DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 01/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/26/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 16-23 have been cancelled. Claims 24-31 are new. Claims 1-6 and 24-31 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 21, 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cordoba et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0264243 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cordoba discloses (fig. 5-9) an accessory (cap assembly 1, fig. 8) configured to be attached to a medical device (autoinjector body 2, fig. 5) to disinfect a skin surface or a surface of the medical device (¶ 0017), the accessory comprising:
A plurality of disinfecting materials (anti-septic soaked dressing 3, ¶ 0023 and gauze and bandages in the storage compartment 4, ¶ 0024); and
A mounting mechanism (slip-fit fastener 141) configured to attach and detach the accessory to the medical device (¶ 0021).
Regarding claim 2, Cordoba discloses wherein the medical device comprises one of a medication delivery pen (autoinjector body 2, abstract), a syringe, a patch pump and a safety device.
Regarding claim 3, Cordoba discloses wherein the medical device comprises one of a medication delivery pen (autoinjector body 2, abstract) having a pen cap (receptacle 11) and a syringe having a syringe shield; and the mounting mechanism is attached to one of the pen cap (fig. 8) and the syringe shield.
Regarding claim 4, Cordoba discloses wherein the mounting mechanism comprises one of a universal cap, spring loaded member, press fit, adhesive, threads and a button (¶ 0021).
Regarding claim 5, Cordoba discloses a housing (removable cover 12 and receptacle 11) that carries the plurality of disinfecting material (¶ 0023-¶ 0024); wherein the mounting mechanism is connected to the housing (¶ 0025).
Regarding claim 6, Cordoba discloses a plurality of containers (receptacle 11 and removable cover 12) each one carrying one of the plurality of disinfecting materials (¶ 0023-¶ 0024); and an interlocking mechanism configured to removably connect adjacent containers to each other (cover fastener 13, ¶ 0025) and to removably connect one of the containers to the medical device (¶ 0021).
Regarding claim 24, Cordoba discloses wherein the mounting mechanism comprises a mechanical clip (¶ 0028, fig. 9).
Regarding claim 26, Cordoba discloses wherein: each of the plurality of containers includes: a hollow disk (see receptacle 111 and storage compartment 4) for carrying one of the disinfecting materials (¶ 0023-¶ 0024); and an opening that exposes a central portion of the disinfecting material (fig. 7, ¶ 0024).
Regarding claim 27, Cordoba discloses wherein each of the plurality of containers comprises a two piece assembly that is configured to be opened to remove the disinfecting material for disinfection (first container comprises storage receptacle 11 and removable cover 12, second container comprises removable cover 12 and cover lid 5, ¶ 0024, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 28, Cordoba discloses a medical device assembly (fig. 7) comprising: the accessory of claim 1 (see claim 1 above); and the medical device comprises one of a medication delivery pen (autoinjector body 2, abstract), a syringe, a patch pump and a safety device.
Regarding claim 29, Cordoba discloses a universal fitting that provides engagement between the medical device and the accessory (the receptacle 11 can be attached to a variety of different autoinjectors, ¶ 0021, thus the autoinjector body 2 comprises a universal fitting).
Regarding claim 30, Cordoba discloses wherein the universal fitting includes one of a ring (see autoinjector body 2, fig. 7), rotating sleeve, ribs, pleats, scales and a spring loaded member.
Regarding claim 31, Cordoba discloses wherein the universal fitting communicates with a microcontroller to vary commands for operating the accessory (¶ 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordoba, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Mast, Jr. (US Pat. No.: 4,053,242), hereinafter Mast.
Regarding claim 25, Cordoba fails to disclose wherein the housing includes a spring that moves the plurality of disinfecting material toward a distal end of the accessory.
Mast teaches (fig. 1-6) an accessory (package 12) to application to a skin surface (col. 1, ln. 19-21) and thus in the same field of endeavor, the accessory comprising: a plurality of disinfecting materials (applicators 1); and a housing (tubular wall 13, col. 4, ln. 61-64), wherein the housing includes a spring (18) that moves the plurality of disinfecting material toward a distal end of the accessory (see bottom 15) (col. 5, ln. 8-13), the spring configured to dispense the disinfecting material (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Cordoba such that it includes a spring that moves the plurality of disinfecting material toward a distal end of the accessory, as taught by Mast, in order to dispense the disinfecting material (Mast, abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tennican (Pub. No.: US 2013/0178804 A1) discloses an accessory comprising a plurality of disinfecting materials. Verheij (Pub. No.: US 2010/0065576 A1) discloses a plurality of disinfecting materials.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781