DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-15 and 19-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, on pages 6-7, the applicant argues that the combination of Cirik et al, US 2022/0182281 hereafter Cirik and Alfarhan, US 2023/0189245 hereafter Alfarhan does not disclose a timer start in the same manner as claim 1. In response to the applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response.
The primary reference Cirik discloses a plurality of different triggers therefore the Examiner cited various paragraphs of Cirik since the claim language is written so broadly that the trigger simply stated as “related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE”. The Applicant’s specification discloses multiple options for the trigger. “[0010] In some implementations, the trigger event includes transmitting uplink data to the base station in accordance with a configured grant (CG) and/or receiving downlink data from the base station in accordance with a downlink assignment. In other implementations, the trigger event includes receiving a downlink control information (DCI) from the base station that includes an uplink grant or downlink assignment. In another implementations, the trigger event includes receiving downlink data that contains a UE Contention Resolution Identity medium access control (MAC) control element (CE).”
In Non-final rejection, the Examiner cited primary reference Cirik discloses “[0273], a UE may start a timer, referred to as BWP inactivity timer, when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP, other than a default DL BWP, for a paired spectrum operation or when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP or UL BWP, other than a default DL BWP or UL BWP, for an unpaired spectrum operation.”
Cirik discloses [0202], the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating starting and/or stopping one or more Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timers at the wireless device (cited in the Non-final action).
Cirik also discloses [0395]…The wireless device may start a first timer if configured in response to detecting the at least one beam failure (cited in the Non-final action).
Cirik does not explicitly disclose detecting while “the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources”. Therefore, the rejection relied on the secondary reference Alfarhan to disclose “detecting, when the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources, a trigger event related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE.” The secondary reference of the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is not required to disclose the limitations taught by the primary reference Cirik.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Alfarhan [0092], [0096], [0124], [0138] explicitly discloses detecting/monitoring, when the UE is an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources, a trigger event (beam failure, measured parameters/conditions including signal quality and/or others) related to communicating data between the UE and the base station in an inactive state.
[0096] The WTRU may be configured to monitor certain PDCCH resources (e.g., on coresets, search spaces -common or UE specific-, and/or RNTI) to receive a trigger signal from the network. The WTRU may be configured by broadcast or semi-static signaling with these PDCCH resources, associated parameters, and/or PDCCH monitoring patterns to monitor for reception of the trigger signal.
Alfarhan discloses [0124] The WTRU may start a timer during which the WTRU monitors the PDCCH as described thereof, e.g., after transmitting NACK feedback or after reception of the DL TB. The timer value may be configured by broadcast or semi-static signaling. Upon expiry of the timer, the WTRU may stop monitoring PDCCH for a retransmission.
Alfarhan discloses [0138] In various embodiments, the WTRU may be configured to perform beam failure detection in INACTIVE state/mode. In one embodiment, a WTRU in INACTIVE state may determine beam failure based on one or more conditions including signal quality and/or others. The WTRU may check for a separate condition and may use it as an estimate of the WTRU’s beam status. The WTRU may use a timer, a counter, or a combination of these measured (or determined) parameters (that may (or may not) be related to beam quality) to determine that beam failure occurs. For example, one or more conditions to trigger beam failure(s) may comprise one or a combination of the following conditions as determined by the WTRU (e.g., during INACTIVE state/mode).
For these reasons, the rejection of claims 1-15 and 19-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-5, 13, 15 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al, US 2022/0182281 hereafter Cirik in view of Alfarhan, US 2023/0189245 hereafter Alfarhan.
As for claim 1, Cirik discloses:
A beam management method implemented in a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
starting, a timer in response to detecting the trigger event (Cirik, Fig.19, [0202], [0320], [0324], [0395], [0401], The wireless device may start a first timer if configured in response to detecting the at least one beam failure, [0273] The UE may start a timer, referred to as BWP inactivity timer, when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP, other than a default DL BWP, for a paired spectrum operation or when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP or UL BWP, other than a default DL BWP or UL BWP, for an unpaired spectrum operation.); and
monitoring, only while the timer is running, a current beam for failure, the current beam for communicating the data between the UE and the base station (Cirik, [0401], In response to the starting the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer, the wireless device may monitor at least one PDCCH while the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer is running.)
Cirik does not explicitly disclose detecting, when the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources, a trigger event related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE.
However, Alfarhan discloses detecting, when the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources (Alfarhan, [0138], the WTRU may be configured to perform beam failure detection in INACTIVE state/mode. In one embodiment, a WTRU in INACTIVE state may determine beam failure based on one or more conditions including signal quality and/or others.), a trigger event related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE (Alfarhan, [0092], [0138], the WTRU may be configured to perform beam failure detection in INACTIVE state/mode. In one embodiment, a WTRU in INACTIVE state may determine beam failure based on one or more conditions including signal quality and/or others. [0124] The WTRU may start a timer during which the WTRU monitors the PDCCH as described thereof, e.g., after transmitting NACK feedback or after reception of the DL TB. [0146], The WTRU may start the beam maintenance timer after transmission of a beam training preamble, any preamble, a beam training PUCCH, a beam training related MAC CE, and/or after successful completion of a RACH procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik with detecting, when the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources, a trigger event related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE as taught by Alfarhan to improve likelihood of successful reception/transmission (Alfarhan, [0134]).
As for claims 2 and 19, Cirik discloses:
The trigger event includes transmitting uplink data to the base station in accordance with a configured grant received at the UE from the base station (Cirik, Fig. 12, [0286], [0290]-[0291], A UE may perform one or more Msg1 1220 transmissions by transmitting the selected random access preamble. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access response, Msg 2 1230. A UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a random access response.).
As for claims 3 and 20, Cirik discloses:
The trigger event includes receiving downlink data from the base station in accordance with a configured downlink assignment received at the UE from the base station (Cirik, [0392] FIG. 17 shows example of the BFR procedure. A wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising BFR parameters. The one or more RRC messages may comprise an RRC message (e.g. RRC connection reconfiguration message, or RRC connection reestablishment message, or RRC connection setup message). The wireless device may detect at least one beam failure according to at least one of BFR parameters. The wireless device may start a first timer if configured in response to detecting the at least one beam failure. [0273] In an example, a base station may configure a UE with a timer value for a PCell. For example, a UE may start a timer, referred to as BWP inactivity timer, when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP, other than a default DL BWP, for a paired spectrum operation or when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP or UL BWP, other than a default DL BWP or UL BWP, for an unpaired spectrum operation.).
As for claims 4 and 21, Cirik discloses:
The trigger event includes receiving, from the base station, a downlink control information that schedules communicating the data (Cirik, [0273] In an example, a base station may configure a UE with a timer value for a PCell. For example, a UE may start a timer, referred to as BWP inactivity timer, when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP, other than a default DL BWP, for a paired spectrum operation or when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP or UL BWP, other than a default DL BWP or UL BWP, for an unpaired spectrum operation.).
As for claims 5 and 22, Cirik discloses:
The trigger event includes receiving downlink data during a random access procedure with the base station (Cirik, [0291], [0525], a UE may receive, from a base station, a random access response, Msg 2 1230. A UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a random access response.).
As for claim 13, Cirik discloses:
detecting, that the timer has stopped or has expired; and in response to detecting that the timer has stopped or has expired, stopping the monitoring the current beam for failure (Cirik, [0550] FIG. 30 shows an example of a BFI when a wireless device does not monitor the PDCCH. In an example, at time T.sub.a, the wireless device may initiate a BWP switching. In an example, the BWP switching may be triggered by a DCI (e.g., DCI-based BWP switching) or an expiry of an inactivity timer. In an example, at time T.sub.a, the wireless device may start DRX inactive time. In an example, at time T.sub.a, the wireless device may start a measurement gap. In an example, a time duration may comprise a duration of time the wireless device does not monitor PDCCH.)
As for claim 15, Cirik discloses:
A user equipment (UE) including processing hardware and configured to:
starting, a timer in response to detecting the trigger event (Cirik, Fig.19, [0320], [0324], [0395], The wireless device may start a first timer if configured in response to detecting the at least one beam failure, [0202], the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating starting and/or stopping one or more Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timers at the wireless device. [0273] In an example, a base station may configure a UE with a timer value for a PCell. For example, a UE may start a timer, referred to as BWP inactivity timer, when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP, other than a default DL BWP, for a paired spectrum operation or when a UE detects a DCI indicating an active DL BWP or UL BWP, other than a default DL BWP or UL BWP, for an unpaired spectrum operation. [0401], a wireless device may initiate a contention-based random access preamble for a beam failure recovery request. when the wireless device transmits Msg3, a MAC entity of the wireless device may start ra-ContentionResolutionTimer. The ra-ContentionResolutionTimer may be configured by RRC.); and
monitoring, only while the timer is running, a current beam for failure, the current beam for communicating the data between the UE and the base station (Cirik, [0401], a wireless device may initiate a contention-based random access preamble for a beam failure recovery request. When the wireless device transmits Msg3, a MAC entity of the wireless device may start ra-ContentionResolutionTimer. The ra-ContentionResolutionTimer may be configured by RRC. In response to the starting the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer, the wireless device may monitor at least one PDCCH while the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer is running.)
Cirik does not explicitly disclose detecting, when the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources, a trigger event related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE.
However, Alfarhan discloses detecting, when the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources (Alfarhan, [0138], the WTRU may be configured to perform beam failure detection in INACTIVE state/mode. In one embodiment, a WTRU in INACTIVE state may determine beam failure based on one or more conditions including signal quality and/or others.), a trigger event related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE (Alfarhan, [0092], [0138], the WTRU may be configured to perform beam failure detection in INACTIVE state/mode. In one embodiment, a WTRU in INACTIVE state may determine beam failure based on one or more conditions including signal quality and/or others. [0124] The WTRU may start a timer during which the WTRU monitors the PDCCH as described thereof, e.g., after transmitting NACK feedback or after reception of the DL TB. The timer value may be configured by broadcast or semi-static signaling. Upon expiry of the timer, the WTRU may stop monitoring PDCCH for a retransmission. [0146], The WTRU may start the beam maintenance timer after transmission of a beam training preamble, any preamble, a beam training PUCCH, a beam training related MAC CE, and/or after successful completion of a RACH procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cirik with detecting, when the UE is in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources, a trigger event related to communicating data between the UE and a base station in the inactive state of the UE as taught by Alfarhan to improve likelihood of successful reception/transmission (Alfarhan, [0134]).
4. Claim(s) 6-8, 10-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik er al, US 2022/0182281 in view of Alfarhan, US 2023/0189245 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ZHOU, US 2021/0153284 hereafter Zhou.
As for claim 6, Cirik discloses:
The current beam is a first beam, the method further comprising: detecting, the beam failure based on the monitoring (Cirik, FIG. 17, [0392], The wireless device may detect at least one beam failure according to at least one of BFR parameters. The wireless device may start a first timer if configured in response to detecting the at least one beam failure); and in response to detecting the beam failure, performing, a beam failure recovery procedure, wherein the performing includes selecting a second beam (Cirik, FIG. 17, [0392], The wireless device may select a selected beam in response to detecting the at least one beam failure. The selected beam may be a beam with good channel quality (e.g., RSRP, SINR, or BLER) from a set of candidate beams. The candidate beams may be identified by a set of reference signals (e.g., SSBs, or CSI-RSs)
The combination of Cirik and Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose based on a signal strength measurement of the second beam.
However, Zhou discloses based on a signal strength measurement of the second beam (Zhou, [0147], The UE may identify the candidate beam at block 1012 based on a comparison of a measured signal quality (e.g., RSRP, RSSI, etc.) to a threshold signal quality metric. If the measured signal quality for a beam exceeds the threshold signal quality metric, the UE may identify the beam as a candidate beam. If multiple beams have a measured signal quality exceeding the threshold signal quality metric, the UE may select the beam associated with the highest measured signal quality as the candidate beam.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of teachings of Cirik and Alfarhan with based on a signal strength measurement of the second beam as taught by Zhou to provide improved beam responses to beam failure reporting (Zhou, [0006]).
As for claim 7, Alfarhan discloses with the failure recovery procedure in the inactive state of the UE (Alfarhan, [0138], the WTRU may be configured to perform beam failure detection in INACTIVE state/mode. In one embodiment, a WTRU in INACTIVE state may determine beam failure based on one or more conditions including signal quality and/or others.)
The combination of Cirik and Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: performing a random access procedure with the base station, including transmitting, to the base station, a dedicated random access preamble associated with the second beam.
However, Zhou discloses performing the beam failure recovery procedure (Zhou, Fig. 9, 902, where the network entity receives, from a user equipment (UE), a beam failure recovery (BFR) request including an identification of a candidate beam.) includes: performing a random access procedure with the base station (Zhou, Fig. 9, [0137]-[0138], A random access procedure is one in which a UE transmits a random access preamble and a payload (msgA). If a gNB detects a random access preamble and decodes the payload, it responds by transmitting a random access response (RAR, or msgB).), including transmitting, to the base station, a dedicated random access preamble associated with the second beam (Zhou, Fig. 9, [0137]-[0138], A random access procedure is one in which a UE transmits a random access preamble and a payload (msgA). Each candidate beam may be associated with a specific random access preamble configuration, such that the gNB may receive the UE's identified candidate beam by detecting the specific random access preamble configuration.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of teachings of Cirik and Alfarhan with performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: performing a random access procedure with the base station, including transmitting, to the base station, a dedicated random access preamble associated with the second beam as taught by Zhou to provide improved beam responses to beam failure reporting (Zhou, [0006]).
As for claim 8, the combination of Cirik and Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: performing, a random access procedure with the base station, including transmitting (i) a preamble associated with the second beam and (ii) a payload to the base station.
However, Zhou discloses performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: performing, a random access procedure with the base station, including transmitting (i) a preamble associated with the second beam and (ii) a payload to the base station (Zhou, [0137], A random access procedure is one in which a UE transmits a random access preamble and a payload (msgA).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of teachings of Cirik and Alfarhan with performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: performing, a random access procedure with the base station, including transmitting (i) a preamble associated with the second beam and (ii) a payload to the base station as taught by Zhou to provide improved beam responses to beam failure reporting (Zhou, [0006]).
As for claim 10, the combination of Cirik and Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose the payload includes an indication that the UE detected the beam failure.
However, Zhou discloses the payload includes an indication that the UE detected the beam failure (Zhou, [0137], A random access procedure is one in which a UE transmits a random access preamble and a payload (msgA).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of teachings of Cirik and Alfarhan with the payload includes an indication that the UE detected the beam failure as taught by Zhou to provide improved beam responses to beam failure reporting (Zhou, [0006]).
As for claim 11, the combination of Cirik and Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose performing, a signal strength measurement of a candidate beam, wherein the payload includes an indication of the candidate beam if the signal strength measurement of the candidate beam exceeds a predetermined threshold.
However, Zhou discloses performing, a signal strength measurement of a candidate beam (Zhou, [0147], The UE may identify the candidate beam at block 1012 based on a comparison of a measured signal quality (e.g., RSRP, RSSI, etc.) to a threshold signal quality metric.), wherein the payload includes an indication of the candidate beam (Zhou, [0138] The payload of the UE's random access message (msgA) may include information identifying the candidate beam found in the UE's candidate beam search.) if the signal strength measurement of the candidate beam exceeds a predetermined threshold (Zhou, [0147], The UE may identify the candidate beam at block 1012 based on a comparison of a measured signal quality (e.g., RSRP, RSSI, etc.) to a threshold signal quality metric. If the measured signal quality for a beam exceeds the threshold signal quality metric, the UE may identify the beam as a candidate beam. If multiple beams have a measured signal quality exceeding the threshold signal quality metric, the UE may select the beam associated with the highest measured signal quality as the candidate beam.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of teachings of Cirik and Alfarhan with performing, a signal strength measurement of a candidate beam, wherein the payload includes an indication of the candidate beam if the signal strength measurement of the candidate beam exceeds a predetermined threshold as taught by Zhou to provide improved beam responses to beam failure reporting (Zhou, [0006]).
As for claim 14, Cirik discloses stopping, the timer (Cirik, Fig. 17, [0392], The wireless device may stop the first timer if configured in response to the BFR procedure successfully being completed. The wireless device may stop the response window in response to the BFR procedure successfully being completed. [0401] In response to the random access procedure being successfully completed, the wireless device may stop the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer.)
The combination of Cirik and Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose stopping, the timer in response to receiving a command from the base station.
However, Zhou discloses stopping, the timer in response to receiving a command from the base station (Zhou, [0144], That is, receipt of a BFR response from the SCell may cause the timer to be halted.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of teachings of Cirik and Alfarhan with stopping, the timer in response to receiving a command from the base station as taught by Zhou to provide improved beam responses to beam failure reporting (Zhou, [0006]).
5. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik er al, US 2022/0182281 in view of Alfarhan, US 2023/0189245 in view of ZHOU, US 20210153284, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ryu et al, US 2021/0068188 hereafter Ryu.
As for claim 9, the combination of Cirik, Alfarhan and Zhou does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station prior to detecting the beam failure, a second configured grant associated with the second beam; wherein performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: transmitting a payload to the base station in accordance with the second configured grant.
However, Ryu discloses receiving (Ryu, Fig. 5, [0080], At 535, UE 115 may receive an uplink grant or instance. For example, the network may transmit a transmission to UE 115, such as a DCI.), from the base station prior to detecting the beam failure (Ryu, Fig. 5, [0081], Step 535 is prior to the beam failure recovery at step 545), a second configured grant associated with the second beam (Ryu, Fig. 5, [0080]-[0081], The uplink grant is for an upcoming transmission T3); wherein performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: transmitting a payload to the base station in accordance with the second configured grant (Ryu, Fig. 9, 903, [0133], when received in the second uplink transmission, the MAC CE may be a header (such as MAC header) or preamble for an accompanying second physical layer signal (such as symbol or waveform) or the second uplink transmission may include the MAC CE as payload data, that is indicated by the second physical layer signal.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Cirik, Alfarhan and Zhou with receiving, from the base station prior to detecting the beam failure, a second configured grant associated with the second beam; wherein performing the beam failure recovery procedure includes: transmitting a payload to the base station in accordance with the second configured grant as taught by Ryu to provide improved beam selection and use thereby reducing (or preventing) radio link failures and dropped calls (Ryu, [0006]).
6. Claim(s) 12 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik er al, US 2022/0182281 in view of Alfarhan, US 2023/0189245, as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Ohseki US 20210204184 hereafter Ohseki.
As for claims 12 and 23, the combination of Cirik and Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station, a temporary identifier for the UE to utilize when the UE is operating in the inactive state; releasing, the temporary identifier in response to transitioning to a connected state associated with the protocol for controlling radio resources.
However, Ohseki discloses receiving, from the base station, a temporary identifier for the UE to utilize when the UE is operating in the inactive state (Ohseki, [0026]-[0028], in order for the terminal device 103 in the RRC_INACTIVE state to transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state, the terminal device 103 needs to transmit an I-RNTI (Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for identifying a terminal device in the RRC_INACTIVE state, provided from the last connected base station, to a base station device to which the terminal device is to connect.); releasing, the temporary identifier in response to transitioning to a connected state associated with the protocol for controlling radio resources (Ohseki, Fig. 6, [0041], Discarding the MA signature in response to transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Cirik and Alfarhan with receiving, from the base station, a temporary identifier for the UE to utilize when the UE is operating in the inactive state; releasing, the temporary identifier in response to transitioning to a connected state associated with the protocol for controlling radio resources as taught by Ohseki to enable a terminal device to perform efficient communication in a stand-by state (Ohseki, [0008]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Awad et al, US 2025/0159496.
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469