DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galin (US 20180201142) in view of Tsukada (US 20220393614 ).
Regarding claim 1, Galin teaches a hybrid charging device for an electric vehicle (figures 1A and 5 shows a hybrid charging device, items 100 and 500 defined in paragraph [0051] as a power system for charging an electric vehicle item 506),
comprising: an alternating current (AC)-direct current (DC) converter configured to convert an AC input power to a first DC power (figure 1A power converter 103 [0055] teaches wherein the power converter may be an ACDC converter);
a DC-DC converter configured to convert an DC input power to a second DC power (Figure 1A item 104 [0058] as a DCDC converter);
a power combiner configured to generate a charge power for the electric vehicle from at least one of the first DC power or the second DC power (figure 1 item 218 defined in [0085]-[0086] as a merger, which generates a DC power from DC 204 or power converter 204); and
a charge controller configured to control the AC-DC converter, the DC-DC converter and the power combiner (figure 2A item 213 a control device. [0085] discloses wherein control device controls the plurality of switches within the merger to output a desired voltage).
Galin does not explicitly teach or suggest wherein the power combiner is configured to prevent countercurrent flow between the first DC power and the second DC power and reduce a voltage difference between the first DC power and the second DC power.
Tsukada teaches wherein the power combiner is configured to prevent countercurrent flow between the first DC power and the second DC power and reduce a voltage difference between the first DC power and the second DC power (paragraph [0109] discloses a power combiner configured to prevent current from flowing in an unintended direction. Paragraph [0113] discloses reducing or lowering a voltage to desired levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Galin reference with the charging system of the Tsukada reference so that power switching loss is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Tsukada reference in paragraph [0008] wherein power loss is prevented.
Galin Figure 5 shows a hybrid vehicle charger item 500
Regarding claim 2, Galin teaches the hybrid charging device according to claim 1, wherein the power combiner is configured to combine the first DC power with the second DC power to generate the charge power for the electric vehicle when the first DC power and the second DC power are simultaneously inputted (Figure 1A [0052] teaches wherein power converter 103 may include a DCDC or ACDC converter. The power converter outputs a first DC power to loads 110 and/or a second DC power to a power grid. [0073] discloses wherein the Integrated inverter-EV-charger (IIEVC) may transfer power from a power source 101, storage device 109 and the power grid at the same time to allow a selection to be made).
Regarding claim 3, Galin teaches the hybrid charging device according to claim 1, wherein the charge controller is configured to control the AC-DC converter, the DC-DC converter and the power combiner based on an operating condition of each of the AC-DC converter and the DC-DC converter (figures 1A-C item 114 and 2A item 213 discloses a control device. [0065] discloses wherein the ACDC and DCDC converter is controlled by controlling which power path may be provided to a vehicle [0085] discloses wherein control device controls the plurality of switches within the merger to output a desired voltage).
Regarding claim 4, Galin teaches the hybrid charging device according to claim 3, wherein the charge controller is configured to: set a target power from a charge request from the electric vehicle, and set a power value of the first DC power and a power value of the second DC power to make the charge power equal to the target power based on the operating condition of each of the AC-DC converter and the DC-DC converter (figure 11 item 1312 discloses a user interface. [0157]-[0158] discloses wherein target powers or parameters may be set and received inputs to set a charging setting. [0198] teaches wherein a target level of power is set and charging is based on the target level of charging).
Regarding claim 5, Galin teaches the hybrid charging device according to claim 4, wherein the charge controller is configured to: determine a first allowable output power of the AC-DC converter based on the operating condition of the AC-DC converter, determine a second allowable output power of the DC-DC converter based on the operating condition of the DC-DC converter, and set the power value of the first DC power and the power value of the second DC power to make a ratio between the first DC power and the second DC power equal to a ratio between the first allowable output power and the second allowable output power when a sum of the first allowable output power and the second allowable output power is equal to or more than the target power (paragraph [0084] teaches wherein the conditions of the ACDC and DCDC converter is determined and may be connected or disconnected based on its condition. [0065] discloses wherein the different outputs or power paths are compared to each other, thus a ratio between the two values is determined. [0149] disclose wherein the values are compared to determine an allowable output of transfer, or if the transfer power is safe if the power is less than a target maximum power).
Regarding claim 6, Galin teaches a charging system, comprising:
a power system including a solar panel (figure 1A 101 [0051] discloses wherein the power source may be a photovoltaic (PV) panel), an energy storage system (figure 1A item 106 [0052] defined as a storage) and a power conversion system (figure 1A item 112 [0052] as an enclosure which includes a power conversion system),
the power system connected to an AC power grid (figure 1A item 11 defined as a power grid); and
a hybrid charging device (figures 1A and 5 shows a hybrid charging device, items 100 and 500 defined in paragraph [0051] as a power system for charging an electric vehicle item 506),
wherein the hybrid charging device includes: an alternating current (AC)-direct current (DC) converter configured to convert an AC input power supplied from the power conversion system and the AC power grid to a first DC power (figure 1A power converter 103 [0055] teaches wherein the power converter may be an ACDC converter);
a DC-DC converter configured to convert an DC input power supplied from the power conversion system to a second DC power (Figure 1A item 104 [0058] as a DCDC converter);
a power combiner configured to generate a charge power for an electric vehicle from at least one of the first DC power or the second DC power (figure 1 item 218 defined in [0085]-[0086] as a merger, which generates a DC power from DC 204 or power converter 204); and
a charge controller configured to control the AC-DC converter, the DC-DC converter and the power combiner (figure 2A item 213 a control device. [0085] discloses wherein control device controls the plurality of switches within the merger to output a desired voltage).
Galin does not explicitly teach or suggest wherein the power combiner is configured to prevent countercurrent flow between the first DC power and the second DC power and reduce a voltage difference between the first DC power and the second DC power.
Tsukada teaches wherein the power combiner is configured to prevent countercurrent flow between the first DC power and the second DC power and reduce a voltage difference between the first DC power and the second DC power (paragraph [0109] discloses a power combiner configured to prevent current from flowing in an unintended direction. Paragraph [0113] discloses reducing or lowering a voltage to desired levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Galin reference with the charging system of the Tsukada reference so that power switching loss is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Tsukada reference in paragraph [0008] wherein power loss is prevented.
Regarding claim 7, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 6, wherein the power combiner is configured to combine the first DC power with the second DC power to generate the charge power for the electric vehicle when the first DC power and the second DC power are simultaneously inputted (Figure 1A [0052] teaches wherein power converter 103 may include a DCDC or ACDC converter. The power converter outputs a first DC power to loads 110 and/or a second DC power to a power grid. [0073] discloses wherein the Integrated inverter-EV-charger (IIEVC) may transfer power from a power source 101, storage device 109 and the power grid at the same time to allow a selection to be made).
Regarding claim 8, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 6, wherein the charge controller is configured to control the AC-DC converter, the DC-DC converter and the power combiner based on an operating condition of each of the AC-DC converter and the DC-DC converter (figures 1A-C item 114 and 2A item 213 discloses a control device. [0065] discloses wherein the ACDC and DCDC converter is controlled by controlling which power path may be provided to a vehicle [0085] discloses wherein control device controls the plurality of switches within the merger to output a desired voltage).
Regarding claim 9, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 8, wherein the charge controller is configured to:set a target power from a charge request, and set a power value of the first DC power and a power value of the second DC power to make the charge power equal to the target power based on the operating condition of each of the AC-DC converter and the DC-DC converter (figure 11 item 1312 discloses a user interface. [0157]-[0158] discloses wherein target powers or parameters may be set and received inputs to set a charging setting. [0198] teaches wherein a target level of power is set and charging is based on the target level of charging).
Regarding claim 10, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 9, wherein the charge controller is configured to: determine a first allowable output power of the AC-DC converter based on the operating condition of the AC-DC converter, determine a second allowable output power of the DC-DC converter based on the operating condition of the DC-DC converter, and set the power value of the first DC power and the power value of the second DC power to make a ratio between the first DC power and the second DC power equal to a ratio between the first allowable output power and the second allowable output power when a sum of the first allowable output power and the second allowable output power is equal to or more than the target power (paragraph [0084] teaches wherein the conditions of the ACDC and DCDC converter is determined and may be connected or disconnected based on its condition. [0065] discloses wherein the different outputs or power paths are compared to each other, thus a ratio between the two values is determined. [0149] disclose wherein the values are compared to determine an allowable output of transfer, or if the transfer power is safe if the power is less than a target maximum power).
Regarding claim 11, Galin teaches a charging method using a hybrid charging device figures 1A and 5 shows a hybrid charging device, items 100 and 500 defined in paragraph [0051] as a power system for charging an electric vehicle item 506)
including an alternating current (AC)-direct current (DC) converter (figure 1A power converter 103 [0055] teaches wherein the power converter may be an ACDC converter),
a DC-DC converter and a power combiner (figure 1 item 218 defined in [0085]-[0086] as a merger, which generates a DC power from DC 204 or power converter 204), the charging method comprising:
controlling the AC-DC converter to convert an AC input power to a first DC power (figure 2A item 213 a control device. [0085] discloses wherein control device controls the plurality of switches within the merger to output a desired voltage such as a first DC power);
controlling the DC-DC converter to convert an DC input power to a second DC power (figure 2A item 213 a control device. [0085] discloses wherein control device controls the plurality of switches within the merger to output a desired voltage such as a second DC power); and
controlling the power combiner to generate a charge power for an electric vehicle from at least one of the first DC power or the second DC power (figure 2A item 213 a control device. [0085] discloses wherein control device controls the plurality of switches within the merger to output a desired voltage such as a first DC or second DC power).
Galin does not explicitly teach or suggest wherein the power combiner is configured to prevent countercurrent flow between the first DC power and the second DC power and reduce a voltage difference between the first DC power and the second DC power.
Tsukada teaches wherein the power combiner is configured to prevent countercurrent flow between the first DC power and the second DC power and reduce a voltage difference between the first DC power and the second DC power (paragraph [0109] discloses a power combiner configured to prevent current from flowing in an unintended direction. Paragraph [0113] discloses reducing or lowering a voltage to desired levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Galin reference with the charging system of the Tsukada reference so that power switching loss is prevented.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Tsukada reference in paragraph [0008] wherein power loss is prevented.
Regarding claim 12, Galin teaches the charging method according to claim 11, wherein generating the charge power for the electric vehicle comprises combining the first DC power with the second DC power to generate the charge power when the first DC power and the second DC power are simultaneously inputted (Figure 1A [0052] teaches wherein power converter 103 may include a DCDC or ACDC converter. The power converter outputs a first DC power to loads 110 and/or a second DC power to a power grid. [0073] discloses wherein the Integrated inverter-EV-charger (IIEVC) may transfer power from a power source 101, storage device 109 and the power grid at the same time to allow a selection to be made).
Regarding claim 13, Galin teaches the charging method according to claim 11, further comprising: setting a target power from a charge request from the electric vehicle; and setting a power value of the first DC power and a power value of the second DC power to make the charge power equal to the target power based on an operating condition of each of the AC-DC converter and the DC-DC converter (figure 11 item 1312 discloses a user interface. [0157]-[0158] discloses wherein target powers or parameters may be set and received inputs to set a charging setting. [0198] teaches wherein a target level of power is set and charging is based on the target level of charging).
Regarding claim 14, Galin teaches the charging method according to claim 13, wherein setting the power value of the first DC power and the power value of the second DC power comprises: determining a first allowable output power of the AC-DC converter based on the operating condition of the AC-DC converter; determining a second allowable output power of the DC-DC converter based on the operating condition of the DC-DC converter; and setting the power value of the first DC power and the power value of the second DC power to make a ratio between the first DC power and the second DC power equal to a ratio between the first allowable output power and the second allowable output power when a sum of the first allowable output power and the second allowable output power is equal to or more than the target power (paragraph [0084] teaches wherein the conditions of the ACDC and DCDC converter is determined and may be connected or disconnected based on its condition. [0065] discloses wherein the different outputs or power paths are compared to each other, thus a ratio between the two values is determined. [0149] disclose wherein the values are compared to determine an allowable output of transfer, or if the transfer power is safe if the power is less than a target maximum power).
Regarding claim 15, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 8, wherein the operating condition of each of the AC-DC converter and the DC-DC converter includes a detected temperature (paragraph [0076] teaches temperature sensors to monitor temperature within the system).
Regarding claim 16, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 9, wherein the target power is based on a desired voltage level and a desired current level (paragraph [0076] discloses wherein voltage and current are measured and input into a charging circuit to provide a target level)
Regarding claim 17, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 16, wherein the target power is equal to the desired voltage level multiplied by the desired current level (paragraph [0194] teaches wherein the target power is equal to a desired voltage level multiplied by a desired current level).
Regarding claim 16, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 6, wherein the power combiner includes a load sharing integrated chip (paragraph [0012] discloses a shared controlling device).
Regarding claim 19, Galin teaches the charging system according to claim 6, wherein the power combiner is further configured to regulate a current level of each of the first DC power and the second DC power (paragraph [0074] discloses regulation of power).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see , filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 - 14 under Galin have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Galin in view of Tsukada.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20180358919 A1 Transportable Hybrid Power System Ansari; Reza
Us 9787117 B2 Bidirectional Battery Charger Bai; Hua Et Al.
Us 20160264035 A1 Mobile Service Unit Brand; David Paul
Us 20130293163 A1 Combination Charger And Motive Power Device Flett; Fred
Us 11444464 B1 Portable Hybrid Generator Ford; Walker Et Al.
Us 20180264955 A1 Fast Charging Of Electric Vehicle Gupta; Ranjan Kumar
Us 20200185922 A1 Plurality Of Usage Units For Energy Supply Hinterberger; Michael
Us 20110055037 A1 Energy And Charging Appliance Hayashigawa; Larry Et Al.
Us 20080266758 A1 Mobile Utilities Station Hurt; Steven B.
Us 20230134008 A1 Bi-Directional Dc-Dc Converter Jabez Dhinagar; Samraj Et Al.
Us 8354818 B2 Solar Charged Hybrid Power System Louch; Robert Jay Et Al.
Us 20210155108 A1 Mobile Charging Stations Martin; Alan B. Et Al.
Us 20140320084 A1 Power Supply System Masuda; Takuya Et Al.
Us 20180037121 A1 Energy Generation Narla; Sandeep
Us 20200062138 A1 Vehicle Charging Station Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20200298722 A1 Integrated Charging System Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20220402390 A1 A Multimodal Converter Smolenaers; Stefan
Us 20170373520 A1 Power Storage Module Sugeno; Naoyuki Et Al.
Us 20130264865 A1 Electric Power Supplying Apparatus Sugeno; Naoyuki Et Al.
Us 20220052533 A1 Intelligent Energy Source Monitoring Telefus; Mark Et Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859