DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 and 19-24 in the reply filed on December 29, 2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 29, 2025 is entered.
Claims 8-19 and 25-34 are cancelled.
Claims 35-44 are newly added.
Claims 1-7, 20-22, and 35-44 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-22 and 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Claims 20-22 and 42-44: Claims 20 and 42 each recite the limitation “the cover body.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in these claims.
Dependent claims 21, 22, 43, and 44 are rejected due to dependency upon rejected claims 20 and 42.
Re. Claims 22 and 44: Claim 22 possesses multiple issues of indefiniteness:
Claim 22 recites “wherein the airbag cover further comprises an elastic protrusion.” However, claim 21 already states “wherein the airbag cover further comprises an elastic protrusion.” It is unclear whether this is an additional airbag cover to that recited in claim 21 or whether it is the same element.
Claim 22 recites “a third elastic component.” However, a first and second elastic component are not claimed earlier in the dependency chain. It is unclear how many elastic components are required in the claim.
Claim 44 recites limitations of claim 22 verbatim and possess identical issues of indefiniteness.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Re. Claim 5: Claim 4 (from which claim 5 depends) requires “an air nozzle installation hole” and “an air nozzle.” Claim 5 recites: “wherein there is one air nozzle installation hole, and there is one air nozzle.” However, claim 5 does not preclude the invention from possessing more than one air nozzle installation hole and more than one air nozzle, and thus possesses the same scope as claim 4, and therefore fails to further limit claim 4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 20, 35, 39, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Iwata et al. (US 20190298181 A1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Iwata).
Re. Claims 1, 35, and 39: Iwata teaches A wearable device (Paragraph 0048: “Therefore, the sphygmomanometer 1 is configured as a multifunctional device having a form of a watch-type wearable device”),
comprising:
a watch body (Fig. 6: portions other than back lid 10C are interpreted as a watch body);
an airbag (Fig. 2: cuff structure 20),
wherein the airbag is detachably connected to an end of the watch body (Fig. 7: components of cuff structure 20 attached via back lid 10C; Paragraph 0061: “The back lid 10C has four through-holes 10C1, 10C2, 10C3, 10C4 and is fixed to the back side of the case 10B by screws not shown through the through-holes 10C1, 10C2, 10C3, 10C4;” Examiner notes that screws are removable; Paragraph 0066: “When the cuff structure 20 including the curler 24 is attached to the main body 10, the flexible tube 39 from the pressing cuff 23 is connected via the lateral pin 390p to the first flow-path forming member 390. The flexible tube 38 from the sensing cuff 21 is connected via the lateral pin 380p to the second flow-path forming member 380”),
the airbag comprises a first layer structure and a second layer structure that are superposed (Fig. 4A: pressing cuff 23 formed of fluid bags 23-2 and 23-1),
the first layer structure has a first cavity, the second layer structure has a second cavity, and the first cavity communicates with the second cavity (Fig. 4A: cavity formed by internal portion of fluid bags 23-2 and 23-1 communicate via through hole 23o) and
an airbag cover (Fig. 7: back lid 10C),
wherein the airbag cover is detachably connected to the watch body (Paragraph 0061: “The back lid 10C has four through-holes 10C1, 10C2, 10C3, 10C4 and is fixed to the back side of the case 10B by screws not shown”), and
the airbag is operable to be fastened to the watch body using the airbag cover (Fig. 7: cuff structure comprising curler 24 is attached via back lid 10C; see Paragraph 0066: “When the cuff structure 20 including the curler 24 is attached to the main body 10, the flexible tube 39 from the pressing cuff 23 is connected via the lateral pin 390p to the first flow-path forming member 390”);
an air nozzle disposed on the second layer structure, the air nozzle comprising an air hole connected to the second cavity (Fig. 3A: flexible tube 39 inserted in fluid bag 23-2 which ends in an air hole (i.e., the end of the flexible tube) within fluid bag 23-2 as shown in Fig. 3B); and
a support protrusion disposed on the air nozzle that is inside the second layer structure, the support protrusion is disposed on a peripheral side of the air hole (Fig. 3B: the portion of the end of the flexible tube 39 disposed inside fluid bag 23-2 may be considered a “support protrusion;” Examiner notes that no context is provided for the term “peripheral” and any portion of the end of the flexible tube 39 within the fluid bag 23-2 may be considered “peripheral” to at least some other component).
Re. Claim 2: Iwata teaches the invention according to claim 1. Iwata further teaches the invention wherein the end of the watch body that is detachably connected to the airbag is disposed on a bottom surface of the watch body (Figs. 1, 2; Figs. 7, 9: an end of the watch body may be considered the inner case member 11),
wherein the end is provided with an installation slot, wherein both the airbag and the airbag cover is operable to be installed in the installation slot (Figs. 6-9: edges and inner portions of the inner case member are provided with recessed portions to accept the cuff structure 20 and back lid 10C), and
wherein the airbag and airbag cover are detachably connected to the watch body (Fig. 7: cuff structure comprising curler 24 is attached via back lid 10C; see Paragraph 0066: “When the cuff structure 20 including the curler 24 is attached to the main body 10, the flexible tube 39 from the pressing cuff 23 is connected via the lateral pin 390p to the first flow-path forming member 390”).
Re. Claim 4: Iwata teaches the invention according to claim 2. Iwata further teaches the invention wherein the watch body comprises
an air chamber (Fig. 10: interior of pressing cuff 20),
an air pump (Fig. 10: pump 30), and
a pressure sensor (Fig. 10: first pressure sensor 31 and/or second pressure sensor 32),
wherein the air chamber has an air nozzle installation hole and an air inlet/air outlet (Figs. 3B, 4A: see portion of fluid bag 23-2 receiving flexible tube 39; Examiner notes that this also acts as an inlet/outlet for air; alternatively or additionally, see citation below regarding how pump communicates with atmosphere),
wherein an air supply opening of the air pump communicates with the air inlet/air outlet (Paragraph 0076: “The pump 30 is equipped with an exhaust valve (not shown) controlled to open and close in accordance with on/off of the pump 30. Specifically, when the pump 30 is turned on, the exhaust valve closes to assist enclosing air in the pressing cuff 23, and when the pump 30 is turned off, the exhaust valve opens to discharge the air in the pressing cuff 23 to the atmosphere through the flexible tube 39 and the first flow-path forming member 390. This exhaust valve has a function of a check valve so that the air to be discharged does not flow backward.”), and
wherein the pressure sensor is configured to detect barometric pressure in the air chamber (Fig. 10: first pressure sensor 31 is configured to detect pressure in cuff 22 under atmospheric pressure compression, i.e., barometric pressure); and
wherein an air nozzle is disposed on the second layer structure, an air hole of the air nozzle communicates with the second cavity, and the air nozzle is inserted into the air nozzle installation hole (Figs. 3B, 4A: flexible tube 39 is inserted into the portion of fluid bag 23-2 configured to receive it).
Re. Claim 5: Iwata teaches the invention according to claim 4. Iwata further teaches the invention wherein there is one air nozzle installation hole, and there is one air nozzle (Fig. 3B: there is one air nozzle installation hole (see the portion of fluid bag 23-2 configured to receive flexible tube 39) and one air nozzle (flexible tube 39)).
Re. Claims 20 and 42: Iwata teaches the invention according to claims 1 and 39. Iwata further teaches the invention wherein the airbag cover further comprises a pressing plate, and the pressing plate is fastened to the cover body (Figs. 1, 2, 7: curler 24 attached to the back of main body 10 via back lid 10C); and
the pressing plate is provided with an air nozzle hole (Fig. 7: see root portion 24f having openings for accommodating lateral pin 390p for attaching flexible tube 39),
a part of the airbag on which the air nozzle is disposed is located between the pressing plate and the cover body (Fig. 6: see location of lateral pin 390p), and
the air nozzle extends out of the air nozzle hole (view Fig. 6 in light of attachment described in Paragraph 0066: “Paragraph 0066: “When the cuff structure 20 including the curler 24 is attached to the main body 10, the flexible tube 39 from the pressing cuff 23 is connected via the lateral pin 390p to the first flow-path forming member 390”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Iwata et al. (US 20190298181 A1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Iwata) in view of
Mou et al. (US 20200129122 A1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Mou).
Re. Claim 3: Iwata teaches the invention according to claim 2, but does not teach the invention wherein the wearable device further comprises
a photoplethysmography (PPG) module, and
an electrocardiogram (ECG) detection module, and
the PPG module and ECG detection module are disposed on the bottom surface of the watch body.
Mou teaches analogous art in the technology of wrist-worn health monitoring devices (Abstract). Mou further teaches the invention wherein the wearable device further comprises
a photoplethysmography (PPG) module (Figs. 2A-3B: biometric monitoring module having photoelectric sensor 32 and impedance sensor 34; Paragraph 0040: “. The health data information measured by the photoelectric sensor 32 includes heart rate data information, electrocardiogram data information and blood pressure data information”) and
an electrocardiogram (ECG) detection module (see previous citation, particularly “electrocardiogram data information”), and
the PPG module and ECG detection module are disposed on the bottom surface of the watch body (see previous citation of figures).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Iwata to include additional modalities for sensing such as PPG and ECG as taught by Mou, the motivation being that doing so provides additional health data for the user. Additionally or alternatively, such a modification is a combination of old elements (i.e., known sensors of ECG and PPG as taught by Mou with a wrist-mounted device as taught by Iwata), whereby in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 6, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Iwata et al. (US 20190298181 A1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Iwata) in view of
Kuroshaki et al. (US 5660182 A) (hereinafter – Kuroshaki).
Re. Claims 6, 36, and 40: Iwata teaches the invention according to claims 4, 36, and 39, but does not teach the invention further comprising a first flexible inner object is disposed in the first layer structure, and at least a part of the first flexible inner object is fastened to an inner wall of the first layer structure.
Kuroshaki teaches analogous art in the technology of blood pressure measurement cuffs (Abstract). Kuroshaki further teaches the invention further comprising a first flexible inner object is disposed in the first layer structure, and at least a part of the first flexible inner object is fastened to an inner wall of the first layer structure (Col. 25, lines 15-20: “In the fifth embodiment, a flexible spacer having a number of straight ridges and grooves, or having corrugation may be provided in the pressing bag 314, so that air is permitted to more easily flow through the cuff 380 when the pressing bag 314 is put in vacuum by the air pump 322”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified one or more fluid bags of Iwata to include a flexible spacer as taught by Kuroshaki, the motivation being that doing so enables fluid to flow more easily through the cuff (see citation above).
Claims 7, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Iwata et al. (US 20190298181 A1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Iwata) in view of
Xia et al. (US 20230019122 A1) (hereinafter – Xia).
Re. Claims 7, 37, and 38: Iwata teaches the invention according to claims 4 and 36, but does not teach the invention wherein further comprising a second flexible inner object disposed in the second layer structure, and an end of the second flexible inner object is connected to the air nozzle.
Xia teaches analogous art in the technology of inflatable blood pressure cuff devices (Abstract). Xia teaches the invention further comprising a second flexible inner object disposed in the second layer structure, and an end of the second flexible inner object is connected to the air nozzle (Fig. 9: second pipe section 32 attached to fluid pipeline 3 from pump 21 is attached to the inner wall of airbag 1 as described in Paragraph 0094).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Iwata to include the piping system as taught by Xia, the motivation being that Iwata connects an inlet and outlet to cuff 20 at a single point (i.e., the flexible pipe 39) and measures pressure therefrom (Fig. 10); thus, including a flexible bent pipe section for inflation having its outlet spaced at an angle from the flow path to a pressure sensor as taught by Xia ensures stable air intake and reduces interference when measuring pressure (Paragraphs 0011, 0074), and having the pipe being flexible prevents normal deformation of the airbag (Paragraph 0094).
Claims 37 and 38 merely recite limitations of claim 7 separately and thus are rejected analogously to claim 7.
Claims 21 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Iwata et al. (US 20190298181 A1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Iwata) in view of
Wai et al. (US 20140221854 A1) (hereinafter – Wai).
Re. Claims 21 and 43: Iwata teaches the invention according to claims 20 and 42. Iwata teaches the invention according to claim 20, but does not teach the invention wherein the airbag cover further comprises an elastic protrusion, the cover body has an accommodating cavity, the elastic protrusion is disposed at the accommodating cavity, and the elastic protrusion is operable to move in a direction toward or away from the accommodating cavity. Iwata teaches a back lid 10C can be attached to the watch via screws (Paragraph 0061).
Wai teaches analogous art in the technology of a wearable physiological sensor device (Title; Abstract). Wait further teaches the invention wherein the airbag cover further comprises an elastic protrusion (Fig. 5: spring contact 502),
the cover body has an accommodating cavity, the elastic protrusion is disposed at the accommodating cavity (Fig. 5: see region of cover 506 where spring contacts are maintained), and
the elastic protrusion is operable to move in a direction toward or away from the accommodating cavity (Fig. 5: implicit in the arrangement of spring contacts within cover 506).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Iwata to have utilized spring contacts to attach a cover to a main body as taught by Wai, the motivation being that the user no longer requires the use of a tool, e.g., a screw driver, to remove the back lid to access internal components of the device.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Iwata et al. (US 20190298181 A1) (disclosed by Applicant) (hereinafter – Iwata) in view of
Kuroshaki et al. (US 5660182 A) (hereinafter – Kuroshaki) in further view of
Xia et al. (US 20230019122 A1) (hereinafter – Xia).
Re. Claim 41: Iwata as modified by Kuroshaki teaches the invention according to claim 40. Claim 41 recites limitations analogous to those of claim 37. Xia teaches such limitations. Modification of Iwata as modified by Kuroshaki would be identical to the motivation described in the rejection of claim 37.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 22 and 44 do not have prior art rejections.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791