DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP2016-147430 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP2016-147430 discloses a single-layer or multi-layer sealant film composed of an ethylene polymer, the sealant film comprising: on a surface layer of the sealant film, a layer composed of an ethylene polymer (A) satisfying following requirements (1) to (iii): (i) a density is in a range of more than 910 kg/m3 to less than 920 kg/m2; (ii) a melt flow rate (MFR) at 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg in accordance with JIS K7210-1 is in a range of 0.1 to 20 g/10 min; and (iii) a content of a copolymer (A2) of ethylene and an a-olefin having 4 or less carbon atoms is 0% by mass or more and 50% by mass or less, and a content of a copolymer (A1) of ethylene and an a-olefin having 5 to 10 carbon atoms is 26% by mass or more and 100% by mass or less and wherein the sealant layer is composed of two layers or three layers (paragraphs [0001-0004], [0012-0028], [0039-0041], [0047-0053], [0064]).
JP2016-147430 discloses wherein the melt flow rate (MFR) of the ethylene polymer (A) is in a range of more than 1.0 g/10 min to 3.0 g/10 min, wherein the sealant film is composed of two layers, a laminate layer and a heat sealing layer, and at least the heat sealing layer is a layer composed of the ethylene polymer (A), wherein the laminate layer is a layer composed of an ethylene polymer (C) satisfying following requirements (a) and (b): (a) a density is in a range of 900 to 940 kg/m2; and (b) a melt flow rate (MFR) measured under conditions of 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg in accordance with JIS K7210-1 is in a range of 0.01 to 20 g/10 min, wherein the sealant film is composed of three layers, a laminate layer, an intermediate layer, and a heat sealing layer, and at least the heat sealing layer is a layer composed of the ethylene polymer (A) (paragraphs [0001-0004], [0013-0028], [0039-0041], [0047-0053], [0064]).
JP2016-147430 wherein the laminate layer is a layer composed of an ethylene polymer (C) satisfying following requirements (a) and (b): (a) a density is in a range of 900 to 940 kg/m2; and (b) a melt flow rate (MFR) measured under conditions of 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg in accordance with JIS K7210-1 is in a range of 0.01 to 20 g/10 min, wherein the intermediate layer is a layer composed of an ethylene polymer (C) satisfying following requirements (a) and (b): (a) a density is in a range of 900 to 940 kg/m; and (b) a melt flow rate (MFR) measured under conditions of 190°C and a load of 2.16 kg in accordance with JIS K7210-1 is in a range of 0.01 to 20 g/10 min (paragraphs [0001-0004], [0013-0028], [0039-0041], [0047-0053], [0064]).
JP2016-147430 a laminate obtained by laminating a base material layer and the sealant film, wherein lamination of the base material layer and the sealant film is carried out by bonding them by dry lamination, a packaging bag formed from the laminate, the packaging bag having the sealant film as an inner surface, comprising a component derived from spice as a content (since food contains spices) (paragraphs [0001-0004], [0013-0028], [0039-0041], [0047-0053], [0064]).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, JP2016-147430 does not specifically disclose applicant’s recited requirement (iv) and heat of fusion ratio. However, applicant’s recited requirement (iv) and heat of fusion ratio are inherent in JP2016-147430 since JP2016-147430 discloses that same materials and structure recited by applicant in the claims (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2016-147430 (English machine translation provided herein).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, JP2016-147430 does not specifically disclose applicant’s recited requirement (iv) and heat of fusion ratio. However, applicant’s recited requirement (iv) and heat of fusion ratio are necessarily present in JP2016-147430 since JP2016-147430 discloses that same materials and structure recited by applicant in the claims (see above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided applicant’s recited requirement (iv) and heat of fusion ratio in order to provide improved mechanical properties and/or heat sealing properties.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments of 8/7/26 have been carefully considered but are deemed unpersuasive.
102
Paragraph [0004] of JP’430 specifically discloses a heat sealing layer obtained from ethylene/alpha-olefin copolymers having a density from 915-938 Kg/m3 which overlaps applicant’s claimed range of 910 to 920 kg/m3. JP’430 also discloses an ethylene multilayer film comprising a substrate obtained from ethylene polymer composition (B) having a density of 895-920Kg/m3 and a surface layer obtained from an ethylene polymer (A) having a density of 910-938Kg/m3 (see paragraph [0008]) wherein the surface layer is heat sealing (see claim 8 and paragraphs [0002], [0046], [0064]). Both density ranges overlap applicant’s claimed range of 910 to 920 kg/m3.
Claim 1 recites an endpoint of 0% for the alpha-olefin having 4 or less carbon atoms so the prior art need not disclose an alpha-olefin having 4 or less carbon atoms in order to read on the claims as written. Furthermore, JP’430 discloses a mixture of an alpha-olefin having 4 or less carbon atoms and an alpha-olefin having 5 to 10 carbons (paragraph [0028]).
103, Claims 4-5
In response to applicant's argument that JP’430 does not contemplate improved oil resistance, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Unexpected Results
Claim 1 is rejected under 102 and unexpected results are not germane to a 102 rejection. Furthermore, Examples 1-4 and 6-7 disclose specific examples of the polyethylene such as ethylene-hexene and ethylene-butene copolymers which are not specifically recited in claim 1. Therefore, the allegation of unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with claims (see MPEP 716/02(d)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
September 7, 2026