DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 7, which was canceled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 2019/0367000) in view of Kim (WO 2020184967 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (fig. 2) An electric brake system (abstract at least) comprising:
a first block (100) in which a mechanical part (master cylinder unit at least) mechanically operated in conjunction with a brake pedal (120) is disposed;
a second block (200) in which an electronic part electronically operated and controlled by an electronic control unit is disposed (pgh. 0034 at least, electrical signals control hydraulic block), wherein the second block is spaced apart from the first block (separate from one another, as shown);
a connecting line (including 151, 152, 140, 210,136, etc.1) hydraulically connecting the first block and the second block to each other (as shown),
wherein the mechanical part includes a master cylinder (110) equipped with a main reservoir (130) in which a pressurized medium is stored, a master piston (111) connected to the brake pedal, and a master chamber (113) whose volume is varied by a displacement of the master piston,
the electronic part includes a hydraulic pressure supply device (300) generating hydraulic pressure by operating a hydraulic piston (320) by an electrical signal output in response to a displacement of the brake pedal (pgh. 0034) or an electrical signal output from the electronic control unit, and a hydraulic pressure control unit (400) equipped with a plurality of flow paths and valves (as shown within 410, 420) to control the hydraulic pressure transmitted from the hydraulic pressure supply device to the wheel cylinder (cylinders 10), a pedal simulator (250), and a sub reservoir (220) in which the pressurized medium is stored,
the hydraulic pressure control unit includes a first hydraulic circuit (410) that controls hydraulic pressure transmitted to a first wheel cylinder and a second wheel cylinder (as shown), and the connecting line includes a first connecting line (151) connecting the master chamber and a front end of the first hydraulic circuit (as shown), a second connecting line (152) connecting the master chamber and the pedal simulator (indirectly at least, see response to arguments), a third connecting line (140) connecting the main reservoir and the sub reservoir.
Lee does not appear to disclose the emergency module and structure thereof, and corresponding connecting line interconnecting the emergency module to the remaining modules/blocks.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic brake control, Kim discloses an electric brake system including an emergency module (1600) downstream of the equivalent second block including valving 1520, the emergency module operating when the electronic part is inoperative (pgh. 00692: “The hydraulic auxiliary device 1600 is provided on a side of the third and fourth wheel cylinders 23 and 24 of the second hydraulic circuit 1520, and may generate and provide hydraulic pressure required for braking of the third and fourth wheel cylinders 23 and 24, when the hydraulic pressure supply device 1400 is inoperable due to a malfunction, etc.”) and providing hydraulic pressure to a wheel cylinder in an auxiliary manner (for FL and FR, as shown); the emergency module includes a hydraulic pressure auxiliary device (1610/1620) operating when the hydraulic pressure supply device is inoperative to provide the hydraulic pressure to the wheel cylinder (as discussed above), where the emergency module is connected to the first block and the second block via a connecting line (via lines through 1651 and 1652 at least). Kim further teaches a fourth connecting line (e.g. line behind 1641 and 1642) connecting the emergency module to the third connecting line (via sump 1200 at least. When viewed in combination, the recited components of Kim are connected to the sump, and the connecting lines all connect back to the sump as well, therefore all of these components are “connected” as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electric brake system of Lee to include the emergency module of Kim in order to quickly and reliably perform emergency braking in the event of system abnormality or failure (see pgh. 0005 of Kim at least). It further would have been obvious to provide the fourth connecting line with providing the emergency module to allow the emergency module direct access to the sump, thereby ensuring emergency braking due to adequate supply of brake fluid for the pump.
Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified by Kim teaches (fig. 1 Kim) the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device includes a first isolation valve (1651) and a second isolation valve (1652) allowing and blocking flows of the pressurized medium transmitted from the master cylinder and the hydraulic pressure supply device to the first wheel cylinder and a second wheel cylinder, respectively (as shown, interposed between wheel cylinders and master cylinder/hydraulic pressure supply device), a pump (1620) for pressurizing the pressurized medium, a motor (1610) for driving the pump, a first auxiliary hydraulic flow path (1631) for transmitting the pressurized medium pressurized by the pump to the first wheel cylinder, and a second auxiliary hydraulic flow path (1632) for transmitting the pressurized medium pressurized by the pump to the second wheel cylinder.
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified by Kim teaches (fig. 1 Kim) the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device further includes a first auxiliary dump flow path (1641) for discharging the pressurized medium applied to the first wheel cylinder and a second auxiliary dump flow path (1642) for discharging the pressurized medium applied to the second wheel cylinder.
Regarding claim 4, Lee as modified by Kim teaches (fig. 1 Kim) the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device further includes: a first support valve (1631a) provided on the first auxiliary hydraulic flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium and a second support valve (1632a) provided on the second auxiliary hydraulic flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium; and a first discharge valve (1642b) provided on the first auxiliary dump flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium and a second discharge valve (1642a) provided on the second auxiliary dump flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium.
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the hydraulic pressure control unit further includes a second hydraulic circuit (420) that controls hydraulic pressure transmitted to a third wheel cylinder and a fourth wheel cylinder (as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Lee as modified by Kim teaches (fig. 1 Kim) the hydraulic pressure auxiliary device is provided between the first and second wheel cylinders and the first hydraulic circuit (as shown, between wheel cylinders 23,24 and first hydraulic circuit 1520).
Regarding claim 9, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the master cylinder includes a first master piston (111) connected to the brake pedal, a first master chamber (113) whose volume is varied by a displacement of the first master piston, a second master piston (112) provided to be displaceable by hydraulic pressure of the first master chamber, and a second master chamber (114) whose volume is varied by a displacement of the second master piston, the first connecting line connects the first master chamber and the front end of the first hydraulic circuit (151 as shown), and the second connecting line connects the second master chamber and a front end of the pedal simulator (152 as shown and discussed above).
Regarding claim 10, Lee as modified by Kim further discloses (fig. 2) the fourth connecting line (e.g. line behind 1641 and 1642 connected to sump 1200) connects an inlet of the pump and the first and second auxiliary dump flow paths (see Kim, pump inlet and first and second auxiliary dump flow paths 1641,1642 are connected to the sump 1200) to the third connecting line (When viewed in combination, the recited components of Kim are connected to the sump, and the connecting lines all connect back to the sump as well, therefore all of these components are “connected” as claimed).
Regarding claim 11, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the electronic part further includes a dump controller (e.g. 333) provided between the hydraulic pressure supply device and the sub reservoir to control the flow of the pressurized medium (as shown, provided between 300 and chamber 224 of sub reservoir 220).
Regarding claim 12, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the hydraulic pressure supply device includes a first pressure chamber (311) provided in front of the hydraulic piston and a second pressure chamber (312) provided behind the hydraulic piston, and the electronic part further includes: a first sub reservoir flow path (331) connecting the sub reservoir and the first pressure chamber; and a second sub reservoir flow path (332) connecting the sub reservoir and the second pressure chamber.
Regarding claim 13, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the dump controller includes a first dump valve (333) provided on the first sub reservoir flow path, a second dump valve (334) provided on the second sub reservoir flow path, and a third dump valve (336) provided in parallel to the second dump valve on the second sub reservoir flow path (as shown).
Regarding claim 14, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the electronic part further includes a third sub reservoir flow path (231) connecting the sub reservoir and a rear end of the first hydraulic circuit, and a fourth sub reservoir flow path (232) connecting the sub reservoir and a rear end of the second hydraulic circuit.
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the electronic part further includes a simulation flow path connected to a rear end of the pedal simulator (path extending out the back of simulator 250), and the simulation flow path is connected to the sub reservoir (as shown, via 231) by joining the fourth sub reservoir flow path (both paths are “joined” via common connection to the sub reservoir, and they “join together” to return fluid to the sub reservoir, so therefore these two paths are “joined”).
Regarding claim 16, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the electronic part further includes a backup flow path (242) connecting any one of the main reservoir and the sub reservoir to a front end of the second hydraulic circuit (as shown, ultimately connected to main reservoir), a first cut valve (243) provided in the first connecting line to control the flow of the pressurized medium, and a second cut valve (244) provided on the backup flow path to control the flow of the pressurized medium.
Regarding claim 17, Lee further discloses (fig. 2) the first hydraulic circuit includes a first inlet valve (411) and a second inlet valve (412) for controlling the flow of the pressurized medium supplied from the hydraulic pressure supply device to the first wheel cylinder and the second wheel cylinder, respectively, and a first outlet valve (415) and a second outlet valve (416) for controlling flows of the pressurized medium discharged from the first wheel cylinder and the second wheel cylinder, respectively, the second hydraulic circuit includes a third inlet valve (421) and a fourth inlet valve (422) for controlling the flow of the pressurized medium supplied from the hydraulic pressure supply device to the third wheel cylinder and the fourth wheel cylinder, respectively, and a third outlet valve (425) and a fourth outlet valve (426) for controlling the flow of the pressurized medium discharged from the third wheel cylinder and the fourth wheel cylinder, respectively, the pressurized medium discharged through the first and second outlet valves is supplied to the third sub reservoir flow path (231, as shown), and the pressurized medium discharged through the third and fourth outlet valves is supplied to the fourth sub reservoir flow path (232, as shown).
Regarding claim 19, Lee as modified by Kim teaches the first and second isolation valves are provided as normal-open-type solenoid valves that are open in normal times and operate to be closed upon receiving an electrical signal (Kim pgh. 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 20, Lee as modified by Kim teaches the first and second support valves and the first and second discharge valves are provided as normal-closed-type solenoid valves that are closed in normal times and operate to open upon receiving an electrical signal (Kim pgh. 0073-0076).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The remarks on pages 11-12 contend that Lee and Kim fail to disclose the second connecting line (152) being connecting the master chamber and the pedal simulator, as now recited in claim 1, because instead the second connecting line is connected to the second hydraulic circuit (420). While this is true, the second connecting line (152) is also connected to additional elements of the system at least indirectly, and the claims do not preclude such a construction due to the usage of the word “connecting” within the present application. For example, claim 1 recites, inter alia, “a first connecting line connecting the master chamber and a front end of the first hydraulic circuit”. Shown in fig. 1 for example is a first connecting line 1310 that is ultimately connected to the first hydraulic circuit 1230 albeit indirectly, due to the presence of cut valve 1311 disposed within the connecting line. As such, use of the word “connecting” within the present application does not necessarily convey a direct connection, but rather a connection that could include intermediate valves. In the same manner, line 152 of Lee is “connecting” the master chamber and the pedal simulator 250 via intermediate valves 244, 372, 243 and 255. Accordingly, the fluid line 152 is readable upon the second connecting line as presently claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
1 Based on the present disclosure, the “connecting line” 1300 includes multiple separate lines 1310, 1320, 1330, 1340. Accordingly, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a connecting line” includes a plurality of separate lines.
2 See US 2022/0176928 for paragraph citations, which is the US equivalent document of WO 2020/184967 A1