Detailed Action
This office action is a response to applicant’s communication submitted July 2, 2026, wherein claim 1 is amended, claims 8, 10, 29, and 30 are canceled, and new claim 36 is introduced. This application is a national stage application of PCT/FI2021/050918, filed December 31, 2021, which claims benefit of foreign application FI20206386, filed December 31, 2020.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 13, 23, 25-28, 31, and 33-36 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 13, 23, 25-28, 31, and 33-36 as amended are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 206, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 27, 30, 31, and 33 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) for being anticipated by Olsson et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 25, 26, and 28 under 35 USC 103 for being obvious over Olsson et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 25, 26, and 28 under 35 USC 103 for being obvious over Olsson et al. in view of Diener et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 34 under 35 USC 103 for being obvious over Olsson et al. in view of ‘476, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 23 under 35 USC 103 for being obvious over Olsson et al. in view of Diener et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 25-28, 30, 31, and 33 for being obvious over claim 1 of ‘491 Olsson et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2, 4-6, 8-10, 13, 29, and 35 for being obvious over claim 1 of ‘491 in view of Olsson et al. in view of Diener et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 23 for being obvious over claim 1 of ‘491 in view of Olsson et al. in view of Asaadi et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted July 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 34 for being obvious over claim 1 of ‘491 in view of Olsson et al. in view of ‘476, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as base claim 1 has been amended to require a specific narrower range of dissolution temperature. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment necessitates the following new grounds of rejection:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 25-28, 31, 33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. (PCT international publication WO2017/178531, of record in previous action) in view of foreign patent publication CN109652865A. (Herein referred to as ‘865, Reference and English machine translation included with PTO-892)
Independent claim 1 is directed to a process comprising providing cellulose carbamate, mixing the cellulose carbamate with alkaline solution, further mixing the mixture at a specific rotation speed and temperature, and finally recovering the dissolved solution.
Olsson et al. discloses a process for producing a cellulosic dope composition comprising vigorously mixing the cellulosic pulp in an alkali solution at a minimum power of 150 kW/m3, then further dissolving the composition at a power density of 75 kW/m3 maximum. (p. 5 line 29 – p. 6 line 7) In a preferred embodiment the cellulosic pulp is a cellulose carabamate. (p. 13 lines 18-22) In a preferred embodiment the dissolution has a rotation speed of less than 300 rpm, for example 10-100 rpm (p. 13 lines 1-17) This process would therefore involve steps of providing a cellulose carbamate, mixing partway through the first homogenization step, mixing further through the second dissolution step at lower rpm, and recovering a solution of cellulose carbamate, thereby anticipating present claim 1. The disclosure of Olsson et al. differs from claim 1 as presently amended in that present claim 1 requires that the mixture be maintained at a temperature between -20OC and -7OC, and claim 35 requires a range between -20 and -15, in contrast to the disclosure of Olsson et al., which describes a preferred temperature range of -8OC to -3OC.
‘865 discloses a process for producing a regenerated cellulose fiber comprising preparing cellulose carbamate, dissolving the cellulose carbamate in aqueous NaOH, and regenerating the cellulose through a wet spinning system. (p. 3 paragraphs 3-5) The dissolution step is preferably carried out in 9-15 wt% NaOH at a temperature of between -15 and -20OC, for 10-12 minutes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to reduce the temperature of the mixing step used in Olsson’s process to the lower range recited by ‘865. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of ‘865 as suggesting that this lower temperature range was also usable for the same purpose of dissolving cellulose carbamate in alkali.
Regarding claim 27, p. 14 lines 18-21 disclose a NaOH concentration of 7.2-7.8%. Regarding claim 30, p. 12 lines 16-33 disclose maintaining the composition at a target temperature during the dissolution. P. 12 lines 9-15 disclose the dissolution taking place over a time of 5-30 minutes, which anticipates claim 30. Regarding claim 31, Olsson et al. discloses including ZnO at a concentration of about 1.1%. (p. 14 line 29 – p. 15 line 7) Regarding claim 33, both of these aforementioned concentrations, when taken together, would infringe the ratio recited in this claim.
Olsson et al. also does not specifically describe the exact cellulose carbamate concentration of 6-10% recited in claims 26 and 28. However, p. 14 lines 25-26 state that for a derivatized pulp such as cellulose carbamate, the optimal concentration is 6-12%. Since this substantially overlaps with 6-10%, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it to be obvious to use a concentration between 6-10% in the process of optimizing the value within the slightly broader prior art range. Regarding claim 25, Olsson et al. discloses a DP preferably higher than 200. (p. 9 lines 17-23) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a DP of between 200-400 based on this broad disclosure, as the claimed range falls within the scope of DP values described by the prior art.
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 13, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 as applied to claims 1, 25-28, 31, 33, and 36 above, and further in view of Diener et al. (Reference of record in previous action)
The disclosures of Olsson et al. and ‘865 are discussed above. Regarding present claims 2 and 13, Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 does not specifically disclose a process wherein the dissolution is carried out in a kneader reactor. However, Diener et al. discloses that such reactors are suitable for carrying out dissolution of cellulose. (p. 138 middle column second paragraph, right column second paragraph) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to carry out the dissolution described by Olsson et al. in a kneader type reactor. One of ordinary skill in the art, looking to determine what sort of reactors can be used to carry out cellulose dissolution, would have seen the disclosure of Diener et al. as suggesting that this sort of reactor is useful for carrying out such a dissolution process. Furthermore looking to figure 4 of Olsson, the diagram pictured therein clearly indicates a process involving two separate reactors (parts 2 and 3 as the homogenization step and parts 5 and 7 for the dissolution step) Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use two separate reactors to carry out the process continuously.
Regarding claim 4, p. 12 lines 16-33 of Olsson et al. discloses holding the reaction at temperatures below room temperatures during both the homogenization and dissolution. Doing so would necessarily require cooling the solution while it is in the reactor to maintain its temperature. Regarding claim 5, p. 23 line 23 - p. 24 line 32 and figure 4 of Olsson et al. disclose a process wherein cellulose pulp is fed into a mixing reactor to be homogenized. Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned portion of Olsson’s disclosure further describes mixing cellulose pulp with alkali prior to introducing it into the homogenization step, and then further adding more cold liquid alkali to the homogenization unit, thereby meeting the requirements of this claim.
Regarding present claims 8-10, these claims specify the temperature of the mixture in the mixing zone, or of the alkali solution as it is being added to the mixing zone. P. 12 lines 16-33 disclose that temperatures of for example -3 to -8OC during the homogenization step. Furthermore the alkali solution before mixing can be added at a colder temperature of -8 to -25OC, which would suggest adding the second portion at said colder temperature as recited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 29, which depends from claim 2, p. 12 lines 9-15 of Olsson et al. discloses a residence time of 5-30 minutes, which is within the scope described in this claim. Regarding claim 35, while Olsson et al. discloses carrying out the homogenization and dissolution at an alkali concentration of less than 10% (e.g. 7-8%) one example is disclosed wherein a higher concentration of alkali solution at a lower temperature can be added to the reactor. (p. 26 line 13, 9.4% at -9.8OC) It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add further alkali at a high concentration such as 10% to the mixing reactor, since this is close to a value exemplified by Olsson et al.
For these reasons the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 as applied to claims 1, 25-28, 31, 33, and 36 above, and further in view of PCT international publication WO03/064476. (Reference of record in previous action, herein referred to as ‘476)
The disclosures of Olsson et al. and ‘865 are discussed above. Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 does not specifically describe a process comprising performing the steps recited in present claim 34. However, Olsson et al. does describe obtaining the cellulose carbamate in a method as described by WO03/064476. (p. 13 lines 22-23)
‘476 describes an improved process for making cellulose carbamate incorporating mechanical working of the reaction mixture. (p. 3 line 25 – p. 4 line 3) The cellulose starting material is wood pulp, which is mixed with urea and an auxiliary agent, thereby performing the first two steps of the process recited in claim 34. (p. 3 lines 29-35) The aforementioned mechanical working of the mixture would then meet the limitations of the third step recited therein. Regarding the fourth step of heating, p. 4 lines 33-37 of ‘476 describes raising the temperature of the reaction mixture to a point where the reaction can start. According to p. 3 lines 6-10 of ‘476 this temperature is 133C, the melting point of urea, indicating that the mechanical working step of ‘476 raises the temperature to a value falling within the range recited by claim 34. Furthermore regarding the range of 2-4 hours for this step it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine the appropriate length of time to carry out the reaction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the process described by ‘476 to produce CCA and then recover the CCA and dissolve it by the method described by Olsson et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen Olsson’ s citation of this reference as directly suggesting its use as a source of CCA.
For these reasons the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 as applied to claims 1, 25-28, 31, 33, and 36 above, and further in view of Asaadi et al. (Reference of record in previous action)
The disclosure of Olsson et al. and ‘865 are discussed above. Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 does not specifically describe a process wherein the cellulose carbamate does not contain native plant fibers. However, Asaadi et al. discloses that there exists a need for sustainable recycling of cotton fabrics. (p. 3250 left column) Such recycling can be carried out by dissolution of waste cellulose in ionic liquids and regeneration into recycled cellulose fibers. Since this process involves dissolution of the cellulose, it would destroy the previously existing cotton fibers, any new fibers produced during the regeneration would not be natural plant fibers as described in present claim 23. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use recycled cellulose having fibers that are not natural plant fibers as the source of cellulose in the process described by Olsson et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Olsson et al. as requiring a source of cellulose form which to make the cellulose carbamate and would therefore have looked to any prior art source of cellulose, including recycled cotton cellulose as described by Asaadi et al.
For these reasons the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 25-28, 31, 33, and 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/718491 (US pre-grant publication 2025/0051974, of record in previous action, herein referred to as ‘491) in view of Olsson et al. (PCT international publication WO2017/178531, of record in previous action) in view of Foreign patent publication CN109652865A. (Herein referred to as ‘865, Reference and English machine translation included with PTO-892)
Claim 1 of ‘491 claims a process for manufacturing a cellulose carbamate textile fiber, comprising a step of dissolving cellulose carbamate in an aqueous solution of NaOH and zinc. While claim 1 of ‘491 does not specifically describe particular properties of the claimed dissolution method such as temperature, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to look to other descriptions in the prior art of methods of dissolving CCA, for example Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 as discussed above under 35 USC 103, thereby rendering it obvious to incorporate the process described by Olsson et al. into this claimed method.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 13, 29, and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/718491 (US pre-grant publication 2025/0051974, of record in previous action, herein referred to as ‘491) in view of Olsson et al. (PCT international publication WO2017/178531, cited in PTO-1449) in view of Foreign patent publication CN109652865A. (Herein referred to as ‘865, Reference and English machine translation included with PTO-892) in view of Diener et al. (of record in previous action)
Claim 1 of ‘491 and the disclosures of Olsson et al. and ‘865 are discussed above. Regarding claim 2, Olsson et al. discloses dissolving the CCA in a mixer. (column 3 lines 15-43) While Olsson et al. does not specifically disclose that the mixer is a kneader type-mixer, Diener et al. discloses a method for dissolving cellulose in a solvent using a kneader, as described above under 35 USC 103. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a kneader as the mixer in the dissolution process described by Olsson et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen Diener et al. as disclosing that kneader-type mixers were used in the art for similar processes of dissolving cellulose in a solvent, and therefore seen such a mixer as being an embodiment of the general class of mixers described by Olsson et al.
Regarding claim 4, Olsson et al. already discloses cooling of the solution in the mixer during mixing. Regarding claim 5, Olsson et al. discloses carrying out the mixing in two separate steps of premixing and mixing. Therefore it would have been obvious to carry out the premixing step and then feed the premix into a mixer for further mixing. Regarding claim 6, since Olsson describes multiple mixing steps, the reference describes mixing a portion of NaOH with the CCA, and then adding more into the premix when it is in the mixer.
Regarding claims 8-10, the temperature ranges recited in these claims are already described by Olsson et al.
Regarding claim 13, this claim requires that the process involve two separate dissolution steps in two separate mixers. As discussed earlier, Olsson et al. already discloses two separate dissolution steps. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform these two steps in two different mixers, as doing so would merely involve routine choices as to how to organize the workflow of the various process steps described by Olsson et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 23 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/718491 (US pre-grant publication 2025/0051974, of record in previous action, herein referred to as ‘491) in view of Olsson et al. (PCT international publication WO2017/178531, cited in PTO-1449) in view of Foreign patent publication CN109652865A. (Herein referred to as ‘865, Reference and English machine translation included with PTO-892) in view of Asaadi et al. (Reference of record in previous action)
Claim 1 of ‘491 and the disclosures of Olsson et al. and ‘865 are discussed above. Claim 1 of ‘491 in view of Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 does not describe a process wherein the cellulose carbamate does not contain native plant fibers. However, Asaadi et al. discloses that there exists a need for sustainable recycling of cotton fabrics. (p. 3250 left column) Such recycling can be carried out by dissolution of waste cellulose in ionic liquids and regeneration into recycled cellulose fibers. Since this process involves dissolution of the cellulose, it would destroy the previously existing cotton fibers, any new fibers produced during the regeneration would not be natural plant fibers as described in present claim 23. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use recycled cellulose having fibers that are not natural plant fibers as the source of cellulose in the process described by Olsson et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Olsson et al. as requiring a source of cellulose form which to make the cellulose carbamate and would therefore have looked to any prior art source of cellulose, including recycled cotton cellulose as described by Asaadi et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 34 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/718491 (US pre-grant publication 2025/0051974, of record in previous action, herein referred to as ‘491) in view of Olsson et al. (PCT international publication WO2017/178531, cited in PTO-1449) in view of Foreign patent publication CN109652865A. (Herein referred to as ‘865, Reference and English machine translation included with PTO-892) in view of PCT international publication WO03/064476. (Reference of record in previous action)
Claim 1 of ‘491 and the disclosures of Olsson et al. and ‘865 are discussed above. Claim 1 of ‘491 in view of Olsson et al. in view of ‘865 does not describe a process wherein the cellulose carbamate does not contain native plant fibers. However, Olsson et al. does describe obtaining the cellulose carbamate in a method as described by WO03/064476. (p. 13 lines 22-23)
‘476 describes an improved process for making cellulose carbamate incorporating mechanical working of the reaction mixture. (p. 3 line 25 – p. 4 line 3) The cellulose starting material is wood pulp, which is mixed with urea and an auxiliary agent, thereby performing the first two steps of the process recited in claim 34. (p. 3 lines 29-35) The aforementioned mechanical working of the mixture would then meet the limitations of the third step recited therein. Regarding the fourth step of heating, p. 4 lines 33-37 of ‘476 describes raising the temperature of the reaction mixture to a point where the reaction can start. According to p. 3 lines 6-10 of ‘476 this temperature is 133C, the melting point of urea, indicating that the mechanical working step of ‘476 raises the temperature to a value falling within the range recited by claim 34. Furthermore, regarding the range of 2-4 hours for this step it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine the appropriate length of time to carry out the reaction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the process described by ‘476 to produce CCA and then recover the CCA and dissolve it by the method described by Olsson et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen Olsson’ s citation of this reference as directly suggesting its use as a source of CCA.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA OLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693 8/18/2026