DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I – claims 15-20 - in the reply filed on 2/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
solid waste loading means positioned at a first end of the pyrolysis cylinder, as recited in claim 1.
means for rotating the cylinder, as recited in claim 1.
a second section adapted to carry out a separation of a lighter fraction of the ash, of coal dust or carbon black, from the syngas, the lighter fraction being transported by the syngas, as recited in claim 1.
a third section, suitable for carrying out a fractional distillation of the syngas, obtaining a separation of a volatile fraction of the syngas from a bituminous residue, tar, as recited in claim 1.
a fourth section, adapted to carry out a recycling of the bituminous residue of the fractional distillation, for a further treatment, as recited in claim 1.
a fifth final emergency section, the final section including, in addition to safety pumps that will automatically intervene in the event of a system failure, all necessary safety systems for dealing with an emergency, as recited in claim 1.
The corresponding structure(s) is/are:
solid waste loading means [Wingdings font/0xE0] hopper and feed auger with motor-reduction unit
means for rotating the cylinder [Wingdings font/0xE0] gear-motor, motor-reducer unit
second section [Wingdings font/0xE0] a stilling/quenching chamber, cyclone separators, ducting
third section [Wingdings font/0xE0] fractional distillation column
fourth section [Wingdings font/0xE0] pump, turbo-mixer with motor-reduction unit, ducting
fifth final emergency section [Wingdings font/0xE0] none disclosed for all necessary safety systems for dealing with an emergency
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation a “fifth final emergency section” comprising “all necessary safety systems for dealing with an emergency” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzi (WO 2016006010 A1) in view of Leybold (DE 202014005481 U1).
Regarding claim 15, Benzi discloses a pyrolysis plant for the treatment of solid and liquid waste materials, comprising:
a first section (100), suitable for carrying out a pyrolysis of the solid and liquid waste materials, the pyrolysis producing synthesis gas, syngas, and residual ash;
a second section (200) adapted to carry out a separation of a lighter fraction of the ash, of coal dust or carbon black, from the syngas, the lighter fraction being transported by the syngas;
a third section (300), suitable for carrying out a fractional distillation of the syngas, obtaining a separation of a volatile fraction of the syngas from a bituminous residue, tar;
a fourth section (400), adapted to carry out a recycling of the bituminous residue of the fractional distillation, for a further treatment; and
a fifth final emergency section, the final section including, all necessary safety systems for dealing with an emergency (pg. 15, lines 19-22),
wherein the first section, suitable for carrying out the pyrolysis of the solid and liquid waste materials, comprises a cylinder (2), or pyrolysis chamber, rotating around its own axis and provided with:
external insulation (pg. 6, lines 21-23);
means able to cause, by means of the rotation, the advancement of the material contained in the cylinder, the means able to cause, by means of the rotation, the advancement of the material contained in the cylinder, comprising an Archimedes screw (3);
solid waste loading means (8, 9) positioned at a first end of the pyrolysis cylinder;
heating means, the heating means comprising at least one radio frequency induction generator (6), each of the generators being connected to a coil (7), inside which the pyrolysis cylinder rotates slowly, the coil transmitting the high frequency induced current created by the at least one generator in such a way that the pyrolysis cylinder becomes the seat of eddy currents which heat it by the Joule effect;
means (4) for rotating the cylinder.
Benzi fails to disclose:
the final section including safety pumps that will automatically intervene in the event of a system failure
Leybold teaches a using a reserve vacuum pump (“reserve” or “standby” pump) for evacuating gases in case of failure of another pump (pg. 2, fifth paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify the final section of Benzi to include safety pumps that will automatically intervene in the event of a system failure. The motivation to combine is so that the flammable gas can be quickly evacuated form the system and discharged or sent to the emergency torch (Benzi; 12a).
Regarding claim 16, modified Benzi discloses (see Benzi for citations) the pyrolysis plant of claim 15, wherein the means for rotating the cylinder comprise a first motor-reducer unit (4), and the means for loading solid waste, positioned at the first end of the pyrolysis cylinder, comprise an auger (9), fed by a hopper (8) and rotated by a second motor-reduction unit (10).
Regarding claim 17, modified Benzi discloses (see Benzi for citations) the pyrolysis plant of claim 16, wherein the screw feeds the solid waste with a compression ratio of approximately 1:200 and is preheated to a suitable temperature, depending on the type of waste, to allow forming a cap to prevent both syngas leaks and oxygen infiltrations in the pyrolysis chamber (pg. 9, lines 7-15 and col. 15, lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 18, modified Benzi discloses (see Benzi for citations) the pyrolysis plant of claim 15, wherein the second section, suitable for carrying out the separation of the lighter fraction of the ash, coal dust or carbon black, from the syngas, comprises a quenching chamber (12) in which the syngas coming out of the pyrolysis chamber is collected, at least one duct (15, 16) being provided for conveying the syngas towards at least one cyclone (17, 18) inside which the syngas is treated in such a way as to carry out the separation from the coal dust, carbon black, transported by the syngas, the dust being discharged through a lower opening (17a, 18a) of the at least one cyclone, while from the upper part (17b, 18b) the thus purified syngas is released.
Regarding claim 19, modified Benzi discloses (see Benzi for citations) the pyrolysis plant of claim 15, wherein the third section, suitable for carrying out the fractional distillation of the syngas, comprises a column, comprising:
ducts (20, 21), positioned in the lower part of the column, through which the syngas coming from the separator cyclones enters;
an outlet (22), positioned in the upper part of the column, from which the syngas comes out after separation from the bituminous residue, tar, the syngas being conveyed towards a blower capable of creating a slight depression in the chamber pyrolysis and to send the syngas towards the washing columns (pg. 12, lines 8-14);
an outlet (23), positioned in the lower part of the column, from which the bituminous residue comes out;
wherein the fractional distillation column further comprises a duct (24), which enters the upper part of the column, into which cooling water is passed, the water crossing a coil (26) and exiting, in the form of superheated steam, from a duct (27).
Regarding claim 20, modified Benzi discloses (see Benzi for citations) the pyrolysis plant of claim 15, wherein the fourth section, adapted to carry out the recycling of the bituminous residue of the fractional distillation, comprises:
a turbo-mixer (29), driven by a third motor-reduction unit (30), into which the bituminous residue is inserted;
a duct (32), through which carbon black coming from the cyclones is inserted into the turbo- mixer;
a duct (34), through which liquid waste, vegetable oils and exhausted fats, are inserted into the turbo-mixer; wherein, in the turbo-mixer, an emulsion is produced which is inserted into the pyrolysis chamber (pg. 14, lines 6-9); and,
wherein the fourth section further comprises a conduit (40) through which the superheated steam coming from the fractional distillation column is introduced into the pyrolysis chamber, through the conduit (pg. 14, lines 9-12).
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762