DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/23, 9/18/24, and 6/20/25 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/8/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0130552 A1 (“US ’552”).
As to Claim 1:US ’552 discloses:
an adapter connected between a battery pack and an electric apparatus body, wherein a battery adapter is interposed between a battery pack and an electric apparatus (e.g., an electric work machine or tool body) (Abstract; [0044]–[0046]; FIG. 1);
a first installation part to which the battery pack is installable, the first installation part having a first communication terminal connectible with a communication terminal of the battery pack, such as an auto-stop (AS) terminal used to transmit control or status signals from a battery management unit of the battery pack ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5, battery-side connecting section 23 and AS terminal);
a second installation part installable to the electric apparatus body, the second installation part having a second communication terminal connectible with a communication terminal of the electric apparatus body, such as AS1/AS2 terminals configured to exchange control or operation signals with a controller of the electric apparatus body ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5, machine-side connecting sections 22c, 22d and AS terminals); and
an adapter control unit (e.g., a discharge output circuit and associated control circuitry) connected with the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, the adapter control unit being configured to, based on an input signal input from one of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, output an output signal to the other of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, such as outputting a discharge permission or control signal to the electric apparatus body in response to a signal received from the battery pack, or transmitting a signal toward the battery pack in response to a signal from the electric apparatus body ([0054]–[0056]; FIG. 5).
As to Claim 2: US ’552 discloses the adapter of claim 1, wherein the first installation part and the second installation part have different shapes, and the adapter is configured to install a battery pack corresponding to the first installation part to an electric apparatus body corresponding to the second installation part. Specifically, US ’552 discloses a battery-side connecting section (e.g., battery-side connecting section 23) that is shaped and configured to receive and be installable with a battery pack, and a machine-side connecting section (e.g., machine-side connecting sections 22c, 22d) that is shaped differently from the battery-side connecting section and configured to be installable with an electric apparatus body ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5).
The differing shapes and configurations of the battery-side and machine-side connecting sections enable the adapter to mechanically interface a battery pack of one form factor with an electric apparatus body of a different form factor, thereby allowing installation of the battery pack corresponding to the first installation part to the electric apparatus body corresponding to the second installation part via the adapter ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5).
As to Claim 3:US ’552 discloses the adapter of claim 2, wherein the first installation part and a body-side installation part of the electric apparatus body have different shapes, and the battery pack is directly installable to the first installation part and not directly installable to the body-side installation part. Specifically, US ’552 discloses a battery-side connecting section of the adapter (e.g., battery-side connecting section 23) that is shaped and configured to directly receive and be installable with a battery pack, while the electric apparatus body includes a body-side installation part (e.g., machine-side battery connection port) having a different shape that is configured to receive the adapter rather than the battery pack itself ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5). Because the shapes of the battery-side connecting section of the adapter and the body-side installation part of the electric apparatus body differ, the battery pack is not directly installable to the body-side installation part but is instead directly installable only to the first installation part of the adapter ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5).
As to Claim 4:US ’552 discloses the adapter of claim 1, wherein a pair of first rail mechanisms substantially extending in parallel are formed at the first installation part, and a pair of second rail mechanisms substantially extending in parallel are formed at the second installation part, and the first rail mechanisms and the second rail mechanisms have different shapes. Specifically, US ’552 discloses a battery-side connecting section of the adapter that includes parallel guide rails/grooves configured to slidably receive and guide installation of a battery pack ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5, battery-side connecting section 23).
US ’552 further discloses a machine-side connecting section that includes parallel guide rails/grooves configured to slidably receive and guide installation of the adapter with respect to the electric apparatus body ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5, machine-side connecting sections 22c, 22d). The guide rails of the battery-side connecting section are different in shape and configuration from the guide rails of the machine-side connecting section because each set is shaped to mate with a different counterpart (the battery pack versus the electric apparatus body) ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5).
As to Claim 6:US ’552 discloses the adapter of claim 1, wherein the adapter control unit is configured to, in accordance with an input signal input from one of the battery pack and the electric apparatus body, output an output signal that is different from the input signal or corresponding to the input signal to the other of the battery pack and the electric apparatus body. Specifically, US ’552 discloses that a discharge output circuit and associated control circuitry receive a signal from a battery-side communication terminal (e.g., an auto-stop or battery control signal from a battery management unit) and, based on that input signal, output a discharge permission signal or control signal to the electric apparatus body via a machine-side communication terminal ([0054]–[0056]; FIG. 5).
US ’552 further discloses that the control circuitry may output a signal that is corresponding to the received input signal (e.g., relaying a battery status or permission signal) or a signal that is different from the input signal (e.g., a converted or processed control signal suitable for the electric apparatus body) depending on operating conditions ([0054]–[0056]). Thus, US ’552 teaches configuring the adapter control unit to output an output signal to the other side in accordance with an input signal received from one side.
As to Claim 7:US ’552 discloses the adapter of claim 1, further comprising a battery-side power terminal connected with a power terminal of the battery pack and an apparatus-side power terminal connected with a power terminal of the electric apparatus body. Specifically, US ’552 discloses that the adapter includes battery-side power terminals configured to electrically connect with corresponding power terminals of a battery pack, and machine-side power terminals configured to electrically connect with corresponding power terminals of an electric apparatus body ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5, battery-side connecting section 23 and machine-side connecting sections 22c, 22d).
US ’552 further discloses that the battery-side power terminal and the apparatus-side power terminal are directly connected, forming a main power conduction path that supplies electric power from the battery pack to the electric apparatus body without routing through the adapter control unit, while the adapter control unit separately handles control or communication signals ([0052]–[0054], [0056]). Thus, US ’552 teaches that the power terminals are connected with each other directly or without via the adapter control unit.
As to Claim 9:US ’552 discloses the adapter of claim 7, wherein the adapter control unit is formed by using a logic computation circuit or a computation circuit using a microcomputer. Specifically, US ’552 discloses a discharge output circuit and associated control circuitry that includes logic processing elements and a controller configured to perform control operations based on input signals from the battery pack and/or the electric apparatus body ([0054]–[0056]; FIG. 5).
US ’552 further discloses that the adapter is provided with a power circuit supplying an operation voltage to the computation circuit from power supplied from the battery-side power terminal. In particular, US ’552 discloses that power supplied from the battery pack via the battery-side power terminals is used to supply operating power to the internal control circuitry of the adapter, including the discharge output circuit and associated control components ([0054]–[0056]). Thus, US ’552 teaches supplying an operation voltage to the computation circuit from power supplied by the battery-side power terminal.
As to Claim 10:US ’552 discloses an electric apparatus comprising an adapter, a battery pack, and an electric apparatus body having a load part and a battery pack installation part, wherein the adapter is connectible with the electric apparatus body. Specifically, US ’552 discloses an electric work machine (electric apparatus body) that includes a load part (e.g., a motor or driven unit) and a battery connection portion, together with a battery pack and an adapter interposed between the battery pack and the electric apparatus body (Abstract; [0044]–[0046]; FIG. 1).
US ’552 further discloses that the adapter is mechanically and electrically connectible with the electric apparatus body via a machine-side connecting section, and that the battery pack is connectible with the adapter via a battery-side connecting section ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5). Thus, US ’552 teaches an electric apparatus including the adapter of claim 1, a battery pack, and an electric apparatus body having a load part and a battery pack installation part, with the adapter connectible to the electric apparatus body.
As to Claim 11:US ’552 discloses an electric apparatus comprising the adapter as claimed in claim 1 and a battery pack having at least one battery cell, wherein the adapter is connectible with the battery pack. Specifically, US ’552 discloses a battery pack including one or more battery cells and an adapter configured to be mechanically and electrically connectible with the battery pack via a battery-side connecting section and corresponding terminals (Abstract; [0044]–[0046]; [0052]–[0054]; FIGS. 1 and 5). The disclosed adapter interfaces directly with the battery pack to receive power and exchange control/communication signals, thereby forming an electric apparatus that includes the adapter and the battery pack ([0052]–[0054]).
As to Claim 12:US ’552 discloses an electric apparatus comprising the adapter as claimed in claim 1 and an electric apparatus body having a load part and a battery pack installation part, wherein the adapter is connectible with the electric apparatus body. Specifically, US ’552 discloses an electric work machine (electric apparatus body) that includes a load part, such as a motor or driven mechanism, and a battery pack installation part configured to receive a power-supplying component (Abstract; [0044]–[0046]; FIG. 1).
US ’552 further discloses that the adapter is mechanically and electrically connectible with the electric apparatus body via a machine-side connecting section and corresponding terminals, allowing the adapter to be installed on the electric apparatus body in place of or in conjunction with a battery pack ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5).
As to Claim 13:US ’552 discloses an electric apparatus body connectible with an adapter as recited in claim 1. Specifically, US ’552 discloses an electric work machine (electric apparatus body) that includes a load part, such as a motor or driven unit configured to perform work (Abstract; [0044]–[0046]; FIG. 1).
US ’552 further discloses a battery pack installation part of the electric apparatus body that is directly installable with one of an adapter and a battery pack. In particular, US ’552 teaches a machine-side connection portion configured to receive the adapter, and in embodiments without the adapter, configured to receive a battery pack directly, thereby allowing selective direct installation of either the adapter or the battery pack to the electric apparatus body ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5).
US ’552 further discloses a body-side communication terminal provided at the electric apparatus body, the body-side communication terminal being connectible with a second communication terminal of the adapter and being configured to input an input signal from the adapter or output an output signal to the adapter. Specifically, US ’552 discloses machine-side communication terminals (e.g., AS terminals) that exchange control or operation signals with corresponding communication terminals of the adapter ([0052]–[0056]; FIG. 5), thereby inputting signals from or outputting signals to the adapter.
As to Claim 14:
US ’552 discloses:
an electric apparatus body connectible with an adapter having a first communication terminal, a second communication terminal, and an adapter control unit configured to, based on an input signal input from one of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, output an output signal to the other. Specifically, US ’552 discloses an adapter including battery-side and machine-side communication terminals (e.g., AS terminals) and control circuitry (e.g., a discharge output circuit) that processes an input signal received from one side and outputs a corresponding or processed control signal to the other side ([0052]–[0056]; FIG. 5);
an electric apparatus body comprising a load part, such as a motor or driven mechanism (Abstract; [0044]–[0046]; FIG. 1);
a battery pack installation part of the electric apparatus body that is directly installable with one of the adapter and a battery pack, in that the machine-side connection portion is configured to receive the adapter and, in embodiments without the adapter, to receive a battery pack directly ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5); and
a body-side communication terminal provided on the electric apparatus body that is connectible with the second communication terminal of the adapter and is configured to input an input signal from the adapter or output an output signal to the adapter, such as exchanging control or permission signals via machine-side AS terminals ([0052]–[0056]; FIG. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0130552 A1 (“US ’552”), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of EP 1 833 137 A2 (“EP ’137”).
As to Claim 5:US ’552 discloses an adapter as claimed in claim 4 having first and second installation parts with rail mechanisms for installing a battery pack and an electric apparatus body, respectively ([0052]–[0054], FIG. 5). US ’552 further discloses that the rail mechanisms extend in parallel and are configured to guide sliding installation of the battery pack and the adapter with respect to the electric apparatus body ([0052]–[0054]). Thus, US ’552 teaches an adapter having rail mechanisms extending in defined directions for installation.
However, US ’552 does not disclose that the adapter is formed in a split form with a first housing and a second housing, nor that each of the first and second rail mechanisms is divided such that one side of each rail mechanism is provided on the first housing and the other side is provided on the second housing, nor that the first and second housings are split in a direction intersecting the extension directions of the rail mechanisms.
EP ’137 discloses a device casing formed of two housing parts (upper housing and lower housing) that are separable and assembled together, i.e., a split housing structure (p. 3, lines 5–14; p. 4, lines 1–8; FIGS. 1–2). EP ’137 further discloses that the housing parts are split along a plane that intersects the sliding/guide direction of a battery or component received in the casing (p. 4, lines 1–8; p. 6, lines 10–18). EP ’137 also teaches guide grooves/rail structures associated with the casing for guiding insertion and positioning of a battery or adapter component (p. 5, lines 3–15; FIG. 3). These teachings collectively disclose a split housing architecture in which guide structures are associated with the respective housing parts and the housing split direction intersects the guide/rail extension direction.
US ’552 and EP ’137 are analogous arts because both relate to mechanical and electrical housings for battery-related devices, including adapters or casings that receive batteries and interface with electrical apparatuses, and both address structural arrangements for guiding and supporting sliding installation using rail or guide mechanisms.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the adapter of US ’552 to be formed in a split housing configuration as taught by EP ’137, such that the adapter includes first and second housings split along a direction intersecting the extension directions of the rail mechanisms, with portions of the rail mechanisms provided on each housing. Such a modification would have been motivated by the predictable benefits taught by EP ’137, including ease of assembly, manufacturability, and improved accommodation of internal components while maintaining guided sliding installation. Accordingly, claim 5 is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 over US ’552 in view of EP ’137.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0130552 A1 (“US ’552”), as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of CN 110912240 A (“CN ’240”).
As to Claim 8: US ’552 discloses an adapter as recited in claim 7, including a battery-side power terminal connected with a power terminal of a battery pack and an apparatus-side power terminal connected with a power terminal of an electric apparatus body, wherein the battery-side power terminal and the apparatus-side power terminal are directly connected such that a main power path is formed independently of control circuitry ([0052]–[0054]; FIG. 5). US ’552 further discloses that control circuitry is provided in the adapter for handling control or communication signals separate from the power path ([0054]–[0056]).
However, US ’552 does not disclose that the adapter control unit is provided at a substrate, nor that the first and second communication terminals are connected with the adapter control unit via the substrate, as specifically required by claim 8.
CN ’240 discloses a control/signal processing arrangement in which a signal terminal and associated control circuitry are provided on a substrate, and communication terminals are electrically connected to the control circuitry via the substrate ([0035]). CN ’240 further discloses that other terminals are directly connected to each other without routing through the substrate, distinguishing a direct-through electrical path from the substrate-based signal path ([0033]–[0034]). Thus, CN ’240 teaches the missing limitations of claim 8, namely, mounting a control unit on a substrate, connecting communication terminals to the control unit through the substrate, while allowing other terminals to be connected directly without passing through the substrate.
US ’552 and CN ’240 are analogous arts because both relate to electrical adapters or interface devices for batteries and electrical apparatuses, and both address internal electrical layouts that separate signal/control paths from power transmission paths within such adapters.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the adapter of US ’552 to provide the adapter control unit on a substrate and to connect the communication terminals to the control unit via the substrate, as taught by CN ’240, while maintaining the direct connection between the battery-side power terminal and the apparatus-side power terminal without routing through the substrate. Such a modification would have been a predictable design choice to improve circuit organization, manufacturability, and signal integrity by segregating low-power signal circuitry from high-current power paths. Accordingly, claim 8 is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 over US ’552 in view of CN ’240.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 1903657 discloses an effective voltage converting unit converts effective value of input voltage from battery pack via a terminal and outputs the voltage to second terminal, with the battery pack having a third terminal connectable to the first.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723