DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-12, 16-17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ineichen (US 20180116877 A1) in view of Ribble (US 20160125716 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ineichen discloses an apparatus for treating a wound (Fig 2 ¶[0045-0047] combination of wrapping 3, apparatus box 5, tube 6, and connector 4), the apparatus comprising: a treatment source configured to supply stimulation and be connected to a wound dressing covering a wound (Fig 2 ¶[0048-0053] box 5 may contain a treatment source (e.g. pump, power source, control unit, UVB source) connected to wrapping 3 via connector 4 and tube 6), the wound dressing comprising one or more electronic components configured to provide treatment to the wound in response to the stimulation received from the treatment source (Fig 2-3 ¶[0055] An electrical wire 10 is arranged meandering within the wrapping 3 and has multiple junctions 11 arranged along its course to connect a treatment element 12 arranged in the lower surface of wrapping 3. The wire 10 is for example connected to an electrical source arranged within the apparatus box 5 for transmitting electrical energy to the wound 2); and a control circuitry (Fig 2 ¶[0049] control circuitry of box 5) configured to: cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing (¶[0061] The control unit may be configured to simply switch on and off the different means or to control the behavior of those means in a predetermined or adjustable manner), disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and deactivate operation of the wound dressing (¶[0061]The control unit may be configured to simply switch on and off the different means or to control the behavior of those means in a predetermined or adjustable manner.)
Ineichen is silent whether in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: communicate pairing data to the wound dressing; and start a timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: receive identification data from the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached a lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and in response to a determination that the identification data does not match the pairing data or that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and deactivate operation of the wound dressing in response to a determination that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: communicate pairing data to the wound dressing (Fig 3, 5 ¶[0042-0043][0055] dressing includes transmitter 22 for sending identification data in response to a transceiver 14 signal; or in response to pressure sensor 36 meeting a threshold amount of pressure or contact, causing dressing 20’ to transmit its ID data to the control circuitry); and start a timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing (Fig 3 ¶[0057] a historical database of clinical wound data, such as wound location, type and/or stage, as well as types of dressing 20, 20’ used and the duration of use of each during treatment of the patient's wound(s), is maintained in control circuitry 34); in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing): receive identification data from the wound dressing (Fig 3 ¶[0055] pressure sensor 36 comprising a contact switch may change from an off to an on switch when contact is made. When said contact switch is activated, ID data from dressing 20 is transmitted; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached a lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing (Fig 3, 5 ¶[0042-0043][0055] dressing includes transmitter 22 for sending identification data in response to a transceiver 14 signal; or in response to pressure sensor 36 meeting a threshold amount of pressure or contact, causing dressing 20’ to transmit its ID data to the control circuitry); and in response to a determination that the identification data does not match the pairing data or that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, in response to a determination that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold (¶[0055-0057][0073] dressing 20 lifetime is monitored by control circuitry based on the information collected from the dressing ID by the transceivers 14 and may provide determination that a dressing has exceeded its lifetime) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ineichen so that in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: communicate pairing data to the wound dressing; and start a timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: receive identification data from the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached a lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and in response to a determination that the identification data does not match the pairing data or that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and deactivate operation of the wound dressing in response to a determination that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]). In combination, the device of Ineichen/Ribble would use the dressing identification system and control circuitry of Ribble with the control box and dressing of Ineichen so that the system activates and deactivates based on the transmitted dressing identification and wear duration.
Regarding Claim 2, Ineichen/Ribble discloses that the treatment source comprises at least one of a source of vibrational energy, a light source, or a negative pressure source (Fig 2 ¶[0049-0053][0069] box 5 may include a vacuum pump; an electrical power source; an optical source, such as an IR, NIR, UV (in particular UVB) source; a control unit, a vibrational transmitter).
Regarding Claim 7, Ineichen is silent whether the control circuitry is configured to cause the wound dressing to store the pairing data in a memory of the wound dressing.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause the wound dressing to store the pairing data in a memory of the wound dressing (Fig 2 ¶[0072] dressing tag 22 stores patient ID information) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the control circuitry is configured to cause the wound dressing to store the pairing data in a memory of the wound dressing, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ineichen is silent whether the control circuitry is configured to start the timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing responsive to a verification of at least one of: that treatment to the wound is being provided by the one or more electronic components or that application of negative pressure to the wound has been detected.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to start the timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing responsive to a verification of at least one of: that treatment to the wound is being provided by the one or more electronic components or that application of negative pressure to the wound has been detected (Fig 3, 5 ¶[0042-0043][0055] in response to pressure sensor 36 meeting a threshold amount of pressure or contact, causing dressing 20’ to transmit its ID data to the control circuitry, starting a duration timer and indicating that treatment has started) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the control circuitry is configured to start the timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing responsive to a verification of at least one of: that treatment to the wound is being provided by the one or more electronic components or that application of negative pressure to the wound has been detected, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ineichen is silent whether the verification that the treatment to the wound is being provided by the one or more electronic components is based on at least one of: detecting a temperature increase of at least one of the one or more electronic components, detecting a temperature increase of tissue in at least a portion of the wound, detecting feedback electrical current in at least one of the one or more electronic components, or detecting variation in impedance of wound tissue.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the verification that the treatment to the wound is being provided by the one or more electronic components is based on at least one of: detecting a temperature increase of at least one of the one or more electronic components, detecting a temperature increase of tissue in at least a portion of the wound, detecting feedback electrical current in at least one of the one or more electronic components, or detecting variation in impedance of wound tissue (Fig 3, 5 ¶[0042-0043][0055] in response to pressure sensor 36 meeting a threshold amount of pressure or contact, causing dressing 20’ to transmit its ID data to the control circuitry, starting a duration timer and indicating that treatment has started) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the verification that the treatment to the wound is being provided by the one or more electronic components is based on at least one of: detecting a temperature increase of at least one of the one or more electronic components, detecting a temperature increase of tissue in at least a portion of the wound, detecting feedback electrical current in at least one of the one or more electronic components, or detecting variation in impedance of wound tissue, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 10, Ineichen is silent whether the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to another wound dressing comprising another one or more electronic components configured to provide treatment to the wound or to another wound in response to the stimulation received from the treatment source: communicate another pairing data to the another wound dressing; and start another timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the another wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing or to the another wound dressing: request and receive from the wound dressing or the another wound dressing the identification data; in response to the determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached the lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has not reached another lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the another wound dressing; and disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to at least one of the wound dressing or the another wound dressing in response to a determination of at least one of: that the identification data does not match the pairing data or the another pairing data, that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, or that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold; and deactivate operation of the another wound dressing in response to a determination that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to another wound dressing comprising another one or more electronic components configured to provide treatment to the wound or to another wound in response to the stimulation received from the treatment source: communicate another pairing data to the another wound dressing; and start another timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the another wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing or to the another wound dressing: request and receive from the wound dressing or the another wound dressing the identification data; in response to the determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached the lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has not reached another lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the another wound dressing; and disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to at least one of the wound dressing or the another wound dressing in response to a determination of at least one of: that the identification data does not match the pairing data or the another pairing data, that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, or that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold; and deactivate operation of the another wound dressing in response to a determination that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold (Ineichen/Ribble teaches the device of claim 1 drawn to the pairing and activation/deactivation of a first dressing, and further teaches an additional dressing with the same capability as set forth in Ribble ¶[0071-0073]) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to another wound dressing comprising another one or more electronic components configured to provide treatment to the wound or to another wound in response to the stimulation received from the treatment source: communicate another pairing data to the another wound dressing; and start another timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the another wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing or to the another wound dressing: request and receive from the wound dressing or the another wound dressing the identification data; in response to the determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached the lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has not reached another lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the another wound dressing; and disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to at least one of the wound dressing or the another wound dressing in response to a determination of at least one of: that the identification data does not match the pairing data or the another pairing data, that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, or that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold; and deactivate operation of the another wound dressing in response to a determination that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold, as taught by Ribble, to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ineichen is silent whether the lifetime threshold and the another lifetime threshold are the same.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the lifetime threshold and the another lifetime threshold are the same (¶[0071-0073] an additional dressing tag 22 is envisioned as having a lifetime threshold of 12 hours according to protocol, thus envisioning two dressings having the same lifetime threshold.) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the lifetime threshold and the another lifetime threshold are the same, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 12, Ineichen is silent whether the control circuitry is further configured to cause the another wound dressing to store the another pairing data.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to cause the another wound dressing to store the another pairing data (Ineichen/Ribble teaches the device of claim 1 drawn to the pairing and activation/deactivation of a first dressing, and further teaches an additional dressing with the same capability as set forth in Ribble ¶[0071-0073]) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the control circuitry is further configured to cause the another wound dressing to store the another pairing data to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 16, Ineichen discloses a method of operating an apparatus for treating a wound (Fig 2 ¶[0045-0047] combination of wrapping 3, apparatus box 5, tube 6, and connector 4), the method comprising: a treatment source configured to supply stimulation that causes the wound dressing to provide treatment to the wound (Fig 2 ¶[0048-0053] box 5 may contain a treatment source (e.g. pump, power source, control unit, UVB source) connected to wrapping 3 via connector 4 and tube 6), and a control circuitry (Fig 2 ¶[0049] control circuitry of box 5) configured to: cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing (¶[0061] The control unit may be configured to simply switch on and off the different means or to control the behavior of those means in a predetermined or adjustable manner), disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and deactivate operation of the wound dressing (¶[0061]The control unit may be configured to simply switch on and off the different means or to control the behavior of those means in a predetermined or adjustable manner.)
Ineichen is silent whether in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: communicate pairing data to the wound dressing; and start a timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: receive identification data from the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached a lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and in response to a determination that the identification data does not match the pairing data or that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and deactivate operation of the wound dressing in response to a determination that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: communicate pairing data to the wound dressing (Fig 3, 5 ¶[0042-0043][0055] dressing includes transmitter 22 for sending identification data in response to a transceiver 14 signal; or in response to pressure sensor 36 meeting a threshold amount of pressure or contact, causing dressing 20’ to transmit its ID data to the control circuitry); and start a timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing (Fig 3 ¶[0057] a historical database of clinical wound data, such as wound location, type and/or stage, as well as types of dressing 20, 20’ used and the duration of use of each during treatment of the patient's wound(s), is maintained in control circuitry 34); in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing): receive identification data from the wound dressing (Fig 3 ¶[0055] pressure sensor 36 comprising a contact switch may change from an off to an on switch when contact is made. When said contact switch is activated, ID data from dressing 20 is transmitted; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached a lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing (Fig 3, 5 ¶[0042-0043][0055] dressing includes transmitter 22 for sending identification data in response to a transceiver 14 signal; or in response to pressure sensor 36 meeting a threshold amount of pressure or contact, causing dressing 20’ to transmit its ID data to the control circuitry); and in response to a determination that the identification data does not match the pairing data or that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, in response to a determination that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold (¶[0055-0057][0073] dressing 20 lifetime is monitored by control circuitry based on the information collected from the dressing ID by the transceivers 14 and may provide determination that a dressing has exceeded its lifetime) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ineichen so that in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: communicate pairing data to the wound dressing; and start a timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing: receive identification data from the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached a lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and in response to a determination that the identification data does not match the pairing data or that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; and deactivate operation of the wound dressing in response to a determination that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]). In combination, the device of Ineichen/Ribble would use the dressing identification system and control circuitry of Ribble with the control box and dressing of Ineichen so that the system activates and deactivates based on the transmitted dressing identification and wear duration.
Regarding Claim 17, Ineichen/Ribble discloses that the treatment source comprises at least one of a source of vibrational energy, a light source, or a negative pressure source (Fig 2 ¶[0049-0053][0069] box 5 may include a vacuum pump; an electrical power source; an optical source, such as an IR, NIR, UV (in particular UVB) source; a control unit, a vibrational transmitter).
Regarding Claim 21, Ineichen is silent whether the control circuitry is configured to cause the wound dressing to store the pairing data in a memory of the wound dressing.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to cause the wound dressing to store the pairing data in a memory of the wound dressing (Fig 2 ¶[0072] dressing tag 22 stores patient ID information) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ineichen/Ribble so that the control circuitry is configured to cause the wound dressing to store the pairing data in a memory of the wound dressing, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 22, Ineichen is silent whether the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to another wound dressing comprising another one or more electronic components configured to provide treatment to the wound or to another wound in response to the stimulation received from the treatment source: communicate another pairing data to the another wound dressing; and start another timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the another wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing or to the another wound dressing: request and receive from the wound dressing or the another wound dressing the identification data; in response to the determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached the lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has not reached another lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the another wound dressing; and disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to at least one of the wound dressing or the another wound dressing in response to a determination of at least one of: that the identification data does not match the pairing data or the another pairing data, that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, or that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold; and deactivate operation of the another wound dressing in response to a determination that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to another wound dressing comprising another one or more electronic components configured to provide treatment to the wound or to another wound in response to the stimulation received from the treatment source: communicate another pairing data to the another wound dressing; and start another timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the another wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing or to the another wound dressing: request and receive from the wound dressing or the another wound dressing the identification data; in response to the determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached the lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has not reached another lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the another wound dressing; and disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to at least one of the wound dressing or the another wound dressing in response to a determination of at least one of: that the identification data does not match the pairing data or the another pairing data, that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, or that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold; and deactivate operation of the another wound dressing in response to a determination that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold (Ineichen/Ribble teaches the device of claim 1 drawn to the pairing and activation/deactivation of a first dressing, and further teaches an additional dressing with the same capability as set forth in Ribble ¶[0071-0073]) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the control circuitry is further configured to: in response to detecting an initial connection of the treatment source to another wound dressing comprising another one or more electronic components configured to provide treatment to the wound or to another wound in response to the stimulation received from the treatment source: communicate another pairing data to the another wound dressing; and start another timer configured to monitor operational lifetime of the another wound dressing; in response to detecting a subsequent connection of the treatment source to the wound dressing or to the another wound dressing: request and receive from the wound dressing or the another wound dressing the identification data; in response to the determination that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has not reached the lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the wound dressing; in response to a determination that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has not reached another lifetime threshold, cause the treatment source to supply the stimulation to the another wound dressing; and disallow the treatment source to supply the stimulation to at least one of the wound dressing or the another wound dressing in response to a determination of at least one of: that the identification data does not match the pairing data or the another pairing data, that the identification data matches the pairing data and that the timer has reached the lifetime threshold, or that the identification data matches the another pairing data and that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold; and deactivate operation of the another wound dressing in response to a determination that the another timer has reached the another lifetime threshold, as taught by Ribble, to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Regarding Claim 23, Ineichen is silent whether the lifetime threshold and the another lifetime threshold are the same, and wherein the method further comprises, by the control circuitry, causing the another wound dressing to store the another pairing data.
However, Ribble teaches a medical system comprising dressing identification, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the lifetime threshold and the another lifetime threshold are the same (¶[0071-0073] an additional dressing tag 22 is envisioned as having a lifetime threshold of 12 hours according to protocol, thus envisioning two dressings having the same lifetime threshold.); by the control circuitry: causing the another wound dressing to store the another pairing data (Ineichen/Ribble teaches the device of claim 16 drawn to the pairing and activation/deactivation of a first dressing, and further teaches an additional dressing with the same capability as set forth in Ribble ¶[0071-0073]) to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (¶[0003][0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ineichen so that the lifetime threshold and the another lifetime threshold are the same, and wherein the method further comprises, by the control circuitry, causing the another wound dressing to store the another pairing data, as taught by Ribble to provide enhanced wound healing and to provide the proper ID data for different types of wound in different locations (as motivated by Ribble ¶[0003][0049]).
Claims 3-4 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ineichen (US 20180116877 A1) in view of Ribble (US 20160125716 A1), further in view of Askem (US 20180296397 A1).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Ineichen/Ribble does not explicitly disclose that the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by application of an electrical signal configured to sever at least one electrical connection in the wound dressing, wherein the electrical signal is configured to deactivate a fuse of the wound dressing.
However, Askem teaches a reduced pressure wound dressing, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by application of an electrical signal configured to sever at least one electrical connection in the wound dressing, wherein the electrical signal is configured to deactivate a fuse of the wound dressing (Fig 7, ¶[0051] a pressure fuse comprising bubble 701 may rupture and sever a wire connected to a piezoelectric transducer, thus deactivating the pump system) to discontinue operation of the device if pressures exceed an acceptable threshold (¶[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ineichen/Ribble so that that the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by application of an electrical signal configured to sever at least one electrical connection in the wound dressing, wherein the electrical signal is configured to deactivate a fuse of the wound dressing, as taught by Askem to discontinue operation of the device if pressures exceed an acceptable threshold (as motivated by Askem ¶[0050]).
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, Ineichen/Ribble does not explicitly disclose wherein by the control circuitry, deactivating operation of the wound dressing by application of an electrical signal configured to sever at least one electrical connection in the wound dressing, wherein the electrical signal is configured to deactivate a fuse of the wound dressing.
However, Askem teaches a reduced pressure wound dressing, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein by the control circuitry, deactivating operation of the wound dressing by application of an electrical signal configured to sever at least one electrical connection in the wound dressing, wherein the electrical signal is configured to deactivate a fuse of the wound dressing (Fig 7, ¶[0051] a pressure fuse comprising bubble 701 may rupture and sever a wire connected to a piezoelectric transducer, thus deactivating the pump system) to discontinue operation of the device if pressures exceed an acceptable threshold (¶[0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ineichen/Ribble so that by the control circuitry, deactivating operation of the wound dressing by application of an electrical signal configured to sever at least one electrical connection in the wound dressing, wherein the electrical signal is configured to deactivate a fuse of the wound dressing, as taught by Askem to discontinue operation of the device if pressures exceed an acceptable threshold (as motivated by Askem ¶[0050]).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ineichen (US 20180116877 A1) in view of Ribble (US 20160125716 A1), further in view of Kim (US 20220130436 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Ineichen/Ribble is silent whether the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by at least partially erasing a memory of the wound dressing.
However, Kim teaches devices and methods for operating a memory device, thus reasonably pertinent to the claimed invention, wherein the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by at least partially erasing a memory of the wound dressing ([0107] The write protect signal may be a control signal for deactivating the program operation and the erase operation that are performed by the memory device 100) in order to determine a termination time point (¶[0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by at least partially erasing a memory of the wound dressing, as taught by Kim in order to determine a termination time point (¶[0109]).
Regarding Claim 20, Ineichen/Ribble is silent whether by the control circuitry: deactivating operation of the wound dressing by at least partially erasing a memory of the wound dressing, or storing a deactivation code in the memory of the wound dressing.
However, Kim teaches devices and methods for operating a memory device, thus reasonably pertinent to the claimed invention, wherein by the control circuitry: deactivating operation of the wound dressing by at least partially erasing a memory of the wound dressing ([0107] The write protect signal may be a control signal for deactivating the program operation and the erase operation that are performed by the memory device 100) in order to determine a termination time point (¶[0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the control circuitry: deactivating operation of the wound dressing by at least partially erasing a memory of the wound dressing, as taught by Kim in order to determine a termination time point (¶[0109]).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ineichen (US 20180116877 A1) in view of Ribble (US 20160125716 A1), further in view of Hargrove (US 20210280307 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Ineichen/Ribble is silent whether the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by storing a deactivation code in a memory of the wound dressing.
However, Hargrove teaches methods for managing healthcare assets and processes, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by storing a deactivation code in a memory of the wound dressing (Fig 6a ¶[0115] control may transmit a code to deactivate an apparatus) to alert an operator whenever expected functionality is not achieved or automated means of restoring expected functionality are unsuccessful (¶[0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that the control circuitry is configured to deactivate operation of the wound dressing by storing a deactivation code in a memory of the wound dressing, as taught by Hargrove to alert an operator whenever expected functionality is not achieved or automated means of restoring expected functionality are unsuccessful (as motivated by Hargrove ¶[0115]).
Regarding Claim 20, Ineichen/Ribble is silent whether by the control circuitry: deactivating operation of the wound dressing by at least partially erasing a memory of the wound dressing, or storing a deactivation code in the memory of the wound dressing.
However, Hargrove teaches methods for managing healthcare assets and processes, thus from the same field of endeavor, wherein by the control circuitry, deactivating operation of the wound dressing by storing a deactivation code in a memory of the wound dressing (Fig 6a ¶[0115] control may transmit a code to deactivate an apparatus) to alert an operator whenever expected functionality is not achieved or automated means of restoring expected functionality are unsuccessful (¶[0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ineichen/Ribble so that by the control circuitry, deactivating operation of the wound dressing by storing a deactivation code in a memory of the wound dressing, as taught by Hargrove to alert an operator whenever expected functionality is not achieved or automated means of restoring expected functionality are unsuccessful (as motivated by Hargrove ¶[0115]).
Conclusion
TIMOTHY LEE. FLYNN
Examiner
Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781