DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the amendments filed 01/29/2026. Amendments received on 01/29/2026 have been entered. As per applicant 16-20, 22-23 have been canceled and claims 26-27 are newly added claims. Accordingly claims 1-15, 21 and 24-27 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 27 should depend on claim 21 rather than claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davis et al. (US Pub 2021/0256783).
As of claims 1 and 21, Davis discloses a security system for a plurality of server racks, comprising:
a plurality of electronic keys (via users issued electronic keys 120; see fig. 1; also see paragraph [0018]);
a plurality of electronic locks each configured to secure a respective server rack, (via locks 110; sees fig. 1 an d5; also see paragraph [0022], Davis discloses that the access control system assigns one or more resources to users of keys for authorizing the keys to unlock the locks for the assigned resources, wherein the resources are server racks (see paragraphs [0018], [0022] and [0069]-[0071])), each of the electronic locks configured to communicate with any one of the electronic keys for determining whether the electronic key is authorized to unlock the electronic lock for accessing the server rack (via locks 110 configured to communicate with any one of the keys 120 for determining whether the key 120 is authorized to unlock the lock 110; see paragraph [0015]); and
a ticketing system configured to assign one or more of the server racks to users of each of the plurality of electronic keys for authorizing the plurality of electronic keys to unlock one or more of the plurality of electronic locks for the assigned server racks (via access control system assigning one or more locks 110 to users of each of the plurality of keys 120, hence comprising a ticking system; see paragraphs [0069]-[0071]);
wherein the ticketing system is configured to communicate with each of the plurality of electronic locks for assigning one or more server racks to users (via communicating access schedule to the lock via the key device for assigning resource (server rack) to user; see paragraphs [0022] and [0075]).
As of claim 24, Davis discloses that the server rack comprises a cabinet and a door, and wherein each of the electronic locks is configured to communicate with any one of the electronic keys for determining whether the electronic key is authorized to unlock the electronic lock for opening the door of the server rack (vis resources including enclosure such as server racks, cabinets, lockers, rooms, closets and other enclosed or confined spaces; see paragraph [0022]).
As of claim 25, Davis discloses that each of the plurality of electronic locks is configured to be attached to a respective server rack (via lock 110 configured to be attached to a resource (server rack; see paragraphs [0015] and [0022]).
As of claim 2, Davis discloses a programming station for authorizing the plurality of electronic keys (via access control terminal 210; see paragraph [0028]).
As of claim 3, Davis discloses that at least one of the plurality of electronic keys is configured to be authorized for unlocking one or more different electronic locks than at least one other electronic key (Davis discloses that an electronic key can access a set of one or more locks; see abstract).
As of claim 4, Davis discloses that each of the plurality of electronic keys comprises an authorization protocol for confirming the identity of the user prior to authorizing the electronic key to unlock the electronic lock of the assigned server rack (via performing biometric identification of a user of the key; see paragraph [0019]).
As of claim 5, Davis discloses that the authorization protocol is a biometric identification of a user of the electronic key (via performing biometric identification of a user of the key; see paragraph [0019]).
As of claim 6, Davis discloses that the authorization protocol is facial recognition of a user of the electronic key (via performing facial recognition; see paragraph [0021] and [0073]).
As of claim 7, Davis discloses that the authorization protocol is a pin code (via a personal identification number (PIN) or biometric; see paragraph [0073]).
As of claim 8, Davis discloses one or more remote devices configured to communicate with the plurality of electronic keys, the plurality of electronic locks, and/or the ticketing system in a cloud network (via smart device 160; see fig. 1; also see paragraph [0029]).
As of claim 9, Davis discloses that the remote device is configured to authorize the plurality of electronic keys (via smart device 160 authorizing key 120; see paragraph [0092] and [0109]).
As of claim 10, Davis discloses that each of the plurality of electronic keys is configured to be authorized to unlock any one of the plurality of electronic locks for accessing the server rack based on a security code stored by the electronic lock matching a security code stored by the electronic key (via access credentials comprising a unique identification code and password stored in the key and the lock; see paragraph [0037]).
As of claim 12, Davis discloses that the ticketing system is configured to dynamically authorize the plurality of electronic keys (via dynamically authorizing the keys 120; see paragraph [0017] and [0080]).
As of claim 13, Davis discloses that the ticketing system is configured to authorize each of the plurality of electronic keys to access assigned server racks at a specific time (via access schedule defining one or more authorized time periods during which access to a lock is permitted; see abstract; also see paragraphs [0069]-[0070]).
As of claim 14, Davis discloses that the ticketing system is configured to automatically communicate access rights for each of the plurality of electronic keys (via automatically adjusting access schedules and generating a corresponding key configuration for the key; see abstract; also see paragraph [0113]).
As of claim 15, Davis discloses that the ticketing system is configured to communicate with each of the plurality of electronic keys for assigning one or more server racks to users (via communicating with keys 110 for assigning access control information; see paragraph [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US Pub 2021/0256783) in view of Grant et al. (US Pub 2017/0372543).
As of claim 11, Davis discloses all the limitation of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, however it does not explicitly disclose that the lock is unlocked based on a serial number stored by the lock matching a serial number stored by the key.
Grant discloses an access control system wherien a key is configured to be authorized to unlock a lock based on a serial number stored by the lock matching a serial number stored by the key (see paragraph [0005]).
From the teaching of Grant, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary kill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Davis to include the function of using a serial number as unlocking code as taught by Grant since it is known that different credentials, pin, password, identifiers or serial number could be used to unlock a locking device.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US Pub 2021/0256783) in view of Gockcebay et al. (US Pub 10,697,203).
As of claim 26-27, Davis discloses all the limitation of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, however it does not explicitly disclose that the ticketing system if configured to communicate directly with each of the plurality of electronic locks for assigning one or more server racks to users.
Gockcebay discloses a security system wherein a manger uses a computer 566 to directly communicate with each of a plurality of locks 560 for assigning locks to the users to set credentials, such as determining which user is authorized to pen which locks and at what time (see col. 14, lines 8-25).
From the teaching of Gockcebay, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary kill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Davis to include the function of programming locks remotely as taught by Gockcebay in order to allow an administrator to program locks for different users.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 21 and 24-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/722,315 in view of Davis et al. (US Pub 2021/0256783). The claim 1 of application 18/722315 discloses all the limitation of the claimed invention except it discloses that the lock is configured to secure a single fixture. Davis however discloses that the lock is configured to secure a server rack as disclosed in the art rejection above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As of claims 1 and 21, applicant argues that Davis does not disclose “wherein the ticketing system is configured to communicate with each of the plurality of electronic locks for assigning one or more server racks to users.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant is reminded that during examination, claims are given their “broadest reasonable interpretation . . ..” In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).1 Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard noted above, the Examiner maintains her interpretations.
Claim language does not state that the ticketing system directly communicates with the each of the plurality of locks…”. In the system of Davis when access control system grants a user access to a particular resource by issuing an electronic key that includes the authentication information to operate the lock to the resource, the access control system is indirectly, via the key, is communicating with the lock for assigning the resource to user (see paragraph [0019] and [0072]) which is how the invention is explained by specification (paragraph [0095]) of the current application as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIL H SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686
1 See also MPEP §2111; In re Graves, 69 F.3d 1147, 1152, 36 USPQ2d 1697, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 1995); In re Etter, 756 F.2d 852, 858, 225 USPQ 1, 5 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (en banc).