DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to claims filed on 01/02/2026. Claims 11-19 are pending. An action on the merits of claims 11-19 is as follows.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding “auscultatory sound signal acquisition means” limitation in claims 11 and 16:
(A) “auscultatory sound signal acquisition means for” is the generic placeholder
(B) The functional language that modifies the “auscultatory sound signal acquisition means for” is the steps of “acquiring an in-body auscultatory sound signal from a patient”
(C) “means for” is not modified by a sufficient structure for performing the claimed functions, therefore 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked.
Regarding “auscultatory sound signal acquisition means” limitation in claims 11 and 16:
(A) “auscultatory sound signal sampling means for” is the generic placeholder
(B) The functional language that modifies the “auscultatory sound signal sample means for” is the steps of “digitally sampling and converting the in-body auscultatory sound signal into auscultatory sound discrete data”
(C) “means for4” is not modified by a sufficient structure for performing the claimed functions, therefore 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked.
Regarding “spectrogram conversion means” limitation in claims 11 and 16:
(A) “spectrogram conversion means for” is the generic placeholder
(B) The functional language that modifies the “converting the auscultatory sound discrete data into an auscultatory sound spectrogram”
(C) “means for” is not modified by a sufficient structure for performing the claimed functions, therefore 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is invoked.
The corresponding structure for the “auscultatory sound signal acquisition means” in claims 11 and 16 is a microphone, including a MEMS microphone and an organic/inorganic piezo microphone, as stated in paragraph [0039] in the specification. The corresponding structure of the “auscultatory sound signal acquisition means” and the “spectrogram conversion means” in claims 11 and 16 is the smartphone used for computation, as stated in paragraph [0040] in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (WO 2018107008) in view of Tiron (US 20220007965).
Regarding independent claim 11, Harris teaches an auscultatory sound analysis system ([0002]: “The present invention relates generally to acquiring and analyzing the breath sounds of a subject and more particularly to a system and method for analyzing the breath sounds to determine if one or more conditions exist that may be signs of disease”) comprising:
(a) auscultatory sound signal acquisition means for acquiring an in-body auscultatory sound signal from a patient ([0026]: “Fig. 1 illustrates a block diagram of an exemplary auscultation device 100 in accordance with the present invention.”; [0028]: “the external system may include instructions to a subject for positioning the auscultation device 100 relative to anatomical structures, for recording one or more audio samples, etc.”; [0037]: “detection system 300 receives breath sound data from auscultation device 100”; [0029]: “When properly positioned and captured, microphone 106 receives an audio signal corresponding to a subject's breathing (and capturing the subject's breath sounds)”);
(b) auscultatory sound signal sampling means for digitally sampling and converting the in-body auscultatory sound signal into auscultatory sound discrete data ([0035]: “The audio sample is acquired for a predetermined duration of time, and according to a prescribed sample rate, under control of the processor 102. Preferably, the duration is sufficient to allow for multiple inspiration and expiration breathing cycles. In one embodiment, the predetermined duration is at least 10 seconds. Further, the sample rate may be selected to facilitate compression for streaming of audio in real time, to be high enough to meet signal processing requirements, and to be low enough to be compatible with BLE or other communications technologies. By way of example, a sampling rate in the range of about 8 kHz to about 12 kHz may be suitable for this purpose, although any suitable sampling rate may be used. Associated audio data are communicated for processing to identify one or more conditions, e.g., after conversion of the microphone-acquired audio signal to data in digital form.”. The audio data being recorded over a set period of time indicates that it is discrete data.); and
(c) spectrogram conversion means for converting the auscultatory sound discrete data into an auscultatory sound spectrogram ([0043]: “Referring again to Fig. 5, at element 504, intensity mapping component 302 determines a time-frequency representation based on the breath sound data. A time-frequency representation may be determined for breath sound data obtained from each location on a user. In one or more embodiments, the time-frequency representation may be a 3D time-frequency representation or spectrogram.”; [0040]: “the detection system 300 includes computer-readable, processor-executable instructions 414 stored in the memory 306 for carrying out the methods described herein. For example, memory 306 comprises processor-executable instructions corresponding to one or more of intensity mapping component 302 and condition identifier component 304, as discussed in greater detail below”. The processor contains the intensity mapping component and the condition identifier component, therefore the processing is the spectrogram conversion means.), wherein
on a basis of the auscultatory sound spectrogram acquired by the spectrogram conversion means, a measurement of strengths of a signal component in at least one predetermined frequency range is performed ([0045]-[0046]: “condition identifier component 304 analyzes the time-frequency representation to identify one or more of a line of high-intensity frequencies or a band of high-intensity frequencies. A line of high-intensity frequencies that satisfies one or more predetermined thresholds may be deemed to correspond to a wheeze and a band of high-intensity frequencies that satisfies one or more predetermined thresholds may be deemed to correspond to a crackle … An edge or line may be identified as a region of continuous high-amplitude signal for frequencies over a specified frequency range. For example, condition identifier component 304 may attempt to identify a set of continuous high-intensity frequencies between 100 Hz and 800 Hz, however other ranges may be used. A frequency may be determined to be high-intensity (e.g., a peak) when it exceeds a predetermined threshold amplitude. The threshold amplitude may be based on the intensities (e.g., amplitudes) of other adjacent frequencies within the representation”; [0040]: “the detection system 300 includes computer-readable, processor-executable instructions 414 stored in the memory 306 for carrying out the methods described herein. For example, memory 306 comprises processor-executable instructions corresponding to one or more of intensity mapping component 302 and condition identifier component 304, as discussed in greater detail below”. The processor contains the intensity mapping component and the condition identifier component, therefore the processing is the spectrogram conversion means.), the measurement being executed a plurality of times at intervals corresponding to a plurality of auscultatory sound spectrograms obtained at the respective intervals ([0057]: “this may be performed by periodically or successively by processing microphone-captured audio signal in intervals, such as 10-second intervals”; [0043]: “Referring again to Fig. 5, at element 504, intensity mapping component 302 determines a time-frequency representation based on the breath sound data. A time-frequency representation may be determined for breath sound data obtained from each location on a user. In one or more embodiments, the time-frequency representation may be a 3D time-frequency representation or spectrogram”; Fig. 5 shows determining a time-frequency representation and storing each representation in a memory, which indicates measuring a plurality of spectrograms at a plurality of time intervals), the signal component exceeding a certain threshold value is extracted for each of the measurements ([0046]: “A frequency may be determined to be high-intensity (e.g., a peak) when it exceeds a predetermined threshold amplitude. The threshold amplitude may be based on the intensities (e.g., amplitudes) of other adjacent frequencies within the representation. Condition identifier component 304 may also be configured to identify one or more harmonics of each high intensity frequency”).
However, Harris does not teach the strengths of the signal component are output along a time axis covering a period corresponding to the plurality of intervals.
Tiron discloses methods and apparatuses for detection of disordered breathing. Specifically, Tiron teaches the strengths of the signal component are output along a time axis covering a period corresponding to the plurality of intervals ([0094]: “FIG. 12 illustrates a spectrogram of an example acoustic signal generated with sound sensor (e.g., microphone) such as with passive sound detection implemented by a processing device described herein.”. Fig. 12 shows a spectrogram signal along 10 minutes, which includes the plurality of intervals from Harris, as the intervals from Harris are 10-second intervals. Additionally, the darkness of the frequency signal corresponds to the strength of the signal, therefore outputting the strength of the signal along the time axis.). Harris and Tiron are analogous art as they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of monitoring breath sounds of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the output graph covering a period of all the plurality of intervals from Tiron into the system from Harris as it allows the system to display all the acquired results together, instead of the results individually. This allows the user to have a more comprehensive view of their breathing, and allows them to see any changes that occur throughout the day, alerting them to any possible issues.
Regarding claim 12, the Harris/Tiron combination teaches the auscultatory sound analysis system according to claim 11, incorporating: a communication computation device provided with a display function (Harris, [0038]: “detection system 300 of Fig. 4 includes a general purpose processor 402 and a bus 404 employed to connect and enable communication between the processor 402 and the components of the detection system 300 in accordance with known techniques. The detection system 300 typically includes a user interface adapter 406, which connects the processor 402 via the communication bus 404 to one or more interface devices, such as a keyboard, mouse, and/or other interface devices, which can be any user interface device, such as a touch sensitive screen, digitized entry pad, etc. The bus 404 also connects a display device 408, such as an LCD screen or monitor, to the processor 402 via a display adapter.”).
Regarding claim 14, the Harris/Tiron combination teaches the auscultatory sound analysis system according to claim 11, wherein data generated in the auscultatory sound analysis system is uploaded into a server on an Internet (Harris, [0039]: “The detection system 300 may be associated with such other computer systems in a local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), and operates as a server in a client/server arrangement with another computer”).
However, the Harris/Tiron combination is silent on what type of server is used.
Tiron teaches the server being a cloud server ([0469]: “the fact that the data does not have to be processed in real or near real time permits a transmission of data to a remote server (or other cloud computing apparatus) to implement use of more or greater processing power”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the cloud server from Tiron into the system from the Harris/Tiron combination as the combination is silent on the type of server, and Tiron discloses a suitable server in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 15, the Harris/Tiron combination teaches the auscultatory sound analysis system according to claim 14, wherein data related to an analysis is downloaded from the cloud server on the Internet (Harris, [0039]: “The detection system 300 may be associated with such other computer systems in a local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), and operates as a server in a client/server arrangement with another computer”; Magar, [0084]: “A server (e.g., servers 250) may include a web server … In some instances a server, such as a cloud server, may be associated with and/or in communication with one or more user accounts (accessing or communicating with the cloud server via the one or more external devices 210, for example). The server may be configured to dispatch updates to the client software, such as by tracking the implementations of the client software on the one or more external devices 210 and/or communicating with the one or more user accounts.”. The detection system from Harris communicates the analysis to the cloud server, which can be downloaded by the user.).
Regarding independent claim 16, Harris teaches an auscultatory sound analysis system ([0002]: “The present invention relates generally to acquiring and analyzing the breath sounds of a subject and more particularly to a system and method for analyzing the breath sounds to determine if one or more conditions exist that may be signs of disease”) comprising:
(a) auscultatory sound signal acquisition means for acquiring an auscultatory sound signal ([0026]: “Fig. 1 illustrates a block diagram of an exemplary auscultation device 100 in accordance with the present invention.”; [0028]: “the external system may include instructions to a subject for positioning the auscultation device 100 relative to anatomical structures, for recording one or more audio samples, etc.”; [0037]: “detection system 300 receives breath sound data from auscultation device 100”);
(b) auscultatory sound signal sampling means for digitally sampling and converting the auscultatory sound signal into auscultatory sound discrete data ([0035]: “The audio sample is acquired for a predetermined duration of time, and according to a prescribed sample rate, under control of the processor 102. Preferably, the duration is sufficient to allow for multiple inspiration and expiration breathing cycles. In one embodiment, the predetermined duration is at least 10 seconds. Further, the sample rate may be selected to facilitate compression for streaming of audio in real time, to be high enough to meet signal processing requirements, and to be low enough to be compatible with BLE or other communications technologies. By way of example, a sampling rate in the range of about 8 kHz to about 12 kHz may be suitable for this purpose, although any suitable sampling rate may be used. Associated audio data are communicated for processing to identify one or more conditions, e.g., after conversion of the microphone-acquired audio signal to data in digital form.”. The audio data being recorded over a set period of time indicates that it is discrete data.); and
(c) spectrogram conversion means for converting the auscultatory sound discrete data into an auscultatory sound spectrogram ([0043]: “Referring again to Fig. 5, at element 504, intensity mapping component 302 determines a time-frequency representation based on the breath sound data. A time-frequency representation may be determined for breath sound data obtained from each location on a user. In one or more embodiments, the time-frequency representation may be a 3D time-frequency representation or spectrogram.”; [0040]: “the detection system 300 includes computer-readable, processor-executable instructions 414 stored in the memory 306 for carrying out the methods described herein. For example, memory 306 comprises processor-executable instructions corresponding to one or more of intensity mapping component 302 and condition identifier component 304, as discussed in greater detail below”. The processor contains the intensity mapping component and the condition identifier component, therefore the processing is the spectrogram conversion means.), wherein
on a basis of the auscultatory sound spectrogram acquired by the spectrogram conversion means, a measurement of strengths of a signal component in at least one predetermined frequency range is performed ([0045]-[0046]: “condition identifier component 304 analyzes the time-frequency representation to identify one or more of a line of high-intensity frequencies or a band of high-intensity frequencies. A line of high-intensity frequencies that satisfies one or more predetermined thresholds may be deemed to correspond to a wheeze and a band of high-intensity frequencies that satisfies one or more predetermined thresholds may be deemed to correspond to a crackle … An edge or line may be identified as a region of continuous high-amplitude signal for frequencies over a specified frequency range. For example, condition identifier component 304 may attempt to identify a set of continuous high-intensity frequencies between 100 Hz and 800 Hz, however other ranges may be used. A frequency may be determined to be high-intensity (e.g., a peak) when it exceeds a predetermined threshold amplitude. The threshold amplitude may be based on the intensities (e.g., amplitudes) of other adjacent frequencies within the representation”; [0040]: “the detection system 300 includes computer-readable, processor-executable instructions 414 stored in the memory 306 for carrying out the methods described herein. For example, memory 306 comprises processor-executable instructions corresponding to one or more of intensity mapping component 302 and condition identifier component 304, as discussed in greater detail below”. The processor contains the intensity mapping component and the condition identifier component, therefore the processing is the spectrogram conversion means.), the measurement being executed a plurality of times at intervals corresponding to a plurality of auscultatory sound spectrograms obtained at the respective intervals ([0057]: “this may be performed by periodically or successively by processing microphone-captured audio signal in intervals, such as 10-second intervals”), the signal component exceeding a certain threshold value is extracted for each of the measurements ([0046]: “A frequency may be determined to be high-intensity (e.g., a peak) when it exceeds a predetermined threshold amplitude. The threshold amplitude may be based on the intensities (e.g., amplitudes) of other adjacent frequencies within the representation. Condition identifier component 304 may also be configured to identify one or more harmonics of each high intensity frequency”).
However, Harris does not teach the strengths of the signal component are output along a time axis covering a period corresponding to the plurality of intervals.
Tiron discloses methods and apparatuses for detection of disordered breathing. Specifically, Tiron teaches the strengths of the signal component are output along a time axis covering a period corresponding to the plurality of intervals ([0094]: “FIG. 12 illustrates a spectrogram of an example acoustic signal generated with sound sensor (e.g., microphone) such as with passive sound detection implemented by a processing device described herein.”. Fig. 12 shows a spectrogram signal along 10 minutes, which includes the plurality of intervals from Harris, as the intervals from Harris are 10-second intervals. Additionally, the darkness of the frequency signal corresponds to the strength of the signal, therefore outputting the strength of the signal along the time axis.). Harris and Tiron are analogous art as they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of monitoring breath sounds of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the output graph covering a period of all the plurality of intervals from Tiron into the system from Harris as it allows the system to display all the acquired results together, instead of the results individually. This allows the user to have a more comprehensive view of their breathing, and allows them to see any changes that occur throughout the day, alerting them to any possible issues.
Regarding claim 17, the Harris/Tiron combination teaches the auscultatory sound analysis system according to claim 16, incorporating: a communication computation device provided with a display function (Harris, [0038]: “detection system 300 of Fig. 4 includes a general purpose processor 402 and a bus 404 employed to connect and enable communication between the processor 402 and the components of the detection system 300 in accordance with known techniques. The detection system 300 typically includes a user interface adapter 406, which connects the processor 402 via the communication bus 404 to one or more interface devices, such as a keyboard, mouse, and/or other interface devices, which can be any user interface device, such as a touch sensitive screen, digitized entry pad, etc. The bus 404 also connects a display device 408, such as an LCD screen or monitor, to the processor 402 via a display adapter.”).
Regarding claim 18, the Harris/Tiron combination teaches the auscultatory sound analysis system according to claim 16, wherein data generated in the auscultatory sound analysis system is uploaded into a server on an Internet (Harris, [0039]: “The detection system 300 may be associated with such other computer systems in a local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), and operates as a server in a client/server arrangement with another computer”).
However, the Harris/Tiron combination is silent on what type of server is used.
Tiron teaches the server being a cloud server ([0469]: “he fact that the data does not have to be processed in real or near real time permits a transmission of data to a remote server (or other cloud computing apparatus) to implement use of more or greater processing power”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the cloud server from Tiron into the system from the Harris/Tiron combination as the combination is silent on the type of server, and Tiron discloses a suitable server in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 19, the Harris/Tiron combination teaches the auscultatory sound analysis system according to claim 18, wherein data related to an analysis is downloaded from the cloud server on the Internet (Harris, [0039]: “The detection system 300 may be associated with such other computer systems in a local area network (LAN) or a wide area network (WAN), and operates as a server in a client/server arrangement with another computer”; Magar, [0084]: “A server (e.g., servers 250) may include a web server … In some instances a server, such as a cloud server, may be associated with and/or in communication with one or more user accounts (accessing or communicating with the cloud server via the one or more external devices 210, for example). The server may be configured to dispatch updates to the client software, such as by tracking the implementations of the client software on the one or more external devices 210 and/or communicating with the one or more user accounts.”. The detection system from Harris communicates the analysis to the cloud server, which can be downloaded by the user.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Harris/Tiron as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Sato (WO 2015170772). Citations to WO 2015170772 will refer to the English Machine Translation that accompanies this Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, the Harris/Tiron combination teaches the auscultatory sound analysis system according to claim 11, incorporating: a body temperature thermometer (Harris, [0027]: “processor 102 may also be coupled to an optional memory 110 and/or an optional temperature sensor 1 12 configured to receive a temperature reading from a subject”).
However, the Harris/Tiron combination does not teach the system incorporating an electrocardiograph.
Sato discloses a device for measuring breathing of a user. Specifically, Sato teaches the device incorporating an electrocardiograph (Page 5: “a detection unit equipped with a sound sensor and an electrocardiogram sensor on a surface that is pressed against the skin of a human body”). Harris and Sato are analogous arts as they are both related to the same field of endeavor for measuring the breathing of a user to determine health conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the electrocardiogram from Sato into the system from the Harris/Tiron combination as it allows the system to measure information about the user’s heart, which can provide more information for the user about their health status.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791