DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2 have been amended and new claims 16 has been added. Therefore, claims 1-16 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US – 2019/0367000 A1) and further in view of JEONG et al. (US – 2019/0366997 A1).
As per claim 1, LEE discloses Electric Brake System comprising:
a first block (100, Fig: 1-2) in which a mechanical part mechanically (110 and 120, Fig: 1-2) operated in conjunction with a brake pedal (120, Fig: 1-2) is disposed;
a second block (200, Fig: 1-2) in which an electronic part electronically operated and controlled by an electronic control unit is disposed (brake system including an anti-lock brake system (ABS) for preventing slippage of wheels during braking, a brake traction control system (BTSC) for preventing drive wheels from slipping when the vehicle suddenly starts or suddenly accelerates, an electronic stability control system (ESC) for stably maintaining the running state of the vehicle by controlling the brake hydraulic pressure by combining the anti-lock brake system and the traction control system, and the like, therefore, it’s obviously disclosed an electronic control unit is disposed, [0004], Fig: 1-2), wherein the second block is spaced apart from the first block (100 and 200 are spaced apart, Fig: 1-2);
wherein the mechanical part (100) includes a master cylinder (110, Fig: 1-2) equipped with a first master piston (111, Fig: 1-2) connected to the brake pedal (120, Fig: 1-2), a first master chamber (113, Fig: 1-2) whose volume is varied by a displacement of the first master piston (Fig: 1-2), a second master piston (112, Fig: 1-2) provided to be displaceable by hydraulic pressure of the first master chamber (113), and a second master chamber (114, Fig: 1-2) whose volume is varied by a displacement of the second master piston (Fig: 1-2),
the electronic part includes a pedal simulator (250, Fig: 1-2), a hydraulic pressure supply device (300, Fig: 1-2) configured to generate hydraulic pressure by operating a hydraulic piston by an electrical signal output in response to a displacement of the brake pedal or an electrical signal output from the electronic control unit (The hydraulic block 200 may be provided with a hydraulic pressure supply device 300 for generating a hydraulic pressure by being operated by an electrical signal outputted in response to a displacement of a brake pedal 120, [0034], Fig: 1-2), and a hydraulic pressure control unit equipped with a first hydraulic circuit (410, Fig: 1-2) configured to control hydraulic pressure transmitted to first and second wheel cylinders (10, Fig: 1-2), and a second hydraulic circuit (420, Fig: 1-2) configured to control hydraulic pressure transmitted to third and fourth wheel cylinders (10, Fig: 1-2),
the connecting line includes a first connecting line (151, Fig: 1-2) having one end connected to the first master chamber (113, Fig: 1-2) and the other end connected to-between the first hydraulic circuit (via 241 to 410, Fig: 1-2) and a second connecting line (152, Fig: 1-2) having one end connected to the second master chamber (114, Fig: 1-2) and the other end branched and connected to each of the pedal simulator and the second hydraulic circuit (420, Fig: 1-2).
LEE discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose an emergency module including a hydraulic pressure auxiliary device configured to operate when the electronic part is inoperative and provide hydraulic pressure to a wheel cylinder in an auxiliary manner; and
a connecting line hydraulically connecting the first block, the second block, and the emergency module to each other, and
the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device is disposed between the first and second wheel cylinders and the first hydraulic circuit.
JEONG discloses Electric Brake System comprising:
an emergency module (70, Fig: 1) including a hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (73, 74, Fig: 2) configured to operate when the electronic part is inoperative and provide hydraulic pressure to a wheel cylinder in an auxiliary manner (the electronic brake system 1 according to the first embodiment of the present disclosure performs a fallback mode (hereinafter, automatic fallback mode) in which the hydraulic pressure is generated by the redundancy control apparatus 70 in the event of a system abnormality so that emergency braking may be performed more effectively. That is, the redundancy control apparatus 70 performs the conventional fallback function instead, [0190], Fig: 1-2);
a connecting line hydraulically connecting the first block, the second block, and the emergency module to each other (via line 251 and 252, Fig: 1), and
the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (73, 74, fig: 2) is disposed between the first and second wheel cylinders (40FL, 40FR, Fig: 2) and the first hydraulic circuit (201, Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Electric Brake System of the LEE to include the emergency module including a hydraulic pressure auxiliary device configured to operate when the electronic part is inoperative and provide hydraulic pressure to a wheel cylinder in an auxiliary manner; a connecting line hydraulically connecting the first block, the second block, and the emergency module to each other, and the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device is disposed between the first and second wheel cylinders and the first hydraulic circuit, as taught JEONG in order to the emergency braking may be performed quickly and reliably in the event of the system abnormality, and the driver braking convenience may be improved.
As per claim 2, LEE discloses wherein the electronic part further includes a sub reservoir (220, [0049] and [0051], Fig: 1-2)in which a pressurized medium is stored ([0049] and [0051], Fig: 1-2), and
Teaching reference JEONG further discloses the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (73, 74, fig: 2) configured to operate when the hydraulic pressure supply device is inoperative and provide hydraulic pressure to the wheel cylinder ([0190], Fig: 1-2), and
the connecting line further includes a third connecting line having one end connected to the sub reservoir (31 function as sub reservoir, Fig: 2) and the other end connected to the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (Fig: 2).
As per claim 3, LEE discloses wherein the mechanical part (110, 120, Fig: 1-2) further includes a main reservoir (130, Fig: 1-2) in which the pressurized medium is stored, and
the connecting line further includes a fourth connecting line (140, Fig: 1-2) one end connected to the main reservoir (130) and the other end connected to the sub reservoir (220, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 4, LEE discloses wherein the other end of the second connecting line (151, Fig: 1-2) is branched into a simulation line (251, Fig: 1-2) connected to a front end of the pedal simulator (250, Fig: 1-2) and a backup line connected to the second hydraulic circuit (241, Fig: 1-2), and
the electronic part further includes a first cut valve (243, Fig: 1-2) provided in the first connecting line (151, Fig: 1-2) to control a flow of a pressurized medium and a second cut valve (244, Fig: 1-2) provided in the backup line (242, Fig: 1-2) to control the flow of the pressurized medium.
As per claimed 5, JEONG further disclose wherein the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (73, 74, Fig: 2) is provided between the first and second wheel cylinders (40, Fig: 1-2) and the first hydraulic circuit (201, Fig: 1-2)
As per claimed 6, JEONG further disclose wherein the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (73, 74, Fig: 2) includes a first isolation valve (71a, Fig: 2) and a second isolation valve (71b, Fig: 2) configured to allow and block flows of the pressurized medium transmitted from the master cylinder and the hydraulic pressure supply device to the first wheel cylinder and the second wheel cylinder, respectively ([0127], Fig: 2), a pump (73, Fig: 2) configured to pressurize the pressurized medium, a motor (74, Fig: 2) configured to drive the pump, a first auxiliary hydraulic flow path for transmitting the pressurized medium pressurized by the pump to the first wheel cylinder (Attached figure and Fig: 2), and a second auxiliary hydraulic flow path for transmitting the pressurized medium pressurized by the pump to the second wheel cylinder (Attached figure and Fig: 2).
As per claimed 7, JEONG further disclose wherein the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (73, 74, Fig: 2) further includes a first auxiliary dump flow path for discharging the pressurized medium applied to the first wheel cylinder (Attached figure and Fig: 2) and a second auxiliary dump flow path for discharging the pressurized medium applied to the second wheel cylinder (Attached figure and Fig: 2).
As per claimed 8, JEONG further disclose wherein the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (73, 74, Fig: 2) further includes a first support valve (75a, Attached figure and Fig: 2) provided on the first auxiliary hydraulic flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium (Attached figure and Fig: 2) and a second support valve (75b, Attached figure and Fig: 2) provided on the second auxiliary hydraulic flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium (Attached figure and Fig: 2).
As per claimed 10, JEONG further disclose wherein the other end of the third connecting line is connected to an inlet of the pump and the first and second auxiliary dump flow paths (Attached figure and Fig: 2).
As per claim 11, LEE discloses wherein the electronic part further includes a first sub reservoir flow path (231, Fig: 1-2) connecting the sub reservoir (220, Fig: 1-2) and a rear end of the first hydraulic circuit (410, Fig: 1-2), and a second sub reservoir flow path (232, Fig: 1-2) connecting the sub reservoir (220, Fig: 1-2) and a rear end of the second hydraulic circuit (420, [0055], Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 12, LEE discloses wherein the electronic part further includes a simulation flow path connected to a rear end of the pedal simulator (231, brunch out back of 250, Fig: 1), and
the simulation flow path is connected to the sub reservoir by joining the second sub reservoir flow path (Fig: 1).
As per claim 13, LEE discloses wherein the electronic part further includes a dump controller provided between the sub reservoir (220, Fig: 1-2) and the hydraulic pressure supply device (300, Fig: 1-2) to control the flow of the pressurized medium and a third sub reservoir flow path connecting the sub reservoir and the dump controller (The first pressure chamber 311 and the second pressure chamber 312 may be connected to the hydraulic block reservoir 220 through a first dump flow passage 331 and a second dump flow passage 332, respectively, [0086] – [0090], Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 14, LEE discloses wherein the first hydraulic circuit (410, Fig: 1-2) includes a first inlet valve (411, Fig: 1-2) and a second inlet valve (412, Fig: 1-2) configured to control the flow of the pressurized medium supplied from the hydraulic pressure supply device (300, Fig: 1-2) to the first wheel cylinder and the second wheel cylinder (10, [0067], Fig: 1-2), respectively, and a first outlet valve (415, Fig: 1-2) and a second outlet valve (416, Fig: 1-2) configured to control flows of the pressurized medium discharged from the first wheel cylinder and the second wheel cylinder, respectively ([0071], Fig: 1-2),
the second hydraulic circuit (420, Fig: 1-2) includes a third inlet valve (421, Fig: 1-2) and a fourth inlet valve (422, Fig: 1-2) configured to control flows of the pressurized medium supplied from the hydraulic pressure supply device to the third wheel cylinder and the fourth wheel cylinder ([0067], Fig: 1-2), respectively, and a third outlet valve (425, Fig: 1-2) and a fourth outlet valve (426, Fig: 1-2) configured to control flows of the pressurized medium discharged from the third wheel cylinder and the fourth wheel cylinder (10, [0071], Fig: 1-2), respectively,
the pressurized medium discharged through the first and second outlet valves (415, 416) is supplied to the first sub reservoir flow path (231, Fig: 1-2), and
the pressurized medium discharged through the third and fourth outlet valves (425, 426) is supplied to the second sub reservoir flow path (232, Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 15, Lee as modified by JEONG discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first connecting line and the second connecting line are provided as pipes having rigidity, and the third connecting line and the fourth connecting line are provided as hoses having elasticity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the first connecting line and the second connecting line are provided as pipes having rigidity, and the third connecting line and the fourth connecting line are provided as hoses having elasticity, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basic of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP-2144.07.
As per claim 16, JEONG further disclose wherein a pressure sensor (PS2, Fig: 1) is installed on the first connecting line (251, Fig: 1).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US – 2019/0367000 A1) as modified by JEONG et al. (US – 2019/0366997 A1) as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-8 above, and further in view of KIM J (WO – 2020/184967 A1).
As per claim 9, LEE as modified by JEONG discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device further includes a first discharge valve provided on the first auxiliary dump flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium and a second discharge valve provided on the second auxiliary dump flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium.
KIM discloses Electric Brake System comprising:
wherein the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (1600, Fig: 1) further includes a first discharge valve (1641a, Fig: 1) provided on the first auxiliary dump flow path (1641, Fig: 1) to control the flow of the pressurized medium (Fig: 1) and a second discharge valve (1642a, Fig: 1) provided on the second auxiliary dump flow path (1642, Fig: 1) to control the flow of the pressurized medium (Best Mode, [0037], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to Modify the Electric Brake System of the LEE as modified by JEONG to include the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device further includes a first discharge valve provided on the first auxiliary dump flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium and a second discharge valve provided on the second auxiliary dump flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium as taught by KIM in order to stable and effective braking even in various operating situations of a vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In page 6-10 of REMARK, the applicant argued that, Lee and Jeong, individually or in combination, do not disclose, teach or suggest "an emergency module including a hydraulic pressure auxiliary device configured to operate when the electronic part is inoperative and provide hydraulic pressure to a wheel cylinder in an auxiliary manner", "the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device is disposed between the first and second wheel cylinders and the first hydraulic circuit, and "the connecting line includes a first connecting line having one end connected to the first master chamber and the other end connected between the first hydraulic circuit and the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device" as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added)”.
In response to applicant arguments the examiner respectfully disagrees. First, applicant argument base on Prior art (LEE) reference. LEE discloses all the structure elements of the claimed except for an emergency module including a hydraulic pressure auxiliary device configured to operate when the electronic part is inoperative and provide hydraulic pressure to a wheel cylinder in an auxiliary manner. Therefore, the Examiner teaches JEONG reference. JEONG discloses the electronic brake system 1 according to the first embodiment of the present disclosure performs a fallback mode (hereinafter, automatic fallback mode) in which the hydraulic pressure is generated by the redundancy control apparatus 70 in the event of a system abnormality so that emergency braking may be performed more effectively ([0190], Fig: 1-2) and further discloses the electronic brake system 1 according to the first embodiment of the present disclosure may include a redundancy control apparatus 70 that generates hydraulic pressure in the event of a system abnormality, such as a system error or malfunction, to enable rapid auxiliary braking [0124], Fig: 1-2), and
Fig: 1-2 clearly showed that the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (70, 73, 74) is disposed between the first and second wheel cylinders (40, Fig: 1) and the first hydraulic circuit (251, Fig: 1), and "the connecting line includes a first connecting line having one end connected to the first master chamber (20a) and the other end connected between the first hydraulic circuit and the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (70,73, 74, Fig: 1).
Therefore, JEONG discloses the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device is disposed between the first and second wheel cylinders and the first hydraulic circuit, and "the connecting line includes a first connecting line having one end connected to the first master chamber and the other end connected between the first hydraulic circuit and the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device.
Therefore, rejection of independent claim 1 over LEE and further in view of JEONG is proper for the reason set forth above and maintained the rejection. Claims 2-8 and 10-16 depend directly or indirectly on claim 1 and therefore rejection over LEE and further in view of JEONG are proper for the reason set forth above and maintained the rejection. Claim 9 depends indirectly on claim 1 and therefore the rejection over LEE as modified by JEONG and further in view of KIM.
Newly add claim 16 also reads on teaching reference JEONG. JEONG discloses a pressure sensor (PS2, Fig: 1) is installed on the first connecting line (251, Fig: 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616