DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/2023 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 9 objected to because of the following informalities: The first recitation of HMD should be defined. For instance, for independent claims 1 and 9, in line 3 for both, HMD should have been written “head mounted display (HMD)”. Subsequent recitations could use the simpler form of “HMD”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, the phrase “whereinthe” is assumed to be a typographical error and should have been written “wherein the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Devani (US 2022/0218198).
Regarding Claim 1, Devani discloses a device for assessing pupillary reflex-related visual function (Paragraph 0220, lines 1-4), the device comprising:
an HMD configured to create a testing environment by being worn on a head of a subject of assessment (Paragraph 0082, headset, line 6, Paragraph 0210, headset, Paragraph 0215, headset), and obtain a pupil image of the subject of assessment in the created testing environment (Paragraph 0226, lines 1-4, pupillary light reflex requires imaging of the pupil, Paragraph 0220, lines 1-4, Paragraph 0217, lines 9-14); and
an assessment module (Paragraph 0054, a processor, lines 1-19, Paragraph 0211, line 8, a processor) configured to calculate an indicator for assessing pupillary reflex-related visual function by analyzing the pupil image (Paragraph 0226, lines 1-13, pupillary light reflex is measured by image sequence analysis, Fig. 1A, system 100) of the subject of assessment provided from the HMD and assess pupillary reflex-related visual function based on the calculated indicator (also see Paragraph 0222, lines 1-9 and Paragraph 0233, lines 1-17, image analysis).
Regarding Claim 2, Devani discloses as is set forth above and further discloses
wherein the assessment module comprises:
a pupil image analysis unit configured to calculate pupil size (Fig. 15, step 630 determines pupil size parameters, Paragraph 0236, lines 1-7) of both eyes (Paragraph 0243, the reflex of both eyes is analyzed separately, lines 1-3) by analyzing the pupil image of the subject of assessment (Paragraph 0233, lines 1-17);
an indicator calculation unit configured to calculate the indicator for assessing pupillary reflex-related visual function based on the pupil size calculated by the pupil image analysis unit (Fig. 16B, various PLR curves, Paragraph 0248, lines 1-7); and
a function assessment unit configured to assess the pupillary reflex-related visual function of the subject of assessment based on the indicator calculated by the indicator calculation unit (Paragraph 0268, PLR calculations, lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Devani discloses as is set forth above and further discloses
wherein the HMD is configured to create the testing environment by alternately applying light stimulation to both eyes of the subject of assessment to assess relative afferent pupillary defect (Paragraph 0243, the reflex of both eyes is analyzed separately, lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 6, Devani discloses as is set forth above and further discloses
wherein the HMD is configured to present a virtual object for the subject of assessment to gaze at in order to assess pupillary light-near dissociation, and create the testing environment by maintaining illuminance at a preset value (Paragraph 0321, lines 1-9, indications on the display for the user should focus their gaze).
Regarding Claim 9, Devani discloses a method for assessing pupillary reflex-related visual function (Paragraph 0220, lines 1-4), the method comprising:
creating a testing environment through an HMD worn on a head of a subject (Paragraph 0082, headset, line 6, Paragraph 0210, headset, Paragraph 0215, headset) of assessment;
obtaining a pupil image of the subject (Paragraph 0226, lines 1-4, pupillary light reflex requires imaging of the pupil, Paragraph 0220, lines 1-4, Paragraph 0217, lines 9-14) of assessment in the testing environment created through the HMD;
calculating pupil size (Fig. 15, step 630 determines pupil size parameters, Paragraph 0236, lines 1-7) of both eyes (Paragraph 0243, the reflex of both eyes is analyzed separately, lines 1-3) by analyzing the pupil image of the subject of assessment (Paragraph 0233, lines 1-17);
calculating an indicator for assessing pupillary reflex-related visual function based on the calculated pupil size (Fig. 16B, various PLR curves, Paragraph 0248, lines 1-7); and
assessing pupillary reflex-related visual function of the subject of assessment based on the calculated indicator (Paragraph 0268, PLR calculations, lines 1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 4, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations wherein the indicator calculation unit is configured to calculate Lighthealthy_eye/Lightaffected_eye, which is a ratio of illuminance of the light stimulation applied to a healthy side to illuminance of the light stimulation applied to an affected side when degrees of pupillary reflex in both eyes reach a similar point, as a first indicator, based on the pupil size of both eyes when step-by-step light stimulation is applied alternately to both eyes to assess the relative afferent pupillary defect, and wherein Lighthealthy_eye represents the illuminance of the light stimulation applied to the healthy side, and Lightaffected_eye represents the illuminance of the light stimulation applied to the affected side.
Specifically, with respect to claim 7, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations wherein the indicator calculation unit is configured to calculate Pupilnear/Pupillight as a second indicator by quantifying a degree of near reflex compared to a degree of reflection for light stimulation of a preset illuminance to assess pupillary light-near dissociation, and wherein /Pupillight represents a degree of pupil miosis in a light background with the preset illuminance compared to pupil size in darkness, and Pupilnear represents a degree of pupil miosis when the virtual object is presented in the light background.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kandel et al. (US 2008/0068561), Kandel et al. (US 2009/0147218), and Yao et al. (US 2013/0250244) are cited to show similar devices and methods.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872