DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 16-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu 20210105690.
As to claim 1, Wu discloses a user equipment (UE) [102] for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory [the user device can include one or more general-purpose processors, a computer-readable memory, a user interface, one or more network interfaces] (see par. 0198), and configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a serving cell [104A], a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message [312] including at least one conditional path switch configuration associated with at least one execution condition [RRC reconfiguration(s) and at least one condition corresponding to the RRC reconfiguration(s); for examination purposes “path switch” and it’s configuration applies to any path of the communication] (see par.0064);
evaluate the at least one execution condition [316] (see par. 0065); and
initiate a path switch [330] procedure with a target node in response to an execution condition for the target node being met (see par. 0065-0067).
As to claim 2, Wu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one conditional path switch configuration indicates at least one of: at least one execution condition for at least one candidate relay; at least one execution condition for at least one candidate cell; or at least one execution condition for at least one candidate relay and at least one execution condition for at least one candidate cell [The condition(s) may be specific to only the first candidate target cell, or may be specific to multiple (some or all) candidate target cells of the C-BS 106A if more than one cell is a candidate] (see par. 0064).
Regarding claims 16-17 and 22, they are the corresponding method and processor claims of UE claims 1-2. Therefore, claims 16-17 and 22 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above. Please note for claim 22 that “operable to” does not require to perform, just the ability or possibility and the same structure will have the same operability (see MPEP 2103I.C.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Van Phan 20230388769.
As to claims 3-4 and 18-19, Wu discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one conditional path switch configuration includes at least one of a first conditional path switch configuration for one candidate; wherein the at least one execution condition includes at least one of a first execution condition for one candidate (see par. 0064-0067). Wu fails to disclose relays. In an analogous art, Van Phan discloses one candidate relay or a list of candidate relays and wherein the at least one execution condition includes at least one of a first execution condition for one candidate relay or a list of candidate relays (see par. 0019, 0108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add candidate relay or a list of candidate relays for the simple purpose of increasing coverage while maintain the quality of the communication.
As to claim 6, Wu discloses the UE of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to, in response to an execution condition for a candidate cell and an execution condition for a candidate cell being met, at least one of:
select the candidate cell in priority (see par. 0072);
select the candidate relay in priority; or
select the target node from the candidate relay and the candidate cell according to a best channel quality among a channel quality between the candidate relay and the UE and a channel quality between the candidate cell and the UE. Wu fails to disclose relays. In an analogous art, Van Phan discloses one candidate relay (see par. 0019, 0108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add candidate relay or a list of candidate relays for the simple purpose of increasing coverage while maintain the quality of the communication.
As to claim 7, Wu discloses the UE apparatus UE of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus UE to:
determine that a plurality of candidate nodes satisfies a path switch condition in response to at least one of the execution conditions for a plurality of candidate cell being met, the execution condition for a plurality of candidate cells being met, or the execution the execution condition for one or more candidate cells being met; and select the target node from the plurality of candidate nodes based on latencies between the plurality of candidate nodes and the UE (see par. 0064-0067). Wu fails to disclose relays. In an analogous art, Van Phan discloses one candidate relay or a list of candidate relays and wherein the at least one execution condition includes at least one of a first execution condition for one candidate relay or a list of candidate relays (see par. 0019, 0108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add candidate relay or a list of candidate relays for the simple purpose of increasing coverage while maintain the quality of the communication.
As to claim 8, Wu discloses the apparatus UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus UE to:
keep, in response to the target node being the serving cell or a relay served by the serving cell, the at least one conditional path switch configuration [The S-BS 104A transmits 312 the RRC container message to the UE 102. Upon receiving the RRC container message, the UE 102 can store the RRC reconfiguration(s) and its corresponding condition(s).] (see par. 0064); and
release, in response to at least one of the target node being a cell different from the serving cell or a relay served by the cell different from the serving cell, the at least one conditional path switch configuration (see par. 0059, 0106, 0117). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to keep information if it still is needed or release information when is no longer needed; thereby, efficiently managing the devices resources. Wu fails to disclose relays. In an analogous art, Van Phan discloses one candidate relay or a list of candidate relays (see par. 0019, 0108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to add candidate relay or a list of candidate relays for the
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Li 20220322202.
As to claim 9, Wu discloses wherein the RRC reconfiguration message indicates configuration information (see par. 0064-0067). Wu fails to disclose at least one of: an indication of whether a consecutive path switch is allowed or not; a maximum number of path switches; or a value of a timer for consecutive path switch. In an analogous art, Li discloses at least one of: an indication of whether a consecutive path switch is allowed or not; a maximum number of path switches; or a value of a timer for consecutive path switch (see par. 0208). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to limit the path switch in order to avoid the deterioration of the communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10-14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitations of wherein the RRC reconfiguration message indicates: a first offset for a first channel quality based on a discovery message between the UE and a candidate relay when comparing the first channel quality with a second channel quality of a PC5 link associated with the UE; a second offset for the first channel quality when comparing the first channel quality with a third channel quality of a Uu link associated with the UE; and a third offset for the second channel quality when comparing the second channel quality with the third channel quality; wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: set a counter for path switch to zero in response to receiving the RRC reconfiguration message when the maximum number of path switches is indicated in the RRC reconfiguration message; wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: start the timer for consecutive path switch in response to the initiation of the path switch procedure when the value of the timer for consecutive path switch is indicated in the RRC reconfiguration message; wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: initiate, in response to the value of a counter for path switch being equal to or greater than the maximum number of path switches or expiry of the timer for consecutive path switch, one or more of a reestablishment procedure or falling back to a Uu link between the UE and the serving cell; have not been found nor have been fairly suggested in the prior art search.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647