Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geere DE102012011607.
With respect to claim 15, Giere discloses a method for producing a cell-contacting system 100 for a cell assembly of energy storage cells of an electrical energy store [0001; Abstract], the method comprising:
forming a first part of a conductive pattern 23 for interconnection of the energy storage cells by structuring of a conductive material 22/23, wherein the structuring comprises extraction of cut-outs from the conductive material 23; [0026-0029; 0043]
integrating the structured conductive material 22/23 in an electrically insulating carrier 21 by joining [0010; 0017-0021; 0026-0027; 0043], which is achieved by primary forming of an insulating material 21, wherein the insulating material, for a purpose of mechanically connecting conductor tracks of the conductive pattern 23, is arranged at least locally in the cut-outs [0027], and wherein access openings 27 are formed in the insulating material 21 for exposure of conductor track sections 23 serving as cell contacts, and for configuration of at least one second part of the conductive pattern [Figure 1]; and
forming the at least one second part of the conductive pattern by further structuring of the conductive material 23, wherein further cut-outs are extracted from the conductive material via the access openings in the insulating material 21.[0027-0030]
Giere discloses wherein at least one bending edge 24 is configured in the carrier by forming line-shaped material recesses in the carrier and wherein, by way of the at least one bending edge 24, at least one edge region of the cell- contacting system is folded to form a frame which at least partially encloses the cell assembly [Figure 1].
Although Giere does not specifically disclose wherein forming line-shaped material recesses in the carrier are configured during primary forming of the insulating material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to change the order of steps to form the line-shaped material recesses in the carrier during primary forming of the insulating material. The courts have held that selection of any order of performing process steps and order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (forming the line-shaped material recesses in the carrier before or after primary forming). See In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330, (CPA 1946) and In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPG 230 (CCPA 1930) (see MPEP § 2144.04)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the cell-contacting system of Giere, to form the line-shaped material recesses in the carrier during primary forming of the insulating material in order to reduce the number of steps since the courts have held that selection of any order of performing process steps and order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330, (CPA 1946) and In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPG 230 (CCPA 1930) (see MPEP § 2144.04)
With respect to claim 16, Giere discloses wherein the cut-outs are extracted from the conductive material by stamping. [0005-0010; 0043]
With respect to claim 17, Giere discloses wherein the structured conductive material 23, for joining by primary forming, is over-molded in the insulating material 21. [0030-0031; Figure 1; 0043]
With respect to claim 18, Giere discloses wherein during the primary forming of the insulating material 21, locators 32 for the energy storage cells are produced. [Figure 1; 0043-0048]
With respect to claim 19, Giere discloses wherein by the structuring of the conductive material 22/23, conductor track sections 23 are produced in a form of power terminals for contact-connection of the cell assembly. [0040-0047]
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geere DE102012011607 as applied to claim 15 above in further view of Ota et al. (US2018/0047968)
With respect to claim 20, Giere discloses wherein the conductor track sections which form the cell contacts emanate from the carrier in a stepped arrangement Figure 1]
Giere does not disclose wherein the conductor track sections which form the cell contacts emanate from the carrier in a stepped arrangement, and form a planar, leaf spring-like contact surface.
Ota et al. discloses a cell-contacting system for a cell assembly of energy storage cells wherein the conductor track sections form a planar, leaf spring-like contact surface [Figure 15A; Figure 15B-Figure 20; 0090-0096]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the cell-contacting system of Giere, to include wherein the conductor track sections which form the cell contacts emanate from the carrier in a stepped arrangement, and form a planar, leaf spring-like contact surface, as disclosed in Ota et al., in order to allow for simplified mounting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ichikawa et al. US 2016/0268577
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751