DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stell (US 7,138,047).
With respect to claims 1, 2, and 7, Stell discloses an apparatus (see Stell, Fig. 1) comprising a convection zone (3) and a radiant zone (not shown but indicated being below the convection zone (3)), the convection zone (3) comprising: (a) a first heat exchanger (2) in fluid communication with a first section of a line; (b) a first fluid source (“fluid”) coupled with the first section of the line downstream of the first heat exchanger (2); (c) a second heat exchanger (6) in fluid communication with the first section of the line downstream of the first fluid source, wherein the second heat exchanger (6) is in fluid communication with a second section of the line downstream of the first section of the line; (d) a second fluid source (26) coupled with the second section of the line downstream of the second heat exchanger (6); and (e) a third heat exchanger (not numbered but indicated being just below lower convection section (23)) in fluid communication with the second section of the line downstream of the second fluid source (26). The first fluid source comprises a first flow control valve (14) and the second fluid source comprises a second flow control valve (25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stell (US 7,138,047).
With respect to claims 3-6 and 8-10, see discussion supra at paragraph 4. Stell discloses wherein a control module (7) is communicatively coupled to the first control valve (14). The person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to likewise provide such coupling to the second control valve (25) in order to provide a means to more precisely control the second fluid temperature within the preferred range of Stell (see Stell, column 7, lines 62-67; and column 8, lines 118). Stell discloses the use of thermocouples as temperature sensors in order to detect and maintain the indicated portions of the convection section within the preferred temperature range (see Stell, column 7, lines 20-27). Finally, Stell discloses wherein the tubes of the apparatus may include metal tubes (see Stell, column 10, lines 3-4).
Claims 11-15, 20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stell (US 7,138,047) in view of Spicer (US 2009/0301935).
With respect to claims 11-15, 20, and 25, see discussion supra at paragraphs 4 and 9. Stell discloses wherein the apparatus may form part of a larger system including an algorithm stored in a memory unit, the algorithm comprising instructions that may be executed by a computer processor to perform a method comprising heat exchanging steam with flue gas; injecting water to provide a first reduced temperature steam; heat exchanging with flue gas to provide an intermediate steam; injecting water to provide a second reduced temperature steam (see Stell, column 7, lines 20-27 and 62-67; and column 8, lines 1-18).
Stell does not explicitly disclose wherein the third heat exchanging occurs at an export temperature suitable for export to a header.
However, in a very similar apparatus and associated process for controlling a furnace convection zone (see Spicer, drawing), Spicer discloses wherein a third heat exchange may occur at an export temperature suitable for export to a header to provide export steam (see Spicer, paragraph [0019]).
Thus, Applicant’s claims 11-15, 20, and 25 are unpatentable as obvious in view of Stell and Spicer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 and 21-24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Gengler (US 4,361,478); Fogash (US 8,327,779); and Glomb (US 9,181,495). The cited references generally disclose processes and apparatuses for controlling the convection section of a furnace by way of heat exchange with various injected water streams (see respective Abstracts for each reference).
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771