Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It’s unclear what it means for the claimed iron oxide to be “derived” from complexes of iron and one or more compounds. A chemical derivative is a compound formed from a parent compound by replacing one or more atoms or functional groups with others. It’s unclear how far removed the iron oxide can be from the complexes or iron and one or more compounds and still be considered iron oxide. Further regarding claim 4, in the recitation “amine-based compound,” it’s unclear if this means compounds that comprise an amine, if this includes compounds that comprise amine derivatives, and if this includes compounds that are based on amine functionality but do not comprise an amine or amine derivative in their structure. Further regarding claim 7, it’s unclear what it means for the weight ratio to be based on iron oxide, if this means that the weight ratio being claimed is wherein iron oxide is “1” in the ratio, or if “MXn” is “1” in the ratio 1:005 to 0.10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2008-189967 A (hereafter “Fujifilm”). Fujifilm teaches magnetic nanoparticles cores comprising an iron oxide such as a-Fe2O3, y Fe2O3, FeO, or Fe3O4, and a shell of which is comprised of a platinum salt, such as PtCl4 and a polypropylene oxide coating adsorbed onto the nanoparticles; the average diameter of the nanoparticles being between 5 nm and 20 nm; and the nanoparticles being used at a frequency of 150 kHz (abstract; paragraphs 17, 31, 34-35, and 59; claims 1, 2 and 14). This is Iron oxide magnetic particles containing iron oxide and MXₙ where M is Pt (a transition metal containing electrons in a 5d orbital on the periodic table) (claim 1), wherein at least a portion of the surface of the iron oxide magnetic particles is additionally coated with a hydrophilic polymer to form a complex (claim 3), the iron oxide is derived from iron and one or more compounds selected from an amine-based compound) (claim 4); the iron oxide is a-Fe2O3, y Fe2O3, FeO, or Fe3O4 (claim 5), the polymer is polypropylene oxide (claim 6), the particles have a diameter of 0.1 nm to 1,000 nm (claim 8), and the iron oxide magnetic particles are used at a frequency of 1 kHz to 1 MHz (claim 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2008-189967 A (“Fujifilm”). The relevant portions of Fukifilm are given above.
Fujifilm fails to teach “wherein the iron oxide magnetic particles contain MXn at a weight ratio of 1:0.005 to 0.08 based on iron oxide.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the amount of platinum salt on the surface of the iron oxide magnetic particles, and in this way, one would find the present weight ratio through routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success, as the amount of platinum salt is a result effective parameter in the use of the particles as imaging agents in MRI and X-ray contrast agents. “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)” MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Claims 1-3, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2008-189967 A (“Fujifilm”) in further view of Kubik (Frontiers in Medicine, 2021). The relevant portions of Fujifilm are given above.
Fujifilm fails to teach wherein M comprises a radioisotope.
Kubik teaches that isotopic iron oxide particles are useful for tracing biological processes and the location of the particles once administered to a patient(abstract; introduction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made modify M to comprise a radioisotope. The motivation for this would have been to trace the path of the iron oxide nanoparticle after it enters the body to monitor when the agent reaches the portion of the body that needs imaging.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/327,118 in view of US 20140194733 to Goforth. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the two set of claims is that the present claims recite “includes one or more selected from the group consisting of Hf, Ta, W, Re, Os, Ir, Pt, Au and Hg” where the copending recite “includes one or more from the group constitng of Tl, Pb, Bi, and Po.” However,
Goforth teaches that nanoparticles coated with bismuth salts BiI3, BiCl3, and BiBr3 (corresponding to present MXₙ, wherein M is Bi; X is I, Cl, or Br; and n is 3) are useful as contrast agents. It would have been obvious to substitute the salt enumerated in the present claims with BiI3, BiCl3, and/or BiBr3, the motivation would be to produce an iron oxide magnetic particle which can be used as an x-ray contrast agent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
December 26, 2025