DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed May 13, 2026 wherein claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al (US 2007/0203258).
With regards to claim 1, Sugimoto teaches a curable resin composition (abstract) that is used to coat optical fibers for protection (0002) that contains a urethane (meth)acrylate having a structure originating from a polyol having a number average molecular weight of 6,000 to 20,000 g/mol (abstract) with a preferred number average molecular weight of 12,000 or 8,000 (0057-0059 examples 5-7) and a polyisocyanate (0015). Sugimoto further teaches the polyol to be polypropylene glycol (0029). Sugimoto teaches the addition of a photoinitiator (0043).
Sugimoto does not teach the polyisocyanate to be an isocyanate group containing (meth)acrylate.
Homma teaches a curable resin composition for optical fiber coating containing urethane (meth)acrylates and photoinitiators (0005) wherein the urethane is formed from propylene glycol (0020) and an isocyanate group containing (meth)acrylate (0018). Homma teaches the motivation for using an isocyanate group containing (meth)acrylate to be because it improves the dynamic fatigue characteristics of optical fibers (0023). Homma and Sugimoto are analogous in the art of curable compositions for the coating of optical fibers. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the isocyanate of Homma as the isocyanate of Sugimoto, thereby obtaining the present invention.
With regards to claim 3 and 4, Sugimoto teaches the composition to contain a urethane (meth)acrylate that is formed from a polyol having a number average molecular weight of 6,000 to 20,000 g/mol (abstract) that is a polypropylene (0029), a polyisocyanate, and a (meth)acrylate containing a hydroxyl group (0015).
With regards to claim 7, Sugimoto teaches the fabrication of an optical fiber that contains glass fibers, a primary coating, and a secondary coating (0002) wherein the primary coating is the coating referenced above (0014).
With regards to claim 8, Sugimoto teaches the resin composition to be coated onto an optical fiber and cured (0003) using light (0043), in particular ultraviolet light (0044).
With regards to claim 9, Sugimoto teaches the optical fibers to be arranged with a resin for an optical fiber ribbon (0001-0002).
With regards to claims 10 and 11, Sugimoto teaches the optical fiber to be processed into cables (0003).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al (US 2007/0203258) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al (CN 101027259).
The disclosure of Sugimoto is adequately set forth in paragraph 4 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 2, Sugimoto does not teach the addition of an isocyanate group-containing silane compound.
Yamaguchi teaches a radiation-curable liquid resin composition (title) for coating an optical fiber (title) that includes a urethane (meth)acrylate that is formed from a polyol, polyisocyanate, and a hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate (0014) and a photoinitiator (0018). Yamaguchi further teaches a compound having a funcationl a group capable of addition with the isocyanate to replace part of a hydroxyl group containing (meth)acrylate to be a silane isocyanate compound (0046) and teaches the motivation for doing to so to be because it improves adhesion to the base glass (0046). Yamaguchi and Sugimoto are analogous in the art of curable resin compositions for coating optical fibers. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the silane compound of Yamaguchi to the composition of Sugimoto, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al (US 2007/0203258) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Homma (WO 2022/138119).
The disclosure of Sugimoto is adequately set forth in paragraph 4 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claims 5 and 6, Sugimoto does not teach the addition of a urethane (meth)acrylate formed from a polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether.
Homma teaches a resin composition for an optical fiber (title) that contains a urethane (meth)acrylate that is formed from a polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether and a (meth)acrylate containing an isocyanate group (0004) wherein the polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether has a number average molecular weight of 2000 to 10000 (0014). Homma teaches the motivation for using the polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether to be because it has an increased compatibility with other components (0015) and because it obtains a suitable Young’s modulus (0043). Homma and Sugimoto are analogous in the art of curable compositions for optical fibers. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention would know to add the urethane formed from the polyoxyalkylene monoalkyl ether of Homma to the composition of Sugimoto, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument - Applicants argue that Sugimoto teaches the number average molecular weight of the urethane to be from 6,000 to 12,000 and not the polyol.
Response - As stated in the original rejection and above, the number average molecular weight of Sugimoto is from 6,000 to 12,000 but is applied to the Urethane (meth)acrylate and not the polyol. It is noted that Sugimoto teaches the preferred number average molecular weight of the polyol is 12,000 in preparation example 5 (0057) and 8,000 in preparation example 6 and 7 (0058 and 0059 respectively). Therefore, the rejection still stands as written above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763