 35-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7-8, 12, 18, 24-25, 34, 36, 40-41, 44, 46-50, 54 and 60 of copending Application No. 18/576,021 (reference application; ‘021’) in view of Glaesner et al. (US 7,452,966; ‘Glaesner’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
021 recites a fusion protein comprising a GLP-1 polypeptide variant and an immunoglobulin Fc region (claim 1). 021 recites specific mutations including W31Y, Y19A and K26R (claim 25). 021 recites compositions (claim 49) and immunoconjugates (claim 50). 021 recites SEQ ID NOs: 37-45 (claim 44) and Table 1 of the specification reveals that SEQ ID NOs:40-41 include the triple mutation Y19A, K26R and W31Y a linker and Fc region of IgG4 (page 26).
021 does not recite the elected fusion of SEQ ID NO:138.
Glaesner teach IgG4-Fc derivatives fused to GLP-1 (abstract). Glaesner teach that the fusions have increased half-life, decreased immunogenicity and reduced effector activity (abstract). In claim 2, Glaesner recites a specific linker and Fc portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 021 because 021 recites a fusion protein comprising a GLP-1 polypeptide variant and an immunoglobulin Fc region (claim 1). Glaesner teach IgG4-Fc derivatives fused to GLP-1 (abstract). Glaesner teach that the fusions have increased half-life, decreased immunogenicity and reduced effector activity (abstract). In claim 2, Glaesner recites a specific linker and Fc portion. Based on the advantages disclosed in Glaesner, one would have been motivated to use the specific linker and IgG4-Fc fusion with the peptide taught by 021. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because methods of making polypeptides was known and because Glaesner recites a specific linker and Fc portion (claim 2).
In relation to the polypeptide of claims 1-2 and 35, 021 recites a protein comprising a GLP-1 polypeptide variant (claim 1). 021 recites specific mutations including W31Y, Y19A and K26R (claim 25). 021 recites SEQ ID NOs: 37-45 (claim 44) and Table 1 of the specification reveals that SEQ ID NOs:40-41 include the triple mutation Y19A, K26R and W31Y (page 26) which is instant SEQ ID NO:71.
In relation to the fusion protein of claims 11, 16, 20 and 36-39, 021 recites SEQ ID NOs: 37-45 (claim 44) and Table 1 of the specification reveals that SEQ ID NOs:40-41 include the triple mutation Y19A, K26R and W31Y a linker and Fc region of IgG4 (page 26).
In relation to the compositions of claims 24 and 31, 021 recites compositions (claim 49) and immunoconjugates (claim 50).
Further, in relation to the elected fusion, when the Y19A, K26R and W31Y triple mutant of 021 is fused via the linker and Fc region of Glaesner the resulting sequence is the instantly elected fusion which is instant SEQ ID NO: 138 (which is SEQ ID NO: 71 + 148 + 143).
Conclusion
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658