Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received May 14, 2026:
Claim 1 has been amended claims 12-16 have been newly added. Therefore Claims 1-16 are pending in this office action.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action issued on February 17, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO 2021/071138 (see US 2022/0247005) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Shin et al. (US 2019/0074557)
With respect to claim 1, Cho et al. discloses a battery module 210 comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked [0057];
a module frame 213 that houses the battery cell stack [0057];
end plates (bus bar frames) located on a first side and a second side of the battery cell stack respectively [0052; Figure 2], and a first end plate of the end plates having an opening formed therein [0052-0057; Figure 2];
a terminal busbar 211/311 exposed through the opening [Figures 3-6]; and
a blocking member 220/320 that surrounds the terminal busbar 211/311,
wherein upon a rise of internal pressure of the module frame 213, the blocking member 220 moves to close a gap between the opening and the terminal busbar. [Figure 3; Figure 4; Figure 6]
Cho et al. does not disclose wherein the blocking member having an aperture, the terminal busbar extending through the aperture.
Shin et al. discloses a battery module 100 comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells 140 are stacked;
a module frame 160 that houses the battery cell stack;[Figure 2; Figure 8; 0045-0055; 0013]
a first end plate 224 on a first side of the battery cell stack having a coupling protrusion 228 formed therein; [Figure 10; 0055; Figure 8; 0052]
a terminal busbar 150; and a blocking member 172/182 that surrounds the terminal busbar 150, [Figure 5; Figure 6; Figure 7; 0049-0060]
wherein: the blocking member 172/182 having an aperture, the terminal bus bar 150 extending through the aperture. [Figure 2; Figures 5-7]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a blocking member, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
With respect to claim 2, Cho et al. discloses wherein: the blocking member 220/320 moves along the terminal busbar 211/311 to close a gap between the opening and the terminal busbar 211/311. [Figures 3-6]
With respect to claim 3, Cho et al. discloses wherein: the blocking member 220/320 comprises a body portion surrounding the terminal busbar 211/311, and an extension portion extending in an outer peripheral direction from the body portion. [Figure 2]
With respect to claim 4, Cho et al. discloses wherein: upon the rise of internal pressure of the module frame, the blocking member 220/320 moves along the terminal busbar 211/311, and at least one of the body portion and the extension portion closes a gap between an inner surface of the opening and the terminal busbar 211/311. [Figures 3-6; 0059-0075]
With respect to claim 5, Cho et al. does not disclose busbar frame located between the battery cell stack and the first end plate, and an insulating cover located between the busbar frame and the first end plate, wherein an opening hole is formed in a portion of the insulating cover corresponding to the opening.
Shin et al. discloses a battery module 100 comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells 140 are stacked;
a module frame 160 that houses the battery cell stack;[Figure 2; Figure 8; 0045-0055; 0013]
a first end plate 224 on a first side of the battery cell stack having a coupling protrusion 228 formed therein; [Figure 10; 0055; Figure 8; 0052]
a terminal busbar 150; and a blocking member 172 that surrounds the terminal busbar 150, [Figure 5; Figure 6; Figure 7; 0049-0060]
wherein: the blocking member 172 comprises a body portion surrounding the terminal busbar 150, and an extension portion extending in an outer peripheral direction from the body portion. [Figure 2; Figures 5-7]
a busbar frame 160 located between the battery cell stack and the first end plate 224 [Figures 8-10; 0049-0055], and an insulating cover 170 located between the busbar frame 160 and the first end plate 120/124, wherein an opening hole is formed in a portion of the insulating cover 170 corresponding to the opening. [Figure 4; 0043; Figure 6; Figure 7; 0049-0060]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a busbar frame, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
With respect to claim 6, Cho et al. discloses wherein: upon the rise of internal pressure of the module frame, the body portion and the extension portion comes into close contact with an inner surface of the opening hole. [Figure 6; 0070-0075]
Cho et al. does not disclose the body portion forming a stepped structure.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the blocking member of Cho et al. to include a stepped structure since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size/shape of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Shin et al. discloses wherein the body portion forms a stepped structure. [Figures 5-7]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a busbar frame, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
With respect to claim 7, Cho et al. discloses wherein: the terminal busbar 211/311 comprises a first portion connected to an electrode lead 212/312 of the a battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, and a second portion exposed through the opening. [Figures 3-6; 0059-0075]
With respect to claim 8, Cho et al. discloses wherein: the terminal busbar 211/311 further comprises a bending portion formed between the first portion and the second portion. [Figures 3-6; 0059-0075]
With respect to claim 9, Cho et al. discloses wherein: the blocking member 220/320 is located so as to wraps around the second portion. [Figures 3-6; 0059-0075]
With respect to claim 10, Cho et al. discloses wherein: the blocking member 220/320 comprises at least one of a foam material. [0057-0060]
With respect to claim 11, Cho et al. discloses a battery pack 100 comprising the battery module as set forth in claim 1. [Figure 2; 0051-0055]
With respect to claim 12, Cho et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the blocking member has an L-shaped cross sectional shape.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the blocking member of Cho et al. to have an L-shaped cross sectional shape since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size/shape of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore Shin et al. discloses wherein the blocking member has an L-shaped cross sectional shape. [Figure 7]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a blocking member, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
With respect to claim 13, Cho et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the terminal busbar comprises: a first portion extending vertically; and a second portion extending horizontally, and wherein the second portion extends through the blocking member.
Shin et al. discloses wherein the terminal busbar 150 comprises: a first portion 152 extending vertically; and a second portion 154 extending horizontally, and wherein the second portion 154 extends through the blocking member 172. [Figure 7]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a terminal busbar and blocking member, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
With respect to claim 14, Cho et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the terminal busbar is L- shaped.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the terminal busbar of Cho et al. to have an L-shaped cross sectional shape since such a modification would only involve a mere change in the size/shape of a component. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Furthermore Shin et al. discloses wherein the terminal busbar has an L-shaped cross sectional shape. [Figure 7]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a terminal busbar, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
With respect to claim 15, Cho et al. does not disclose wherein the blocking member comprises: a body portion surrounding the terminal busbar; and an extension portion extending outwardly from the body portion.
Shin et al. discloses wherein the blocking member 172 comprises: a body portion surrounding the terminal busbar; and an extension portion extending outwardly from the body portion. [Figure 6]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a terminal busbar and blocking member, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
With respect to claim 16, Cho et al. does not disclose wherein the extension portion extends about an entire perimeter of the body portion.
Shin et al. discloses wherein the extension portion extends about an entire perimeter of the body portion. [Figure 7]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery module of Cho et al. to include a terminal busbar and blocking member, as disclosed in Shin et al., in order to allow for simplification and size reduction of a structure of a battery module and reduction in manufacturing costs of the battery module and increased safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. US 20190389318
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751