DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 37-54 and 56) in the reply filed on 04/06/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites, “a molar ratio of NH4+ to Ca2+ ranging from 5:1 to 1:5,” it is unclear what the claim limitations mean. Clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37-39, 41, 42, 47-54, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP 3632866 (hereinafter, JOHANSSON).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 37, JOHANSSON teaches an aqueous binder composition for mineral fibers (Abstract) comprising a component (i) in form of one or more oxidized lignins including lignosulfonate [0025]; a component (ii) in form of one or more cross-linkers [0010-0013 and 0017].
Component (i) has a carboxylic acid group content of 0.05 to 10 mmol/g, more specifically 0.40 to 1.2 mmol/g, based on the dry weight of component (i) [0042].
Regarding claim 38, JOHANSSON teaches the composition comprises component (iii) in the form of one or more plasticizers [0057 and 0102].
Regarding claim 39, JOHANSSON teaches examples of the binder compositions [0193] wherein the amount of solids is 118.2 g (100 g of Kraft lignin, unoxidized and 18.2 lignin) and the mixture was diluted with water (0.402 g/g binder) which produces 0.37% of water (0.402 g of water/118.2 g of solids x 100 wt%). 0.37% satisfies ≤ 30% as claimed.
Regarding claim 41, JOHANSSON teaches the binder composition comprises component (i) has a carboxylic acid group content of 0.05 to 10 mmol/g, more specifically 0.45 to 1.0 mmol/g, based on the dry weight of component (i) [0042].
Regarding claim 42, JOHANSSON teaches the binder composition comprises component (i) has an average carboxylic acid group content of more than 1.5 groups per macromolecule of component (i) [0043]
Regarding claim 47, JOHANSSON teaches the aqueous binder composition comprises one or more carbohydrates selected from the group consisting of sucrose and reducing sugars in an amount of 5 to less than 50 wt% [0092].
Regarding claim 48, JOHANSSON teaches the binder composition comprises 1 to 50 weight% if component (a) [0146] based on the total weight of the binder (lignin (e.g., lignosulfionate).
Regarding claims 49-52, JOHANSSON teaches the binder composition comprising component (ii) is in form of one or more cross-linkers selected from β-hydroxyalkylamide-cross-linkers and/or oxazoline-cross-linkers [0045-0048]. The amount of component (iii) is in an amount of 1 to 40% based on the dry weight of component (i) [0056].
Regarding claim 53, JOHANSSON teaches the binder composition comprises component (iii) is in form of one or more plasticizers including polyethylene glycols and polyethylene glycol ethers [0057-0060 and 0064].
Regarding claim 54, JOHANSSON teaches the binder composition comprises a component (iv) in form of one or more coupling agents (e.g., organofunctional silanes) and a component in form of urea [0099-0100].
Regarding claim 56, JOHANSSON teaches a mineral fiber product comprising mineral fibers in contact with a cured binder composition comprising lignins, cross-linkers, and plasticizers [0102 and 0113].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3632866 (hereinafter, JOHANSSON) in view of KRUEGER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0210967, hereinafter KRUEGER).
Regarding claim 45, JOHANSSON substantially teaches the present invention, see paragraph 5 above. More specifically, JOHANSSON teaches an aqueous binder composition for mineral fibers (Abstract) comprising a component (i) in form of one or more oxidized lignins including lignosulfonate [0025]. In one embodiment, the binder composition comprises one or more lignosulfonate lignins [0125-0126].
However, JOHANSSON does not teach wherein component (i) comprises one or more of ammonium lignosulfonate, calcium lignosulfonates, magnesium lignosulfonates.
In the same field of endeavor of aqueous binder composition for granular and/or fibrous substrates (Abstract; [0103]), KRUEGER teaches the composition comprises b) at least one lignin compound [0006] which includes lignosulfonates, preferably calcium lignosulfonates, magnesium lignosulfonates, and/or ammonium lignosulfonates [0096]. It is advantageous to use lignosulfonates which have been obtained from so-called soft wood [0096].
Given JOHANSSON teaches the binder composition comprises one or more lignosulfonates, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the calcium lignosulfonates, magnesium lignosulfonates, and/or ammonium lignosulfonates of KRUEGER with the binder composition of JOHANSSON for its art recognized function (i.e., obtained from soft wood) as taught in KRUEGER. It is well settled that it is prima facie obvious to combine two ingredients, each of which is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Linder 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972).
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 37-54 and 56 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,612,782. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons given below.
U.S. Patent No. ‘782 discloses a mineral fiber product, wherein the product comprises mineral fibers in contact with a binder resulting from a curing of an aqueous binder composition comprises a component (i) in the form of one or more lignosulfonate lignins having a carboxylic acid group content of from 0.03 mmol/g to 1.4 mmol/g and a content of phenolic OH groups of from 0.3 mmol to 2.5 mmol/g, both based on a dry weight of lignosulfonate lignins, a component (ii) in the form of one or more cross-linkers, with the proviso that the aqueous binder composition.
The scope of the present claims encompasses the scope of the claims in U.S. Patent No. ‘782.
Conclusion
DEVE V. HALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/DEVE V HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763