DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined on the merits.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/087808 filed on 12/29/2021 and claims foreign priority under U.S.C. 119 to Application LU102350 filed on 12/29/2020. At this point in examination, the effective filing date of claims 1-20 is 12/29/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statement has been filed herein.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
There are hyperlinks in pg. 15, lines 14, 17, 20, 25, 28, and 32; pg. 16, lines 4, 7, 10, 15, 17, and 20; pg. 31, lines 4 and 23; pg. 32, lines 2 and 12; pg. 33, line 26; pg. 34, line 12. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 2, "combination one or more" should read "combination of one or more".
In claim 16, line 2, there should be an “or” before “an unsupervised learning method”.
In claim 17, line 2, “comprise a training” should read “comprise training”.
In claim 18, line 2, “comprise a training” should read “comprise training”.
These are typographical errors. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
A: "a temperature measurement device" in claim 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function. See e.g., Noah Systems Inc. v. Intuit Inc., 675 F.3d 1302, 1312, 102 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1333, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. The corresponding structure in the instant specification is as follows:
A: “a temperature measurement device” – The instant specification does not disclose a computer or processor to carry out the device’s function of measuring temperature. The instant specification also does not disclose specific steps to an algorithm that measures temperatures. Thus, the description in the specification for the claimed interaction module does not satisfy the requirements under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b); see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 recites "a temperature measurement device" which has been interpreted to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
For a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation, the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function, or else the claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). When a claim containing a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation is found to be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure (e.g., the computer and the algorithm) in the specification that performs the entire claimed function, it will also lack written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP § 2163.03, subsection VI.
In this case, the instant specification does not disclose a computer or processor to carry out the device’s function of measuring temperature. The specific steps of an algorithm to perform the function are also not recited in the specification.
While one of ordinary skill in the art could be capable of writing software for an algorithm which measures temperature (claim 10), the understanding of one skilled in the art does not relieve the patentee of the duty to disclose sufficient structure to support means-plus-function claim terms.
For the reasons discussed above, the specification does not provide a sufficient disclosure of the limitation of “temperature measurement” recited in claim 10 to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention at the time the application was filed. For more information regarding the written description requirement, see MPEP §2161.01 - §2164.07(b).
Because dependent claims 11-14 and 18 incorporate the unsupported limitations of independent claim 10 and do not include further limitations that correct the issue, they are likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8, 10, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, lines 2-3, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
The following claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 10 recites “a temperature measurement device”.
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
As described above, the instant specification does not disclose a computer or processor to carry out the device’s function of measuring temperature. The specific steps of an algorithm to perform the function are also not recited in the specification.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 16, line 2, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 18 recites the limitations "the applying of the learning method" in line 1 and “the demographic features” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear what the applying of the learning method and the demographic features are as they have not been mentioned prior to claim 18. The rejection might be overcome by amending the claims to introduce clear antecedent basis for “the applying of the learning method” and “the demographic features”. For compact prosecution, it is assumed that the preceding suggested will be implemented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite: (a) mathematical concepts, (e.g., mathematical relationships, formulas or equations, mathematical calculations); and (b) mental processes, i.e., concepts performed in the human mind, (e.g., observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
Subject matter eligibility evaluation in accordance with MPEP 2106:
Eligibility Step 1: Claims 1-9 are directed to a method (process) for stratifying a patient infected with a respiratory disease. Claims 10-14 and 18 are directed to a device for stratifying a patient infected with a respiratory disease (machine). Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are directed to a method (process) for creation of a model for stratifying a patient infected with a respiratory disease. Therefore, these claims are encompassed by the categories of statutory subject matter, and thus satisfy the subject matter eligibility requirements under Step 1.
[Step 1: YES]
Eligibility Step 2A: First, it is determined in Prong One whether a claim recites a judicial exception, and if so, then it is determined in Prong Two whether the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception.
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong One: In determining whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception, examination is performed that analyzes whether the claim recites a judicial exception, i.e., whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth described in the claim.
Claims 1, 4, 15, and 17 recite the following steps which fall within the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts groups of abstract ideas, as noted below.
Independent claim 1 further recites:
comparing (1560) the extracted plurality of spectrogram features with a model in a database to determine a degree of severity of the respiratory disease (i.e., mental processes).
Dependent claim 4 further recites:
comparing (1560) both the demographic features and the spectrogram features with the model to determine the degree of severity of the respiratory disease (i.e., mental processes).
Independent claim 15 further recites:
applying a learning method to the extracted plurality of spectrogram features and the entered plurality of demographic features to correlate the extracted plurality of spectrogram features and the entered plurality of demographic features with the health outcomes to create the model in a database (i.e., mental processes, mathematical concepts).
Dependent claim 17 further recites:
training a support vector machine using an output of the trained convolutional neural network and the demographic features (i.e., mental processes, mathematical concepts).
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim limitations when read in light of and consistent with the specification. As noted in the foregoing section, the claims are determined to contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind with the aid of a pencil and paper, and therefore recite judicial exceptions from the mental process grouping of abstract ideas. Additionally, the recited limitations that are identified as judicial exceptions from the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas are abstract ideas irrespective of whether or not the limitations are practical to perform in the human mind. Dependent claims 5, 8-9, 13-14, 16, and 19-20 recite information further limiting the judicial exceptions indicated above.
Therefore, claims 1, 4, 15, and 17 recite an abstract idea.
[Step 2A, Prong One: YES]
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong Two: In determining whether a claim is directed to a judicial exception, further examination is performed that analyzes if the claim recites additional elements that, when examined as a whole, integrates the judicial exception(s) into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)). A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The claimed additional elements are analyzed to determine if the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I); MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the abstract idea, the claim fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(III)).
The judicial exceptions identified in Eligibility Step 2A, Prong One are not integrated into a practical application because of the reasons noted below.
Claim 1 recites producing (1520) a light signal from a laser (1) and illuminating (1530) the fluid sample (9) with the light signal through a lens in a sensing probe (8). Claim 6 recites modulating (110) the light signal from the laser (1). Claim 15 recites producing (1520) a light signal from a laser (1) and illuminating (1530) with the light signal through a microlens in a sensing probe (8) a series of fluid samples (9) of healthy and diseased patients with known comorbidities and health outcomes. Producing light signals, illuminating fluid samples with light signals, and modulating light signals are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. Data gathering steps are extra-solution activity as they collect the data needed to carry out the JE. It does not impose any meaningful limitation on the JE or how the JE is performed (MPEP 2106.04/.05, citing Intellectual Ventures LLC v. Symantee Corp, McRO, TLI communications, OIP Techs. Inc. v. Amason.com Inc., Electric Power Group LLC v. Alstrom S.A.). Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Claim 10 recites a laser (1) connected through an optical fiber with a sensing probe (8) with a microlens for illuminating a fluid sample (9) from the patient, a detector (16) for acquiring (130) a spectrogram from the sample (9), and a temperature measurement device. These are devices used to obtain data for further analysis, which is considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity. Data gathering steps are extra-solution activity as they collect the data needed to carry out the JE. It does not impose any meaningful limitation on the JE or how the JE is performed (MPEP 2106.04/.05, citing Intellectual Ventures LLC v. Symantee Corp, McRO, TLI communications, OIP Techs. Inc. v. Amason.com Inc., Electric Power Group LLC v. Alstrom S.A.). Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Claim 17 recites training a convolutional neural network using the spectrogram features. Claim 18 recites a training of a first set of encoding blocks of a convolutional neural network with the spectrogram features and then further training the convolutional neural network with the demographic features. The limitations recite training a neural network, which provide nothing more than merely reciting a generic “apply it” step with the judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application.
Claims 1, 4, and 15 recite the additional non-abstract elements of data gathering:
providing (1510) a fluid sample (9) from the patient (claim 1);
acquiring (1540) a spectrogram from the fluid sample (9) (claims 1 and 15);
extracting (1550) a plurality of spectrogram features from the light signal (claims 1 and 15);
outputting (1570) a result (claim 1);
providing (1555) of demographic features of comorbidities derived from a patient’s health record (claim 4);
entering (1555) the plurality of demographic features and health outcomes (claim 15).
Data gathering steps are not an abstract idea, they are extra-solution activity, as they collect the data needed to carry out the JE. The data gathering does not impose any meaningful limitation on the JE, or how the JE is performed. The additional limitation (data gathering) must have more than a nominal or insignificant relationship to the identified judicial exception. (MPEP 2106.04/.05, citing Intellectual Ventures LLC v. Symantee Corp, McRO, TLI communications, OIP Techs. Inc. v. Amason.com Inc., Electric Power Group LLC v. Alstrom S.A.). Dependent claims 2-3, 7, and 11 recite information further limiting the additional elements indicated above.
Claim 10 recites the additional non-abstract element (EIA) of a general-purpose computer system or parts thereof:
a computer (claim 10).
The EIA do not provide any details of how specific structures of the computer elements are used to implement the JE. The claims require nothing more than a general-purpose computer to perform the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. The computer elements of the claims do not provide improvements to the functioning of the computer itself (as in DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com LP); they do not provide improvements to any other technology or technical field (as in Diamond v. Diehr); nor do they utilize a particular machine (as in Eibel Process Co. v. Minn. & Ont. Paper Co.). Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the JE using a computer, and therefore the claim does not recite integrate that JE into a practical application. Dependent claim 12 recites information further limiting the additional elements indicated above.
Thus, the additionally recited elements merely invoke a computer as a tool, and/or amount to insignificant extra-solution data gathering activity, and as such, when all limitations in claims 1-20 have been considered as a whole, the claims are deemed to not recite any additional elements that would integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 15, and 17-18 contain additional elements that would not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application and are further probed for inventive concept in Step 2B.
[Step 2A, Prong Two: NO]
Eligibility Step 2B: Because the claims recite an abstract idea, and do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are probed for a specific inventive concept. The judicial exception alone cannot provide that inventive concept or practical application (MPEP 2106.05). Identifying whether the additional elements beyond the abstract idea amount to such an inventive concept requires considering the additional elements individually and in combination to determine if they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05A i-vi).
The claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s) because of the reasons noted below.
With respect to claims 1, 4, and 15: The limitations identified above as non-abstract elements (EIA) related to data gathering do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. Activities such as data gathering do not improve the functioning of a computer, or comprise an improvement to any other technical field. The limitations do not require or set forth a particular machine, they do not affect a transformation of matter, nor do they provide an unconventional step (citing McRO and Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG). Data gathering steps constitute a general link to a technological environment. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception are insufficient to provide significantly more (as discussed in Alice Corp.,).
With respect to claim 10: The limitations identified above as non-abstract elements (EIA) related to general-purpose computer systems do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. These elements do not improve the functioning of the computer itself, or comprise an improvement to any other technical field (Trading Technologies Int’l v. IBG, TLI Communications). They do not require or set forth a particular machine (Ultramercial v. Hulu, LLC., Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd v. CLS Bank Int’l), they do not affect a transformation of matter, nor do they provide an unconventional step. Simply appending well understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception are insufficient to provide significantly more (as discussed in Alice Corp., CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Parker v. Flook, Versata Development Group v. SAP America).
The additional elements of producing light signals from a laser and illuminating fluid samples with the light signal through a lens in a sensing probe (claims 1 and 15) is conventional. Evidence for conventionality is shown by Utzinger et al. (Journal of Biomedical Optics, 2003, 8(1), 121-147). Utzinger et al. reviews a fiber optic-based spectroscopy system including a laser excitation source that emits light through a probe onto fluid samples, and the option of using spherical ball lenses as collimators in fiber optic connectors (pg. 122, Figure 1; pg. 124, col. 2, para. 3, lines 1-5; pg. 141, col. 1, para. 2, lines 1-6). This shows producing light signals from a laser and illuminating fluid samples with the light signals passed through a lens in a probe, which makes it a conventional element in the art.
The additional element of modulating the light signal from the laser (claim 6) is conventional. Evidence for conventionality is shown by Sinjab et al. (Applied Spectroscopy, 2019, 73(7), 727-746). Sinjab et al. reviews modulation of laser excitation (pg. 727, Abstract, lines 6-7). This shows modulating light signals from a laser, which makes it a conventional element in the art.
The additional elements of a laser connected through an optical fiber with a sensing probe with a microlens for illuminating a fluid sample from the patient and a detector for acquiring a spectrogram from the sample (claim 10) are conventional. Evidence for conventionality is shown by Cordero et al. (Journal of Biomedical Optics, 2018, 23(7), 071210-1-071210-23). Cordero et al. reviews a handheld Raman probe design that comprises an optical fiber arm for the delivery of the excitation light from a laser, a detector, which in most cases is a charged coupled device for acquiring Raman spectra, and a focusing microlens at the probe tip for improving signal collection (pg. 071210-1, col. 2, para. 2, lines 1-5; pg. 071210-2, Table 1; pg. 071210-3, col. 1, Figure 1; pg. 071210-5, col. 2, para. 2, lines 13-16; pg. 071210-5, col. 2, Figure 2; pg. 071210-11, col. 2, para. 2, lines 10-12). This shows an excitation source that is carried through an optical fiber with a microlens option and a detector for collecting Raman spectra, which makes it a conventional element in the art.
The additional element of a temperature measurement device (claim 10) is conventional. Evidence for conventionality is shown by Grodzinsky et al. (Understanding Fever and Body Temperature, 2019, 23-35). Grodzinsky et al. reviews a thermometer, which is an instrument that can measure temperature (pg. 23, para. 1, lines 9-11). This shows a temperature measurement device, which makes it a conventional element in the art.
The additional element of training a convolutional neural network using spectrogram features and demographic features (claims 17-18) is conventional. Evidence for conventionality is shown by Gu et al. (Pattern Recognition, 2017, 77, 354-377). Gu et al. reviews that the basic components of a convolutional neural network consists of convolutional, pooling, and fully-connected layers, where the convolutional layer aims to learn feature representations of the inputs (pg. 355, col. 1, para. 2, lines 1-5). This shows training a convolutional neural network using feature representations, which makes it a conventional element in the art.
[Step 2B: NO]
Therefore, claims 1-20 are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), in view of Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3) and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1].
With respect to claim 1:
Regarding the recited providing (1510) a fluid sample (9) from the patient, Sahu et al. discloses serum samples from 44 asthma subjects of different grades (mild, moderate, treated severe and untreated severe) and from 15 reference subjects (pg. 1, Abstract, lines 6-8). This teaches fluid samples from patients.
Regarding the recited producing (1520) a light signal from a laser (1), Sahu et al. discloses a Raman system consisting of a laser as an excitation source and employing optical fibers to carry the incident light from the excitation source to the sample (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 4, lines 5-9 and 11-14). This teaches producing light signals from a laser.
Regarding the recited illuminating (1530) the fluid sample (9) with the light signal through a lens in a sensing probe (8), Sahu et al. discloses serum samples being subjected to Raman spectroscopy by employing optical fibers to carry the incident light from the excitation source to the sample (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 4). The light goes through the fiber optic Raman microprobe, which is assembled with a 40X microscopic objective that carries the light to the sample. This teaches illuminating fluid samples with light signals through a lens in a probe.
Regarding the recited acquiring (1540) a spectrogram from the fluid sample (9), Sahu et al. discloses that the Raman system consists of a laser as an excitation source and a spectrograph coupled with CCD as dispersion and detection elements respectively (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 4, lines 5-9). Spectra were integrated for 10 seconds and averaged over 6 accumulations, and the CCD records a total of 396 spectra under 5 groups (pg. 3, col. 1-2, para. 4, lines 16-25). This teaches acquiring spectrograms from fluid samples.
Regarding the recited extracting (1550) a plurality of spectrogram features from the light signal, Sahu et al. discloses observing prominent spectral differences in the amide I region, Phe-ring breathing, δ
C
H
2
deformation, and DNA specific bands when comparing spectra in reference and active groups (pg. 4, col. 2, para. 2). This teaches extracting spectrogram features from light signals.
Sahu et al. does not disclose comparing (1560) the extracted plurality of spectrogram features with a model in a database to determine a degree of severity of the respiratory disease and outputting (1570) a result.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose a model to determine a degree of severity of the respiratory disease and outputting a result.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches machine learning models that take in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information such as spectrogram features with a model to obtain patient insights or health status, and outputting this result.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al. to incorporate defining spectroscopy data as a clinical diagnostic disclosed by Khan et al. and a model utilizing clinical records to obtain patient insights disclosed by Zhang et al. One would be motivated to incorporate spectroscopy data as a clinical diagnostic and a model for obtaining patient insights because Khan et al. discloses that spectroscopic techniques can be of immense value for rapid, accurate, and relatively cost-effective methods of both detecting and monitoring infections (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 1, lines 16-18). This means Raman spectroscopy data as a clinical tool would be fast, accurate, and less costly. Zhang et al. discloses that the machine learning algorithms listed share traits of being high-performing (high sensitivity/precision) and interpretable (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 8-10). Incorporating this model for obtaining patient insights would improve performance of Raman spectroscopy analysis. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy and machine learning for disease detection are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
With respect to claim 2:
Khan et al. and Zhang et al. do not disclose wherein the fluid sample (9) is one of a plasma sample or a serum sample.
However, Sahu et al. discloses serum samples from 44 asthma subjects of different grades (mild, moderate, treated severe and untreated severe) and from 15 reference subjects (pg. 1, Abstract, lines 6-8). This teaches fluid samples are serum samples from patients.
With respect to claim 4:
Sahu et al. does not disclose providing (1555) of demographic features of comorbidities derived from a patient's health record and comparing (1560) both the demographic features and the spectrogram features with the model to determine the degree of severity of the respiratory disease.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose demographic features of comorbidities derived from a patient's health record and using a model with those features to determine a degree of severity of the respiratory disease.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches demographic features of comorbidities derived from patient health records and machine learning models that take in clinical records and demographic information as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information such as spectrogram features and demographic features with a model to obtain patient insights or health status.
With respect to claim 7:
Khan et al. and Zhang et al. do not disclose wherein the extraction (138) of the plurality of spectrogram features in the light signal is carried out over periods of time.
However, Sahu et al. discloses that spectra were integrated for 10 seconds and averaged over 6 accumulations, and the CCD records a total of 396 spectra under 5 groups (pg. 3, col. 1-2, para. 4, lines 16-25). This teaches collecting spectrogram features in light signals over periods of times.
With respect to claim 8:
Sahu et al. does not disclose wherein the model is created by one of a supervised learning method, for example a support vector machine, k nearest neighbors, or random forests, or an unsupervised learning method, for example a clustering algorithm, or a regression model.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose using a supervised or unsupervised learning method to determine a degree of severity of the respiratory disease.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms including support vector machines or random forest that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 15-19; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches supervised machine learning models that take in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information such as spectrogram features with supervised or unsupervised methods to obtain patient insights or health status.
With respect to claim 9:
Sahu et al. and Zhang et al. do not disclose wherein the respiratory disease is a viral disease.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). This teaches COVID-19 as a respiratory disease, which is a viral disease.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1] as applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 above, in view of Newberry et al. [US20200253562A1].
Sahu et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. are applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 above.
With respect to claim 3:
Sahu et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose wherein the extracting (1550) of the plurality of features comprises extraction of time features and frequency derived features.
However, Newberry et al. discloses parameters for PPG signals from light including time delay and/or pulse shape correlation between PPG signals at different depths of tissue, and periodicity of PPG signals including a frequency domain analysis (pg. 3, col. 1, para. [0025], lines 1-3; pg. 23-24, col. 2, para. [0314]; pg. 24, col. 1, para. [0316], lines 1-7). This teaches extraction of time features and frequency derived features from light signals.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al., Khan et al. and Zhang et al. to incorporate extracting time and frequency features disclosed by Newberry et al. One would be motivated to incorporate time and frequency features in Raman spectroscopy because the biosensor disclosed by Newberry et al. is a cost-effective and quick screening tool (pg. 20, col. 2, para [0269], lines 5-7). Therefore, incorporating extraction of time and frequency features from light signals would decrease costs in Raman spectroscopy analysis and make it faster. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy, machine learning, and photoplethysmography optical techniques for disease detection or monitoring are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1] as applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 above, in view of Shin et al. (Molecules, 2020, 25(21), 1-22) and Silva et al. (2019 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN), 2019, 1-7).
Sahu et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. are applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 above.
With respect to claim 5:
Sahu et al. does not disclose wherein the model is a combination one or more of a support vector machine (SVM), k nearest neighbors, or random forests, and a convolutional neural network (CNN) model.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19, and that neural networks could use spectra for detection or monitoring of COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose the model comprising of a convolutional neural network.
However, Shin et al. discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) trained on thousands of Raman spectroscopy data to determine similarities or differences between plasma extracellular vesicles (EVs) and lung cancer cell line extracellular vesicles (EVs), which could lead to early cancer diagnosis (pg. 14-15, para. 3). This teaches using CNNs on spectroscopy data in a clinical diagnosis for lung cancer.
Khan et al. and Shin et al. do not disclose the model comprising of a support vector machine (SVM), k nearest neighbors, or random forests.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms including support vector machines or random forest that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 15-19; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches a support vector machine or random forest that take in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information, such as outputs of a CNN applied on spectrogram features, with supervised methods to obtain patient insights or health status.
Khan et al., Shin et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose the model as a combination of a support vector machine or random forest, and a convolutional neural network.
However, Silva et al. discloses a model that generates features using a CNN and supervised machine learning algorithms to classify these features, such as a support vector machine (pg. 1, col. 2, para. 3, lines 5-11; pg. 5, col. 2, para. 4, lines 6-9). This teaches a combination of a support vector machine and a convolutional neural network.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. to incorporate the convolutional neural network disclosed by Shin et al. and the hybrid model disclosed by Silva et al. One would be motivated to incorporate the convolutional neural network and the hybrid model because Shin et al. discloses that CNN-based algorithms show better prediction accuracy than statistical methods (pg. 14, para. 3). Incorporating CNN-based algorithms into Raman spectroscopy analysis would improve disease prediction accuracy. Silva et al. discloses that the use of a hybrid model (CNN + SVM) gives a better result and a more robust classification algorithm such as an SVM will tend to give better results of accuracy (pg. 5, col. 2, para. 4, lines 6-14). Therefore, incorporating the hybrid CNN-SVM model would improve disease classification accuracy in the Raman spectroscopy analysis. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy, machine learning, and neural networks for disease detection or monitoring are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1] as applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 above, in view of De Luca et al. (Sensors, 2015, 15(6), 13680-13704).
Sahu et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. are applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 above.
With respect to claim 6:
Sahu et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose modulating (110) the light signal from the laser (1).
However, De Luca et al. discloses a waveform generator connected to the laser to modulate the laser wavelength (pg. 13687-13688, para. 6, lines 1-5). This teaches modulating light signals from a laser.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. to incorporate modulating laser light signals disclosed by De Luca et al. One would be motivated to incorporate modulating light signals from lasers because De Luca et al. discloses that the integrated modulated Raman microscopy and microfluidic systems allows one to explore biological fluids/pharmaceutical analysis with high sensitivity and reduced cost (pg. 13698, para. 1, lines 16-18). Therefore, incorporating light signal modulation will make Raman spectroscopy analysis less costly. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy and machine learning for disease detection or monitoring are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), in view of Paiva et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2019, 14, 2349-2369), Schmidt et al. [US9863882B2], Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1].
With respect to claim 10:
Regarding the recited a laser (1) connected through an optical fiber with a sensing probe (8) with a microlens for illuminating a fluid sample (9) from the patient, Sahu et al. discloses
Sahu et al. does not disclose a microlens.
However, Paiva et al. discloses a fabrication method of the polymeric micro-lens on top of a cleaved end of an optical fiber, where the spherical lens on top of the optical fiber is used to tightly focus the laser beam (pg. 2352, col. 1, para. 2, lines 1-5; pg. 2352, col. 1, para. 3, lines 1-4). This teaches an optical fiber sensing probe with a microlens.
Paiva et al. does not disclose a detector (16) for acquiring (130) a spectrogram from the sample (9).
However, Sahu et al. discloses that the Raman system consists of a laser as an excitation source and a spectrograph coupled with CCD as dispersion and detection elements respectively (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 4, lines 5-9). Spectra were integrated for 10 seconds and averaged over 6 accumulations, and the CCD records a total of 396 spectra under 5 groups (pg. 3, col. 1-2, para. 4, lines 16-25). This teaches a detector for acquiring spectrograms from fluid samples.
Sahu et al. and Paiva et al. do not disclose a temperature measurement device.
However, Schmidt et al. discloses thermocouples positioned on a side of the substrate that holds a target sample and a Raman probe is directed to the target sample on the substrate so that the Raman probe acquires Raman spectral data for the sample synced with the corresponding thermocouple temperature data (pg. 14, col. 2, lines 34-45). This teaches thermocouples as a temperature measurement device used alongside Raman spectroscopy.
Paiva et al. and Schmidt et al. do not disclose a computer (17) adapted to analyze the spectrogram and extract (1550) spectrogram features from the spectrogram.
However, Sahu et al. discloses that algorithms for analyses were implemented in MATLAB based software using in-house codes (pg. 3, col. 2, para. 3, lines 30-32), which suggests that spectrogram analysis is performed on a computer. Also, further discloses observing prominent spectral differences in the amide I region, Phe-ring breathing, δ
C
H
2
deformation, and DNA specific bands when comparing spectra in reference and active groups (pg. 4, col. 2, para. 2). This teaches analyzing and extracting spectrogram features from light signals.
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., and Schmidt et al. do not disclose compare (1560) the extracted spectrogram features with stored features in a model and output (1570) a result of the degree of severity of the respiratory disease.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose a model to determine a degree of severity of the respiratory disease and outputting a result.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches machine learning models that take in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information such as spectrogram features with stored features in a model to obtain patient insights or health status, and outputting this result.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al. to incorporate the microlens disclosed by Paiva et al., the temperature measurement device disclosed by Schmidt et al., defining spectroscopy data as a clinical diagnostic disclosed by Khan et al. and a model utilizing clinical records to obtain patient insights disclosed by Zhang et al. One would be motivated to incorporate the microlens, temperature measurement device, spectroscopy data as a clinical diagnostic, and a model for obtaining patient insights because Paiva et al. discloses that their proposed technique ensured an optimal performance of 100% accuracy in detecting nanoparticles for a concentration above or equal to 3.89 µg/mL (8.74E+10 particles/mL) (pg. 2349, Results and discussion). Incorporating a microlens into the Raman spectroscopy analysis will ensure the highest accuracy in disease detection. Schmidt et al. discloses that utilizing thermocouples alongside Raman spectroscopy quickly and reliably determines sub-molecular structure flexibility in a thermal stress/temperature gradient, which is applicable in biomedicine (pg. 21, col. 1, lines 64-67; pg. 21, col. 2, lines 1-7 and 15-21). This means incorporating a temperature measurement device will be fast and reliable in Raman spectroscopy analysis. Khan et al. discloses that spectroscopic techniques can be of immense value for rapid, accurate, and relatively cost-effective methods of both detecting and monitoring infections (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 1, lines 16-18). This means Raman spectroscopy data as a clinical tool would be fast, accurate, and less costly. Zhang et al. discloses that the machine learning algorithms listed share traits of being high-performing (high sensitivity/precision) and interpretable (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 8-10). Incorporating this model for obtaining patient insights would improve performance of Raman spectroscopy analysis. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy and machine learning for disease detection or monitoring, optical fiber-based sensing methods for clinically relevant nanoparticle detection, and thermodynamic Raman spectroscopy are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
With respect to claim 11:
Sahu et al., Schmidt et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose wherein the sensing probe (8) comprises a microlens at the end of the optical fiber.
However, Paiva et al. discloses a fabrication method of the polymeric micro-lens on top of a cleaved end of an optical fiber, where the spherical lens on top of the optical fiber is used to tightly focus the laser beam (pg. 2352, col. 1, para. 2, lines 1-5; pg. 2352, col. 1, para. 3, lines 1-4). This teaches a microlens at the end of the optical fiber.
With respect to claim 12:
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., and Schmidt et al. do not disclose wherein the computer (17) is further adapted to obtain demographic features of comorbidities derived from a patient's health record and compare (1560) both the demographic features and the spectrogram features with the model to determine the degree of severity of the respiratory disease.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose demographic features of comorbidities derived from a patient's health record and using a model with those features to determine a degree of severity of the respiratory disease.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches demographic features of comorbidities derived from patient health records and machine learning models that take in clinical records and demographic information as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information such as spectrogram features and demographic features with a model to obtain patient insights or health status.
With respect to claim 14:
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Schmidt et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose wherein the respiratory disease is a viral disease.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). This teaches COVID-19 as a respiratory disease, which is a viral disease.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), Paiva et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2019, 14, 2349-2369), Schmidt et al. [US9863882B2], Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1] as applied to claims 10-12 and 14 above, in view of Shin et al. (Molecules, 2020, 25(21), 1-22) and Silva et al. (2019 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN), 2019, 1-7).
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Schmidt et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. are applied to claims 10-12 and 14 above.
With respect to claim 13:
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., and Schmidt et al. do not disclose wherein the model is a combination one or more of a support vector machine (SVM), k nearest neighbors, or random forests, and a convolutional neural network (CNN) model.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19, and that neural networks could use spectra for detection or monitoring of COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose the model comprising of a convolutional neural network.
However, Shin et al. discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) trained on thousands of Raman spectroscopy data to determine similarities or differences between plasma extracellular vesicles (EVs) and lung cancer cell line extracellular vesicles (EVs), which could lead to early cancer diagnosis (pg. 14-15, para. 3). This teaches using CNNs on spectroscopy data in a clinical diagnosis for lung cancer.
Khan et al. and Shin et al. do not disclose the model comprising of a support vector machine (SVM), k nearest neighbors, or random forests.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms including support vector machines or random forest that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 15-19; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches a support vector machine or random forest that take in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information, such as outputs of a CNN applied on spectrogram features, with supervised methods to obtain patient insights or health status.
Khan et al., Shin et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose the model as a combination of a support vector machine or random forest, and a convolutional neural network.
However, Silva et al. discloses a model that generates features using a CNN and supervised machine learning algorithms to classify these features, such as a support vector machine (pg. 1, col. 2, para. 3, lines 5-11; pg. 5, col. 2, para. 4, lines 6-9). This teaches a combination of a support vector machine and a convolutional neural network.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Schmidt et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. to incorporate the convolutional neural network disclosed by Shin et al. and the hybrid model disclosed by Silva et al. One would be motivated to incorporate the convolutional neural network and the hybrid model because Shin et al. discloses that CNN-based algorithms show better prediction accuracy than statistical methods (pg. 14, para. 3). Incorporating CNN-based algorithms into Raman spectroscopy analysis would improve disease prediction accuracy. Silva et al. discloses that the use of a hybrid model (CNN + SVM) gives a better result and a more robust classification algorithm such as an SVM will tend to give better results of accuracy (pg. 5, col. 2, para. 4, lines 6-14). Therefore, incorporating the hybrid CNN-SVM model would improve disease classification accuracy in the Raman spectroscopy analysis. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy, machine learning, and neural networks for disease detection or monitoring, optical fiber-based sensing methods for clinically relevant nanoparticle detection, and thermodynamic Raman spectroscopy are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
With respect to claim 18:
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., and Schmidt et al. do not disclose wherein the applying of the learning method comprises a training of a first set of encoding blocks of a convolutional neural network with the spectrogram features and then further training the convolutional neural network with the demographic features.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19, and that neural networks could use spectra for detection or monitoring of COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose the model comprising of a convolutional neural network.
However, Shin et al. discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) trained on thousands of Raman spectroscopy data to determine similarities or differences between plasma extracellular vesicles (EVs) and lung cancer cell line extracellular vesicles (EVs), which could lead to early cancer diagnosis (pg. 14-15, para. 3). This teaches using CNNs on spectroscopy data in a clinical diagnosis for lung cancer.
Khan et al. and Shin et al. do not disclose using spectrogram features and demographic features in a model.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms including support vector machines or random forest that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 15-19; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches a support vector machine or random forest that take in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information such as spectrogram features and demographic features with a model to obtain patient insights or health status.
Khan et al., Shin et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose the model as a combination of a support vector machine or random forest, and a convolutional neural network.
However, Silva et al. discloses a model that generates features using a CNN and supervised machine learning algorithms to classify these features, such as a support vector machine (pg. 1, col. 2, para. 3, lines 5-11; pg. 5, col. 2, para. 4, lines 6-9). This teaches a combination of a support vector machine and a convolutional neural network. Therefore, it would be obvious to train a convolutional neural network using demographic features and clinical diagnostic information such as spectrogram features.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), in view of Paiva et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2019, 14, 2349-2369), Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1].
With respect to claim 15:
Regarding the recited producing (1520) a light signal from a laser (1), Sahu et al. discloses a Raman system consisting of a laser as an excitation source and employing optical fibers to carry the incident light from the excitation source to the sample (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 4, lines 5-9 and 11-14). This teaches producing light signals from a laser.
Regarding the recited illuminating (1530) with the light signal through a microlens in a sensing probe (8) a series of fluid samples (9) of healthy and diseased patients with known comorbidities and health outcomes, Sahu et al. discloses serum samples being subjected to Raman spectroscopy by employing optical fibers to carry the incident light from the excitation source to the sample (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 4). The light goes through the fiber optic Raman microprobe, which is assembled with a 40X microscopic objective that carries the light to the sample. This teaches illuminating fluid samples with light signals through a lens in a probe.
Sahu et al. does not disclose a microlens.
However, Paiva et al. discloses a fabrication method of the polymeric micro-lens on top of a cleaved end of an optical fiber, where the spherical lens on top of the optical fiber is used to tightly focus the laser beam (pg. 2352, col. 1, para. 2, lines 1-5; pg. 2352, col. 1, para. 3, lines 1-4). This teaches an optical fiber sensing probe with a microlens.
Paiva et al. does not disclose acquiring (1540) a spectrogram from the fluid sample (9).
However, Sahu et al. discloses that the Raman system consists of a laser as an excitation source and a spectrograph coupled with CCD as dispersion and detection elements respectively (pg. 3, col. 1, para. 4, lines 5-9). Spectra were integrated for 10 seconds and averaged over 6 accumulations, and the CCD records a total of 396 spectra under 5 groups (pg. 3, col. 1-2, para. 4, lines 16-25). This teaches acquiring spectrograms from fluid samples.
Paiva et al. does not disclose extracting (1550) a plurality of spectrogram features from the light signal.
However, Sahu et al. discloses observing prominent spectral differences in the amide I region, Phe-ring breathing, δ
C
H
2
deformation, and DNA specific bands when comparing spectra in reference and active groups (pg. 4, col. 2, para. 2). This teaches extracting spectrogram features from light signals.
Sahu et al. and Paiva et al. do not disclose entering (1555) the plurality of demographic features and health outcomes and applying a learning method to the extracted plurality of spectrogram features and the entered plurality of demographic features to correlate the extracted plurality of spectrogram features and the entered plurality of demographic features with the health outcomes to create the model in a database.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose demographic features and health outcomes and using a model to correlate spectrogram features and demographic features with health outcomes.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, lab data, and obstetric complications (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches demographic features and health outcomes as part of a patient’s health records and machine learning models that take in clinical records and demographic information as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to correlate clinical information such as spectrogram features and demographic features with a model to obtain patient insights or health status.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al. to incorporate the microlens disclosed by Paiva et al., defining spectroscopy data as a clinical diagnostic disclosed by Khan et al., and a model utilizing clinical records to obtain patient insights disclosed by Zhang et al. One would be motivated to incorporate the microlens, temperature measurement device, spectroscopy data as a clinical diagnostic, and a model for obtaining patient insights because Paiva et al. discloses that their proposed technique ensured an optimal performance of 100% accuracy in detecting nanoparticles for a concentration above or equal to 3.89 µg/mL (8.74E+10 particles/mL) (pg. 2349, Results and discussion). Incorporating a microlens into the Raman spectroscopy analysis will ensure the highest accuracy in disease detection. Khan et al. discloses that spectroscopic techniques can be of immense value for rapid, accurate, and relatively cost-effective methods of both detecting and monitoring infections (pg. 2, col. 2, para. 1, lines 16-18). This means Raman spectroscopy data as a clinical tool would be fast, accurate, and less costly. Zhang et al. discloses that the machine learning algorithms listed share traits of being high-performing (high sensitivity/precision) and interpretable (pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 8-10). Incorporating this model for obtaining patient insights would improve performance of Raman spectroscopy analysis. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy and machine learning for disease detection or monitoring and optical fiber-based sensing methods for clinically relevant nanoparticle detection are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
With respect to claim 16:
Sahu et al. and Paiva et al. do not disclose wherein the learning method is at least one of a supervised learning method, such as a support vector machine, an unsupervised learning method, such as clustering algorithms, or a regression model.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose a supervised or unsupervised learning method.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms including support vector machines or random forest that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 15-19; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches supervised machine learning models that take in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to correlate clinical information such as spectrogram features with patient data using supervised or unsupervised methods to obtain patient insights or health status.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), Paiva et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2019, 14, 2349-2369), Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1] as applied to claims 15-16 above, in view of Shin et al. (Molecules, 2020, 25(21), 1-22) and Silva et al. (2019 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN), 2019, 1-7).
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. are applied to claims 15-16 above.
With respect to claim 17:
Sahu et al. and Paiva et al. do not disclose wherein the applying of the learning method comprises a training a convolutional neural network using the spectrogram features and then training a support vector machine using an output of the trained convolutional neural network and the demographic features.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). Also, further discloses that spectroscopy coupled with a multivariate analysis approach could be a powerful tool to explore biomolecules, and deep neural networks could be customized to learn spectra and make predictions regarding the spectra (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 4, lines 1-7). This teaches that spectroscopy can be used as a clinical diagnostic for respiratory diseases such as COVID-19, and that neural networks could use spectra for detection or monitoring of COVID-19.
Khan et al. does not disclose the model comprising of a convolutional neural network.
However, Shin et al. discloses a convolutional neural network (CNN) trained on thousands of Raman spectroscopy data to determine similarities or differences between plasma extracellular vesicles (EVs) and lung cancer cell line extracellular vesicles (EVs), which could lead to early cancer diagnosis (pg. 14-15, para. 3). This teaches using CNNs on spectroscopy data in a clinical diagnosis for lung cancer.
Khan et al. and Shin et al. do not disclose using spectrogram features and demographic features in a model.
However, Zhang et al. discloses a postpartum depression prediction framework, which comprises of a database including electronic health records (EHR) for patients, such as demographic data, medical comorbidity diagnosis data, and lab data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 11-15). Also, further discloses machine learning algorithms including support vector machines or random forest that classify and reports the patient’s estimated risk of developing postpartum depression based on patient data (pg. 1, col. 2, para. [0008], lines 15-19; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0078], lines 1-8; pg. 11, col. 1, para. [0080]). This teaches a support vector machine that takes in clinical records and other stored patient data as input to predict postpartum depression. Therefore, it would be obvious to compare clinical information such as spectrogram features and demographic features with a model to obtain patient insights or health status.
Khan et al., Shin et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose the model as a combination of a support vector machine and a convolutional neural network.
However, Silva et al. discloses a model that generates features using a CNN and supervised machine learning algorithms to classify these features, such as a support vector machine (pg. 1, col. 2, para. 3, lines 5-11; pg. 5, col. 2, para. 4, lines 6-9). This teaches a combination of a support vector machine and a convolutional neural network. Therefore, it would be obvious to construct a learning method comprising a convolutional neural network using clinical diagnostic information such as spectrogram features, and proceed to use its outputs in a support vector machine along with demographic features.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. to incorporate the convolutional neural network disclosed by Shin et al. and the hybrid model disclosed by Silva et al. One would be motivated to incorporate the convolutional neural network and the hybrid model because Shin et al. discloses that CNN-based algorithms show better prediction accuracy than statistical methods (pg. 14, para. 3). Incorporating CNN-based algorithms into Raman spectroscopy analysis would improve disease prediction accuracy. Silva et al. discloses that the use of a hybrid model (CNN + SVM) gives a better result and a more robust classification algorithm such as an SVM will tend to give better results of accuracy (pg. 5, col. 2, para. 4, lines 6-14). Therefore, incorporating the hybrid CNN-SVM model would improve disease classification accuracy in the Raman spectroscopy analysis. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy, machine learning, and neural networks for disease detection or monitoring and optical fiber-based sensing methods for clinically relevant nanoparticle detection are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahu et al. (PLoS ONE, 2013, 8(11), 1-13), Paiva et al. (International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2019, 14, 2349-2369), Khan et al. (Expert Review of Molecular Diagnostics, 2020, 1-3), and Zhang et al. [US20210375468A1] as applied to claims 15-16 above, in view of Newberry et al. [US20200253562A1].
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. are applied to claims 15-16 above.
With respect to claim 19:
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Khan et al., and Zhang et al. do not disclose using time and frequency features of the light signal in the learning method.
However, Newberry et al. discloses parameters for PPG signals from light including time delay and/or pulse shape correlation between PPG signals at different depths of tissue, and periodicity of PPG signals including a frequency domain analysis (pg. 3, col. 1, para. [0025], lines 1-3; pg. 23-24, col. 2, para. [0314]; pg. 24, col. 1, para. [0316], lines 1-7). Also, further discloses processing these parameters through a neural network or machine learning algorithm to determine health data, which includes a diagnosis of whether an infection is present in the patient (pg. 25, col. 1, para. [0327], lines 1-7). This teaches using time features and frequency derived features from light signals in a learning method.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Raman spectroscopy analysis disclosed by Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Khan et al. and Zhang et al. to incorporate extracting time and frequency features disclosed by Newberry et al. One would be motivated to incorporate time and frequency features in Raman spectroscopy because the biosensor disclosed by Newberry et al. is a cost-effective and quick screening tool (pg. 20, col. 2, para [0269], lines 5-7). Therefore, incorporating extraction of time and frequency features from light signals would decrease costs in Raman spectroscopy analysis and make it faster. There is a likelihood of success, since using spectroscopy, machine learning, and photoplethysmography optical techniques for disease detection or monitoring and optical fiber-based sensing methods for clinically relevant nanoparticle detection are well known techniques in the field of biomedical engineering.
With respect to claim 20:
Sahu et al., Paiva et al., Zhang et al., and Newberry et al. do not disclose wherein the respiratory disease is a viral disease.
However, Khan et al. discloses that Raman spectroscopy (RS) can help in diagnosing infections at the point of care and aim to use Raman spectroscopy as a diagnostic technique to analyze COVID-19 samples (pg. 2, col. 1, para. 2, lines 3-7; pg. 2, col. 2, para. 2). This teaches COVID-19 as a respiratory disease, which is a viral disease.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1686
/Karlheinz R. Skowronek/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1687