DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12,15-22 are pending in this application.
Claims 13-14 canceled.
Claims 17-22 withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 11/4/2025 and 6/30/2023 have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,5,6,8-10,15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huawei et al(Detection of MitM false base station, 3GPP S3-202943).
Claim 1: Huawei disclose a randomizer for randomizing an allocation of at least one communication resource and/or identifier used for communicating with a wireless communication device in (6.X.2 Solution details: Note 1,2: UE initiates the process by sending a RRC message to gNB. Before sending RRC message, UE will be allocated a set of SFN parameter, SFN1(system frame number, subframe number and timeslot) by FBS. Fake UE forwards the RRC message to gNB, similarity, gNB will allocate a set of SFN parameter, SFN2 to fake UE.SFN2 is not equal to SFN1(collision probability is 1/10240, i.e, detectability>99.99% as 1024 possible system frame numbers and 10 subframe numbers to be allocated. Time resource allocation SFNI and SFN2 where fake wireless device is performed randomly). Huawei disclose an attack checking unit for checking if transmissions received from the wireless communication device have used the at least one communication resource and/or identifier allocated by the randomized allocation and for determining a presence of or an attack by a fake wireless device based on a result of the checking in (step 4: gNB compares SFN1 and SFN2 to determine where there is a fake FBS).
Claim 2: Huawei disclose randomizer is configured to compute at least one random parameter value in a respective predetermined value range and to allocate a time or frequency resource, in particular, a subsequent frame or a subsequent slot or a subsequent frequency range, for the communication with the wireless communication device based on the computed at least one parameter value in (Note 2).
Claim 5: Huawei disclose apparatus is configured to transmit the allocated at least one communication resource and/or identifier in a protected message in (page 2. figure).
Claim 6: Huawei disclose the allocated at least one communication resource comprises at least one of a random time domain offset value, a random time domain allocation value and a random frequency domain allocation value to be used for a response by the wireless communication device in (Note 1,2, and page 2 figure).
Claim 8: Huawei disclose at least one of the time domain allocation value and the frequency domain allocation value points to a row or column of a look-up table in (page 2 figure).
Claim 9: Huawei disclose the attack checking unit is configured to perform the checking operation after a security establishment when the wireless communication device establishes a secure connection with the wireless network or after a handover of the wireless communication device in (page 2 step 2-3).
Claim 10: Huawei disclose the randomizer is configured to determine a random seed value to be forwarded to the wireless communication device in a protected manner for assigning a communication resource, in particular a time slot or frequency range, for a response message based on a pseudo-random sequence in (page 2 figure).
Claim 15: Huawei disclose randomizing an allocation of at least one communication resource and/or identifier used for communicating with a wireless communication device in (6.X.2 Solution details: Note 1,2: UE initiates the process by sending a RRC message to gNB. Before sending RRC message, UE will be allocated a set of SFN parameter, SFN1(system frame number, subframe number and timeslot) by FBS. Fake UE forwards the RRC message to gNB, similarity, gNB will allocate a set of SFN parameter, SFN2 to fake UE.SFN2 is not equal to SFN1(collision probability is 1/10240, i.e, detectability>99.99% as 1024 possible system frame numbers and 10 subframe numbers to be allocated. Time resource allocation SFNI and SFN2 where fake wireless device is performed randomly). Huawei disclose checking if transmissions received from the wireless communication device have used the communication resources and/or identifiers allocated by the randomized allocation; and determining a presence of or an attack by a fake wireless device based on a result of the checking in (step 4: gNB compares SFN1 and SFN2 to determine where there is a fake FBS).
Claim 16: Huawei disclose method is performed at random time instants or time instants following a secret schedule agreed between the wireless communication device and the genuine or real access device in (page 2, steps 2-4 and figure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4,7,11-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
USPTO Contact Information
/HOSUK SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435