Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-12 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/27/2026. Applicant’s argument that the shared technical feature of claim 1 is a special technical feature is not found persuasive as demonstrated by the rejection of the subject matter of claim 1 below.
Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1-5 and 13-16 in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (WO 2020260444 A1, A PDF version is included in the 3rd party IDS filed 10/29/2024).
Regarding claims 1-3, and 15, Lin teaches an ionic liquid that has a cation and an anion, where the anion consists of bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide and the onium anion consists of alkyl imidazolium, which is an imidazolium ion. Further, only ionic liquids with a high quality, 20-10 Hazen units, achieve the correct properties (pg. 4 line 28 – pg. 5 line 4).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the purity is 99.9% which is significantly above the 90% in the instant application (pg. 4 line 29).
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the ionic liquid is part of an electrolyte (pg. 5 line 7-8) which can be input into an electrochemical cell (pg. 7 line 9) which has an anode and a cathode (pg. 6 line 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (WO 2020260444 A1, A PDF version is included in the 3rd party IDS filed 10/29/2024).
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the halides, F-- and Cl-, are less than 1 ppm, and Na+ and K+ is less than 10 ppm. While SO42- is not specified, an ionic liquid purity of 99.9% (pg. 4 line 29), as well as the low ppm of the other impurities, shows that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that any unspecified impurities, such as SO42-, are understood to be present in extremely low or negligible amounts in order to achieve the desired device energy density.
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (WO 2020260444 A1, A PDF version is included in the 3rd party IDS filed 10/29/2024) in view of Zarkesh et al. (US 10686234 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Lin teaches claim 13 as described above but is silent to a battery comprising the electrochemical cell. Zarkesh teaches an ionic liquid that contains an anion such as bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (Zarkesh, column 4, lines 3-4), which is also present in Lin as an equivalent to bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (Lin, pg. 5 line 2). Zarkesh further teaches that the resulting ionic liquid is used in batteries (Zarkesh column 4, line 38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to take the electrochemical cell of Lin as described in claim 13, and use it in a battery as taught by Zarkesh as doing so provides an increased device energy density (Lin, pg. 4 line 31).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches claim 1 as described above but is silent to the ionic liquid being contacted with a decolorizing agent comprising activated carbon. Zarkesh teaches an ionic liquid that contains an anion such as bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (Zarkesh, column 4, lines 3-4), which is also present in Lin as an equivalent to bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (Lin, pg. 5 line 2). Zarkesh further teaches that the Ionic liquid is purified by treating it with activated carbon until it is clear and colorless (Zarkesh column 7, line 19-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to take the ionic liquid of Lin as taught in claim 1, and introduce it to activated carbon in order to further purify the ionic liquid to ensure 99.9% purity so that the resulting device has a higher energy density (Lin, pg. 4 line 31).
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743