DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1 and 3-19 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/21/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 15 recite ‘the transformation’; however, it should recite - - a transformation - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 11-14, the claims recite “The automated method of claim 2”. Claim 2 has been canceled, and it is unclear which claim is intended to be the parent claim. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: The automated method of claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosendo (US 20120302303 A1, published 11/29/2012) in view of WOWCube® System product introduction (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mH8A2zwCKCc, published 09/16/2019, see attached screen captures), hereinafter Wowcube, in further view of Seo et al. (US 20130154970 A1, published 06/20/2013), hereinafter Seo.
Regarding claim 1, Rosendo teaches the claim comprising:
An automated method for facilitating an interactive gaming environment in a variable multi-display arrangement, said automated method comprising (Rosendo Figs. 1-29; abs., A geometric toy having a two or more axes originating from the center of the toy. The geometric toy includes cubelets. A predetermined number of the cubelets are rotatable about the axes. Display screens are connected to the cubelets and allow for the display of preprogrammed images. At least one microprocessor is in communication with the display screens to control the display of images on the display screens; [0029], In a solved state, cube 10 has six sides, with each side made up of nine small cubelets each of which having a display indicating they are part of that side (see FIG. 5); [0069], In preferred embodiments the images that are placed on the screens 22 are dynamic and configurable. The images are preferably changed through sophisticated electronics, internal gyroscopes and accelerometers, that can sense the X,Y,Z axis movement in which cube 10 is being held in three-dimensional space. The combination of these sophisticated electronics and equally sophisticated software algorithms can detect motion-sensitive gestures and respond accordingly through sophisticated software algorithms thus configuring itself and changing itself in real-time based on user generated gestures);
compiling or receiving at least two various subsets of images; assigning rules of interacting for elements, wherein the elements belong to different subsets of the images; and deploying one or more modes of processing resulting images (Rosendo Figs. 1-29; [0068], Each screen 22, forming 1/9 of the still image or video (FIG. 17). Hence each of the images on a side 6 can be used to provide the puzzle similar to that of a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM; [0027], FIG. 24 shows cube 10 displaying a newspaper page on one side, a clock on another side and a stock chart on yet another side; [0069], the images that are placed on the screens 22 are dynamic and configurable; [0071], Cube 10 is preferably provided with a "time out" setting that will cause the system to go into "sleep mode" if the timeout expires wherein either; the screens 22 turn off, or alternatively, the screens 22 begin a predetermined display mode, either displaying still images or a predetermined video; [0073], Cube 10 can function as a puzzle similar to a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM.. Each of the sides 6 presents an image that is preselected either through an automated process or by the user. One of many advantages over the traditional prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM. device is that the number of puzzles (a minimum of 256) is configurable and selectable by the user; [0084], Screens 22 are preferably provided with touch sensitivity to control the GUI for cube 10 or other control mechanisms are preferably applied to control the GUI such as control by the computation element; [0089], cube 10 can display a startup banner that is user configurable reading "Alexia's Cube" or "Antonio's Cube", etc. The banner can rotate around the sides 6 until a predetermined time, such as once cube 10 has fully booted (ready for user interaction); [0090], The user via cube 10 software preferably selects digital images for a puzzle that will be displayed on the sides 6 for the currently active puzzle. The user can select the puzzle by interacting with cube 10; [0109], Cube 10 is preferably provided with touch/motion sensitive interfaces that allows the user to access Administrator capabilities. This allows the user to Enter PIN code to lock/unlock or enter Administrator mode on cube 10. Once in Administrator mode the user has the ability to configure elements, turn cube 10 on or off, select new puzzles, select a slide show to play, associated music themes, descramble a current puzzle on cube 10, select music lists to play or turn wireless capability on/or off, for example)
However, Rosendo fails to expressly disclose wherein one or more subsets of the images are defined as selectors and reference frames, wherein the selectors are movable, and the reference frames are static, wherein the selectors move from a display of a multi display system to an adjacent display of the multi display system, wherein a plurality of displays of the multi display system transform based on changing a relative position of the plurality of displays, wherein a motion of the selectors is implemented at a velocity. In the same field of endeavor, Wowcube teaches:
wherein one or more subsets of the images are defined as selectors and reference frames, wherein the selectors are movable, and the reference frames are static, wherein the selectors move from a display of a multi display system to an adjacent display of the multi display system, wherein a plurality of displays of the multi display system transform based on changing a relative position of the plurality of displays, wherein a motion of the selectors is implemented at a velocity (Wowcube Screen Captures pg. 1, Expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills; [01:47], movement of numbers occurs by inertia; see [00:00 – 02:48], video shows a multi-screen display system including a plurality of interconnected displays situated both in the same plane and in different planes that are intersecting and parallel; at least one microprocessor associated with a corresponding at least one of the displays; and a spatial-position sensor associated with a corresponding at least one of the displays; wherein the at least one microprocessor is operative to perform: compiling or receiving at least two various subsets of images; assigning rules of interacting of elements belonging to different subsets of images; and deploying one or more modes of processing resulting images; [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], reference frames (static images shown to be indifferent to inertia, see claim 9) are shown as unmoving images while cursors (“shake the cube when the cursor is on the desired game”) are shown as subject to an inertial interface that causes scrolling from a first display to an adjacent display based on changing relative positions of the displays; [01:40 – 02:00], reference frames (unmoving images shown to be indifferent to inertia, see claim 9) are shown as unmoving images while number blocks are shown as subject to an inertial interface that causes scrolling from a first display to an adjacent display based on changing a relative position of the display)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein one or more subsets of the images are defined as selectors and reference frames, wherein the selectors are movable, and the reference frames are static, wherein the selectors move from a display of a multi display system to an adjacent display of the multi display system, wherein a plurality of displays of the multi display system transform based on changing a relative position of the plurality of displays, wherein a motion of the selectors is implemented at a velocity as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
However, Rosendo in view of Wowcube fail to expressly disclose a velocity proportional to a speed of the transformation of the plurality of displays. In the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches:
a velocity proportional to a speed of the transformation of the plurality of displays (Seo Figs. 1-11; [0011], If a user's manipulation is sensed, directing to rotate about an axis of rolling of the display device in the rolled state, the control unit may move a location of an object displayed on the screen of the display unit according to a direction of rotation; [0048] For example, the sensing unit 120 senses the state of bending, rotating, or touching of the display unit 110; The above manipulation states may be sensed through a variety of sensors. For example, the sensing unit 120 may include at least one of a touch sensor, a band sensor, a motion sensor, a pressure sensor, and a tilt sensor; [0063], the control unit 130 may move a location of an object displayed on the screen of the display unit 110 according to the direction of rotation and display the result. The control unit 130 may analyze the angle and speed of rotation using the gyro sensors and acceleration sensors provided at the sensing unit 220, and control the information on the screen to rotate in the direction of rotation; [0080], Referring to FIG. 3A, if a display device in rolled state is rotated about the axis of rolling, the location of the object displayed on the screen may also change according to the direction of rotation of the display device as illustrated in FIG. 3B. For example, if the display device in rolled state is rotated clockwise, the objects displayed on the screen may be automatically scrolled clockwise. Further, although not illustrated, the speed at which the objects displayed on the screen are scrolled may be adjusted to correspond to the rotation speed of the display device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a velocity proportional to a speed of the transformation of the plurality of displays as suggested in Seo into Rosendo in view of Wowcube. Doing so would be desirable because the present invention relates generally to a display device and method (see Seo [0003]). Previous transformable displays adopt the same inputs as rigid screens providing no distinctive operations or display characteristics (see Seo [0006]). The present invention is designed to address at least the problems and/or disadvantages described above (see Seo [0007]). While the present invention has been particularly shown and described with reference to certain embodiments thereof, it will be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art that various changes in form and details may be made therein without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention (see Seo [0108]). Additionally, the system of Seo would improve the systems of Rosendo and Wowcube by better enabling the user to interact with a multi-display in a variety of desired ways. Seo’s rate of scrolling based on rate of screen rotation/transformation would provide improved responsiveness and visual feedback to the user when rotating/transforming the displays of Rosendo and Wowcube, thereby increasing ease of use and user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 3, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein a subset of the images defined as the selectors is subject to an inertial interface, wherein being subject to the inertial interface corresponds to being sensitive to scrolling (Wowcube [01:47], movement of numbers occurs by inertia; [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], cursors shown following inertial scrolling passes between neighboring displays located in the same plane conserving both the projection of a velocity on a border line of neighboring displays and a projection of the velocity normal to this line; [01:40 – 02:00], number blocks shown following inertial scrolling passes between neighboring displays located in the same plane conserving both the projection of a velocity on a border line of neighboring displays and a projection of the velocity normal to this line; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein a subset of the images defined as the selectors is subject to an inertial interface, wherein being subject to the inertial interface corresponds to being sensitive to scrolling as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 4, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
scrolling for a predetermined time interval (Rosendo Figs. 1-29; Each screen 22, forming 1/9 of the still image or video (FIG. 17). Hence each of the images on a side 6 can be used to provide the puzzle similar to that of a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM; [0027], FIG. 24 shows cube 10 displaying a newspaper page on one side, a clock on another side and a stock chart on yet another side; [0069], the images that are placed on the screens 22 are dynamic and configurable; [0071], Cube 10 is preferably provided with a "time out" setting that will cause the system to go into "sleep mode" if the timeout expires wherein either; the screens 22 turn off, or alternatively, the screens 22 begin a predetermined display mode, either displaying still images or a predetermined video; [0089], cube 10 can display a startup banner that is user configurable reading "Alexia's Cube" or "Antonio's Cube", etc. The banner can rotate around the sides 6 until a predetermined time, such as once cube 10 has fully booted (ready for user interaction); see also [0090], [0109])
Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the scrolling is initiated in response to an action of a user via a user interface, and continues for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the action has stopped (Wowcube [01:47], movement of numbers occurs by inertia for a predetermined time; [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], cursors shown scrolling which is to be initiated in response to an original action of a user via a user interface, continues for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the original action of scrolling has stopped; [01:40 – 02:00], number blocks shown scrolling which is to be initiated in response to an original action of a user via a user interface, continues for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the original action of scrolling has stopped; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the scrolling is initiated in response to an action of a user via a user interface, and continues for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the action has stopped as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 6, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the scrolling is initiated by a change of an entire multi display system orientation in a space based on gravitation causing motion of certain subsets of the images (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], as shown, scrolling of the cursors is initiated by a change of the entire multi display system orientation in space where gravitation of the cursors to new locations is based on the change; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, scrolling of the number blocks is initiated by a change of the entire multi display system orientation in space where gravitation of the number blocks to new locations is based on the change; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the scrolling is initiated by a change of an entire multi display system orientation in a space based on gravitation causing motion of certain subsets of the images as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 7, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors move in a direction of gravitation for predetermined time intervals following a change of positions of the multi display system initiated by the user (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], as shown, scrolling of the cursors continues for predetermined time intervals where gravitation of the cursors to new locations is based on the change; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, scrolling of the number blocks continues for predetermined time intervals where gravitation of the cursors to new locations is based on the change; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors move in a direction of gravitation for predetermined time intervals following a change of positions of the multi display system initiated by the user as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 9, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein a subset of the images defined as the reference frames is indifferent to any inertia, and the subset of the images defined as the reference frames is not subject to the inertial interface, whereby positions of the subset of the images defined as the reference frames in each display of a multi display environment do not change when a position and an orientation of the entire multi display system is changed (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], as shown, reference frames are indifferent to inertia and do not moves when the cursor move responsive to changes in the position and orientation of the display system; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, reference frames are indifferent to inertia and do not moves when the number blocks move responsive to changes in the position and orientation of the display system; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein a subset of the images defined as the reference frames is indifferent to any inertia, and the subset of the images defined as the reference frames is not subject to the inertial interface, whereby positions of the subset of the images defined as the reference frames in each display of a multi display environment do not change when a position and an orientation of the entire multi display system is changed as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 10, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein a subset of the images defined as the reference frames is indifferent to any inertia, and the subset of the images defined as the reference frames is not subject to the inertial interface, whereby positions of the subset of the images defined as the reference frames in each display of a multi display environment do not change in response to user initiated scrolling of other subsets of the images (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], as shown, reference frames are indifferent to inertia and do not move when the cursor moves responsive to user initiated scrolling of other subsets of images; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, reference frames are indifferent to inertia and do not move when the number blocks moves responsive to user initiated scrolling of other subsets of images; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein a subset of the images defined as the reference frames is indifferent to any inertia, and the subset of the images defined as the reference frames is not subject to the inertial interface, whereby positions of the subset of the images defined as the reference frames in each display of a multi display environment do not change in response to user initiated scrolling of other subsets of the images as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 11, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the images change when some elements of a subset of the images defined as the selectors collide with elements of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], as shown, images displayed by the system change when the cursors collide with reference frames; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, images displayed by the system change when the number blocks collide with reference frames; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the images change when some elements of a subset of the images defined as the selectors collide with elements of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 12, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Wowcube further teaches:
when a numerical representation of elements of a subset of the images defined as the selectors meets a numerical representation of elements of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames, a sum is indicated (Wowcube [01:40], the game 2048 is shown, where the objective is merge adjacent similar numbers to reach 2048; [01:45-01:47], selector block labeled 2 collides with reference block labeled 2, and 4 is displayed; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, number blocks are merged and summed; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated when a numerical representation of elements of a subset of the images defined as the selectors meets a numerical representation of elements of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames, a sum is indicated as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 13, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Wowcube further teaches:
when color fields of a subset of the images defined as the selectors meets color fields of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames, colors fuse in a predetermined way (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], as shown, when the color fields of the cursors meet the colors of the reference frames, the colors are fused in a predetermined way; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, when the color fields of the number cubes meet the colors of the reference frames, the colors are fused in a predetermined way; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated when color fields of a subset of the images defined as the selectors meets color fields of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames, colors fuse in a predetermined way as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 14, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein adding an image of a subset of the images defined as the selectors is added to an existing image of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames, creates a different total image and a different game plot in each particular display of a multi display environment and in the multi display system (Wowcube [01:40], the game 2048 is shown, where the objective is merge adjacent similar numbers to reach 2048; [01:45-01:47], block labeled 2 collides with another block labeled two, and 4 is displayed; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, images of the selector subset are added to the existing images of the reference frame subsets thus creating a different total image and a different game plot in each particular display of multi display environment and in the whole multi display system; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein adding an image of a subset of the images defined as the selectors is added to an existing image of a subset of the images defined as the reference frames, creates a different total image and a different game plot in each particular display of a multi display environment and in the multi display system as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 15, Rosendo teaches the claim comprising:
A system comprising: a multi-screen display system including a plurality of displays situated both in a same plane and in different planes that are intersecting and parallel, wherein the plurality of displays are interconnected; at least one microprocessor associated with a corresponding at least one of the plurality of displays; and a spatial-position sensor associated with the corresponding at least one of the plurality of displays (Rosendo Figs. 1-29; abs. A geometric toy having a two or more axes originating from the center of the toy. The geometric toy includes cubelets. A predetermined number of the cubelets are rotatable about the axes. Display screens are connected to the cubelets and allow for the display of preprogrammed images. At least one microprocessor is in communication with the display screens to control the display of images on the display screens; [0029], In a solved state, cube 10 has six sides, with each side made up of nine small cubelets each of which having a display indicating they are part of that side (see FIG. 5); [0069], In preferred embodiments the images that are placed on the screens 22 are dynamic and configurable. The images are preferably changed through sophisticated electronics, internal gyroscopes and accelerometers, that can sense the X,Y,Z axis movement in which cube 10 is being held in three-dimensional space. The combination of these sophisticated electronics and equally sophisticated software algorithms can detect motion-sensitive gestures and respond accordingly through sophisticated software algorithms thus configuring itself and changing itself in real-time based on user generated gestures) ;
wherein the at least one microprocessor is operative to perform: compiling or receiving at least two various subsets of images; assigning rules of interacting for elements, wherein the elements belong to different subsets of the images; and deploying one or more modes of processing resulting images; the scrolling continues for a predetermined time interval (Rosendo Figs. 1-29; [0027], FIG. 24 shows cube 10 displaying a newspaper page on one side, a clock on another side and a stock chart on yet another side; [0068], Each screen 22, forming 1/9 of the still image or video (FIG. 17). Hence each of the images on a side 6 can be used to provide the puzzle similar to that of a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM; [0069], the images that are placed on the screens 22 are dynamic and configurable; [0071], Cube 10 is preferably provided with a "time out" setting that will cause the system to go into "sleep mode" if the timeout expires wherein either; the screens 22 turn off, or alternatively, the screens 22 begin a predetermined display mode, either displaying still images or a predetermined video; [0073], Cube 10 can function as a puzzle similar to a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM.. Each of the sides 6 presents an image that is preselected either through an automated process or by the user. One of many advantages over the traditional prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM. device is that the number of puzzles (a minimum of 256) is configurable and selectable by the user; [0084], Screens 22 are preferably provided with touch sensitivity to control the GUI for cube 10 or other control mechanisms are preferably applied to control the GUI such as control by the computation element; [0089], cube 10 can display a startup banner that is user configurable reading "Alexia's Cube" or "Antonio's Cube", etc. The banner can rotate around the sides 6 until a predetermined time, such as once cube 10 has fully booted (ready for user interaction); [0090], The user via cube 10 software preferably selects digital images for a puzzle that will be displayed on the sides 6 for the currently active puzzle. The user can select the puzzle by interacting with cube 10; [0109], Cube 10 is preferably provided with touch/motion sensitive interfaces that allows the user to access Administrator capabilities. This allows the user to Enter PIN code to lock/unlock or enter Administrator mode on cube 10. Once in Administrator mode the user has the ability to configure elements, turn cube 10 on or off, select new puzzles, select a slide show to play, associated music themes, descramble a current puzzle on cube 10, select music lists to play or turn wireless capability on/or off, for example)
However, Rosendo fails to expressly disclose wherein in the one or more modes, one or more subsets of the images are defined as selectors and reference frames, wherein the selectors are movable, and the reference frames are static, wherein the selectors move from a display of the multi-screen display system to an adjacent display of the multi-screen display system, wherein the plurality of displays transform based on changing a relative position of the plurality of displays, wherein a motion of the selectors is implemented at a velocity; and wherein a subset of the images defined as the selectors are subject to an inertial interface, wherein being subject to the inertial interface corresponds to being sensitive to scrolling, wherein the scrolling is initiated by a user, via an action, and the scrolling continues for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the action has stopped. In the same field of endeavor, Wowcube teaches:
wherein in the one or more modes, one or more subsets of the images are defined as selectors and reference frames, wherein the selectors are movable, and the reference frames are static, wherein the selectors move from a display of the multi-screen display system to an adjacent display of the multi-screen display system, wherein the plurality of displays transform based on changing a relative position of the plurality of displays, wherein a motion of the selectors is implemented at a velocity; and wherein a subset of the images defined as the selectors are subject to an inertial interface, wherein being subject to the inertial interface corresponds to being sensitive to scrolling, wherein the scrolling is initiated by a user, via an action, and the scrolling continues for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the action has stopped (Wowcube pg. 1, Expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills; [01:47], movement of numbers occurs by inertia for a predetermined time; see [00:00 – 02:48], video shows a multi-screen display system including a plurality of interconnected displays situated both in the same plane and in different planes that are intersecting and parallel; at least one microprocessor associated with a corresponding at least one of the displays; and a spatial-position sensor associated with a corresponding at least one of the displays; wherein the at least one microprocessor is operative to perform: compiling or receiving at least two various subsets of images; assigning rules of interacting of elements belonging to different subsets of images; and deploying one or more modes of processing resulting images; [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], reference frames (static images shown to be indifferent to inertia, see claim 9) are shown as unmoving images while cursors are shown as subject to an inertial interface that causes scrolling (from a first display to an adjacent display based on changing relative positions of the displays) that is initiated by a user that is continued for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the action of scrolling has stopped; [01:40 – 02:00], reference frames (unmoving images shown to be indifferent to inertia, see claim 9) are shown as unmoving images while number blocks are shown as subject to an inertial interface that causes scrolling (from a first display to an adjacent display based on changing relative positions of the displays) that is initiated by a user that is continued for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the action of scrolling has stopped)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein in the one or more modes, one or more subsets of the images are defined as selectors and reference frames, wherein the selectors are movable, and the reference frames are static, wherein the selectors move from a display of the multi-screen display system to an adjacent display of the multi-screen display system, wherein the plurality of displays transform based on changing a relative position of the plurality of displays, wherein a motion of the selectors is implemented at a velocity; and wherein a subset of the images defined as the selectors are subject to an inertial interface, wherein being subject to the inertial interface corresponds to being sensitive to scrolling, wherein the scrolling is initiated by a user, via an action, and the scrolling continues for a predetermined time interval after an instant when the action has stopped as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
However, Rosendo in view of Wowcube fail to expressly disclose a velocity proportional to a speed of the transformation of the plurality of displays. In the same field of endeavor, Seo
a velocity proportional to a speed of the transformation of the plurality of displays (Seo Figs. 1-11; [0011], If a user's manipulation is sensed, directing to rotate about an axis of rolling of the display device in the rolled state, the control unit may move a location of an object displayed on the screen of the display unit according to a direction of rotation; [0048] For example, the sensing unit 120 senses the state of bending, rotating, or touching of the display unit 110; The above manipulation states may be sensed through a variety of sensors. For example, the sensing unit 120 may include at least one of a touch sensor, a band sensor, a motion sensor, a pressure sensor, and a tilt sensor; [0063], the control unit 130 may move a location of an object displayed on the screen of the display unit 110 according to the direction of rotation and display the result. The control unit 130 may analyze the angle and speed of rotation using the gyro sensors and acceleration sensors provided at the sensing unit 220, and control the information on the screen to rotate in the direction of rotation; [0080], Referring to FIG. 3A, if a display device in rolled state is rotated about the axis of rolling, the location of the object displayed on the screen may also change according to the direction of rotation of the display device as illustrated in FIG. 3B. For example, if the display device in rolled state is rotated clockwise, the objects displayed on the screen may be automatically scrolled clockwise. Further, although not illustrated, the speed at which the objects displayed on the screen are scrolled may be adjusted to correspond to the rotation speed of the display device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a velocity proportional to a speed of the transformation of the plurality of displays as suggested in Seo into Rosendo in view of Wowcube. Doing so would be desirable because the present invention relates generally to a display device and method (see Seo [0003]). Previous transformable displays adopt the same inputs as rigid screens providing no distinctive operations or display characteristics (see Seo [0006]). The present invention is designed to address at least the problems and/or disadvantages described above (see Seo [0007]). While the present invention has been particularly shown and described with reference to certain embodiments thereof, it will be understood by those of ordinary skill in the art that various changes in form and details may be made therein without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention (see Seo [0108]). Additionally, the system of Seo would improve the systems of Rosendo and Wowcube by better enabling the user to interact with a multi-display in a variety of desired ways. Seo’s rate of scrolling based on rate of screen rotation/transformation would provide improved responsiveness and visual feedback to the user when rotating/transforming the displays of Rosendo and Wowcube, thereby increasing ease of use and user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 16, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 15. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors following the scrolling passes between neighboring displays located in the same plane conserving both a projection of a velocity on a border line of the neighboring displays and a projection of the velocity normal to the border line (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], cursors shown following inertial scrolling pass between neighboring displays located in the same plane conserving both the projection of a velocity on a border line of neighboring displays and a projection of the velocity normal to the border line; [01:40 – 02:00], number blocks shown following inertial scrolling pass between neighboring displays located in the same plane conserving both the projection of a velocity on a border line of neighboring displays and a projection of the velocity normal to the border line; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors following the scrolling passes between neighboring displays located in the same plane conserving both a projection of a velocity on a border line of the neighboring displays and a projection of the velocity normal to the border line as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 17, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 16. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors following the scrolling passes between neighboring displays located in intersecting planes conserving both the projection of the velocity on the border line of the neighboring displays and the projection of the velocity normal to the border line (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], cursors shown following inertial scrolling passes between neighboring displays located in intersecting planes conserving both the projection of the velocity on the border line of neighboring displays and the projection of the velocity normal to the border line; [01:40 – 02:00], number blocks shown between neighboring displays located in intersecting planes conserving both the projection of the velocity on the border line of neighboring displays and the projection of the velocity normal to the border line; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors following the scrolling passes between neighboring displays located in intersecting planes conserving both the projection of the velocity on the border line of the neighboring displays and the projection of the velocity normal to the border line as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Regarding claim 18, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 16, further comprising:
wherein a configuration of various displays is changeable by the user via a user interface, such that the configuration becomes variable and a neighboring display are changed with time (Rosendo Figs. 1-29; [0027], cube 10 (FIG. 17) is a cube shaped device that can be twisted and turned and manipulated in a fashion similar to that of the well known prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM; FIG. 24 shows cube 10 displaying a newspaper page on one side, a clock on another side and a stock chart on yet another side; [0068], Each screen 22, forming 1/9 of the still image or video (FIG. 17). Hence each of the images on a side 6 can be used to provide the puzzle similar to that of a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM; [0069], the images that are placed on the screens 22 are dynamic and configurable; The images, video, state or function of cube 10, for example, are preferably made to change dynamically through various hand gestures; One such example is that cube 10 is in the sate of a traditional prior art Rubik's.RTM. cube, with the traditional six colors on each face of the puzzle (White, Yellow, Red, Orange, Blue Green) and then, by pressing a center cubelet, 15, (one of the six center pieces) and performing a gesture in three-dimensional space (i.e. three quick clock-wise gestures), the puzzle will change "modes" from puzzle to "picture frame mode"; Showing full images on each of the six sides and cycling through a series of images held in the puzzle's internal non-volatile memory at a user or system pre-configured interval; [0071], Cube 10 is preferably provided with a "time out" setting that will cause the system to go into "sleep mode" if the timeout expires wherein either; the screens 22 turn off, or alternatively, the screens 22 begin a predetermined display mode, either displaying still images or a predetermined video; [0073], Cube 10 can function as a puzzle similar to a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM.. Each of the sides 6 presents an image that is preselected either through an automated process or by the user. One of many advantages over the traditional prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM. device is that the number of puzzles (a minimum of 256) is configurable and selectable by the user; [0084], Screens 22 are preferably provided with touch sensitivity to control the GUI for cube 10 or other control mechanisms are preferably applied to control the GUI such as control by the computation element; [0089], cube 10 can display a startup banner that is user configurable reading "Alexia's Cube" or "Antonio's Cube", etc. The banner can rotate around the sides 6 until a predetermined time, such as once cube 10 has fully booted (ready for user interaction); [0113], In FIG. 20, the user has turned the top row of cubelet 3a clockwise. Cubelet 3a has connectivity with cubelets 2a and 6a)
Regarding claim 19, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 16. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors following the scrolling passes between displays of the plurality of displays that are neighbors at an instant when a particular element of the subset of the images defined as the selectors hits a borderline between the displays that are neighbors (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], cursors shown following inertial scrolling pass between displays that are neighbors at that instant when the particular element of image hits the border line between displays; [01:40 – 02:00], number blocks shown following inertial scrolling pass between displays that are neighbors at that instant when the particular element of image hits the border line between displays; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors following the scrolling passes between displays of the plurality of displays that are neighbors at an instant when a particular element of the subset of the images defined as the selectors hits a borderline between the displays that are neighbors as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo in further view of Kwak et al. (US 20140101577 A1, published 04/10/2014), hereinafter Kwak.
Regarding claim 5, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
scrolling; touching a screen of one of the plurality of displays of the multi display system (Rosendo Figs. 1-29; [0068], Each screen 22, forming 1/9 of the still image or video (FIG. 17). Hence each of the images on a side 6 can be used to provide the puzzle similar to that of a prior art Rubik's Cube.RTM; [0027], FIG. 24 shows cube 10 displaying a newspaper page on one side, a clock on another side and a stock chart on yet another side; [0084], Screens 22 are preferably provided with touch sensitivity to control the GUI for cube 10; [0108], embodiments of cube 10 are preferably designed with touch and motion sensitive technology, similar to those found in today's iPhone.TM. (i.e. touch sensitive screen, motion sensitive via accelerometer technology etc.); [0089], cube 10 can display a startup banner that is user configurable reading "Alexia's Cube" or "Antonio's Cube", etc. The banner can rotate around the sides 6 until a predetermined time, such as once cube 10 has fully booted (ready for user interaction); see also [0069-0071], [0090], [0109])
Wowcube further teaches: wherein the scrolling is initiated by touching a screen of one of the plurality of displays of the multi display system and continuously moving in a direction chosen by the user (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], cursors shown following inertial scrolling initiated by touching the screen and continuous moving in a direction chosen by the user; [01:40 – 02:00], number blocks shown following inertial scrolling initiated by touching the screen and continuous moving in a direction chosen by the user; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
However, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo fails to expressly disclose wherein the scrolling is initiated by touching a screen of one of the plurality of displays of the multi display system and continuously moving a touching point in a direction chosen by the user. In the same field of endeavor, Kwak teaches:
wherein the scrolling is initiated by touching a screen of one of the plurality of displays of the multi display system and continuously moving a touching point in a direction chosen by the user (Kwak Figs. 1-46; [0181], Referring to FIG. 6, while the first screen is displayed on the first display 110a of the multi display apparatus 100, when a user selects at least one contents included in the first screen at operation S610, the multi display apparatus 100 senses the selection of contents and analyzes features of the selected contents at operation S620. Contents may be one or more images, video, text, graphs, lists and figures. These contents features can be determined by analyzing data features of source files. A user may move to the second screen contents after selecting the contents. The multi display apparatus 100 determines whether to move the selected contents by confirming changes of the touched coordinates at operation S630. User manipulation may be implemented with touch inputs, such as flicking or touching & dragging; [0182], When contents displayed on the first screen are moved to the second screen by user manipulation (operation S630-Y), the multi display apparatus 100 determines whether there are preset areas where corresponding contents can be arranged on the second screen at operation S640; [0193], Referring to FIG. 8, user manipulation to select and move the first image 111-2 in the first screen displayed on the first display 110a to the second display 110b direction is input, as indicated by the dot and arrow; [0194], As illustrated in FIG. 8, when the first image area 112-2 is generated or determined to already exist on the second screen, the multi display apparatus 100 may copy the first image 111-2 and display the image on the corresponding area 112-2 of the second screen, or cut the first image 111-2 from the first screen and paste the first image to the corresponding area 112-2. In the case of copying, the original first image 111-2 remains on the first screen after being displayed in the corresponding area 112-2 on the second screen. In the case of cutting and pasting, the original first image 111-2 is deleted from the first screen and displayed on the corresponding area 112-2 of the second screen. In either case, first image area 112-2 is filled, thereby generating the corresponding first image 117-2 on the second display 110b. According to the exemplary embodiment, when a user touches contents of the first screen and performs an appropriate user manipulation, such as for example a flick or a drag operation in the direction of the second screen, pasting on the defined area of the second screen may be automatically performed; [0195], When contents move from the first screen to the second screen, the multi display apparatus 100 may adjust a size and shape of corresponding contents according to a size and shape of the area to which the contents will be moved)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the scrolling is initiated by touching a screen of one of the plurality of displays of the multi display system and continuously moving a touching point in a direction chosen by the user as suggested in Kwak into Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the display size of a mobile electronic device has a limited dimensional area, it may have difficulty performing jobs while simultaneously opening a plurality of windows regarding the multi-tasking jobs. To solve the difficulty, a multi display apparatus including a plurality of displays is developed (see Kwak [0006]). Because such a multi display apparatus includes more than two display screens, user convenience when multi-tasking is performed can be enhanced. However, because the multi display apparatus has a different construction from that of the related single display apparatus, a control method used in a single display apparatus is difficult to use in the multi display apparatus without modification (see Kwak [0007]). User environment may not be efficient for such multi display applications (see Kwak [0008]). When relevant screens are displayed on the plurality of display screens, a method of operating the multi display apparatus so that one screen can be easily modified by user manipulation performed on another screen is desired (see Kwak [0008]). The system of Kwak is useful for a variety of content types (see Kwak [0046]) and games (see Kwak [0098], [0112], [0267]). The system of Kwak would improve the system of Rosendo and Wowcube by providing a simple and intuitive method of moving content between screens of a multi-display apparatus, thereby providing an additional interaction modality for a greater variety of game and content types and increasing user satisfaction.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo in further view of Missig (US 20110302532 A1, published 12/08/2011).
Regarding claim 8, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Wowcube further teaches:
wherein the subset of the images defined as the selectors move in a direction of initial scrolling initiated by the user for predetermined time intervals, wherein the motion of the selectors is further configured for simulating a deceleration of the selectors (Wowcube [01:35 – 01:38, 02:13 – 02:15], as shown, scrolling of the cursors continues for predetermined time intervals in a direction of initial scrolling; [01:40 – 02:00], as shown, scrolling of the number blocks continues for predetermined time intervals in a direction of initial scrolling; see also [00:00 – 02:48])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the subset of images defined as selectors move in a direction of initial scrolling initiated by the user for the predetermined time intervals as suggested in Wowcube into Rosendo in view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because the system enables you to expand your view with 3-dimensional WOWCube® experience. WOWCube® Entertainment System is Rubik’s СubeTM inspired gaming system for children and even for the whole family. Fully tangible Smart & Educational toy for home and on-the-go. WOWCube® System comes in handy for cognitive development enhancing hand/motor skills (see Screen Captures pg. 1). This is a very new type of game console. There is nothing like it. You play by twisting, shaking, and tilting (00:01 - 00:20). Additionally, Wowcube would improve the system of Rosendo by providing an improved inertial interface that enables interesting and intuitive inputs for a variety of dynamic and configurable user interfaces, thereby increasing user satisfaction and enjoyment.
However, Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo fails to expressly disclose using an equation of motion comprising a friction term for simulating a deceleration. In the same field of endeavor, Missig teaches:
using an equation of motion comprising a friction term for simulating a deceleration (Missig Figs. 1-9; [0224], the object selection indicator has a simulated mass and coefficient of friction and the object selection indicator moves in a direction determined by a direction of the first gesture on the touch-sensitive surface 452 and moves a distance across the display 450 that is determined in accordance with a simulated "force" of the first gesture (e.g., a value determined based on the speed of the first input); [0240], calculating (710) a trajectory of the object selection indicator based on simulated physical properties of the object selection indicator; the simulated physical properties are (712) selected from the set consisting of: inertia, friction and elasticity; [0272], the instructions that are sent to the display 450 for the movement of the object selection indicator and the instructions that are sent to the display 450 for the scrolling of the user interface are determined (848) based on simulated physical properties including friction and inertia; the simulated physical properties of the object are adjustable (e.g., the user can determine the relative coefficient of friction of the object selection indicator and the user interface))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated using an equation of motion comprising a friction term for simulating a deceleration as suggested in Missig into Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo. Doing so would be desirable because exemplary user interface navigation operations include scrolling through a user interface, selecting selectable objects within a user interface as well as activating selected objects within the user interface (see Missig [0003]). But existing methods for performing these navigation operations are cumbersome and inefficient. For example, using a sequence of mouse-based inputs to select one or more selectable objects and perform one or more actions on the selected selectable objects is tedious and creates a significant cognitive burden on a user. In addition, existing methods take longer than necessary, thereby wasting energy. This latter consideration is particularly important in battery-operated devices (see Missig [0004]). Accordingly, there is a need for computing devices with faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for navigating through user interfaces. Such methods and interfaces may complement or replace conventional methods for navigating through user interfaces. Such methods and interfaces reduce the cognitive burden on a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface. For battery-operated computing devices, such methods and interfaces conserve power and increase the time between battery charges (see Missig [0005]). The above deficiencies and other problems associated with user interfaces for computing devices that are in communication with one or more displays and touch-sensitive surfaces are reduced or eliminated by the disclosed devices, which navigate via control of a dynamic object selection indicator (see Missig [0006]).
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 3-19 and the cancellation of claim 2. The corrections to the claims are approved, and the previous objections to claims 1-15 and 17 are respectfully withdrawn. The corrections to the claims are approved, and the previous rejection to the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is respectfully withdrawn.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that Rosendo in view of Wowcube as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach wherein one or more subsets of the images are defined as selectors and reference frames, wherein the selectors are movable, and the reference frames are static, wherein the selectors move from a display of a multi display system to an adjacent display of the multi display system, wherein a plurality of displays of the multi display system transform based on changing a relative position of the plurality of displays, wherein a motion of the selectors is implemented at a velocity proportional to a speed of the transformation of the plurality of displays, as has been amended to the claim. Examiner has therefore rejected independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C § 103 as unpatentable over Rosendo in view of Wowcube in further view of Seo.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 8 and 15 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Rosendo in view of Wowcube is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Song (US 20150002397 A1) see Figs. 1-5 and [0014-0015], [0029].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143